Reading Reviews for Latet Anguis in Herba
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by santosh September 1st, 1994 - Fifth Year

2nd April 2015:
to be honest i liked the old version than the new version as i have trouble following the twist of the words and i find my self loosing interest in the story. as you can probably guess this is my second time reading the story. i think that the old version is very simple, easy to understand, and is a great novel (not that this one isn't). i hope i haven't hurt your feelings. i am just trying to be helpful with this review.

Author's Response: All input is useful. It's a shame you didn't enjoy it, and I must admit myself surprised - honestly, the chapters have got SHORTER, not longer, as a lot of what I did was pruning down long-winded prose. Apart from that, all this chapter gained was the run-in with Keating.

But, it's possible rewriting it like that killed the flow. I may have another bash at it! Thanks for reviewing, and I always appreciate honest feedback.


 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap September 1st, 1994 - Fifth Year

31st March 2015:
Tanith tore about the room, collecting what she fancied and tossing it into the large trunk in the corner.

What is with these names? Haha! I can never come up with names and here you are pulling out such different ones with each and every character.

It was a childish hope of hers that he, a Squib, could protect this house against angry dark wizards.

Yes! I have a slight obsession with Squibs and how other writers portray them. I write comedy so naturally my portrayal is a little ridiculous but I like what you did here. He seems well put together and important. Squibs are rarely important to stories. Usually it’s just Argus shouting. I like that here he gets a little respect.

I have to admit the story gets a little confusing for me because there’s so many characters but I don’t think it has to do with your writing. I’m not used to reading characters that aren’t the Golden Trio or Draco (or Astoria). So to meet so many new people and to follow their dialogue and who they are and their backgrounds—whoosh!

But it’s so interesting. I never would have thought of this concept myself. Or would ever be able to write it. I like that it’s a different point of view and it shows that not all Slytherins are bad. I mean, the prejudice is there in many of them but they don’t seem like Death Eater wannabes and I wish more people realized that and put that into their stories. Not all Slytherins were Death Eaters. Not all wanted to fight during the Battle and not everyone did on either side. It’ll be interesting to see if their viewpoints change though since this is only fifth year and I noticed your chapters skip around. By sixth year things could change and maybe even though they seem to have a good friendship a line of division will be drawn.

Author's Response: I spent a LOT of time with these names. Though Tanith means 'serpent lady' and she's a Slytherin so I can't proclaim to be clever.

Squibs are fun. I was always curious as to how they might cope in the wizarding world, and I see the desire for comedic but I wanted to do something a little different with Altair. We don't see much more of him this story but he's important down the line.

Sorry it got confusing! Yeah, and this story doesn't even introduce one of the foursome, but there are a lot of names to take on board. Even though I rewrote this one, I didn't change much of the structure (I mostly just trimmed flabby prose), so maybe it's worth contemplating if these stories need a more nuts-and-bolts rewrite than just window dressing.

The story's non-linear, yeah, so we'll see different bits of their lives and their relationships progressing - and, of course, the role of Slytherin House over the course of the war. I wanted to write about Slytherins in a more nuanced way, but had the desire to do it with OCs. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Prologue

31st March 2015:
A downpour of rain is normal anywhere in the British Isles at any time of year. Even in the middle of summer, if every other corner of the world were bright and sunny and warm there is a near-guarantee that every Brit foolish enough to stay at home would be sopping wet.

What an interesting way to start a chapter. Especially the first chapter or prologue of your story. I don't know, weather always seems like a last thought to me. Oh it's sunny, oh it's raining, oh whatever but I was thoroughly interested in everything you had to say. Just picturing it because hello I am very American. It rains here and everyone is still outside or at the mall. BBQ's still happen if it's light rain and so do pool parties and other nonsense I do not enjoy.

