Reading Reviews for Fairy Tales and Sunset Sails
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DancingMooncalf of fairy tales and sunset sails.

10th February 2013:
This is an incredibly beautiful story! I've never read a story quite so delicate and wonderful. The love they share so purely written.
I don't think I'll ever see this couple quite the same after reading this.

This story really touched my heart. Thank you!

Author's Response: aw, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by CloakAuror9 of fairy tales and sunset sails.

28th January 2013:
That was beautiful. Seriously, I just sat here in front of my laptop in awe thinking of words to praise you with. Honestly, one of the best Draco/Astoria stories I've seen so far. There's just so much to it and the fact that you captured all of this in a not-so-short one-shot is just wow.

I love how Death narrates the first part and the last part of the story. It brings the story to such a close. Also, there's something about seeing Astoria's death or anybody else's through his eyes that I find interesting. Does that make me sound creepy? I hope not.

Draco's character here was so realistic. He seemed so warm and happy for the better part of the story that I don't even want to begin imagining what he might be after Astoria's death!

You did such a wonderful job with this one-shot! ♥

~Izzy

65th review out of 100

Author's Response: aw :') that means the world, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SpellSpinner of fairy tales and sunset sails.

13th December 2010:
Wow. I don't know if I could really explain how incredible this story is. I found it captivating instantly. I loved the snapshots of their lives that you chose to portray, and it felt so complete when it was finished.

I've been having a hard time finding stories on HPFF that are both interesting and quality work, but I'm glad I gave this a chance. This might be my favorite story all-in-all.

10/10

Author's Response: wow, thank you so much. this review made my day :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ReinaxSnape8425 of fairy tales and sunset sails.

11th December 2010:
HOLY CHIZ THAT WAS AMAZING!

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #5, by OH MY of fairy tales and sunset sails.

4th December 2010:
Whoa, that was intense. Speechless and very much in love of your characterizations. Great story.

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheDirigiblePlum of fairy tales and sunset sails.

26th July 2009:
This was the best story I've ever read on this entire site! It was so realistic and beautiful, and the characters are all so believable and have depth. I love how you managed to build them up throughout the story and how vivid they become even though the story is short.

I've always been curious about the Draco/ Astoria pairing, because I think a lot of imagination could go into it, and this story did. I've started my own Draco/Astoria story, but after reading this I feel like I'll never be able to make it as good! :D

I loved how her death enveloped the memories, and it made the end all the more final as it linked with the beginning (if that makes any sense:D) You got Draco's character really right (I thought) and gave him a human edge that's only really seen in the last two Harry Potter books, so it tied in really well.

I would go on about how much I loved it, but I'll probably become quite boring! :D Best story I've read on this site (as I've said :D)

10/10

TheDirigiblePlum

Author's Response: Aw, I'm sure it will! Don't give up on it, whatever you do. Still though, I'm very happy you liked this. And thank you - that Draco's character has seemed right in your eyes and that you think that this humanity has been noticeble in the final two HP books is quite a relief. I do believe that he changed after the war, but it's hard to know how much was different and everyone, I think, have their personal visions of him post-war. Anyways, enough rambling on my part. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by callistarose of fairy tales and sunset sails.

10th June 2009:
This story is visually stunning, not too much description, but not too little. Very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by The Empress of fairy tales and sunset sails.

26th May 2009:
This is truly one of the best one-shots I have ever read. It was beautifully done, great job! :) I like how you counted down to the end, and how it was all formatted. Awesome. I loved it.
~Shiloh

Author's Response: wow, thank you so much, Shiloh. that means a lot (:

 Report Review

Review #9, by Whimsical Diva of fairy tales and sunset sails.

7th February 2009:
First off, I'm so sorry I couldn't get round to reviewing this before. Just when I thought my schedules were getting less hectic, I was saddled with an avalanche of work at uni.

Anyway, here's your very belated review.

