Reading Reviews for Latet Anguis in Herba
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Alisha March 29th, 1996 - Sixth Year

27th March 2014:
Awesome Story Update

Author's Response: Thank you! There are no updates coming as it's finished, but you can find a sequel in my Author Profile, entitled 'Shade to Shade'. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #2, by melou November 7th, 1992 - Third Year

9th March 2014:
This story is wonderful so far! Refreshing to read something so original, however I'm pretty confused as to what year they're in here. Something you said about Gobstones made it sound like Tobias was in 3rd year, but being a prefect he'd have to be at the very least a 5th year. So I've been unable to guess they're respective ages.

Author's Response: The story's non-linear; each chapter is set in a different year, and they're not progressing in order. Partly because I didn't write all of them in order, and also because of how the details and nuances of the characters get presented to the audience at a different rate. The year's mentioned in the title of each chapter.

Glad you're having fun with it, and thanks for reviewing, it's lovely to get more reviews on this after all these years!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cherry November 7th, 1992 - Third Year

22nd June 2012:
Hi Slide,

Just started reading this and i am already loving it. Keep up the good work :)

Regards,
Cherry

Author's Response: I'm very glad you've been enjoying this! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #4, by water_lily43175 November 7th, 1992 - Third Year

17th June 2012:
Whadt? CRYING.

Oh, poor poor Cal. Silly boy. PRINCIPLE.

Mention of Jacob. SOB.

You know, if not for Toby, Tanith would have ended up just like Ariane and Melanie. "It doesn't concern me, so I'm not concerned." Scary stuff.

QUESTION. Did you change Toby's mum's family name. Here it's Collins, but I swear it's Hart in more recent chapters... CONFUSED.

Little else to say here this time round. Except it's refreshing to go back to reading about T/T before T/T happened. LOVE THEM.

Author's Response: Muwaha, I am a cruel God. To Cal and to Jacob.

Tanith stood a better chance than Ariane and Melanie due to Altair - but she had managed to put Altair in the "you are an exception to the rule" rather than examining her preconceptions due to him. As she got older, that might have changed. But certainly it would have been a very different path; Tobias set off a chain reaction in her head which led to her rejecting what she thought was her family's entire belief system, and without it she would have never become an Auror.

Whoops, that's an old editing error with Melissa Grey's maiden name. I thought I'd caught all of those on this time around. Though weirdly I had her referred to by her maiden name in the Fourth Year chapter, I think, which is kind of silly! While on the one hand I can see her keeping the prestige of her pureblood name for simplicity's sake, she was so stupidly in love with Robert Grey... I shall edit this, anyway.

Yay for rereview!


 Report Review

Review #5, by water_lily43175 March 29th, 1996 - Sixth Year

10th May 2012:
The whole Squad thing, and the Cal and Gabriel's reactions to it in particular, just serve to highlight how the houses really don't work at Hogwarts. Perhaps they would, if it wasn't for the one house being shrouded in such prejudice; after all the other three houses get on with each other fine, and Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff never seem to have TOO many problems with Slytherin ... it just so happens that the whole "put yourself first" mantra that goes with being a Slytherin sits well with Dark wizards. Which is unfortunate.

Oh, poor old Tobias! Losing his badge! He's so adorable, how it means so much to him! And go him, sticking up to Annie like that. Even if she is one of the more decent Gryffindors, she's still jumping to conclusions, which makes her A Bad Person in my books. Mind you, Tobias was quite harsh to her, it's like he decided in advance that she was going to assume he was in the Squad, and so set her up to say what she did. Never mind, she'll get over it...

And lastly, because I've flicked through all your responses, I too swear by a bacon sandwich along with orange juice to treat a sore head. Bacon and egg sandwich to be precise, the egg's presence MAKES it.

ANYWAY, this brings us to the end, and I shall have to leave your fics now and head to the land of nod, but I shall read on tomorrow (when I should be revising for exams. Feel guilty). AND, thank you for the replies, I always find it interesting to see what someone thinks about what I think of their stories (if that makes sense...). :)

Author's Response: Slytherin House, as it existed, doesn't work. I like to think that post-canon it undergoes a reform, or at least its place does, but then, I believe JK when she says Slytherin House came back to fight amongst the reinforcements, so perhaps I'm all naive. Though future stories do address the relationships between Slytherin and the non-Gryffindor houses.