Anyway, I thought it was interesting and in depth and I learned something new. Drinking, I know all about that though. I have to admit I was intrigued because I wasn't entirely sure if the pub owner was a wizard or not but then I figured out not when the boys were talking about 'rugby' but really they meant Quidditch and Hogwarts. I kind of felt like there was something magical about him though but I think maybe that's because of his personality and just the way we saw everything through his point of view.

Onward I go, to leave you more reviews for the Gryffindor exchange! With writing like this it is easy to read and review.

Author's Response: Weather is apparently very important to us Brits. So it's worth starting a chapter with. The important socio-political ramifications of RAIN!

Ha, the wizarding pub-owner, that'd be a story. I wanted to try introducing the gang from the POV of a disconnected character, someone who'd see them at a bit more face value. I was probably also trying for a slightly JK Rowling premise, too, but I don't know, this chapter was originally written over ten years ago. Who knows what I was thinking. ;)

Glad you're finding it easy reading, though! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #4, by gigi March 29th, 1996 - Sixth Year

4th March 2015:
Thanks for answering my review on Shade and advising me to read Latet 1st, so I reluctantly put Shade on pause :-) I had started with Shade because I thought it was the 1st seeing as it was last on your author list and this had been moved up due to the recent edits.

So why did you line the chapters in the order that you have them in rather than chronologically? And why no 1st and 2nd year shorts? I thought you said it covered their 1st 6 years. I did enjoy reading the shorts on events you referred to in Shade, so thanks for the advice.

Speaking of discovering your fics, I wish HPFF had a better search engine for finding the good authors, because one has to go through a lot of fluff and drivel on such a huge site to find the gems. Maybe one should also be able to search by best ranked authors (most favorited) and a top list that is more than just top 10. I guess I can contact the powers that be.

Author's Response: My fic list being out of order upsets me too. Unfortunately it goes in update order, not posting order, so if I've had to go back and edit an older story, even just the one sentence, it bumps it to the top of the list.

I suppose it was a bit false advertising! Truth be told, when I updated this fic, I canned a couple of chapters, including scenes from their earliest years. I suppose I just refer to this story as covering their first six years by default and should stop doing that! I wasn't very good at writing 11-12 year-olds, truth be told. ;)

The non-linear storytelling was partly because this was written at the time in a non-linear fashion; the intention was that each story would flesh out a different facet of the characters or dynamics, and going back in time might sometimes provide more insight.

Then again, the most important chapters in this are probably the Yule Ball one, and the three 6th year chapters. The rest is window dressing.

I admit, I tend to find fics on here by just browsing the recent updates or, more commonly, via the forums, where I can get more of a handle on a writer's style and participate in review exchanges, which often introduces me to something I might not normally try out (and I'm usually entertained!). I unfortunately can't offer much more insight.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ellie March 29th, 1996 - Sixth Year

18th January 2015:
Aw yeah, the World Cup chapter went, didn't it? I'm waving my flag for that GoF Dimitri goodness. DIMITRI.

Still love reading these chapters. It's nice to see the four's lives before the war affected them, and it's interesting to see them develop too - Tanith especially. Aww, and now I want to reread Shade...

Author's Response: *snerk* Well, you have Sunrise.

The World Cup chapter was just bad, at least when stood alongside the others. It added nothing new, and was mostly regurgitated canon. I had ideas of things that could happen but realised I'd be writing the entire chapter from scratch and there are better scenes to write from scratch. Which include Dimitri. ;)

Thanks for the reviews 2.0!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ellie January 14th, 1996 – Sixth Year

18th January 2015:
I like the end scene very much. It's interesting to read new Latet!Jen after having read the rest of Anguis. And I love her and Tanith sniping at each other.

McLaggen having Wilson's back in any situation... yeah, that also breaks me now. Idiots, morons... but somehow, that bit in Shadow redeems McLaggen somewhat. ALL OF THE ANGSTY WAR FEELS.

Author's Response: I knooow, I barely changed McLaggen and Wilson and it was pretty nasty in hindsight. They were just bolshy lads.