I think you started brilliantly; the opening was very effective. I say effective because it did what the opening paragraphs is meant to do: viz arrest the reader's attention. My absolute favourite parts of the story would be "vii" and "." It's just so... in congruity with the title of the story... very fairy-tale-ish. The opening paragraphs were wistful, melancholic, poignant and tragic without being overpoweringly angsty; it's your signature style. I don't use this word often, but the one word which describes your writing is 'beautiful.' You can write anything and it'll seem beautiful; you can string together a set of words into a wonderful, beautiful sentence. Words and phrases, which would seem thoroughly ordinary when used by other writers, is brought to life when you write them.

The flip side of beautiful writing is that, just like beauty, it can be admired only for so long. When you scratch beneath the surface, if there are no underlying layers of narrative, no conflict, no contradiction or paradox, if there is no substance, then the story unfortunately remains superficial and beautiful, but without character or flavour. And personally, writing that belongs to the aforementioned ilk does not make a great impression on me.

My main gripes with this fic are that the characterisations weren't forceful enough and that the array of memories didn't quite lend itself to the creation (and resolution) of conflict. Let me explain what I'm trying to say.

1) The memories you chose...

In part vi, Death says that she is reminiscing... During the last moments of her life, Astoria is sojourning to the past, reflecting on her life and the defining moments...I would've liked to see more powerful memories used, memories which would've have more impact, memories which would have created conflict...

There were some instances which set the stage for wonderful conflict, but you don't exploit them to their fullest potential...

“Umm... You wouldn’t mind if I stood with you here for a while, would you? I’ve got nowhere to go.”

I thought that line was powerful, especially when she says I've got nowhere to go... But instead on dwelling on this moment, instead of showing us how Draco reacts, you play it safe by skipping to the next part...

Another instance where you played it safe:

She had not asked about those times, and he had not shown any signs that he was going to tell her. She didn’t even dare ask of his family. She knew he would’ve mentioned them early if there had been anything to be said.

See, these are the places where you could have created wonderful conflict... all these awkward situations are the ones that are truly interesting... Don't skirt round them and don't avoid them; rather, if your characters confront the situation, it is far more satisfying for the reader. I'll talk about characterisations in the next part, but always remember this: dramatise your plot in such a way that it serves as a vehicle for the implementaton of your characterisation. Because otherwise, the characters get lost in the mire of anonymity.

2) The characterisation: The characterisation of Draco wasn't convincing. See, Draco is one of the guys of the HP universe who has a very, very strong and singularly distinctive characterisation in canon. He's not Seamus or Dean or some other random guy about whom we know next to nothing. Draco was, for the most part, a jerk. Spoilt and nestled in the lap of luxury, Draco gets a taste of reality only very late in the series, At the end of the DH, there was no definitive closure for Draco, unlike Harry who was at peace and was ready to start afresh. Draco hadn't turned over a new leaf, he was still indecisive, confused and overwhelmed by the crisis he was thrust into. In short, he's a bit of a wreck, and after the war, he would have had his share of demons. Whether guilt figured in the list of demons, no one knows, but Draco would have definitely had to do some soul-searching. And one really cannot skirt round these issues. They demand to be analysed, to be sorted out.

I'm splitting this review into two, because HPFF would not let me post it as a whole.

Author's Response: I got the entire review at the forums and I've replied. But, as I said - thank you.

 Report Review

Review #10, by froxenshadow of fairy tales and sunset sails.

1st January 2009:
very...touching and heart warming story!
keep up the good work!
Astoria and Draco 4 ever.

Happy New Year!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks froxenshadow!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Celeste Black of fairy tales and sunset sails.

22nd December 2008:
That was amazing.
C

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Alyce of fairy tales and sunset sails.

27th October 2008:
Draco/Astoria is a bit of a hit and miss affair, I find. The lack of canon can be a blessing or a curse - I'm in two minds about which side of the fence this story falls upon.

It is a well written effort. I especially liked the juxtaposition of the progress of the story as the chapter titles fall - a wonderful way to express that each moment of life is one moment closer to death.