Tobias is absolutely one to throw the baby out with the bathwater on a matter of principle, especially being a ratty seventeen year-old. But then, Annie was hardly in the right. But this situation isn't over with, not by any stretch of the imagination.

Bacon and fried egg. Yes. Ideally with the yolk broken in cooking, because otherwise my sandwich gets drippy and I can't cope with that when I'm suffering, it's TOO HARD.

Thank you very much for all your attention! It's been rather pleasant watching the reviews come in (especially since this fic was finished pre-HPB, if edited since, so I haven't really thought about the nuances of it in a whiiile). And always interesting to see what you think of what I think of what you think... I think. Good night, and peace out. ;) (no, only a little guilty)


 Report Review

Review #6, by water_lily43175 January 14th, 1996 Sixth Year

10th May 2012:
Oh, poor old Cal! His father sounds absolutely awful...

The exchange with the Gryffindors made me feel more and more for the four, and really dislike the Gryffindors - not that I didn't already dislike McLaggen but that's beside the point - and none of the Gryffindors acted at all un-Gryffindorish throughout that entire exchange. I salute your writing skills for portraying the ugly side of Gryffindor so well.

It's interesting that of the four, Cal is the one who seems most open-minded and sensible and reasonable about everything - though admittedly Tanith isn't far behind now she's let her prejudices go. And I like that Gabriel is still kind of anti-Muggle, because it seems much more realistic than them all just going "everything I have ever known is wrong" in a heartbeat. And yet, at the same time, it definitely feels as though the possibility is there for Gabriel to have a change of heart, especially given his reaction to a lot of what Cal says...

Author's Response: McLaggen was originally not McLaggen. It was written pre-HPB, and he was a Pureblood Gryffindor OC, a burly, not-as-charismatic-as-he-thought-he-was guy who wanted to be in the Quidditch team with a different name I forget now. And then HPB came out, and FINALLY we had characters developed in the year above Harry (other than Katie Bell, who I later co-opt), including McLaggen. So that was just a case of Find and Replace, because there was NOTHING about this OC's characterisation which didn't match this new character (and then yay, I'm all clever and canon-compliant!). It's fun to view the Gryffindors from the Reasonable-Negative POV, because surely their mentality could lead to arrogance and self-righteousness. But equally I refuse to make anyone too black or white and they will have their turn to show their good points!

Cal has an advantage of a Muggle-born foster father. This gives him an advantage over Tobias' sometimes theoretical idealism and Tanith, still figuring out what she believes. Gabe? Yeah, Gabriel has no reason to change his ways, especially as he has a less strict self-image than Tanith does, but equally he's not an idiot, and these four live in the 'perfect' time to question their prejudices and beliefs. Then again, 'mass genocide' is a fairly polarising political standpoint for Voldemort to take. You can easily think Muggleborns don't belong in magic society and yet not want to KILL them all. And this shall come up!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by water_lily43175 August 24th, 1994 - Fifth Year

10th May 2012:
You know, I've been told by someone that orange juice doesn't actually help a hangover; in fact, it's one of the worst things you could drink. I don't remember the exact science but when I was told this it was as though my world fell apart, because I swear by orange juice on the morning after the night before. And I've begun on a slight tangent here, but the point is, Tanith drinking orange juice may not actually be the best move. If you believe the science rubbish, that is...

For some reason, I imagined Tanith as having short hair from the start. I'm not sure why; possibly because she seems tomboy-ish in some ways. So the mention of her having her hair chopped is odd.

Just out of sheer curiosity, do you have any Welsh blood at all? Given the extent to which Cal is made out to be Welsh. Not that you have to be Welsh yourself to embrace the wonders of the wonderful country, of course (not waving my own Welsh flag at all here) but I'm just curious. :) Also I thoroughly enjoyed the rugby reference, and I feel for all those people who don't appreciate the beautiful game.

See, NOW Cal refers to women as birds! Mind you, given that they were Veela, perhaps calling them 'birds' worked on two levels?