Jen and Tanith sniping at each other is always, always fun. Especially when they like each other less and they're both younger and more impetuous. I've never had two 'good guys' who disliked each other so much.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ellie December 31st, 1995 – Sixth Year

18th January 2015:
Unhealthy T/T breaks me every time. And Annie, oh poor Annie.

I remember being a bit confused by Tobias' thoughts about Lupin. It was an interesting viewpoint for him to have, mind - it's all very well having these thoughts about how everyone should be equal etc etc, but the minute it seems to threaten you, it's too easy to judge. And, of course, Lupin was going to eat all the Slytherins. But yes, given Toby's story since, and the fact we didn't SEE him change his mind, it makes sense to take the dialogue out.

Flaming Red Stuff is awesome.

Author's Response: The absolute truth? REAL early, like before Shade to Shade was written and probably before HBP was out, I toyed with the idea of Tobias becoming a werewolf. So him being anti-werewolf was LIKE CLEVER DRAMATIC IRONY OR SOMETHING. But yeah, I could have done something with idealistic principles vs how those principles survive in nasty practicality of life-threatening werewolves. But I didn't. So now it's just weird and contradictory.

It was kind of sweet/depressing to write old T/T again. Tanith's behaviour especially was streamlined for a little more nuance. Poor kids. Poor Annie. I liked writing her again.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ellie September 1st, 1993 – Fourth Year

18th January 2015:
FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT.

Ha, I like that point about wizards not having paperback books. But then, they wouldn't be called paperbacks, would they? Parchmentbacks? Hmm.

Bahaha the magazine quiz remains awesome.

Jacob. Sniff sniff.

Author's Response: I imagine they'd still have glossy, paper magazines and such, but those aren't BOOKS. I don't see the terminology creeping into wizarding usage. Even wizard fiction, I'd see still being in Tomes of Importance.

The fight was fun to write. Very necessary. Poor Jacob!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ellie December 15th, 1994 – Fifth Year

18th January 2015:
Well you've made me sad now. Still one of my favourite Cal/Gabe moments (along with Cal!duck) but I'm actually going to start a full-on campaign for more Dimitri. DIMITRI.

Author's Response: Some day! Some day I'll write their careers talks in GoF, with a Dimitri cameo. SOME DAY.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ellie Prologue

18th January 2015:
Had to log out to do this, dang it. New banner is awesome. Old opening remains awesome. Was the cider chat there before? I feel like I would have said something about Herefordshire cider, but perhaps not.

And apparently I'm not a sharp-eyed reader. ONWARDS.

Author's Response: Cider chat was not there before! And yeah, I couldn't lose the old opening. Streamline the prose, but the whimsical gist needed to stay. Even if it's a bit incongruous thematically but I LIKE IT.

Herefordshire cider is best.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Alisha March 29th, 1996 - Sixth Year

27th March 2014:
Awesome Story Update

Author's Response: Thank you! There are no updates coming as it's finished, but you can find a sequel in my Author Profile, entitled 'Shade to Shade'. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #12, by melou November 7th, 1992 - Third Year

9th March 2014:
This story is wonderful so far! Refreshing to read something so original, however I'm pretty confused as to what year they're in here. Something you said about Gobstones made it sound like Tobias was in 3rd year, but being a prefect he'd have to be at the very least a 5th year. So I've been unable to guess they're respective ages.

Author's Response: The story's non-linear; each chapter is set in a different year, and they're not progressing in order. Partly because I didn't write all of them in order, and also because of how the details and nuances of the characters get presented to the audience at a different rate. The year's mentioned in the title of each chapter.

Glad you're having fun with it, and thanks for reviewing, it's lovely to get more reviews on this after all these years!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Cherry November 7th, 1992 - Third Year

22nd June 2012:
Hi Slide,

Just started reading this and i am already loving it. Keep up the good work :)

Regards,
Cherry

Author's Response: I'm very glad you've been enjoying this! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #14, by water_lily43175 November 7th, 1992 - Third Year

17th June 2012:
Whadt? CRYING.

