Reading Reviews for Bride Of Voldemort
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Azure Seas Missing

17th May 2011:
This is amazing - all of the characters have so many little nuances, and I can tell without you even concretely saying what they are. Voldemort is so staunch in his inability to love, and Narcissa is beautifully portrayed as a mother that is concerned only with keeping her family safe. And Bellatrix - there are no words to describe her. I am so jealous of the subtleties you are able to give your characters.
You are very skilled at wielding the point of view to fit your taste, and you added the lyrics at just the right points. One thing to look out for is little typos like missing letters/words, and accidentally mixing up homonyms ('brake' vs. 'break', 'bare' vs. 'bear').

I'm afraid I'll never be able to listen to 'Missing' again without thinking of this masterpiece ;)

Author's Response: thank you so very much for your kind words. this songfic was an experiement on all the characters, and i had to work hard at the correct wording to express each emotion and attitude each character held. It was hard, but reading reviews such as your own fills me with confidence considerably - i couldnt thank you enough! your review was so lovely, thank you so so much :)
- Mahalia


 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyMalfoy23 Missing

14th December 2010:
After having 3 reviews from you i have finally had the time to stop by and read one of you stories, personally I'm glad i chose this one!!


I absolutely adore Bellatrix, i have been her character for Halloween many times and love reading one shots and song fictions about her. This one is personally one of my favorites so far because it shows the normally psychotics of her and the down sides of her and I'm glad I'm not the only one who swore she was in love with the dark lord and not just dedicated!

Your a great writer and will be back to read more of your work when am given the time! Great job here XX

Author's Response: Oh, wow! Hello (: it was such a nice surprise seeing a review from you, I'm left a little speechless at what to say ... This story was written so long ago that after the few recent reviews I've received from it I've had to read it again, haha. I'm so pleased you liked it though! Getting into the psychotics of Bella's mind was quiet difficult, and to hear that I've nailed it encourages me a lot, thank you.
Don't feel at all pressured to read anything of mine if you can't find the time. I completely understand (: also, I will be emailing you soon so we can hopefully work on a banner for you. (:
Thank you so much again for this review! Its such a pleasure, thank you!
Mahalia xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Merope Missing

3rd December 2010:
Since you've left me such nice reviews for Roses Grow at Malfoy Manor, I though I might return the favour. This was really well written and the song, which I have to admit I love, fits perfectly with Bellatrix. I never really thought about it in a Harry Potter context before, but I sure do now, and every time I will hear it, pictures of Bella's love/obsession for Voldemort will come in my mind.

Do you like Bella? Because it comes across in your writing, making this story even more birlliant. I personally love Bella, and I think she is one of the most original characters J.K could come up with. You've portrayed her really well in this story and your descriptive techniques and dialogue are really good.

Thank you for such a wonderful read and keep up the good work.

Merope :)

Author's Response: Merope! This is such a nice surprise (: thank you so much for stopping by to read a story of mine! I truly never expected it (:
I'm glad you found the song fit. It really struck me too when I wrote it (which feels so long ago). I wouldn't say I like bellatrix tho ... When I wrote this it was a test on myself as a writer to see if I could never judge my characters. I'm glad to see it worked, but in all honesty I think Bella is a liar and a cheat. Like you, tho, I love her character - she is a strong personality and figure - but I think she is too driven by ambition, greed and obsession to be anything but bad. Her relationship with her husband was always the thing that got me,, as it was clear that she loved the dark lord more than anything and that she obviously wasn't with rodolphus for a family .. So I always wondered, what was her purpose for staying with him? With Bella, there always seemed to be a purpose.
Thank you so much again for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it! I was just starting out when I wrote it, so to hear that it was entertaining and a good read has made my day. Especially from a fantastic author such as yourself (:
Thank you so much,
Mahalia


 Report Review

Review #4, by IloveNeville Missing

8th June 2008:
That was so good. You're a pretty darn good writer. You write with so emotion it's amazing. And even though I loathe Bellatrix entirely, I still really adored this story. You've got a gift. I really loved it. :D

Author's Response: *gasps* Oh, wow ... Thank you so, so, so very much! I adore writing my emotion, actually. Emotion and description--I find they're my greatest assets. Hearing people say it, but ... I can never EVER get enough of it! It makes me so happy, and it really does encourage me to keep doing it, and to continue writing; which is good for both me and my readers.