The last line made me chuckle; about how to Cal nothing is more important than Quidditch, even a load of Death Eaters rocking up at a muggle campsite. Also, Gabriel is more and more intriguing as we go on. What on earth is he doing when he goes on all these walks? Strange kid...

Author's Response: Orange juice doesn't work?! Oh god. The placebo effect is ruined forever. Then again I also swear by a bacon sandwich and some fresh air and a LOT of sleep, and those have yet to fail me. I was also once told something about taking water, ibuprofen, and orange juice in a particular order (and ONLY in a particular order) and then you'd be able to face the world.

I think we may have to accept that all we can do is suffer.

And I do have Welsh blood, actually, on my dad's side, so I drew on... mostly the bad jokes, to be honest... in regards to Cal! My rugby fu is weaker than it should be, and clearly Cal's is weaker than it should be if Tobias is making the references. But Tobias went to a Muggle primary school in Surrey so perhaps that's not so unlikely as all that.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by water_lily43175 December 31st, 1995 Sixth Year

10th May 2012:
I find it odd, in a way, that Tobias is so anti-werewolf, because he seems like one of the more open-minded ones. Then again, I guess his law-abiding nature and dislike of risk-taking puts him firmly in the anti-werewolf category...

When Cal said he was getting letters from "random birds", I genuinely thought it meant women, not the flying animal, and got quite confused as to what his foster dad was up to! Then I worked it out. IT'S ALL OKAY.

Tobias and Annie's little fling is crushing my heart right now. But then, so long as he comes back to Tanith in the end, I suppose I'll let him off...

Author's Response: Tobias is young enough that his idealism fits in a strange place - he can be open-minded and naive when matters are a long way away and don't affect him, but when they're right in his face he reacts more bluntly and instinctively. So he finds werewolves scary. That's a contradiction he'll have to learn to deal with - fear versus ideal.

'Random birds'. Oh God, I nearly snorted wine. No! No, Will is not getting his many girlfriends from tropical islands to send his foster-son letters. THAT WOULD BE VERY DIFFERENT.

I fear I cannot tell you how it'll all end. You'll have to read on... ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 September 1st, 1993 Fourth Year

10th May 2012:
OH LORD I love the magazine quiz. Poor Cal. AND, on that note, his past sounds horrific! I think I forgot to comment in my last review about how he'd mentioned his parents were Death Eaters, the whole Tanith/Tobias thing distracted me, but it sounds very interesting.

Author's Response: Yes, Cal's past is... complicated. And yet, ironically, he probably has the most normal and loving home life with his foster father. Go figure, hey?

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by water_lily43175 December 15th, 1994 Fifth Year

10th May 2012:
The Cal/Gabriel conversation at the Ball was pure genius. Tanith and Tobias would be the most adorable couple! Gutted that she's not interested in that way. I'm going to say that there's more to come between them though, otherwise you wouldn't have written this in... Also, I think Cal is my favourite of the four so far. I'm not sure why. But I like him. :)

Author's Response: Tobias and Tanith as a possible couple being a recurring theme in these stories? It might just happen. Cal and Gabe were particularly good friends, it's something I forget sometimes until I look back at these old stories.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by water_lily43175 September 1st, 1994 - Fifth Year

10th May 2012:
I like that Ritter is a Squib. I think it's a plot device which is underused, because I love seeing what people do with Squib characters, in terms of how they interact with the wizarding world.

Interesting that Tanith's family have the anti-Muggle prejudices of the stereotypical Slytherin family, and yet a) aren't friendly with the Death Eaters, and b) employ a Squib. Plus the fact that Tanith and her sister accept Ritter as a Squib to different extents. It makes them much more intriguing characters right from the start, Tanith especially. And I like 'good' Slytherins, so to speak, they're an unfairly prejudiced set of people as a whole.

I love the thought of the Express just going round in circles, only to end up about 20 miles from where it started off at the beginning...

