Reading Reviews for Scorpius's Ship
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by starfish The Courtship

5th October 2010:
Keep up the good work. You write with a lot of genuine emotion, I hope both you and Scorpius get your happy ending x

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope we will, too.

 Report Review

Review #2, by amy The Courtship

20th January 2010:
i really hope you finish this story i do really like it

Author's Response: I will. It just might take me awhile. :o)

 Report Review

Review #3, by amy The Kinship

20th January 2010:
i really love your story its one of the best i have read

Author's Response: I really appreciate your comment. This story was my third so I worked harder on it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by amy The Censorship

20th January 2010:
just loved this chapter it was great

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I enjoyed writing this story. I hope to have some time during the summer to work on it a bit.

 Report Review

Review #5, by sarahsboot The Courtship

20th June 2009:
Ok I'll go nuts if I can't read on soon... so please update soon??? you've created an addict so you have do deal with the consequences *grins*
grtz

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear you're enjoying it. I'm having to take a little hiatus what with school, but I hope to be able to get a chapter in pretty soon.

 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyAndScorpius4eva The Courtship

18th January 2009:
Wow!!8 years?!I never thought it would take a turn in that direction;P...It's been really long..hehe..I really don't know how Lily and Scorpius stayed away from each other..Now let's hope they have a happily ever after:D
Wow..Draco changed..guess I always knew he had good in him(too soon to talk?)...lol

Great chapter..update soon please:D

xoxo

Author's Response: Yeah, that was the direction the muse led me. Glad it wasn't too unpleasant. Now I just have to determine if the muse's latest venture is even worthy of consideration. :0)

 Report Review

Review #7, by anonymous The Dictatorship

9th January 2009:
lets get the next one up! loving it!!

Author's Response: I'll be working on it today. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by LilyAndScorpius4eva The Dictatorship

5th January 2009:
Yay!!!You finally updated:)It's been too long..
This chap was so sad..I felt like crying...how could draco do that to him??i wonder wat's gonna happen next;)
Please update really soon

Author's Response: Yes, it has been way too long. The next chapter will be up soon. Just need a bit more to it, and then off to the beta.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by anonymous The Kinship

28th December 2008:
next chapter please!!! i wanna read more!

Author's Response: I hope to have it up as soon as I can get it betaed. Thanks for the review. :0)

 Report Review

Review #10, by siter The Acquaintanceship

24th December 2008:
Scorpius is funny :)

Author's Response: Yes, I prefer him that way. Nothing like a bit of snarky humor to make life a little less bleary. :0}

 Report Review

Review #11, by LilyAndScorpius4eva The Kinship

6th October 2008:
heyy!itz been rely long..i dnt hav internet so ive been using my fone n i wrote a nice long review bt dn my ph0ne froze n al was long..anyway let me keep this short and sweet...your chapterz are amazing,as always..plz update this fic and ur other fic as soon as u cn..you know how much i love u writing lily/scorpio..plz continue da great work..update s0on plz

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I will try my best to have something up soon. My muse has been pretty elusive lately, but I'm hoping I can pin her down sometime this week.

 Report Review

Review #12, by The teacher The Scholarship

12th May 2008:
Good chapter again! But poor Scor, how can't Lily see his such a great guy?

Author's Response: She is rather thick at this point, but I think that's something all eleven year olds go through, don't you? I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. Thanks so much for the review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by LilyAndScorpius4eva The Scholarship

12th May 2008:
This was a good chap...I just didn't like what lily did and i dnt think scorpius shud have forgiven her so quickly he shud have made her feel a bit more remorseful..Anyway update soon

Author's Response: You're probably right. I think Scor would be hesitant to do that though, not having a large supply of "back up friends." Besides he's just the forgiving sort.

Thanks for the review. Hope I can get something else up soon.


 Report Review

Review #14, by zivlok The Scholarship

12th May 2008:
" "Except Lily," he says. Lily—yes, Lily is the first friend and best I have ever had. " Should it be "and the best I have ever had"?

Also:

" Rose hasn’t laughed at me for getting a 'T' in potions this week. James actually said my broom... " I think this list would flow better if it had a comma instead of a period after the bit about Rose, because otherwise, the list seems a bit choppy and stilted.

And: " Figure that: Professors are good for something after all. "
This part just made me laugh.

Plus: " This has to be worse than the time Avery gave up trying to curse me and just gut punched me instead. " As sad as this part is, I found this line quite funny. I've always thought that wizards like Crabbe and Goyle and the like are fearsome, not because they can cast spells, but because they don't need to. When you're an underage wizard capable of few actually helpful spells in a fight, it's terrifying meeting someone not only capable of punching people in a duel, but also stupid enough to do it.

