Reading Reviews for Stand by the Fire
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp Stand by the Fire

3rd March 2014:
Blackout Battle!

Wow, I loved this. I think you captured Bellatrix's twisted mind very well. Her insane "love" for Voldemort was also nicely portrayed throughout. I enjoyed your descriptions immensely as they expressed Bellatrix's thoughts so well.

I also think you wrote Voldemort from Bellatrix's point of view very well. The part about him not being allowed to love - it being a weakness - and yet Bellatrix hoping was awesome.

There was a lot of good imagery here and intricate detail which made the piece feel so much more "creepy" and captivating. The darkness in this was awesome.

Good job!
Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Stand by the Fire

1st March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

Wow, Bellatrix's love for Voldemort is just as twisted as her mind is. You wrote that really well here, her thoughts surrounding him made me shudder a little - to give someone so much control over you that even they are afraid of their hold on you; definitely twisted enough to never a shudder.

This was a really great one-shot, I enjoyed reading it.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan Stand by the Fire

5th October 2013:
I have a confession to make. I clicked the link to read the story you actually requested a review on, but I got distracted on your AP and found this! And honestly, I'm so glad I did.

I've never read a Bellatrix/Voldemort story before. And this piece is exactly what I would have imagined their "relationship" to be: i.e. Bellatrix's idolisation of him, in a really pathetic, desperate way. I almost felt a little sorry for her!

Your Bellatrix is also really interesting because it's a totally different side of her than we see in the books. The same character, obviously, so her personality is the same, but she acts so differently around Voldy than she does around the people she hates like Harry, Hermione, etc. But despite that she's not acting the way we see Bellatrix in the books, she's spot on. Her madness comes through very well!

I was also impressed with your take on Voldemort. It can be hard to write him convincingly, but you've nailed his imperious but few-words manner. And your descriptions of Azkaban in the beginning were great.

Great fic! Now I'm off to read your other one, lol.

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'd written this so long ago that I'd almost forgotten about it. Looking back, it was quite fun to write. Thanks for the trip down memory lane! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by CoLorful DreaM Stand by the Fire

19th June 2011:
Finally got to my 3rd kid. I wonder if I will finish giving these reviews before the next NaNo session..

So... there were 15 reviews to be given. Let's just start this!

1 of 15!

This was one of that stories that just make me loose the notion of time. I swear I was just reading and reading and didn't even realized when got to the bottom of it.
It was fascinating... amazingly written, believable and kept my interest all along.

10/10

~Ramona

Author's Response: You're so sweet, Ramona! Thanks for the review. This story was definitely difficult to write, but worth it. Glad you enjoyed!

 Report Review

Review #5, by celticbard Stand by the Fire

31st October 2010:
Hi Unwritten Curse!
Ah, such yummy darkness! What a wonderfully twisted story...perfect for Halloween. I really, really enjoyed this. Voldemort's initial reaction to Bellatrix's arrival was brilliant. Her transition from wild, powerful madwoman to--quite literally--the kicked dog, was seamless. And you do write insanity extremely well, without any trace of tired stereotypes or awkwardness.

I was also happy to see Voldemort draw completely away from Bellatrix at the end. He is, I would assume, incapable of loving another human being. Witnessing his temptation, however, did give his character remarkable depth in this fic.

Lovely work, all around. I'm so glad I read this. Take care and have a Happy Halloween!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Yummy darkness. I love that. Exactly what I was going for, really! I'm rather drawn to darker plotlines... I'm not entirely sure why. So glad to hear that you think I wrote insanity convincingly. It's always been an intriguing subject. And to hear that I gave Voldemort depth - wow, thank you. What a compliment! And from someone I admire so much, that means a lot. (:

Anyway, thank you so much for your review. So sorry it's taken me ages to get back to you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by propertyoftheHBP Stand by the Fire

22nd December 2009:
Amazing, haunting story. Your characterization of Bellatrix is spot-on, and you actually made me feel for her at times. Voldemort was written impeccably as well, in character and believable despite the fact that we're told that he supposedly cannot love.
*10/10*

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! :) I totally appreciate all you've said. This was difficult to write, yet wonderful at the same time, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by moonymayhem Stand by the Fire

30th November 2009:
I love Bellatrix, I just think she's such an interesting character, and we don't get to read enough about her, so, needless to say, I was pretty excited to see this story. Even though it was only a one-shot, and there's only so much you can include in one chapter, I think you really gave readers a nice look at not only Bellatrix's crazy personality, but also her (super creepy) relationship with Voldemort. I liked that part about him being not allowed to love--that felt really realistic to me, and also explained why there was tension between the two of them, but no one ever acted on it. Great work! I loved your creativity. If you ever want to write more about Bellatrix... do not hesitate to act on that impulse! :)

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, you really are too kind!