Oh, poor poor Cal. Silly boy. PRINCIPLE.

Mention of Jacob. SOB.

You know, if not for Toby, Tanith would have ended up just like Ariane and Melanie. "It doesn't concern me, so I'm not concerned." Scary stuff.

QUESTION. Did you change Toby's mum's family name. Here it's Collins, but I swear it's Hart in more recent chapters... CONFUSED.

Little else to say here this time round. Except it's refreshing to go back to reading about T/T before T/T happened. LOVE THEM.

Author's Response: Muwaha, I am a cruel God. To Cal and to Jacob.

Tanith stood a better chance than Ariane and Melanie due to Altair - but she had managed to put Altair in the "you are an exception to the rule" rather than examining her preconceptions due to him. As she got older, that might have changed. But certainly it would have been a very different path; Tobias set off a chain reaction in her head which led to her rejecting what she thought was her family's entire belief system, and without it she would have never become an Auror.

Whoops, that's an old editing error with Melissa Grey's maiden name. I thought I'd caught all of those on this time around. Though weirdly I had her referred to by her maiden name in the Fourth Year chapter, I think, which is kind of silly! While on the one hand I can see her keeping the prestige of her pureblood name for simplicity's sake, she was so stupidly in love with Robert Grey... I shall edit this, anyway.

Yay for rereview!


 Report Review

Review #15, by water_lily43175 March 29th, 1996 - Sixth Year

10th May 2012:
The whole Squad thing, and the Cal and Gabriel's reactions to it in particular, just serve to highlight how the houses really don't work at Hogwarts. Perhaps they would, if it wasn't for the one house being shrouded in such prejudice; after all the other three houses get on with each other fine, and Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff never seem to have TOO many problems with Slytherin ... it just so happens that the whole "put yourself first" mantra that goes with being a Slytherin sits well with Dark wizards. Which is unfortunate.

Oh, poor old Tobias! Losing his badge! He's so adorable, how it means so much to him! And go him, sticking up to Annie like that. Even if she is one of the more decent Gryffindors, she's still jumping to conclusions, which makes her A Bad Person in my books. Mind you, Tobias was quite harsh to her, it's like he decided in advance that she was going to assume he was in the Squad, and so set her up to say what she did. Never mind, she'll get over it...

And lastly, because I've flicked through all your responses, I too swear by a bacon sandwich along with orange juice to treat a sore head. Bacon and egg sandwich to be precise, the egg's presence MAKES it.

ANYWAY, this brings us to the end, and I shall have to leave your fics now and head to the land of nod, but I shall read on tomorrow (when I should be revising for exams. Feel guilty). AND, thank you for the replies, I always find it interesting to see what someone thinks about what I think of their stories (if that makes sense...). :)

Author's Response: Slytherin House, as it existed, doesn't work. I like to think that post-canon it undergoes a reform, or at least its place does, but then, I believe JK when she says Slytherin House came back to fight amongst the reinforcements, so perhaps I'm all naive. Though future stories do address the relationships between Slytherin and the non-Gryffindor houses.

Tobias is absolutely one to throw the baby out with the bathwater on a matter of principle, especially being a ratty seventeen year-old. But then, Annie was hardly in the right. But this situation isn't over with, not by any stretch of the imagination.

Bacon and fried egg. Yes. Ideally with the yolk broken in cooking, because otherwise my sandwich gets drippy and I can't cope with that when I'm suffering, it's TOO HARD.

Thank you very much for all your attention! It's been rather pleasant watching the reviews come in (especially since this fic was finished pre-HPB, if edited since, so I haven't really thought about the nuances of it in a whiiile). And always interesting to see what you think of what I think of what you think... I think. Good night, and peace out. ;) (no, only a little guilty)


 Report Review

Review #16, by water_lily43175 January 14th, 1996 – Sixth Year

10th May 2012:
Oh, poor old Cal! His father sounds absolutely awful...