I also liked this part: " They say curiosity killed the cat, but I never liked those little blighters anyway. " This was absolutely hilarious. I really love the way you play with phrases, and Scorpy's really dry sense of humour. I think I might have to use that line in real life some time.

As well as: " showed me how to tickle the statue of Prof. Snape behind the ear (which is just wrong on so many levels) " Again, really funny. The mental image this conjures up is both humorous and a little frightening.

But: " "That’s nothing; you should see Nott’s Dad in the mornings..." " I don't think "Dad" should be capitalized.

Platypus: " I turn around and watch her make her way through the crush to my side. " I did not understand this sentence. Could you please explain it? Lily is walking through a crush on Scorpius' side? Huh?

Lastly: " "I know the perfect place." " Where? The kitchens? Hogsmeade? Don't tell me. I'm excited for the next chapter!

All in all, a great chapter. There were a couple grammatical errors, but beyond that, really great. I really felt sad and sorry for Scorpy at some points, but it was balanced with some great humour. I'm gonna give it another 9/10!

Oh, and I really like how you are progressing the relationship between Scorpy and the other Potters. It's nice to see a romance fic that tackles the less obvious relationships as well, such as those between the main characters and their respective siblings.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm actually encouraged to go write another chapter now! Whoopie.

Thanks for pointing out those grammatical errors. I'll go back and edit those, and I loved hearing what parts you found humorous.

I guess the word crush is an older Brittishism than I thought it was. I've read it in books like Pride and Prejudice, and I thought it might still be in use. It means people packed in a room or hall or such. I was trying to get the idea across that she was having to push through a crowd to get to him.

I'm so glad to get your wonderful and extremely helpful reviews. Thanks so much for the 9/10. It really is a great compliment.


 Report Review

Review #15, by zivlok The Battleship

12th May 2008:
Well, I THOUGHT I had reviewed this chapter. Hmmm... Anywho, another good chapter. I would re-read it and give you more in depth info, but I would rather read your newest chapter.

So, quickly: Your humour is still there, though this is more of a "plotty" chapter. I think Lily's relationship with Brice was done a bit quickly. However, dragging it out would have been a bore. I think I like how you did it, introducing the possibility a chapter before, and then putting the actual thing all in one chapter. Dragging it out would have made this fic to angsty and like OotP.

This was another very readable chapter, and I liked the part where Lily punched out Nott - it reminded me of Hermy in PoA. Lastly, I did like how Brice asked Lily out just as Scorpius said his words out loud and everything - it was humorous, and I was not expecting Brice to ask at that exact moment. Well done!

All in all, another good chapter, though I can't remember it too well. I'm gonna go read chapter 4 now.

8/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. This was a difficult chapter to write. I did have a hard time deciding how soon to introduce the new character. I didn't want him to be too significant, so that prompted my choice. I really do appreciate you letting me know in detail what you think. Can't wait to hear your thoughts on chapter 4.

 Report Review

Review #16, by The teacher The Battleship

11th May 2008:
Very good! I really enjoy the humour in this one. Happy to see that things are getting a little better for Scor.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I love humor. I'm glad I'm able to finally write a humorous fic.

 Report Review

Review #17, by LilyAndScorpius4eva The Battleship

9th May 2008:
Aww this was so g00d!!!I love it!!!p00r lily..Zabini is such a prat..But atleast lily has scorpio..Anyway plz update soon

Author's Response: I had to go back and look to see which story this was because Zabini is becoming a regular change artist in my stories! LOL

Yes, he is a little prat in this one. I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and I hope you will continue to.


 Report Review

Review #18, by zivlok The Fellowship

9th May 2008:
Your sense of humour really shone in this chapter. The whole beginning section was hilarious - the bit about school being a karmic punishment and the line about caffeinated beverages and patents were especially amusing.

Again, your POV is spot on, and I'm really starting to like this Scorpius, and all his little quirks and side commentary. I'm normally not a huge fan of !st person fanfics, because a lot of them contain too much unimaginative speaking directly to the audience. I've seen a couple pull it off, but this fic just gives a straight account from Scorpius, and the humour is derived from the actual plot, which works so much better.

I also like how the sons of Draco's friends don't like Scorpy, I've seen that a couple times, and it works. Lastly, I really liked the whole bit where Scorpy keeps being thrown to the floors. THere was humour derived from that simple fact, and his side commentary about castle designers and such made it very humorous indeed.