Thank you, thank you, thank you! :D Bellatrix is one of my favorite characters, and it's amazing to hear that you enjoyed her characterization. She's definitely dark, but so intriguing. So many layers, such depth!

You know what, I just might write something more about her. Once I get some of these other WIPs finished... Heh.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by i_love_harry_12721 Stand by the Fire

1st June 2009:
i want voldy love!!!

chrissy

Author's Response: Erm, thank you? Haha. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Merope Stand by the Fire

10th May 2009:
absolutely amazing in every way. you have captured the characters of voldemort and bellatrix amazingly and with great colour. once again...it is absolutrly amazing...i could almost feel her excitement when the dark lord freed her.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! Your praise means a lot to me. (: I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Erised Stand by the Fire

5th March 2009:
This is great! You've definately captured the complete insanity of Bellatrix, and at one point I was a bit alarmed at: "Lucius’ yells sent waves of joy crashing atop Bellatrix’s head." However, it fits her character perfectly.

Voldemort is well characterised too, but I thought he could do with some more speech.

Props to you :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind review! This was such a difficult one-shot to write, but I had a lot of fun with Bellatrix's character. I'm thrilled you think I've captured her personality. (:

 Report Review

Review #11, by bpmull Stand by the Fire

24th January 2009:
That is an excellent story. I think you really captured Bellatrix in it.

Makes you wonder -- could Voldemort be hiding affection for her?

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! And yes, that is certainly something I've wondered about. Can he truly be as heartless as we're led to believe, or is there something more? (:

 Report Review

Review #12, by Joanne K Stand by the Fire

21st January 2009:
Jo from eHPF here, I thought I would check out your Bella/Voldy one shot to see your take on the ship.

I loved the imagery of this piece, particularly the beginning, it really set the scene. Your writing is quite powerful.

I think you characterised Bella well, though she almost seemed too innocent when standing before Voldemort, but then again love can make you feel that way.

I wasn't too sure about your characterisation of Voldemort at first, he seemed a bit out of character with the 'almost' apology and the way he showed emotion towards Bella, but I liked the way you made him suddenly snap out of it and go cold towards her as he realised he was showing weakness.

It was definitely interesting reading someone else's take on the ship and I think you wrote this piece well.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you stopped by! I'm definitely planning on reading your story as well. Hopefully this weekend. (:

For some reason, I pictured Bella as being softer when she was around Voldemort, almost tender, whereas she is maniacal and whatnot when she is apart from him. Unrequited love can really break a person down, so I see that as adding to the many other outside influences that have driven her mad over the years.

I really struggled with how I wanted Voldemort to react; I'm still not entirely satisfied with it, but I'm glad you liked his sudden realization of the weakness he was showing, and his return to the cold person we all know him as.

Thanks so much for the review! I really appreciate it. (:


 Report Review

Review #13, by LoveMalfoy Stand by the Fire

6th October 2008:
Loved it! It's deliciously dark and diseased in Bellatrix's head. Bravo!

Author's Response: What a wonderful compliment! 'Deliciously dark.' :P Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #14, by witch child Stand by the Fire

4th June 2008:
wow...that was pretty...hm intense lol. I really loved it. Your right it does get you thinking. Brava Brava! yet anither truley remarkable story as always my dear!
~Nicole (witch child)

Author's Response: Awh, thanks! (; I'm glad you enjoyed it and that you stopped to leave a review.

 Report Review

Review #15, by SBSL Stand by the Fire

30th May 2008:
WOW. That is the only word for this. And that doesn't even come close to covering it. Not at all. You write Bella and Voldemort beautifully. I love this so, so much! Immediate favorite!

