Reading Reviews for A Summer Thing
  
279 Reviews Found

Review #1, by classicblack Turn of Events

22nd September 2011:
Well, well, well, looks like next chapter will be highly interesting. I think it might be more interesting if the Chudley Cannons actually win sometime in the furture? That way this chapter might show some foreshadowing, haha. And we all know how good JKR is at that.
I think you described the Quidditch match well. Good job!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #2, by classicblack Young, Beautiful, and Successful

21st September 2011:
I love junkfood and just like Oliver, my swim coach forbids me from eating it. I ignore him ;)
Wood and Martha most definitely were in a relationship, or something of the sort.
Well done!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #3, by classicblack Textured Batter

21st September 2011:
Perhaps it was a little cheesy, but overall I think this will be a rather cute story :) A nice refresher from the more dramatic ones. Well done!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #4, by classicblack Unexpected Happenings

21st September 2011:
Perhaps it's moving a bit too fast, as they'd never actually met before her showing up at Quidditch tryouts. School in Canada? I'll let you get away with it. I keep wishing Wood would mention something about captaining Harry Potter... I don't know, I feel as if it'd be more realistic. Wood seems like the type to brag about that, haha. And I feel like maybe Wood isn't pompous enough. I mean, the only aspect of the Oliver JKR wrote is the extremely long speeches to his team... I really liked that old couple- so cute!
Until next chapter,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #5, by classicblack Ditch the Shoes

21st September 2011:
I think you're doing a rather good job of characterizing Oliver, and I see how it'd be pretty hard to do. I liked this chapter; don't worry, I like fillers, as long as they're interesting. And now I get why this chapter is titled as it is, haha.
Until next chapter,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #6, by classicblack Pompous Gits

20th September 2011:
Sounds interesting. It's a nice refreshing change from the dramatic poofs I usually read on this site, although they are very good ;) It was just a little choppy when she was suddenly flying... I was a little confused as to how that happened out of the blue...
Anyway, I'll be reading next chapter, so you'll hear back,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #7, by Theophaneia Late Night Revelations

2nd July 2010:
Hello!

Just got to say, I love how Cody and Oliver's relationship is shaping up so far. Their chemistry is undeniable, but the fact that they wouldn't be able to "fraternize" because they're on the same team could definitely be a hindrance. Hope not, though...

I love how you characterize these characters. You make them have depth, which is really important. I can already, definitely, tell that both Oliver and Cody have a past. I'm not quite sure what has happened to Cody (was it just the Quidditch accident, or is it more?) or if it's supposed to still be a mystery, but I love how Oliver shows this side of himself. It makes his character more real and more relatable (I don't even know if that's a word, because the red squiggly line is showing beneath it but it's the best word I can come up with, haha).

Can't wait to see what's in store for Cody, Oliver, and the rest of the team. Hope these "team builder" exercises help push Cody and Oliver together, if you get my drift. ;D

Love the story so far! Great work!

-Theophaneia

 Report Review

Review #8, by Winni3 Late Night Revelations

25th June 2010:
Wow, this has gotten pretty intense! I like how you're characterised Wood and Cody and the tension between them xP
Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by blimmchen Late Night Revelations

2nd June 2010:
Your story is really really interesting. I absolutelty love it, well done :))

Author's Response: Thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by BellaFan202 Late Night Revelations

16th May 2010:
In the name of Merlin. I almost cried. It was that good. Amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by blackorchid Late Night Revelations

14th May 2010:
I really like this chapter, it's nice to see Oliver with more depth than most stories tend to give him.

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 Late Night Revelations

14th May 2010:
please update i really love this!

Author's Response: Thanks ! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 Young, Beautiful, and Successful

13th May 2010:
5 pounds its an ex girlfriend:)

Author's Response: LOL I guess we'll find out ;)

 Report Review

Review #14, by miss_aurora Late Night Revelations

12th May 2010:
Oh, the battle of Hogwarts had left a deep scar in Oliver but Cody was there, at least to listen and perhaps provide sanctuary. That's just so sweet. But indeed, whenever I read DH, I feel so sad. Too many death and suffering, despite the winning, the loss was still great.

But anyway, thank you for the wonderful update :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Happy_Hexer Embarrassing Incidents

2nd December 2009:
This has really been nicely written and a pleasure to sit and read and review. The characters aren't OOC you've maintained them consistantly throughout.

