Reading Reviews for Veterans of Hogwarts
  
65 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LilySnape4eva Settling In

18th December 2010:
Awesome :D I swear this fanfic gets better and better. Great idea to have another '7th year' as it were.

Author's Response: Thank you. I enjoyed writing this one.

 Report Review

Review #2, by LilySnape4eva Coming Home

18th December 2010:
Awesome :) I really like it, it's cool :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. :o)

 Report Review

Review #3, by slaidback  Boys and Their Egos

15th April 2010:
Don't worry I have a comma, addiction, too. Good story. Its dope.

Author's Response: I don't know that I'll ever be able to completely kick the habit, lol. I don't know that my writing has ever been called "dope" before. I guess that makes me cool ;o)

 Report Review

Review #4, by slaidback  Happy Christmas

15th April 2010:
Nicely done. It certainly does not look like your struggling with the story. Please continue.

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words. This story has been finished for a while. I am glad that you have found it though, it's been a bit lonely lately.

 Report Review

Review #5, by slaidback  Settling In

15th April 2010:
Good chapter and the previous one too. I would like to keep reading but its 12.17am so off to bed for me as well.

Author's Response: I'm glad you've enjoyed it so far. Perhaps after you've gotten some rest you'll get the chance to read a little more. Thanks for taking the time. :o)

 Report Review

Review #6, by NevillesSoulmate Saying Goodbye

25th February 2009:
*snorts* Hermione's wanting to make a treaty with the gnomes was priceless.

The end already?! :( I'm so sad it's over! (I know it's been over for a bit, but I'm behind on everything these days.) This was such a sweet story. Amazing job, Taryn, and I hope you have some ideas for new fics in the works!

Author's Response: Have you read Hair of the Dog? It's a follow up to this story, and I'm in the middle of writing another follow up as well. Thanks so much for reading it. I'm glad you've gotten some time to relax and just read again!

 Report Review

Review #7, by NevillesSoulmate At the Leaky

25th February 2009:
Oh, you know I love your Neville. And Hannah, too, of course. They're so cute at the end, and I love how you've written them as a pairing. Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: This was by far my favorite chapter of the whole story. I *heart* Neville and Hannah (and I was such a Neville/Luna shipper before). I'm so glad you like it, Rose. Knowing that Neville's Soulmate finds my Neville appealing makes my whole day! :o)

 Report Review

Review #8, by BarbaraPotty Saying Goodbye

1st December 2008:
I think this was a really nice way of closing the story, as a new era of their lives starts right now and thus it's not so depressing to see the end of the previous one. I liked many little details here, like Harry and Ginny on the brooms, or the gift for Hermione, and many others.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Barbara! That idea for Hermione's gift has been rattling around in my brain for a while, now. I was glad to find a way to put it in. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ford the Prefect Saying Goodbye

23rd November 2008:
Congratulations, Taryn. You finally finished it. And as usual, you've done a wonderful job. All of your stories have a warmth to them that I find very appealing, this one, and this chapter, especially so. And perhaps it's my (advanced) age, but I really enjoyed the little snippet of conversation between Arthur and Molly. I also got a kick out of the "gnome treaty" bit. Only Hermione would consider such a thing. Well, maybe you too, since you thought of it. *smile*

Thank you for letting me know about this chapter. I hope all is well with you, and I look forward to reading more of your work.

Doug

Author's Response: Awww.. Doug, I've missed hearing from you! Thank you so much for going on the VoH journey with me. Your reviews always helped to spur the next chapter on! Hope all is well with you! Thanks for reading and keeping up with me! :o)

 Report Review

Review #10, by aks_potter Saying Goodbye

21st November 2008:
it was a really good read.. thanks for posting it..

i liked the way all of them grow up.. and live their lives.. cheers..

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read it! I truly appreciate it. :o)

 Report Review

Review #11, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley Saying Goodbye

9th November 2008:
What a sweet story! It was so nice, and I'm glad you used actually possible couples...I like them so much better than things other people make up. Thanks for this story

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading! I prefer canon stories myself. The occasional odd couple is okay, but I prefer to stay within the world JKR created. Thanks again for reading and taking the time to review! :o)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ghost Chicken Saying Goodbye

3rd November 2008:
*sniff* This reminds me of the last gathering of my high school friends back in 1983 (three years after graduation) before we all scattered to the four winds. I haven't seen them in years. *sniff*

Author's Response: Have you tried Facebook? LOL... I joined it in August and have found so many old friends! Ones I thought were long gone. I hope these friends don't lose touch with one another. Hopefully the VoH will help keep these friends together. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my story, and to review each chapter! I truly appreciate it. Check out some of my other stories. I like this one, but I feel that some of my others are better. :o)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ghost Chicken At the Leaky

3rd November 2008:
I shall have to search out Hair of the Dog and give it a read. I really like this story, even if it is just a framework. Still, I think it'd make a good one or two in and of itself. Maybe that's why it's fighting you. It wants you to stay with it and develop it...