Yes, it was my plan to make you feel sorry for Bellatrix. The request was to "make the Bella haters the Bella lovers". I don't think I achieved making people like Bella, but I think I did okay with making them feel sorry for her; did you? I hope so ...

I'm so glad you liked it--loved it, even! My head is swelling like a balloon right now!! Hee, hee, thank you so much, love, and trust me, you're not a bad writer yourself ;) Thank you again for stopping by!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by cedrixfan Missing

10th May 2008:
Sensational, Mahalia! Wow...you're capable of making me feel sorry for Bellatrix, which is quite a feat. Sorry I didn't review before now; I read this a few weeks ago, but it must have slipped my mind to review. I'm glad I read it a second time, for it made more sense to me, and I enjoyed it all the more.
I noticed some of the reviewers of this story commented on how cruel Narcissa is. I disagree with them. Personally, I believe her only flaw in this is that she is incapable of forgiveness, at least, for now. Unless I misunderstood, I think she feels betrayed because Bella picked Voldy over her, over her family. I feel that no one in Bride of V is truly evil other than Voldemort. Lucius and Cissa just want to protect and care for their family, Pettigrew's a bloody craven, and Bella's wrapped up in love. Bella gives her entire self over to V, yet he merely uses her as a pawn in his sick game of power. He lets her think that he thinks she's special to him, when, really, she's nothing to him at all. It's such a sad truth that I almost cried. The song connected beautifully with the story, also.
Once again, remarkable. Thank you for a glorious read.
o_OcedrixfanO_o

Author's Response: Your reviews always manage to make my day so, so perfect. Really ... *sigh* Not only are you a wonderful author, but you're also too kind ^^

I'm glad you felt sorry for Bella--that sounds pretty mean. *lol* It's like, "I'm glad you almost cried in my story. I love making people depressed and upset." No, okay, what I mean is it was my aim for my readers to feel for Bella. I think she is a good person, somewhere deep down, but she's been so blind and brainwashed by love it's difficult for her to even understand that she is, as you said, just a pawn in Tom's game.
Hmmm, I'm glad you realised Narcissa wasn't evil or cruel. She's most definitely not. As you sad, she's just incapable of forgiveness at that point in time--and really, who can blame her? Her son is open for attack, her husband is in big, big trouble, and they both know it. The last thing Cissa wants to think about is her deranged sister who did (you have a wonderful eye for detail ;) ) ditch her for a psychopath--a.k.a. Voldemort. Meanwhile, I also like to think that at the time Narcissa was quite worried for Andromeda, being married to a Muggle and all. Poor, poor Cissy.

*lol* Pettigrew is a craven. Absolute weasel, actually. I hate him. But, yes, no one was really evil, except for Voldy. Your attention to detail is so admirable!!! You're so good at wording you reviews, too!
Aw, don't cry! *hugs* Even though it was my plan too ... *grins evilly*

Thank you once again for another fantastic review! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Hopefully Slytherin Song will update soon ... I can't wait to see what you mean by you predicting I'll like the next chapter (they have to kiss. Oh, my god! They have too!!!)

Hugs, and thanks again,
Mahalia .x.x


 Report Review

Review #6, by listentothecrickets Missing

19th April 2008:
God, what brilliance. Once again, Mahalia, you have managed to write everything with such feeling it can leave one breathless. Despite whatever character you put yourself with, the reader can always, always feel the feeling of your stories. Lovely.

Author's Response: You're beautiful! Ellie, you astound me every time you review. I leave you breathless? Hun, you've left me speechless. Thank you, thank you, thank you (and no, I'm not illiterate--as I said, I'm speechless =]). I hope you review the next chapter in 'Not Once, Not Ever'. I love hearing you're opinion (and, if you didn't notice, I reached the century. Special thanks to you, of course--the lovely whose reviewed every chapter [yes, you are a lovely XP]).
Lia .x.x


 Report Review

Review #7, by Antipodean Opaleye Missing

18th April 2008:
That was so cool - that's the first time I've read a songfic and listened to it at the same time. It was really good, competently written, keep writing but the whole "Narcissa felt her breath get taken away" doesn't sound right, otherwise good work.

