Reading Reviews for Through the Bars of Nurmengard
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by chiQs09 Through the Bars of Nurmengard

3rd May 2008:
(I don't understand why I can't log in...)

You know what? You're an excellent writer! I love your writing style, a lot! :)
To the story:
I think it's quite impressive how you managed to depict Grindelwald's character, and how you made us readers see through his eyes. I've never read a Grindelwald story before, and I think you did a great job.
This is as good as the wolf story you wrote at FictionCentral. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Shellee Through the Bars of Nurmengard

18th April 2008:
As proof that I'm not familiar with Harry Potter anymore, the first line I read transported me to Lord of the Rings. Then around the middle I figured out who it was about, who the person was and I think it's very well done. The way he matured, the way he's thinking, the way he sees the past and how he knows what he's done and it wasn't all that good. The part of where the evil things crawl over the horizon is very lovely because most of the times you can always see terror from the sky. I wish that he could pass on the wand, for him to fall again and save the world, kind of.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ButterflyRogue Through the Bars of Nurmengard

18th April 2008:
Wow! This was truly an outstanding piece of work! It's the first story from Grindelwald's point of view I've ever read and I must say I really love the way you portrayed him. It always struck me as a sign of him realizing all the bad he had done in that moment in DH where he wouldn't say to Voldemort where the Elder Wand is...

I also loved the parallel you drew with Nurmengard and Grindelwald himself - it was very insightful and poetic, wonderfully written...

Also, as a side note --- this line: "Nature made wizards the superior species, and it seemed only logical, and in accordance with natural law, that we rule the world." - kind of reminds me of another fandom I'm a huge fan of, the X-men, and the different views on world Magneto and Charles Xavier have... I believe it to be quite similar to the Gellert/Albus situation... :D

All in all, well done!!

Author's Response: Thats one of the core themes of x-men. Stan Lee is known for hiding deep, insightful messages in his comics. Both contain very evolutionist ideas, but instead of glorifying them, both harry potter and x-men show how fallacious the logic actually is.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Girldetective85 Through the Bars of Nurmengard

17th April 2008:
A story from the eyes of Grindelwald! I haven't read anything like this before, so it was a really new and refreshing story. I have a soft spot for minor characters and underdogs, so I'm really glad to have read this fic.

I like that the time he has spent in prison has changed him for the better. It's so bittersweet that now at the moment when he finally realizes what he has become, he can no longer fix it. I love the subtle irony that his entire life has been spent in a sort of psychological prison - his stubborn zeal trapped him into one way of thinking - and now that he is free from that, he is in an actual prison.

I like this paragraph: "Tyrants always fall for they fail to recognize the good in the people they rule, and the evil they represent. Good defeats evil, because love is the strongest force there is. Love is what binds this world together." Great message!

 Report Review

Review #5, by celticbard Through the Bars of Nurmengard

8th April 2008:
What a profound piece! I enjoyed your take on Grindelwald and his mournful introspection. Beautifully written.

 Report Review

Review #6, by SereneChaos Through the Bars of Nurmengard

6th April 2008:
*chilled* Wow. That was incredibly written, and...wow.

*lost for words*

It's chilling and yet...wow.

A few typos here and there, but beyond that, it was great.

 Report Review

Review #7, by ginwannabe Through the Bars of Nurmengard

6th April 2008:
Wow. You've done a fantastic job with the imagery in this. You have just the subtlest hints to Dumbledore and Grindelwald, but the lasting effects of that relationship come through so poignantly. Very well done!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ladymblack Through the Bars of Nurmengard

5th April 2008:
I thought that this was just beautifully written! You should expand upon it a bit. I would certainly wish to read more. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #9, by Might Have Ben Hur Through the Bars of Nurmengard

5th April 2008:
The maturity level in your writing style is simply remarkable. There were only a few little typos hidden in there (two, I believe), but otherwise fantastic. It had a very "ramblings of a madman" feel to it, which helped give depth to the point you were trying to convey. Again, an amazing piece of work.

 Report Review

Review #10, by BigTiggaPwnz Through the Bars of Nurmengard

4th April 2008:
That gave me chills, and your detail in this was amazing! This is possibly my favorite one-shot yet. You just made my favorites with ease.

Good job and make more!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login