Oh, and Scorpy's excuses and bumbling are endearing, cute, and make for a very readable and fun fic.

I'm giving this a very close 9/10, mostly because I've never given a 10/10 before, and I feel a little wary about it. Still, you have come closer than anyone else has in a long while to making it a perfect score!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Oh, reviews, how I love them!

I wanted to write something from first person POV as a challenge to myself. I'm like you, I've seen them done well, but I've seen them done poorly more often. I'm glad it works in this story, but most of that is due to my wonderful beta, Viv.

I'm so flattered to get a 9/10. I know what you mean about giving a 10/10. You sorta want to leave that for something worthy of publication. I feel the same way. Thank-you so much for these reviews.


 Report Review

Review #19, by zivlok The Acquaintanceship

9th May 2008:
First off, I'd like to say how much I like the idea of putting "ship" in all the title names. I find that quite creative and amusing.

On to the actual fic! First of all, I didn't like it as much at the beginning, but that's just because I'm a bit of a softie towards Draco. Only after DH, that is. I've never liked Draco, but I've always thought he would grow up a bit after Hogwarts. Also, I'm currently reading an amazing Scorpy-based fic by JLHufflepuff, and I tend to view all future-fics as part of that world, so it takes a bit for me to break myself away. I must say that by the end you have won me over.

I really loved the whole bit where Scorpy was jealous of Lily's brother, which led to some hilarity. More than that, though, I really liked how you did Scorpius' POV. All the little quips about Lily, about how the sorting hat looks good on her and such were very endearing. Also, I found the part where it takes forever to get to Lily and there was an inordinately large amount of 1st years whose names started with "P" quite humorous indeed.

Lastly, I liked Scorpius' actions; his attempts at humour, his slight slumps of shoulder at times and such. You really got his POV, his actions, and a good amount of humour spot on. A very well done 1st chapter!

9/10

Author's Response: Thank-you so very much for the review. I love reviews that let me know what I did wrong and what I did right.

I actually looked up a page on the internet that gave me all the words ending in 'ship' for this story. I find I like amusing chapter titles, and you are the first one to notice that little tidbit.

This story actually started out as my first ever Scor and Rose fic. I really wanted to try something from first person POV, but I only got one chapter written before I went on to Love Hurts. I found that chapter in my doc folder one day and decided to see what I could do with it, and this is the result.

I've always wanted to write a more humorous fic.

Thanks so much for reading my story and reviewing it. I hope I can keep you coming back for more.


 Report Review

Review #20, by LilyAndScorpius4eva The Fellowship

4th May 2008:
Awww hes so jealous which is really cute lol and you can just see he cares so much for lily which is great!!I cant wait for the next chap.plz update soon

Author's Response: Thanks. I have great hopes for this story, but it's going to be slow going because I don't have this one finished yet! I'll keep it up though. No abandonment issues here.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Terapsin The Fellowship

13th April 2008:
I hope you will update next chapter soon, Because I love your story and can't wait till can reed it!1

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you like it, and I hope to have the next chapter up before the end of the week.

 Report Review

Review #22, by rosie2424 The Fellowship

12th April 2008:
Lol, that was a funny chapter!
It's awesome. Keep going.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I have been wanting to write a L/S fic that leaned more toward the humorous for awhile now. Glad you enjoyed it. I will update soon.

 Report Review

Review #23, by The teacher The Fellowship

12th April 2008:
Very good chapter again! I really enjoyed the humour in it.

You asked me for my opinion about if the story should jump from year to year or be one full year and have a sequel after. Well to be honest, it's hard for me to tell you what to do because I don't know how many ideas you have for this one and I trust you completely with that decision especially that so far I appreciated every chapter of your stories.

Thanks for another fast update.

Author's Response: You're very welcome for the update. I'll post the next one sometime this week, I hope.

About the story, I guess I'll have to wait and see how it pulls me. With Love Hurts, it just fit to skip ahead a little. With this one, it may be different. We'll see.

Thanks so much for the review and the confidence you have in me! Hope this story continues to impress.


 Report Review

Review #24, by LilyAndScorpius4eva The Acquaintanceship

10th April 2008:
this is great plz update again soon!!and a different POV wouldnt be too bad like lilys or something tho i like scorpiuses POV..anyway great chapter

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'll probably stick with Scor's POV in this story anyway. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #25, by rosie2424 The Acquaintanceship

9th April 2008:
This is the first Scorpius/Lily story I've read (I normally Scorpius/Rose) and I thought it was great!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. I really enjoy writing Lily/Scor. I guess I can sympathize more with Lily than Rose, not really sure.

I appreciate the review.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>