Reading Reviews for How To Fight The Pain
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lost4ever How To Fight The Pain

28th August 2009:
I love this song.
And I nearly started to cry.
This was such fun to read
Thank you so much for writing this.
You really made my day

Author's Response: I love it, too. The lyrics are just perfect for my story and it all worked out really well! Thank you for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by WitnesstoitAll How To Fight The Pain

11th May 2009:
wow. you're not kidding that I may cry while reading this. This was absolutely spectacular. I cried from the end of Ginny's section onward. I think that the room with them all lounging around was a brilliant idea and that it set this story apart from all other's written about the same subject matter. I simply do not have the words to describe how perfect this story was. I can't wait to show my little sister this story. She loves (is a sad bawl your eyes out sorta way) closure stories.

Thank you for this beautiful and heart-rendering story.

Author's Response: Don't worry about having cried while reading it - I cried while writing it. Thank you for all of your wonderful compliments! It means more than you know for me to hear that my work has left its mark with you. I love closure stories also, and writing this one was an extremely healing process for me, which I desperately needed.

Thank you again for the review, and I hope your sister loves it, too!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Georgia Weasley How To Fight The Pain

26th October 2008:
The twin bond that keeps George connected to Fred is so beautiful. I hated Fred's death most of all, myself. He and George were so intertwined, that the thought of them separated just killed me. How will George go on incomplete now? Your story helped to close that gaping wound and show that he and the rest of the survivors would go on, and so would the ones they lost. This was done so well. Beautiful job.

Author's Response: I did, too. His was so unnecessary and so incredibly heart-breaking. I cried for ages. There's a picture that I'll post in your eHPF members' thread which is just so sad and completely heartbreaking, and it really sums up how George would be without his twin.

I'm so glad my story helped. It really helped me to write it, and while I still hate that he's dead, it did help me gain a semblance of closure. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing - I have enjoyed all of them!


 Report Review

Review #4, by amieharry_ginny How To Fight The Pain

26th October 2008:
Awww if you did want me to cry you could have just pulled my hair or something. You didn't have to be so soft, sweet and then make me all teary. I really enjoyed it but seriously how can you write such wonderful stories. I actually cried when i read George's pov i felt so bad for him and i did cry when i read Angelina's POV i actually felt her pain ... that was so sad. I can't believe a person who can write such sweet kissy story can also write such a beautiful heartaching sad teary story. Hats off my friend. I'm not going to rate this because nothing can compare with such a classic story.

Thank you, that's all i want to say right now.
~Amie

Author's Response: The only consolation I can give you for your tears is that I cried, too. I still cry every time I re-read it. I don't even know how to respond to your review because you have complimented me so greatly that 'thank you' just doesn't cut it. So a very heartfelt, deep, and meaningful thank you I give to you. It means the world to me, and has boosted my confidence and happiness. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by xXharry and draco_luvrXx How To Fight The Pain

4th April 2008:
i loved that story but did it really have to be so sad.

i understand how you needed the closure i needed it too,so,thank you.i love that he was able to talk to George and the fact that he died laughing,because i believe that people that lived life to the fullest, like he did, should show that they died happy and in his case died fighting for a cause that he believed in.oh and the fact that even in his after life he's a mischievous little prat...but isn't that why we love him so.

i loved the story!

100/10

Author's Response: I know what you mean, I cried so much writing it, and I still cry when I re-read it. I try my best now to live life to its fullest, and Fred + George are definitely great role models. I think Fred, along with the Marauders, would love to be able to test their boundaries in trouble-making.... Poor Hogwarts and all the souls in it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Elena How To Fight The Pain

16th March 2008:
While it took me the second time in reading to cry over Dobby's death, I really didn't feel anything towards the other character deaths. To me, they happened all so quickly and out of fashion and I just didn't feel anything.

However, reading this...I became teary. You really tapped into the surviving characters, making them feel grief and guilt.

As my take on this was not the same as yours, I still feel like I was taken on YOUR journey to grieve for these characters. Letting each scene to play as if seeing it through your eyes, making it more emotional than what it would be to me.

Thank you for sharing this, I know there are many people who could not accept the deaths too and hopefully, this helps them too.

Oh, I really did like Fred in this...I felt that even in his 'after life' he was still there, watching and guiding his family and friends...

Author's Response: I'm very glad that I was able to take you into my world, as it is, in how I dealt with their deaths. Especially since you say you weren't very emotional. I sure was. I had Fred's death ruined for me, and so everytime I read something that he said (ie. the wedding comment), I got teary. I absolutely bawled after most of the characters died. As I said in the reply to Pookha, I felt that I needed to write Fred's part to show that you're not alone in death. There's good and bad to everything.

I'm so glad that you really liked it over all - it was very cathartic for me to write this and share it with everyone. So thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pookha How To Fight The Pain

16th March 2008:
Wonderful. I could really feel the emotion of the characters. You almost made this forty year old man cry. I particularly enjoyed the Harry/Ginny and Ron/Hermione parts.

You do an excellent job selling the emotions and the characterisations are spot on, especially George, Harry, and Ron.

I love Placebo, and I just had to read this story.

The only part that I didn't care for was the end part with Fred looking down. The part with everyone being there seemed a bit forced to me, not bad, just a bit strange. It could be just because my mental image of the afterlife in JKR's world is different than yours.

