Reading Reviews for Our Little Addy
  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ValFish And so it begins.

7th July 2010:
As someone who has a sister with autism, let me just say you've characterized Addy very well. You've also got the point of view of Audrey very spot-on. I can really relate to her and the way you've written the story makes it seem real. You haven't sugar-coated anything, and I think that makes the story very likable and believable. I don't think I've ever seen this idea done before; it's very unique. But I really love it so far and I can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Charlia And so it begins.

3rd July 2010:
I like this a lot, it's very different (obviously).
My mom works with autistic children, and my best friends' siblings are autistic, and I think you've done a pretty good job creating an autistic character. It's definitely not easy, but autism is such a general diagnosis so I guess it leaves you with a lot of creative freedom.
Anyway, please update, I'm enjoying where this is going so far ^_^

 Report Review

Review #3, by Crystle And so it begins.

25th June 2010:
cool another chapter. Their mother sounds pretty scary. a maniac. just for not being in slytherin she would kill her own kids. nutter. do you mean litterally kill, or just badly beat.

Does the father know that their mum treats them so badly.

 Report Review

Review #4, by prettywishes Introduction

25th June 2010:
I really like the whole idea of this story, I haven't seen anything like it before, and the characters are really great. I really want to see where you take it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dreaming of Remus Sorted

25th June 2010:
Addy knows he is a werewolf? I like that she responds to him and gets that he isn't evil. Nice job.

Just curious, is someone in your family autistic? My nephew has Aspbergers. He just sees things differently like you said and he thrives in a routine. He's also the sweetest kid you'll ever meet. I like this story.

Author's Response: She does in some respect. I wouldn't say she comprehends werewolf.

I actually don't. I had picked up a memoir of someone who spent life with it and the idea popped in my head. This is a practice run for Addy. If I like her enough I plan on writing a story on her not involving harry potter.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Girlforeverlost And so it begins.

24th June 2010:
Wow this story is really enthralling! I'm really enjoying how it's different from everything else. Please continue writing, I can twait to read the rest.

Author's Response: Thanks. Kind of what my aims were. I already have the last chapter written. Just got to get the story there.

 Report Review

Review #7, by ginnywinny Adelaide and the Alley

24th June 2010:
hiya :) i love this story!
my bro is autistic and i totally can relate to this story :)
sorry review is short.. i wanna read the next chap :P
10/10
xx GW

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it. If anything sticks out to you as seemingly incorrect let me know.

ERA


 Report Review

Review #8, by mick And so it begins.

24th June 2010:
This is good so far here are some facts on AS HFA and Autism.
autism is a disorder of neural development characterized by impaired social interactions and communication. there are two other groups known as AS and HFA (Asperger's Syndrom and High-Functioning Autism). AS is almost nearly idenical to HFA.

Author's Response: I've read a bit so I understand some of it. I'm also reading a memoir by someone at the same level as Addy. But I do try to keep in mind what knowledge they had of in the time period.

Thanks for reading,
ERA


 Report Review

Review #9, by Hufflepuffpride And so it begins.

24th June 2010:
I really like this story. Keep up the good work. Its a very creative story line.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Fireball Nymph Sorted

8th July 2009:
Ohh, Audrey's in Gryffindor, no surprise there. I knew she wound;t be with Addy. I can see a connection between Remus and Addy. Great one!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Alassie Sorted

18th January 2009:
This story is really, really good. I love it. I feel for Audrey, and Addy because what are they going to do without each other? Please update as soon as you can, I cannot wait to see what happens!
10/10
~Alassie~

 Report Review

Review #12, by Wave03 Sorted

18th January 2009:
I find this story very interesting.
Though, I'm confused as to who is the girl in the banner of the story. Addy is blond, if I am not mistaken. So is the girl in the banner Audrey?
Anyway,I'll keep my eye on this story. It's a very interesting concept. :D
~Wave03

 Report Review

Review #13, by florenin2u Sorted

17th January 2009:
i don't really get it, which one of the sisters is in the future go with lupin?

 Report Review

Review #14, by Emilyinlove Sorted

17th January 2009:
Ohmigod! You can't just leave me with that! Please hurry up and update soon!

 Report Review

Review #15, by ajbraun Introduction

17th January 2009:
I don't really know what to say. My younger brother passed away this past Christmas. He had severe autism and epilepsy. I don't really know what to say to you without sounding awkward. I just really want to tell you that including whoever you know with autism into your story is beautiful. Now that my brother is gone, I wish I would have pushed him into even more parts of mine.