Gabriel's already seeming like the most intriguing character of the four, and he wasn't even in the chapter! They all seem interesting in their own ways though, and are all quite distinct from each other, which I like. :)

Author's Response: Ritter is one of my favourite secondary characters. Certainly he's integral to Tanith's characterisation and development, which I do hope will prove to be interesting! Good Slytherins are the point of the story, so I hope the characters prove to entertain as you carry on reading.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by water_lily43175 Prologue

10th May 2012:
The first six paragraphs must be the best first six paragraphs of a story EVER. A marvellously in-depth summary of British weather and general habits! You must be a Brit...

Author's Response: I am, indeed, a Brit. And yes, though it's been... um, about eight years since I originally wrote this prologue (good grief), it's still probably my favourite start to any story I have ever penned, so I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Matiilda March 29th, 1996 - Sixth Year

5th September 2011:
I adore you for writing this story - enough said.

Author's Response: Very glad you enjoyed the ride. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Matiilda September 1st, 1994 - Fifth Year

12th April 2010:
It's interesting to read about your portrayal of the contrasts in the school. I like what you're showing with this story - that not all Slytherins are bad. It couldn't possibly be so, that all the Slytherins are Death Eaters - that's what I found so weird in the books.

Anyway I liked your characters, you manage to keep them being sarcastic and Slytherin-like but not evil persay, which I thought was great, because I mean Slytherins can have other traits than being an evil Death Eater wannabe.. That's what I really like in this story, that your characters are human.

Interested to see where this is leading!

Author's Response: Very glad you enjoyed the portrayal of non-evil Slytherins! I wanted to see some more depth of the House's members. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Matiilda Prologue

11th April 2010:
After only reading the summary of this story - I knew this would be a story for me. It's about minor character Slytherins! YAY!

Lol reading this chapter, the introduction kind of reminded me of Lord of the Rings when Bilbo writes about the hobbits in the first film. Totally got that scene into my head lol, the way you described the brits and the weather in the beginning.

I like your writing style, it's like flawless lol. I'm interested to see what the plot in this story will be. I'll go read the next one now!

Author's Response: I did enjoy the Brit introduction, it's aged better than almost any of my writing. :D Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by remusrockssiriussucks Prologue

23rd October 2009:
Your prologue is brilliant.
I love how you take a muggle's POV to look at your protagonists.
Your writing has great flow and seems always entertaining, I especially loved the beginning about the weather and drinking.
Youre descriptions created the pub and its owner in my mental image.

Author's Response: I am rather fond of the scene-setting regarding weather, etc, in the prologue. It's the kind of thing I'd have tried to have used for any fic at some point, even if LAH hadn't gone ahead. Recycling paragraphs, yay. I'm glad it was all enjoyed.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Billion Prologue

9th September 2009:
I like how you eased us in to Terry's POV through background info. Great idea to introduce the characters through an outsider - a muggle no less. Terry is able to provide just enough info about the cast to intrigue. Strange though, that Slytherins would go to a muggle pub, of all places, to hang out.

Author's Response: How and why these Slytherins would stop by a pub will be made clearer. Or, rather, it's Cal's fault and because of his upbringing, as we'll see. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by InsertBrillianceHere March 29th, 1996 - Sixth Year

26th November 2008:
wow, I love this story and all the characters. It's always interesting to see things from a Slytherin's point of view; you can't help but feel a little frustrated by how categorised the school is by the 'house system' - it raises so many questions about nature vs nuture. Anyway i just wanted to say that your writing is amazing and that you have really got me thinking. It says that the story is completed but i really hope it isn't or at least a sequal is on its way??

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying the story! Yeah, the house system is the major theme for the entire tale, and it's unfortunately one where we know the ending, so all we can focus on is the challenge and the struggle.

The story is pretty much complete. However, Shade to Shade is to be the sequel, a more traditional linear novel about the gang's seventh year (so set during Half-Blood Prince). The Prologue's just hit here, and there's more to come! Glad you're enjoying all of this!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Daanana December 15th, 1994 Fifth Year

10th June 2008:
I really really liked this. I liked all four chaps/stories. And I'm really surprised you don't have more reviews. You write very well and you really made me love the boys. Great job!

Author's Response: (better late review response than never)

I'm glad you enjoyed this! The stories haven't had many reviews but I appreciate those who take the time to say a few words. Cheers!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login