Author's Response: You read and listened at the same time? I LOVE doing that. All the while I was writing this, Missing was on repeat so I wouldn't loose the feeling of the fic. I hope that worked for you?

Thank you so much. I love getting such beautiful reassurance :D I hadn't given much thought on that sentence, so it didn't occur to me it would sound weird. Oh well. Thanks heaps for telling me, though, and also a big, big thank you for reviewing =D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Isabella Missing

13th April 2008:
Oh god... It was so perfect...
I didn't like Bellatrix that much before, but after this... how can I not like her!?.. How can I dislike her after reading about her suffering? Voldemort really is a bastard!! How could he hurt her so much? Insensitive git! And Narcissa was so cruel...
I loved the song... Evanescence are my favourite band and 'Missing' totally fits this fic, besides its beautiful. Your story got me crying... I guess I'm just too emotional... but I can't help it XP... Congratulations: the story is very well-written and I simply loved it!!

kiss *** Bella

10/10

Author's Response: Oh my God!!! I'm speechless ... I cannot even begin to tell you just how touched I was when reading your review! Really, logging on and reading this ... XD God, I'm the happiest girl alive! I've read your review over and over just to make sure I wasn't dreaming!!

I didn't really like Bellatrix before this, either. It was my friend who pointed out that we should feel sorry for her, and then she requested me to write a story about it. I was flattered but unsure because I didn’t think I could pull it off -- not many people like Bella, so it's hard to wring any sympathy out of them when on the topic of her. But I'm so, so, so incredibly glad it worked! Your review gave me moist eyes I'm so happy -- and, believe me, it will make me happy for a very, very long time!

Ugh. This response doesn't even begin to give your review the justice it deserves, but I want you to know I mean every word I write and if I could say more than thank you, I would. It's reviewers like you that make me keep writing and motivate me every day. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

With much deserved love,
Mahalia


 Report Review

Review #9, by AuroraLamia Missing

13th April 2008:
brilliant, depressing, dark and oh so well written

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much!!! That means a lot, so thank you! =D

 Report Review

Review #10, by jenrabbit Missing

22nd March 2008:
Nothing is sadder than unreturned love. This is a good story though, totaly a 10/10!! Very well written, and rarely to i have sympathy for bellatrix, but i do now. Keep writing, you're talented!!!
kisses
~*jenni*~

Author's Response: Oh, my--THANK YOU!!! Thank review was beautiful; really, I cannot express how much it means to me! Thank you so very much!

I'm glad you liked Bellatrix ;] She's always been one of my least favourites, so I thought I might give it a go. I'm so happy you liked it so much!

Thank you again! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #11, by TheDirigiblePlum Missing

12th March 2008:
I lOOVVVEEE this song!
Evanescence are a great band and combined with Harry Potter... well that's just too good a combination!

Great story, love Bellatrix Lestrange as a character, even though she's evil she does add interest :)

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thank you! I love this song, too. In fact, it's one of my favourites =] It's so beautiful ... =D

I'm so glad you liked it ;] Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #12, by zrose Missing

9th March 2008:
Oh my gosh, if I didn't dislike her, I would totally have had my heart broken for her...

Author's Response: I know what you mean. Even I felt sad writing it =[

 Report Review

Review #13, by Iza_Bell Missing

7th March 2008:
Gorgeous description. Absolutely lovely. =]

Thanks hunny

Author's Response: You're welcome, sweetheart. Just for you ;)

 Report Review

Review #14, by MLE Missing

7th March 2008:
I have never read a songfic (and about Bellatrix, too) that nearly made me cry (in a good way!!!) I feel so moved, and the description is inpassable. It is so emotional, and if that is your first ever songfiction, it was beautiful 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!! Your review was lovely--it meant so much. I wish I could say more than thank you--but I mean it straight from my heart.

THANK YOU


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login