 Report Review

Review #16, by GinnyChaserSuberb Her First Time

11th January 2009:
hey I love this story, your doing great describtions of the autism I have two brothers that have it and your making addys character really realistic the calming the fits with eye contact and hugging it makes it all very real!
I really hope you continue addys great but the rest of the family is really interesting too!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Rae_of_Sunshine Introduction

10th January 2009:
This is a very interesting concept for a story, as disabilities are rarely covered in fan fiction. I have a friend with two little siblings with pretty severe autism, my mother teaches special education, two of my older sisters work with disabled kids, and one of my sisters and I have a physical disability, though nothing like autism. My only question would be how high functioning is she? At parts, she seemed higher functioning, but at others she didn't at all. I'm assuming that she is at the higher end of the spectrum, as giving her a wand couldn't possibly be a good idea otherwise. Anyway, good chapter. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Crystle Her First Time

3rd January 2009:
Please, please, put the next chapter up soon.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Emilyinlove Her First Time

26th December 2008:
Please update soon! I've been dying to read more of this! My mom is an SEA, and works with the sweetest little autistic girl, so this story has got me hooked! It's really original as well. Please update soon! I'm dying ehre!

Author's Response: I just finished writing the next chapter. It wll be up as soon as possible. Everything has to go through my beta's first!

I'm glad you like it though!

ERA


 Report Review

Review #20, by mayhem101 Her First Time

7th November 2008:
i really like this story and can't wait to see what happens. i really like audreys and addys relationship. my only confusion is on the father, he appears to be so nice and sweet, yet he's a death eater? and it might just be me, but was he hinting that he wanted( or wouldnt be upset) her to be gryffindor?

Author's Response: You shall have to wait and see. All will be revealed in due time.

ERA


 Report Review

Review #21, by marinahill Adelaide and the Alley

13th June 2008:
oh dear!! she has got a lot to think about. you describe adelaides 'fits' really well, by the way.

in response to another review you got- autism isnt always discovered in the first 3 years of their life - my brother wasnt diagnosed until he was about... 8, I think, due to everyone thinking his behaviour was because of mother reason. so it varies, and 5 years old is a realistic age for diagnosis.

sorry to waffle! anyway, I think you showed addy's incompetence with social situations really well here, and thats really important for her character. quick q- how old us audrey?

great work, I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Audrey is recounting the story startign from when she is eleven. Her actual age while she is recounting the tale is unimportant.

ERA


 Report Review

Review #22, by Beyond the Veil Adelaide and the Alley

12th June 2008:
This is an incredibly interesting concept. I was really drawn into it, and I went through the chapters really quickly, which is a good sign. I love the basic setup and the characters - and the title of the story, by the way ;) I like your narration - it's very pulling, and makes me want to read more.

I think you've got a really good grasp of how people would react around Addy. You might want to work on it a little, though - but initially, you understand it and write it better than I would expect most people to.

Technical-wise, your grammar and spelling are both nearly flawless. A good sign, of course :) And I like where the story seems to be going. I'm looking forward to more ;)

Blaire

Author's Response: I putting forth my best effort. Over time I'm sure I'll improve everything quite a bit.

ERA


 Report Review

Review #23, by lupinlove Adelaide and the Alley

12th June 2008:
ooh i've never read anything like this before on here - i really like it so far. i don't have much knowledge about autism but from what i can tell you're doing a really good job of portraying it :)

i really like the way you've characterized the entire family, with the loving dad and the rather heartless mother; i think it's highly intriguing/interesting that they're associated with death eaters and all (and good job with the canon name!) - it adds a whole new level of danger to the whole situation, so as i was reading i felt sort of tense (but it a good way), wondering if poor addy was going to get hurt, etc.

i think it's especially clever that you have her twin sister as the narrator, and that the reader gets to see that even though she's used to it and she loves her sister no matter what, she's still prone to bits of irritation with some of it. you've portrayed her really realistically (as far as i know heh) and she definitely makes everything more touching and real.

a really great start :D good luck with the rest of the story !!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. I wanted to know if I was going in the right direction. I've got a few people who do have experiences with Autism looking over it to.

 Report Review

Review #24, by 65ashben Adelaide and the Alley

12th June 2008:
Awe that was such a cute chapter. Can't wait for more! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by dartmanthegreat Introduction

12th June 2008:
Hi there. I actually have autism (Asperger's Syndrome) and i really liked this story for the use of detail.

Great story btw, keep going

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>