Reading Reviews for Her Veil Lies
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by wytchkitty13 She Ran

3rd September 2009:
Well I must say that I am not a fan of Sirius/Lily either but you did a good job with that quote in this story. I found this a very interesting read!

I guess I can sum it all up and say that you painted on a canvas with colors that didn't exist yet somehow you were able to produce a masterpiece out of it all. Great job! You have a great deal of talent and I applaud your hard word and imagination. :)

Author's Response: Don't worry, I'm definitely not a Sirius and Lily fan either, I just thought this fit and wanted to branch out abit.
I LOVE your analogy. It's definitely made my day. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and leave a review. Sorry it's taken me so long to get back to it.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Angelina She Ran

16th July 2009:
For not being used to this kind of thing, you did a pretty awesome job. This is great! I love how the quote was worked in there flawlessly. It seemd like it was meant to be. It felt like this actually happened. But I am happy that Lily and James ended up together!

Author's Response: I think the reason the quote worked so well with me was because I had never heard the song before and thus the quote had not meaning apart from the first thing I thought of...which was Sirius and Lily, kind of.
I'm happy that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by caara She Ran

5th March 2009:
omg i loved it!!! please keep writing more!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! Since it's a one-shot, it won't keep going, but thanks for the suggestion.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lily 4 James She Ran

25th October 2008:
I've just listened to the song whhile reading this and I honestly feel like I'm about to cry

Love the quote and it really fitted this story

Oh dear... I think I'd better go read some fluff because I feel a bit depressed :(

Truly amazing

x.

Author's Response: Haha, fluff will definitely work. Thanks for reading and leaving a review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by doglover She Ran

19th October 2008:
that is a really good story, even though i do not approve of lily/sirius in the least.
you are a very talented writer.

Author's Response: I don't like them either. Thanks for your compliment. It means a LOT.

 Report Review

Review #6, by sammieoxox She Ran

14th October 2008:
wow, that was... amazing
i have to admit that i could never really see it
them being together
but you wrote it so beautifully.. it was just amazing
this defiantly was worth the read lol
i think you can already tell this is a 10/10 from me
and trust me, it it really good... lol no wonder you are one of my favorite writers =) oh and btw.. what made the huge effect was that i was listening to the song as i read, it really did make the effect. you should listen to it next time if you havent already

Author's Response: I can't really see them as being together either. But I figured I'd give it a shot and see what happened.
I"m super happy you like it. =]=]


 Report Review

Review #7, by JSB 073 She Ran

22nd May 2008:
Whoa. As I promised, I said I'd read this before my school ends and it ends tomorrow. And just whoa. It was nothing I had expected and it was much better than I thought it would be. I was so wary about the ship, Sirius/Lily? Unbelievable. But the line that you used, it's one of my favorite songs and I had to go listen to the song before I read this... and this. I'm sorry to say that this was so... depressing. How she could love James as she did, but do such things with Sirius. And the secreccy, the deception, the lies, the guilt. How is it even possible to live with all of that? Unbelievable. But Layla, it was honestly well written, and it was fantastic. She was finally able to come into conclusion with herself, even if she had to break, come together, and break once more. Wow... just-just wow.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks for reading this. As I probably promised you and I'm (very lately) getting back to, I'm answering! Haha, finally, right?
I'm happy you liked the song. I can't take credit to that. The person who issued the challenge gave me that and then I THINK it was Taylor Swift who sang it.
As for the writing, I guess I can take credit for that. Overally, I'm super happy you enjoyed it. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Oddment Tweak She Ran

18th May 2008:
That was rather interesting--like a scalding potion you drink at a gulp. Don't love the pairing, especially b/c of what it does to Lily, but I thought you wrote it well. Very sad, interesting motives/psychology. And good job writing a pairing you don't support.

Author's Response: I don't like the pairing much either, but I'm glad you enjoyed the story a little, nonetheless.
Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Devils Advocate She Ran

10th May 2008:
I liked it. It was a good spin to everything, and I really, really liked it. :)

-H

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by dracoroxursox She Ran

26th April 2008:
loved it loved it loved it!
i totally love what u did with the quote
amazing!

Author's Response: Oh! Thank you so much! I am really pleased that you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by XxxSirius4everxxX She Ran

25th April 2008:
Hey, it's the challenger! =P

I just want to say that although I am not a fan of Sirius/Lily pairings, I loved this! You embedded the quote so well,. and I think the emotion in the story was wonderful. I really enjoyed reading it.