Oh yes, and it's nice to see Neville as the conquering hero for once!

Author's Response: I LOVE Neville! I really do, always have. He had the potential for being a leader from the beginning (just look how he stood up to the Trio in Sorcerer's Stone), but he needed the opportunity. I think the Trio being gone from Hogwarts 7th year gave him that opportunity, and he became a much more self confident person because of it. You can check out my story, Catalyst on the SAYS-Skills page (part of the Pride of Gryffindor collaboration) to see my idea of what sparked the change in Neville. :o)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ghost Chicken Moving On

3rd November 2008:
In all honesty, you have the makings of a fine story right here--two, actually. You have one about the last school year, but then one about the time after as the Wunderkind pursue their education and careers. Of course, in the midst of all that, you can still do little side stories related to the big tale.

You've really captured your readers here. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you, I have all these ideas for these characters, mostly one-shot ideas, but I wanted a way to tie them together, which is how VoH came to be. It lays the foundation for all those ideas I have. Life tends to get in the way, but there will probably be a one-shot that takes place at Auror school. I've already done one with Hermione and her being on her own without her boys. VoH gives me a way to tie those stories together. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ghost Chicken Boys and Their Egos

3rd November 2008:
LOL My husband is addicted to commas and the word "and." I tell him he thinks like Hemingway and writes like Faulkner--he strings sentence fragments together into long, arduous run-on sentences. A lot of writers do that. That's why they have editors and proofreaders.

I saw the row coming between Ron and Hermione, but you handled it really well. You made it a little lovers' spat rather than a knock-down drag-out fight.

I also like how Hermione is able to tell Harry that he's a bit full of himself, if in a morose kind of way, and that Ginny was able to confirm it. Harry, being Harry, took it well. That's good writing too. Excellent.

Author's Response: Ron and Hermione wouldn't be Ronmione without a squabble or two... but I'd like to think that they'd grow up a bit as time goes on. And Hermione has a way of knocking Harry down a peg or two... which is just what he needs sometimes :D.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ghost Chicken Midnight Discussions

3rd November 2008:
This is a nice chapter. It does take us back to those long nights in that tent while Ron was away during the war.

The condition you're referring to is Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)--not Syndrome.

Ron's jealousy. It's almost laughable, but it's hard for him. It appears he may be harboring some guilt of his own for having stormed off that night and abandoning Hermione and Harry for that couple of months. It appears he doesn't quite realize that Harry is a brother to Hermione and vise-versa. This ought to be good...

I shall read on.

Author's Response: Ahh... yes, PTSD. I wanted to show that Harry and Hermione still have a special bond, even after she and Ron get together, so many stories have Ron & Harry staying good friends, but something gets lost in the Harry/Hermione friendship. And Ron, is Ron :D. :o)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ghost Chicken Happy Christmas

3rd November 2008:
For once, it's nice to see Neville and Hannah worked into a storyline as more than just background characters. I do hope the tale of THEIR budding romance comes out here, since you've gotten it off to such a sweet start. If you were struggling with this chapter, I'd say you won the struggle. Good writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. As I'm sure you've seen, Neville and Hannah did indeed play a much larger role in this story than I had originally planned. I've developed quite a fondness for them! You'll see them more in my story Hair of the Dog, and in the chapter I wrote for the eHPF collaboration Defining Moments, Heirloom. Check them out! :o)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ghost Chicken Of Snogging and Snacks

3rd November 2008:
Beats the Slug Club! It's amazing how trauma can bind people together. Nevermind that this group were friends already, but the events of the previous year and the aftermath have really given them sure common ground. That's ties that bind. Good writing!

Author's Response: Life and death experiences do have a way of bringing people together! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ghost Chicken Settling In

3rd November 2008:
The calm before the storm, is it? Fluff is good sometimes. It allows the energies to right themselves so as to get through the rough stuff. I'm looking forward to it. I shall read on.