The grammar, punctuation and spelling is never an issue, although its not my speciality. There was nothing blatantly wrong.

The relationship is developing well, although it initally seemed quick the pace has slowed a little, which I think was needed.

8/10 =D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Happy_Hexer Nasty Surprises

2nd December 2009:
Ha Rita made an appearance. Nicely included and she was in character. Like how this is progressing and the mini-argument they had.

Author's Response: That Rita, quite the nosy one ;) Thanks

 Report Review

Review #17, by Happy_Hexer Turn of Events

2nd December 2009:
Ohhh a Quidditch game. Everything is described brilliantly. The characters are developing well and are kept in character.

Grammar, punctuation and spelling is a high standard throughout.

Author's Response: Wonderful, thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Happy_Hexer Young, Beautiful, and Successful

2nd December 2009:
I'm curious about Cody's history and past that seems the only part of this that I want to see expanded on.

Nice plot though and it is well written, which makes it enjoyable to read.

Author's Response: That stuff'll come to light in future chapters :) Thanks

 Report Review

Review #19, by Happy_Hexer Textured Batter

2nd December 2009:
The fluff was nice, a break from the Quidditch. Not sure whether it happenned a little too quickly, but it was nicely written.

That's my only comment really on this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Happy_Hexer Unexpected Happenings

2nd December 2009:
Ha. Oliver with his pie charts and stats. Very in character.

Loving the challenge with out magic as well.

This is developing nicely.

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Happy_Hexer Ditch the Shoes

2nd December 2009:
Oliver doesn't seem OOC. Again all seems well in this chapter. I'm enjoying the plot so far.

There are no obvious punctuation, spelling or grammar problems.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Happy_Hexer Pompous Gits

2nd December 2009:
Hey, it is Happy_Hexer from the forums. Sorry it took so long to review.

Your characterisation is great, everyone seems developed, I can't see any problems there.

I really can't see anything of great concern.

Is this going to be an Oliver/OC, I've never read one of those before.

Great start.

 Report Review

Review #23, by the midnight avenger Pompous Gits

28th November 2009:
excellent work! it's so well writen and beliveable and not to mention it's got oliver wood. I can't wait to read the rest.

Author's Response: :) Hope you enjoy it, thanks.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Leigh Kelley Embarrassing Incidents

16th November 2009:
And here's the last one.

I don't picture Oliver as much of a drinker, but I can definitely see how this situation would warrant something with a kick. Anything to mentally prepare him for having to stay in that room, and share a room with Cody. I don't know what Hipshook was thinking. Even if the place was up to standards once upon a time, and even if the owner is an old friend, you would have still expected him to at least check the conditions before booking rooms, especially with the day they would have ahead of them. Maybe his lack of judgment has something to do with his mind not being in the right place. I don't know, but it was poor thinking on his part. Had the desired effect, though.

Oliver is such a gentleman. Cody offering to share the bed is nice of her, and he cockroach was just what he needed to accept. Not sure why she got upset when he called her an ugly pig though. She did squish her face up that way, and I'm sure he was only joking.

Nice chapter, and nice story overall. At first I thought you were going too fast and would have them jump into a relationship right off the bat, but I'm glad to see that it slowed down somewhat. Being friends is something they should consider first off, especially since they are on the same team together. Good job with that.

Keep it up.

~L. Kelley

 Report Review

Review #25, by Leigh Kelley Nasty Surprises

16th November 2009:
Good chapter.

I think everything was realistic, here. Cody reacted to Oliver's telling her to shut up just how I would have expected her to. Her stubborn trait keeps springing up, and I don't think you've taken her out of the character you've created for her so far. Of course, I expect growth in the characters as things progress, but so far it's been done very well.

Ah. Good old Rita Skeeter. The woman is still as horrid. It would have been too much to expect the effects of war to change her even in the slightest. I like how she jumped to conclusions about them staying at the hotel. It's exactly the way that she's take one little thing and run away with it. I, like Oliver, expect a good, long article detailing their supposed affair. Poor them.

Before they even arrived I knew that they'd be the last ones. Not only were they the last ones to leave the fields, but an argument, stopping for food, and being delayed by Rita Skeeter all played to hamper their progress.

Oh boy. The two of them sharing that room together? Well that certainly leaves room for more tension.

Your writing seems to be improving with each chapter. You're developing the characters, they're starting to seem more rounded, and everything's moving along at a nice enough pace.

Moving on, then.

~L. Kelley

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>