BTW, the deaths that affected me the strongest were Hedwig's and Dobby's.

Author's Response: Sorry for the tears I almost made you shed =)..I just had to write this, and I knew it was going to be a really emotionl story. Thank you very much for the lovely compliments =)

I understand what you mean when you say that it was forced or awkward. I totally get where you're coming from. I felt that I had to let him have a say, however, and I just wanted to show that even in death, you're never alone.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =D


 Report Review

Review #8, by harrys_sis How To Fight The Pain

11th March 2008:
This made me cry so much! I loved Fred so much and I also found it hard to deal with his death. I want into this depressed period after his death, but after reading your story i realized that you move on. I realize that Fred is a fictional charcter but to me he was real. Anyway, your story is amazing; keep writing!

Author's Response: Awww, I cried too, don't worry. Everytime I re-read it, I cry. I know what you mean about Fred being 'real'...he is for me, too. All of these characters have developed so much through the course of the books that it's like they're real. I grew up alongside these characters (I'm only 18 now, so not much older than them) and it's really devastating when one is taken away. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by slytherensangel26 How To Fight The Pain

10th March 2008:
this is so beautiful...you have given me alot to think about. i had such a hard time accepting Fred's death too...i wish JKR had ended the DH differently.

my heart broke the most when Fred died.

still this is absolutely beautiful

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely comment! My heart was definitely broken when he died, too.. it was so horrible. I'm glad this has helped you...it definitely helped me to write it. Thanks once again!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by hedwig1175 How To Fight The Pain

5th March 2008:
I will simply say that I have never read anything more beautiful or moving in my life. You have really put a meaning to the character's deaths that would make JKR proud.

I can't even begin to describe which parts I loved the most because there were so many. Each view of the family members hit me very hard. As you know, I have a twin myself and I couldn't begin to fathom what it would be like without her. I loved how Harry and Hermione were there to help Ginny and Ron. Love (and time) really can help conquer all.

And what can I say about George's view?!? I love the way Fred talked to him. I really needed that extra bit of humor to help me and George get through it all. :( The bedroom scene was tough. I was genuinely worried for George. I thought for sure he would lose it, but he held up pretty good.

Angelina's view was heartbreaking. Her emotion was so raw and I felt my heart breaking for her loss. When George went to meet her in the cemetery I cried even harder. But thank God he was there to comfort them both. Fred's comments to George while they were in the cemetery were priceless.

Fred's view had to be the best. I couldn't even imagine him having as hard of a time as George, but he did. But he knew that he could try and help them move on. I loved how his special place was Hogwarts. It was very fitting for them all to be there together. I loved how Lupin invited him to join him, James and Sirius in 'discovering' what other things could be accomplished with their newly conjured map. And Lily's words to Fred left me breathless.

You did a really great job on this story. 20,000,000/10! Thank you for helping me understand and come to terms with the character deaths as well.

Hedwig1175~

Author's Response: Wow you wrote me a novel, haha!! First off, thank you SOOO much for reading and reviewing!!
Fred's death upset me so much, and I kept obsessing over it. I needed to write this so badly, and when I finally got it out, I felt relief, sort of. Thank you for such an amazing compliment!! (The JKR one) It means so much to me that you would say that!!!!
I totally agree with your comment about love and time healing all. I don't have a twin, but I love my sister very much, and I can't stand to think about her being hurt or killed, so I can only imagine how George and the rest of the Weasleys feel =( Luckily, they're a very strong family (except Percy, of course), and will be able to help each other (with the aid of Hermione and Harry, of course).
I'm glad you enjoyed what Fred was saying to George =) I was worried that it wasn't 'Fred' enough, but I've now been assured a few times that it sounds like him. I absolutely bawled while writing George's parts.. it hit me really hard, too.
Angelina's part I actually got inspriation for on one of my 14 1/2 hour bus rides back from home, and I actually wrote the rough version of her parts in my head during that trip (lack of sleep + caffeine + long time to think apparently equals inspirational thoughts!! Who knew? My heart broke for her tenfold while writing her parts. I thought it especially sad when she saw George and began crying again - it occurred to me somewhere along the way that George would have to deal with people looking at him and seeing Fred =(
I definitely had a bit of fun writing Fred's part. Since no one knows what happens for sure after death, I was able to do what I wanted. It was upsetting to write the part where he began to cry about what he would miss, but I knew it had to be said. I think being separated from George and his family would be devastating to Fred, even after death. I had to include some humor in that chapter, though, and who better to do so than the Marauders? Once the three of them were reunited, I think they would try to make the best of the afterlife. With Fred there, too, I think they could cook up some well-planned schemes for the people at Hogwarts and elsewhere.
Thank you again for reviewing =) It really means a lot to me. And love the rating!! It reminds me of Potter Puppet Pals when Snape is like "500,000 points from Gryffindor" (or however many he takes). I'm so glad that you liked this and I hope it was just as cathartic for you as it was for me =) Thanks again!!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by SaphyrStar How To Fight The Pain

5th March 2008:
Wow. This was stunning. A perfect tribute to all of the characters.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I was really worried that I wouldn't end up doing them justice, or I'd mess up some other way. I was really striving for closure for myself, and I think I managed it. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login