1052572570462546701/10

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! I'm so flattered right now, haha. (: I'm glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for favoriting!

 Report Review

Review #16, by JordiiGirl Stand by the Fire

17th April 2008:
Wow... that's all I can say.

You truly captured Bellatrix's deranged mind and turned it in to a beautiful (albeit disterbing) and poetic oneshot.

Author's Response: Thank you! It was difficult, but I'm glad I was able to pull it all together. (;

 Report Review

Review #17, by Antipodean Opaleye Stand by the Fire

13th April 2008:
That was brilliant. You wrote with such eloquence and truly captured Bellatrix' obsession and Voldemort's fear. It was a pleasure to read. Keep writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. (: I really appreciate all you've said, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by sverige Stand by the Fire

27th March 2008:
wow that was intense. Very intense.

Author's Response: Heh, thanks Eva! (:

 Report Review

Review #19, by TheDirigiblePlum Stand by the Fire

23rd March 2008:
Wonderously dark and delightful!

I love stories like this! Great language and imagery throughout.

(sounded like a teacher then...argh)


Loved it! : )

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I'm flattered. (:

 Report Review

Review #20, by dracomalfoylover123 Stand by the Fire

17th March 2008:
I absolutley love the character Bellatrix. So deep, complex and passionate. I've never really read a convincing story with Bealltrix but this was amazing! Brilliantly written and magnificently depicted. Ahh, I just adored it! I hope to read more of your AMAZING work soon! Many thanks, Becky x

Author's Response: Thank you so so so much! You flatter me! (;

I'm working on a Next Gen. story, but who knows when I'll be ready to start posting it... haha.

Thanks so much! I love reading your reviews. (:


 Report Review

Review #21, by MissJessx3 Stand by the Fire

4th March 2008:
wow, like thats the only word i can use right about now..just an absolutely incredible story (for lack of better adjectives). I really enjoyed how you made it so that the Dark Lord still had loved her, but he wasn't caring like almost at all.. he was still as he was described by J.K. Rowling. Truly a great one-shot!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I admire J.K.R. so I try not to deviate too far from what she has told us. It's a compliment to know that I haven't.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Bella_Portia Stand by the Fire

1st March 2008:
This was the most incredible piece of writing. Wow.

I had glanced at other reviewers' comments, and noticed that some had cited your language; so I will not. But your word choices, language, descriptions -- superb. Also chilling.

The way that you grasped and portrayed Bellatrix's inner life, her devotion -- it was so well thought out -- or, rather, so well felt-out, so consistent, so incredibly right. The expressions of her moment to moment experience was right on (running out of words here).

And when you got to the end, and the crux of her moment with LV -- that was super.

Altogether, it was an excellent story, beautifully written, that ended on just the right note.
There was a quietness in the way you portrayed Bellatrix, a this-is-how-it-is quality, that was wonderful.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, I am so flattered right now. Thank you so so much. (: I don't know what to say except I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and wow, haha. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #23, by bamxbam_ Stand by the Fire

1st March 2008:
I thought this was awesome.
Are you writing any more for it, or was it done?
I really liked it.

Author's Response: Well, this was just going to be a one-shot, but I may write something else down the road. (; Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by evil little devil Stand by the Fire

1st March 2008:
Ooh, I really liked this. It was very believable and very well written. It was interesting the way you wrote Voldemort. With feelings yet still cold and uncaring, if that makes sense.

It was written so beautifully. Your description is absolutely stunning. There are so many sentences that are just amazing. Bellatrix is one of my favourite characters so I'm glad you did her justice. You wrote her perfectly.

Everything about this story was amazing. I love it.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much. I'm so glad to hear that I did your favorite character justice, and that you enjoyed this one-shot. (; Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by vanessa Holland Stand by the Fire

28th February 2008:
hey well done that was a tough plot to write to. I think you captured the tensions really well though, the insight into Bella was great and the conflicts within Voldermort himself was tactfully approached- not making him seem too human yet hinting at feelings for Bella,
great effort

Author's Response: You've got that right. It was very difficult, yet very rewarding when I finally managed to get it to work. Thanks so much for the review, it really means a lot. (;

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>