The exchange with the Gryffindors made me feel more and more for the four, and really dislike the Gryffindors - not that I didn't already dislike McLaggen but that's beside the point - and none of the Gryffindors acted at all un-Gryffindorish throughout that entire exchange. I salute your writing skills for portraying the ugly side of Gryffindor so well.

It's interesting that of the four, Cal is the one who seems most open-minded and sensible and reasonable about everything - though admittedly Tanith isn't far behind now she's let her prejudices go. And I like that Gabriel is still kind of anti-Muggle, because it seems much more realistic than them all just going "everything I have ever known is wrong" in a heartbeat. And yet, at the same time, it definitely feels as though the possibility is there for Gabriel to have a change of heart, especially given his reaction to a lot of what Cal says...

Author's Response: McLaggen was originally not McLaggen. It was written pre-HPB, and he was a Pureblood Gryffindor OC, a burly, not-as-charismatic-as-he-thought-he-was guy who wanted to be in the Quidditch team with a different name I forget now. And then HPB came out, and FINALLY we had characters developed in the year above Harry (other than Katie Bell, who I later co-opt), including McLaggen. So that was just a case of Find and Replace, because there was NOTHING about this OC's characterisation which didn't match this new character (and then yay, I'm all clever and canon-compliant!). It's fun to view the Gryffindors from the Reasonable-Negative POV, because surely their mentality could lead to arrogance and self-righteousness. But equally I refuse to make anyone too black or white and they will have their turn to show their good points!

Cal has an advantage of a Muggle-born foster father. This gives him an advantage over Tobias' sometimes theoretical idealism and Tanith, still figuring out what she believes. Gabe? Yeah, Gabriel has no reason to change his ways, especially as he has a less strict self-image than Tanith does, but equally he's not an idiot, and these four live in the 'perfect' time to question their prejudices and beliefs. Then again, 'mass genocide' is a fairly polarising political standpoint for Voldemort to take. You can easily think Muggleborns don't belong in magic society and yet not want to KILL them all. And this shall come up!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by water_lily43175 December 31st, 1995 – Sixth Year

10th May 2012:
I find it odd, in a way, that Tobias is so anti-werewolf, because he seems like one of the more open-minded ones. Then again, I guess his law-abiding nature and dislike of risk-taking puts him firmly in the anti-werewolf category...

When Cal said he was getting letters from "random birds", I genuinely thought it meant women, not the flying animal, and got quite confused as to what his foster dad was up to! Then I worked it out. IT'S ALL OKAY.

Tobias and Annie's little fling is crushing my heart right now. But then, so long as he comes back to Tanith in the end, I suppose I'll let him off...

Author's Response: Tobias is young enough that his idealism fits in a strange place - he can be open-minded and naive when matters are a long way away and don't affect him, but when they're right in his face he reacts more bluntly and instinctively. So he finds werewolves scary. That's a contradiction he'll have to learn to deal with - fear versus ideal.

'Random birds'. Oh God, I nearly snorted wine. No! No, Will is not getting his many girlfriends from tropical islands to send his foster-son letters. THAT WOULD BE VERY DIFFERENT.

I fear I cannot tell you how it'll all end. You'll have to read on... ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by water_lily43175 September 1st, 1993 – Fourth Year

10th May 2012:
OH LORD I love the magazine quiz. Poor Cal. AND, on that note, his past sounds horrific! I think I forgot to comment in my last review about how he'd mentioned his parents were Death Eaters, the whole Tanith/Tobias thing distracted me, but it sounds very interesting.

Author's Response: Yes, Cal's past is... complicated. And yet, ironically, he probably has the most normal and loving home life with his foster father. Go figure, hey?