Author's Response: You can't just jump right into the drama... not after all they've been through. You've gotta ease into it :D. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ghost Chicken Coming Home

3rd November 2008:
This is a very nice opening chapter. It's not long, but that's okay. It sets the mood and give you something to build on.

My husband is a Vietnam War Era veteran. He served in the Air Force with an air rescue unit from a base in Korat, Thailand. He was a vet before the age of 25, too, so thanks for the dedication.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read my story. I have family and many friends who are Veterans, we owe them everything. Give your husband a big hug from me!

 Report Review

Review #21, by serendip At the Leaky

12th October 2008:
SQUEEYAYHANNAHISAWESOME.
Seriously, that girl can kick some butt, and even though at the end when they all ganged up on her the Vets came back! YAY! They all seem so cool and I'm squeeing right now. Seriously, when Ron exclaimed that they weren't kids, but the Veterans of Hogwarts, I had to 'aww'. ^_^

So, you're 500 words in. FINISH. Yes, you. FINISH AND MAKE ME HAPPY! :)

Author's Response: I love Hannah! And Neville... and the rest of them, too! I'll try to work on the final chapter next weekend when the girls are with their dad. Reviews like this make me excited about the story again! Thank you so much for taking the time to read the story, Ali, it made my whole day! :o)

 Report Review

Review #22, by serendip Moving On

12th October 2008:
): They're all leaving Hogwarts now. Wow, that year passed pretty quickly, you know? I love the jobs you've given them (the ones who weren't already given a job, that is) and I LOVE the idea of Penrose! It's so original, and simply awesome!

Hermione and Ginny are so right to buy an apartment together while waiting for their boys, and I love the excuse Hermione gave as to not going on Auror training. Where is that, by the way? I know it's not a big deal, but I'm curious. P:

Author's Response: I know I rushed through the year. I don't have it in me to do a full year's worth of a story, lol. I'm so glad you liked the idea of Penrose. I actually did a lot of searching through the Lexicon to see what kind of secondary education there would be in the magical world. I was disappointed there wasn't some kind of university. I know that Hermione would not have wanted to stop going to school.

Did I not say where the guys were going to go to Auror Training? I'm pretty sure I mentioned it in Hair of the Dog (which is a companion piece), but they're in Ireland, so not too far away, but not close enough that they can pop home very often (even with Apparating).


 Report Review

Review #23, by serendip Boys and Their Egos

12th October 2008:
I love that chapter title xD BAS! BAS! BAS!
But yay for fluff! ^_^
Ron and Hermione are so cute. -sighs- I've never actually liked Harry/Ginny...wait, make that Harry/anyone, but you still write it perfectly. :)

XD about Hermione putting on a silence charm and forgetting to take it off. They're always quarreling, aren't they? At least they make up though. (:

Author's Response: Yes, BAS... which is what I really wanted to name this chapter, but I didn't want to offend anyone, so went with this title instead ;o). There are many times I wish I had a wand and could perform a silencing spell, lol.

 Report Review

Review #24, by serendip Midnight Discussions

12th October 2008:
-sniffles- But I LIKE fluff! Fluff is fun! Though, if you say angst is not as easy, you still write it brilliantly! Hermione's right. Harry is WAY too up himself. I've been saying that since book one -secretly hates Harry- I know. I hate the main character - though, I do that in most books. Harry = hate. Bella = hate. Peter Pevensie = hate. So, um, yeah. I'm weird. XP

But Ron coming in at the end?! Priceless!! I love that cliffie, well, as long as it doesn't ruin Ron and Hermione's relationship.

Author's Response: I love fluff myself, but alas...life is not always fluffy, so even *I* had to throw a wrench into the works for a bit. I struggle to write angst though, you'll notice those chapters are shorter and seem a tad more rushed, lol. I'm glad you liked the little cliffie.

 Report Review

Review #25, by serendip Happy Christmas

12th October 2008:
ZOMGGOSHSQUEEILOVEYOUTARYN
Neville/Hannah! It's Neville/Hannah! I love Neville/Hannah! AND IT'S FULL OF FLUFF!

Neville was brilliant in this chapter. I loved him from the start when he talked about Snape plus his grandmother's clothes, and until the end when (squee!) he kissed Hannah. And the Ronmione fight? Classic. (:

Author's Response: I've grown quite fond of Neville/Hannah. I was so upset when I first heard they ended up together, I really was a Neville/Luna shipper (still am to a certain extent), but in trying to keep this story canon I decided to explore how those two ended up together. Hannah has become a favorite of mine to write, she really has. I think it's because we know so little about her that I can do almost anything I want with her.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>