The trouble I have is that, were you to change the character names nothing would be added or detracted from the story. This is a story about a man and a woman, not Draco and Astoria.

Possibly the story would be stronger if it were to stand on its own, without the burden of expectations that the character names bring. The other option is to develop a world for this story to exist within because relying on the one provided by JKR wont cut it with such an unknown character.

Like I said, it can be a blessing or a curse and this has the makings of either. Overall, well done on a nicely written piece.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for this review Alyce.

 Report Review

Review #13, by morgana67 of fairy tales and sunset sails.

1st June 2008:
I would like to thank Bella_Portia for pointing me towards this fiction. It's really soemthing amazing. I thought having Death as a character was very effective in this piece.

I just wanted to know more and more all the time. It's funny because although we all have read stories where Draco is overly sweet or vulnerable, the way you present this makes it realistic. They belong to the families who have lost the war and this often doesn't bode well for them. Obviously, lossing his priviledges have made him mature.

I was over so sorry to hear that their lost their first baby. Also I really enjoyed how he took responsibility at first and stood by her.

I was intrigued to find out what the problem between Draco and Narcissa had been, but sometimes it works better to leave it open like this, more mysterious really.

When she was having the baby, because dead had appeared earlier I was beginning to fear for her, but then I realised that she is supposed to be relatively old when she dies.

I did cry at the end, honestly.

This is a truly fantastic story!

Author's Response: Thank you morgana for this kind review! I'm very happy that you liked Draco in this and that you found him realistic. I've been very worried that he would come off a bit OOC. And I agree - I think everything the war took away from them forced them to grow up. And I'm very, very glad that you think it worked better not mentioning what the problem between Draco and Narcissa was. So often people want answers, and personally, I like leaving things untold. It's not fun otherwise. ^_^ But thank you a hundred times over again.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Bella_Portia of fairy tales and sunset sails.

26th May 2008:
Well, dear writer, as I begin this review, I am reaching for the Kleenix. If you hoped to produce an emotional reaction, let me tell you straight up that you succeeded with me.

This story made me very happy that I had posted a review thread, because otherwise there is almost no chance I would have come across this story. (I wouldn't seek out a Draco/Astoria story.) And I would have missed a wonderful read.

The set up, with Death looking on as the dying woman looked back over her life, was really well-handled. The language you assigned to Death was lovely.

But the heart of it was the complex, episodic history of Astoria as it unfolded over eight or so years, and as you carefully, credibly, intimately and with detailed imagination, narrated the defining events of her life over those years: her meeting with her eventual husband, loss of virginity, pregnancy, miscarriage, childbirth -- even meeting the mother-in-law -- and eventual early death. You captured an entire life in this short story.

Since I'm "the reviewer," I will do my job and say I occasionally ran across typographical errors or other minor sentence errors. To put the best foot forwars with this story, you may wish to go through it carefully, or have a beta reader go through it carefully, and fix them.

I felt the sensitive manner in which you portrayed Draco -- and, to a lesser extent, Narcissa -- was credible, "canon" (yes, Draco is a jerk; but, as you point out, the War does change people, and he has gone though some devastating experiences), and consistent with the POV of the main character.

Wonderful story. I almost never do numerical ratings, but 10/10.

Author's Response: Wow, don't even know where to begin. I wanted this piece to convey these certain events and moments in this woman's life that we know next to nothing of, to show how a human can grow by experiencing certain things in life. I wanted to show that there's more to these pureblood princesses than a flawless facade. Hum, I've had a beta already, but I can always look through this piece once again myself (doubt there will be any changes, but otherwise, I'll talk to my beta). I'm very glad I decided to post in your review thread! Or I would've missed a lovely review ^_^ Thank you very much - this made my entire week.

 Report Review

Review #15, by square of fairy tales and sunset sails.