Thanks for entering the challenge! Alex oxo

Author's Response: Don't worry, I don't follow the pairing either. But the quote you gave me seemed to really lean towards it. I am happy that you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing and issuing such a great challenge!

 Report Review

Review #12, by sails She Ran

24th April 2008:
its great! i really like it =) not overly dramatic but still filled with passion, done quite subtlety i think. its believable and awww makes me kinda sad to think about what could have been. well written!!!

Author's Response: Oh yes. I did not want a really heated Lily and Sirius pairing, so I tried to take a different route. Anyway, I suppose it is strange thinking of what could have happened. Anyway, thank you for reviewiing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by x__loverzkiss__x She Ran

15th April 2008:
wow...

that was beautiful.
i'm not a sirius/lily fan either.. but that was just.. good.

you're an awesome writer [:

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx She Ran

14th April 2008:
Lovely one-shot! =]

I loved how you kept switching between the past and present - it really helped to give more depth to the whole Sirius/Lily relationship. And your descriptions were beautifully heartbreaking. Or heartbreakingly beautiful, whichever way you prefer =]

Sirius exhaled. "Way to throw a wrench in a good-natured conversation." - I adore that. It was just so... Sirius. And JK Rowling-esque, if I might add.

And was the Sirius/Lily pairing inspired by Harry Potter Shippers Unite? Hahaha! 'Cause my new one-shot definitely was =P

Anyway, another wonderful piece from you, Layla =D

-Jessica-

Author's Response: Aw, I love how you read everything I write. It's so amazing. Anyway, no, this was not inspired by Harry Potter Shippers Unite. Actually, I have no idea what that is. I just entered a challenge and got a quote to work off of. I ended up with this piece of junk. :P
Well, it is very nice of you to compare me to Rowling. Such a thing is not true, but it is nice nonetheless.

Thank you for reviewing. Stay awesome!


 Report Review

Review #15, by sirius_luver1 She Ran

11th April 2008:
This is really good!

I like the way you kept telling us about Lily's memories,
I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad you think that.

 Report Review

Review #16, by lunalovegood520 She Ran

11th April 2008:
I finally got around to reading this :)

Anyways, loved the story!, especially the flashbacks, they were placed perfectly and helped the development of the characters - wonderful!

Author's Response: Aw, thankyou. I'm happy to know that you find it, at least, half-way decent. Banner really makes it better. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Alexa_The_First She Ran

6th April 2008:
I too am not a dedicated Lily/Sirius supporter but I like to read all kinds of ships and theis is one of the best Lily/Sirius stories I have read. Also while reading this chapter I didn't care that it wasn't my favourite ship, the characters were so believable I didn't worry about that.
I love the way the flashbacks are put in such fitting places. It highlights the development of the characters' lives well.
Good story,
xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for letting me know. I'm glad to hear that there are people who are not fond of the ship reading this story, and enjoying it.
I liked the idea of flashbacks just because I could tell two different stories at the same time, and tie them together in the end. I like to see them as paralleling each other, in a way.
Anyway, thanks for reading and reviewing. I appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #18, by siriusgirl2010 She Ran

6th April 2008:
This was excellent! And so true! It sounded like it was coming from someone who had gone through this b4 great job!

Author's Response: I can assure you right here and now that I have never gone through anything like this before. I'm glad it sounded like I did, though. =]

 Report Review

Review #19, by theenix She Ran

6th April 2008:
Honestly, you shouldn't worry about not being confidant writing the pairing, you wrote it beautifully!
Actually, this is one of the best Lily/Sirius fics I've read. I think the flashbacks were perfectly placed and I think it was clever not to have much Lily/James interaction though I reckon you've captures all the characters personalities stunningly. 10/10 without a doubt!!
Theenix.

Author's Response: Thank you. I really am pleased to hear that. I figured that if there wasn't too much of James' character then the readers wouldn't hate the pairing as much. I'm not a fan, but it's the way it all happened. I liked the way the flashbacks turned out. The only problem was that I didn't like how short some of the transitions were...but I thought if I wrote more then it would get to be too wordy.

Thanks for reading, and for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Ella She Ran

6th April 2008:
Brilliant. I loved it, very touching and moving. You did well with a Sirius/Lily, as some don't understand the necessary hidden and secrecy of their relationship.

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear that. I haven't read too much of this pairing, and I've, obviously, never written it, so I'm glad it turned out well for a first attempt.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login