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by water_lily43175 December 15th, 1994 – Fifth Year

10th May 2012:
The Cal/Gabriel conversation at the Ball was pure genius. Tanith and Tobias would be the most adorable couple! Gutted that she's not interested in that way. I'm going to say that there's more to come between them though, otherwise you wouldn't have written this in... Also, I think Cal is my favourite of the four so far. I'm not sure why. But I like him. :)

Author's Response: Tobias and Tanith as a possible couple being a recurring theme in these stories? It might just happen. Cal and Gabe were particularly good friends, it's something I forget sometimes until I look back at these old stories.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by water_lily43175 September 1st, 1994 - Fifth Year

10th May 2012:
I like that Ritter is a Squib. I think it's a plot device which is underused, because I love seeing what people do with Squib characters, in terms of how they interact with the wizarding world.

Interesting that Tanith's family have the anti-Muggle prejudices of the stereotypical Slytherin family, and yet a) aren't friendly with the Death Eaters, and b) employ a Squib. Plus the fact that Tanith and her sister accept Ritter as a Squib to different extents. It makes them much more intriguing characters right from the start, Tanith especially. And I like 'good' Slytherins, so to speak, they're an unfairly prejudiced set of people as a whole.

I love the thought of the Express just going round in circles, only to end up about 20 miles from where it started off at the beginning...

Gabriel's already seeming like the most intriguing character of the four, and he wasn't even in the chapter! They all seem interesting in their own ways though, and are all quite distinct from each other, which I like. :)

Author's Response: Ritter is one of my favourite secondary characters. Certainly he's integral to Tanith's characterisation and development, which I do hope will prove to be interesting! Good Slytherins are the point of the story, so I hope the characters prove to entertain as you carry on reading.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by water_lily43175 Prologue

10th May 2012:
The first six paragraphs must be the best first six paragraphs of a story EVER. A marvellously in-depth summary of British weather and general habits! You must be a Brit...

Author's Response: I am, indeed, a Brit. And yes, though it's been... um, about eight years since I originally wrote this prologue (good grief), it's still probably my favourite start to any story I have ever penned, so I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by remusrockssiriussucks Prologue

23rd October 2009:
Your prologue is brilliant.
I love how you take a muggle's POV to look at your protagonists.
Your writing has great flow and seems always entertaining, I especially loved the beginning about the weather and drinking.
Youre descriptions created the pub and its owner in my mental image.

Author's Response: I am rather fond of the scene-setting regarding weather, etc, in the prologue. It's the kind of thing I'd have tried to have used for any fic at some point, even if LAH hadn't gone ahead. Recycling paragraphs, yay. I'm glad it was all enjoyed.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Billion Prologue

9th September 2009:
I like how you eased us in to Terry's POV through background info. Great idea to introduce the characters through an outsider - a muggle no less. Terry is able to provide just enough info about the cast to intrigue. Strange though, that Slytherins would go to a muggle pub, of all places, to hang out.

Author's Response: How and why these Slytherins would stop by a pub will be made clearer. Or, rather, it's Cal's fault and because of his upbringing, as we'll see. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by InsertBrillianceHere March 29th, 1996 - Sixth Year

26th November 2008:
wow, I love this story and all the characters. It's always interesting to see things from a Slytherin's point of view; you can't help but feel a little frustrated by how categorised the school is by the 'house system' - it raises so many questions about nature vs nuture. Anyway i just wanted to say that your writing is amazing and that you have really got me thinking. It says that the story is completed but i really hope it isn't or at least a sequal is on its way??

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying the story! Yeah, the house system is the major theme for the entire tale, and it's unfortunately one where we know the ending, so all we can focus on is the challenge and the struggle.

The story is pretty much complete. However, Shade to Shade is to be the sequel, a more traditional linear novel about the gang's seventh year (so set during Half-Blood Prince). The Prologue's just hit here, and there's more to come! Glad you're enjoying all of this!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Daanana December 15th, 1994 – Fifth Year

10th June 2008:
I really really liked this. I liked all four chaps/stories. And I'm really surprised you don't have more reviews. You write very well and you really made me love the boys. Great job!

Author's Response: (better late review response than never)

I'm glad you enjoyed this! The stories haven't had many reviews but I appreciate those who take the time to say a few words. Cheers!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login