Reading Reviews for Dust
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by VeniceLily Dust

15th October 2010:
So, at long last, I am here to review. I'm so terribly sorry it took so long!

I have now read this three times over the course of a couple weeks, and it becomes more beautiful with each reading. Your writing is so.. lovely to read. It's detailed, but you don't feel overwhelmed with information because it's so delicately displayed.

The story itself, is so heartbreaking, tragic, but beautiful as well. Strange, that I would say that about a story where both partners are cheating on each other, but it works in this... by the end, I was begging for her to be with Draco instead of Ron, because you made it feel so much more.. right.

You had said people get confused because you switch POV, and I'm not going to lie, the first couple of paragraphs or so, it took me a minute to figure out what was going on. Especially when it was about Ron's lover.. In regards to the change of POV, I would suggest putting in the smallest of indications - an extra space between changes... Mostly, because this is a song fic, I, at least, was lead to believe it changed when there was a quote... and the few places it changes with no indication, I was really confused, and I took away from the beauty that is your writing.

There are too many lines in here for me to comment on all the ones I adored.. One thing in particualr, I love how you have her say Ron's name, right at the end, followed by Turning in dust.

So poetic, and so gorgeous.

This is such a wonderful piece, I'm so glad you requested so I could read it :)

-Lily

Author's Response: Hey Lily!

Oh please don't apologise - I know how life can be so it's totally okay!

thank you for such lovely comments! I am so pleased you liked this. I had never written anything like it before (namely the second person narrative, which I now adore). Yeah, I know. it is weird isn't it, but there is a sort of beauty in their pain and the tragedy of it all. If only they had stopped to actually speak to one another instead...I am pleased that the story and the characters were strong enough that you would wish for that ending.

I had concerns about that aspect of the fic, with the song lyrices and the expected POV switch after each, and originally, that was what I intended, but it didn't work out as such. I shall have a think about what I can do there, as I know it is a problem.

thank you!! I didn't want to name them so obviously. I wanted the descriptions to do that for me, but I also wanted something at the end that was kind of powerful, and I felt that having Hermione say his name right there, followed by that line, would work, so I am SO pleased it did!!

thank you so much darling! I am really happy you liked it!!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by Jakeyboyxxx Dust

2nd October 2010:
God, Hermione's a bitch in this lool
I think Ron was awesome though, cause he like didn't react and stuff, he was the biger person and it seemed like she just wanted a reaction. I really like this story and its going on my favourites
Well done, your a very skilled writer and I love your stories XD

Author's Response: wow thank you!
really? i guess she is on some level; it depends on how you read it. none of them are without sin and i guess it comes down to what they choose to do about it.
thank you again and im pleased you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Rosalie Beckett Dust

19th July 2009:
I was completely sobbing by the end of this. I've never read anything exactly like this and it was so beautiful. It was so realistic and you showed fantastically how it can happen to anyone.

"It saw the way she melted into you, the way her fingers made putty out of your insides and shaped them to what she wanted to see." -That stuck with me through the entire read.

Your writing is so captivating and just gorgeous all around.

Author's Response: wow thank you so much
im so pleased you enjoyed it and the realism came through.
thank you once again!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by magic139 Dust

2nd July 2009:
your author's note, explaining how you challenged yourself and wrote on second person narrative, said you hoped the use of the 'you' voice drew a deeper connection to the reader. i have to say, that it did exactly that for me. you detailed the right things, and not everything, making it seem more real. when i was reading i could especially picture things as if i were looking through my own eyes. i think thats a consequential skill to have, and you definitely have it. i really really enjoy your work, its more than a pleasure to read. please, keep challenging yourself! its definitely worth it; this story being the evidence.

Author's Response: wow
thank you so very much hun
i am so pleased you liked it and the narrative worked for you! 2nd person is not for everyone (although i love it, now, after writing this, lol)
thanks for the wonderful review and the flattery - im not sure i deserve it but thank you!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Sydney Dust

2nd July 2009:
I adore this story. It took me awhile to figure out who each of the characters were but I love how you don't tell the reader straight up who the characters are. This story was very clever and very well written. You did an excellent job with second person. Thank you

Author's Response: thank you so very much hun!

 Report Review

Review #6, by winnie Dust

2nd July 2009:
wow. thats so sad!
i really like the way your kind of switch characters, but then you don't actually write that you're switching characters. Showing, not telling. I like that .