23rd May 2008:
This was a very lovely story. The Death touch is very intriguing, it really brings the story to life and snags the reader in, I really liked it. I also love how you gave the characters a real depth. They weren't just two people falling in love - they each had their own stories and secrets and things to overcome. It made them seem all the more real when you read it, it was very well done.

The characterisation of Draco is hard to comment on because he was so different than in the books. It was meant to be that way, though, and the fact that he's been through a war and the falling out with his mother and everything else, well, it's understandable that he isn't the same Draco. I think you pulled that off well; you managed to make him caring and likeable without compromising his original character.

Overall it was a very well written story! Well done. ^_^

Author's Response: I'm happy that you say that about Draco - people change a lot, I believe, after having had to dealt with everything that took place during that time. I'm very glad that you think I managed with him overall. I don't know what else to say... This review made my day, so thank you ^_^

 Report Review

Review #16, by Misty_Rey of fairy tales and sunset sails.

12th May 2008:
It's taken me some time but I've finally gotten around to reviewing this piece =). Because I can XD, and because it looks much neater, I'll split the review into parts just like the story.

vii. In a word, stunning. The descriptions were done in a way to paint a beautiful scene in the reader's mind and yet, there is still the underlying sense of despair that presents itself. There is no suffering, only the inevitable. Can I say that Death as a character is a brilliant addition? Coz it is ^_^. I really enjoyed his entire characterization, how passively he regarded the tragic scene of a husband at the bedside of his dying wife. I really liked his thoughts in response to her 'defiance', of her asking for a bit more time. And that he complied. The last two lines of it was beautifully poignant and set the stage for the rest of the story. This part was my absolute favorite out of all the parts.

vi. I enjoyed the opening dialogue alot! The way you phrased it was realistic and reminiscent of actual talk happening in bars. I have to commend you on the characterization of Astoria. Although essentially she is canon, she's basically a glorified OC since we know next to nothing about her. Keeping all this in mind, I think you did a wonderful job in her narration as well as her entire characterization. I was quite surprised that she was seventeen in this part but at the same time, I believed it. The absense of over-angst was refreshing, especially considering it's in the point of view of a teenage girl after the war! Her personality was well done and believeable, in accordance to her age, as well as her feelings. Her allusions to purebloodedness was interesting to read. I really liked the approach you took to addressing the aftermath of the war. Many parts of the narration were very well-written, most of it was subtlely poignant. There were some mistakes but no serious ones.

v. I liked that you left how exactly they got together ambiguous. It cut down on needless explanation and allowed for the reader to form their own conclusions. And thank you for keeping the -ahem- intimate details to the barest. Tastefully done. Astoria's innocence really shone here, which was a good thing. You portrayed 'the first time', instead of cliched overpassion, as tentative and unsure which is usually the case. Uh-oh! Poor girl, and at eighteen too... Can I just say that Draco is "Aaaw!". You really endeared me to him with his response to Astoria's worries. He wasn't 'Prince Charming' per say but I liked that he was quite mature about it all. He's twenty if I'm not mistaken here so I'm happy to see that you portrayed him as somewhat matured ;).

iv. I really liked the fast-pace the first paragraph possessed. Everything about it: the description, the narration, was hurried and it worked, it really did. Then the second paragraph was slower, as though the realization of the loss had just sunk in. As I read it, I was thinking "WTH?! What about Scorpius?!" but now I know better ;). Astoria's dialogue seemed to me a bit stiff and unnatural sounding but that may just be me. Draco's proposal was both inappropriate (well, because of what just happened ;p) and appropriate (because they're both young and reckless ;p) at the same time! The quiet affair of the wedding was unexpected, it's not a common plot device, but I liked it and thought it suited the situation.

iii. Aah, the meeting of the in-laws! Or in-law in this case. Astoria was once again well characterized as the proper pureblooded wife but at the same time, the reader can tell that she has layers to her. Again, the fact that a sense of ambiguity was underlying here was interesting to note. The insight into Astoria's mother's condition was intersting as well but you kept from being 'woe is me' and instead, it was rather matter-of-factly while emotion was still felt. I found it a bit odd that she's so compliant with not bothering in prying into Draco's family issues. But ah well, it's your story ;).