Author's Response: thanks so much winnie!! i really appreciate that!

 Report Review

Review #7, by ThesePhoenixTears Dust

2nd July 2009:
Beautifully Written.

Author's Response: thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by RavenGriffinSlitherPuff Dust

1st July 2009:
*Snif, snif
So touching... so... awesome... so... awesometastic... amazingrific... I'm at a loss for words.

10/10

Author's Response: thank you so much darling!

 Report Review

Review #9, by StepUpx_Gryffindor Dust

30th November 2008:
bah! that was excellent. confusing at first, but then you realise BOTH are cheating on each other and hermione is cheating on him with draco... and you only said like one actual character name! love it =]

Author's Response: thank you so much hun - im glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by starriblue Dust

8th November 2008:
That was brilliant writing, I especially love the way you did the character view switches. Great job :)

Author's Response: thank you - im glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by searching17 Dust

25th October 2008:
Oh my God. This was gorgeous. I sort of guessed who the characters were before the end, but leaving the only one character name for the very end was a genius stroke. The colors and emotions in this story were very beautiful. At first it was sort of hard trying to read and understand everything but different point of views, but then I caught on. I think that the characters were very nicely developed and in character. But the emotions you put in, and your use of only pronouns really strike me. You did a brilliant job. This was a very good one-shot, one of the best I've read here on HPFF. A very well-deserved 10/10. :]

~Estrella

Author's Response: thank you so much for such a lovely review hun! i really appreciate it and im so pleased you liked it

 Report Review

Review #12, by kittyscouldron Dust

30th May 2008:
Wow, that was confusing, but I figured it out before the ending line.

Author's Response: ^_^ thanks love

 Report Review

Review #13, by kaoticsilence Dust

15th May 2008:
Bloody Brilliant..Wow...

Author's Response: thank you so much

 Report Review

Review #14, by londonmarie Dust

13th May 2008:
I love how you wrote this story. It's very well written. Good job.

Author's Response: thanks love!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by XxWoahthatswickedxX Dust

11th May 2008:
I really like how you didn't mention any names until the end.
I'm assuming Ron's seductress was Pansy?

Author's Response: ron's mistress is whoever you want her to be ^_^

thanks hun!


 Report Review

Review #16, by EllaBelle18 Dust

11th May 2008:
Wow, this is amazing. I love the banner, and I love the way you kept me guessing as to who all the characters were, you just kept dropping enough hints until I could figure it out myself. So, congratulations, you're an awesome writer and I'll be keeping an eye out for you.

Author's Response: thank you sweetie. im glad you enjoyed it and cheers for the lovely comments!

 Report Review

Review #17, by quaffy Dust

11th May 2008:
hey there!!!

THIS IS THE BEST ONESHOT I'VE EVER LAID MY EYES ON !

I love your work ... and I think i am speechless ... there is no more to say than: You are a really really good writer and i LOVED LOVED LOVED it ... oh My GOD . keep rocking like hell !!! ;)

Author's Response: thank you love. im so pleased you enjoyed it!!
xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by Vespidae Dust

10th May 2008:
Spectacularly done. This is practically flawless (which pretty amazing for a 2nd person narrative). Give yourself a HUGE pat on the back.

Author's Response: thank you so much. this was actually easier to write - the whole 2nd person thing - than i imagined it would be. im glad you liked it and im glad it worked!!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Curiosity is not a sin Dust

2nd May 2008:
That was so beautiful! Keep up the lovely work! 10/10

Author's Response: thank you ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by jmclay Dust

2nd May 2008:
well it was a little confusing at first,but once i caught on it was amazing. your writing is beyond any compliment that i could ever give you. seriously, you have a talent.
10/10 doesnt even equate to what you deserve.
juli:]

Author's Response: -blushes-
thanks so much juli. i really appreciate it and im very pleased you liked it. thank you. i don't know what else to say xD


 Report Review

Review #21, by Lynn_Jenny Dust

1st May 2008:
this is AMAZING! I LOVED IT!

Author's Response: thank you so much hun ^_^

 Report Review

Review #22, by Mary Dust

1st May 2008:
I like how you didn't tell anyone's name til the very end but you described the characters so that you could tell who they where. very sad, very good

Author's Response: thanks mary - that was most definitely deliberate and something I enjoy doing. you should never underestimate the intelligence of your readers ^_-

 Report Review

Review #23, by FallinSlowly Dust

1st May 2008:
Wow. That's one of the best fics I've ever read. One of the best things I've ever read period. Wow.

Author's Response: thank you so much sweetie ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by SkinAndBones_ Dust

1st May 2008:
Kate!!!

wowwy.
you know, what's funny is on my feed (yes, I have you on my RSS feed :3) it said a few days ago that you had a new story out call Dust. and when I went to read it I realized that it wasn't validated yet. I've been waiting for it since *guilty grin* Why, I have no idea. Probably just because your brilliant and probably because you've been writing about as much as I have (which is significantly less than we used too huh?) but I think it's mostly the first :D

But, after saying that, onto this gem here.

You are the first and only person (and I can say this truthfully) who has managed to pull off second person narrative. I remember reading it on quizilla with really lame stories and making it sound like the reader was the main character and yada yada, and it was just dreadful and it completely turned me off of the narrative. But this! This was simply a work of art. You did it perfectly! I don't even know how else to describe how wonderful it is other then saying that you've made a hater a lover!

I have to say, that I didn't find it confusing at all, but others might not catch on as quick as I did if they just stumbled across this writing. I think the only reason I was so caught on as to who the characters were by like, the first quarter of the story was because 1) I know you're a Dramione fanatic and 2) in your pairing you included Ron/OC. So, by the first narrative switch I had caught onto who was who. Never the less, I still think people would love this even if they were confused! And they would defiantly pick up by the middle, so no needs to worry lol.

I really liked how you pulled out your signature Kate poeticness in this piece. I always enjoy reading your one-shots/song-fics because they always tend to be worded so meticulously and I literally melt reading some of your word combinations. They just make my insides go all gooey and make me want to kiss your feet because your just that awesome.

For example

Dust rises in a bloom of decay

seven words. And I just said 'wow' when reading it.
SEVEN WORDS!
and that's ONLY SEVEN OF THE THOUSANDS!!!
Why must you be so amazing Kate? You make me jealous and then making me feel bad for feeling jealous over a friend :P

*sigh*
Alright, I'm going to stop there before I start rambling too much. Just know that your awesome and I bow to you. And that I'm really hyper/on pain meds for my headache so sorry if this review is really ridiculous. Hehe

*THROWINGLOVE*
Danielle xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

Author's Response: Dani!!!
hey there lovey *hugs*
you have me on feed? teeheee i feel ultra-special now!
im so very pleased you liked it hun - and to tell you the truth - this narrative style - i think it suits me. i had no troubles writing it but maybe it was not me so much but this particular story that needed to be told like this. im not sure, but im just glad it worked ^_^
i wanted to make people think about who the characters were and in a way, i realise now, they could be anyone anywhere. i think thats another reason why i didn't want to name them - its a situation that i believe is not unique at all - which is why i kinda wanted their identity to be not important. does that make sense at all, lol?
poetry fits this narrative style i discovered. without it, the piece felt kind of stark and bare, devoid of feeling. so i included those little poetic devices i love so much to lift it up. im happy that worked too ^_-
do not be jealous - your Wind Tamer is still one of the most incredibly beautiful pieces i have ever read!!

*CATCHESTHELLOVE*
thank you darling!!!

Kate xxx


 Report Review

Review #25, by dracomalfoylover123 Dust

1st May 2008:
That nearly brought a tear to my eye! Beautifully written! It was quite confusing with the characters and the continual change of POV so maybe you should add something in to make it clearer, and I was unsure who the characters actually were. Just to clarify, was it Hermione and Draco? With Ron as the Husband? I think so but it did take a while to figure out and some of the scenes were confusing because I couldn't quite tell which character it was at times. Maybe I should read it again because I am quite tired so it could just be my befuddled mind failing me again.

Anyway, I loved your writing style. I've never personally written in second person and haven't really read much of it, fanfiction or othewise, but yours was incredible. Your way with words is just astounding and this story was simply wonderful. I think that the characterisation was a little off, but, then again, what fanifciton keeps the characters 100% in character?

A very nice piece and I look forward to reading more or your writing! Many thanks, Becky x

Author's Response: thank you hun. im pleased you liked it ^_^
yes it was Ron as Husband and draco and hermione. lol read it again when you have a clear head - everything is deliberate and there are little things in each scene that alert you to who is speaking.

thank you once again Becky!! *hugs*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>