ii. Aaaw! It was so subtlely sad, how she got upset thinking about starting a family and remembering her previous pain. Then the faith that this time around, it would be different (Scorpius!). I was quite confused at the part where she's contemplating Draco as he stands by the window. It seemed a bit out of place with the overall tone of this part of the chapter. The narration was nicely written here though.

i. Eventhough I knew it was coming, I still held my breath (just a little!) at little Scorpius's birth. The afterwards of it was so sweet, a quiet kind of love. As I read that scene, I actually remembered the original Malfoy family ;D. Lucius, Narcissa and Draco. What can I say, I have a soft spot for them, as you've read in my little one-shot ;).

The epilogue, I think it was, was as beautiful as the prologue was. It was pretty heartwrenching that Death couldn't understand what Draco was saying but it was understandable at the same time. Astoria's lines of dialogue here were wonderfully written and held so much in them. Death's narration was amazingly written as well, his view of their love and intimacy.

I thought I'd add that the length of this kinda scared the beejeebies out of me XD. It's just my humble opinion but this probably would work really well as a short story. Just a thought though. Overall, nicely written, good job!

~Misty

Author's Response: I am sorry for not responding earlier, but I can't see how I would be able to do that. This review just left me... flabbergasted, in lack of another word. I don't think I'll be able to do it justice, but I will give it a shot.

First, it makes me very happy to hear that you liked the characterizations, even Draco's, which I had some trouble with. As for Astoria - yes, she might as well be an OC since, as you say, we know very little of her. But I'm glad you found her character believable.

In part iii you say that you thought it odd that she never pried into Draco's family issues - well, I suppose a person would normally have done that, but to tell the truth, I wanted to leave this matter untold, partly for your readers to specualte about and because I had no idea what it would be about ^_^

And your thoughts on the prologue and epilogue truly makes me smile. I loved writing both parts, more than I can say.

And haha xp Yeah, I can see why. It'd scare the wits out of me too. As for this having worked as a short story... I sat contemplating whether or not I'd make this a short story, but one-shots, I believe, are a lot more effectful, especially when it's angst. But it's different fro people to people. I prefer one-shots *blushes* On the whole, thank you so very much for this insightful review. I can't tell you how much I appreciated this.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Wingless of fairy tales and sunset sails.

3rd May 2008:
Oh my god. Tears. TEARS. Give me a moment to compose myself.

Okay. First off -- MERLIN'S BEARD. I believe that this, Stephanie, is the most wonderful and brilliant piece I've read of yours. You've combined the whole theme together so beautiful and your descriptions were just enough for my imagination to paint the rest of it. The love you described is so wonderful, so beautiful, so... goodness! It was so heart-warming and so heart-breaking at the same time. You have succeeded in pulling me into the story and I felt as if I was a part of the characters. I'll admit, I this is the first fanfiction I have read involving Astoria (yes, I've been out of the FF world for awhile!), but it was just so stunning, this relationship between them. I really love how they were both so lost and how they found each other. It feels so.. real.

Ok. Now. I had to copy and paste this here. The disc of fire is stubbornly lingering by the horizon. The golden beams lit up the dormitory and shine across her delicate figure. I'm waiting. And she is reminiscing. .

I haven't the slightest idea why, but that description was just so beautiful to me. The transition this small part provides is so wonderful and easy and smooth.

Anyhow, going on. Dear me, when Astoria had the miscarriage, my heart began to ache! I was thinking, 'Goodness, no, the baby canNOT die! NO!' And when she woke up later, that kind of silent conversation between her and Draco? Brilliant. It really conveyed how close they are and easy it is for them to talk without talking.

Going on, I love the emotions in this, and how the evolve and develop into something more until finally, the positive outweighs the negative. Erm, I hope that makes sense! I just really love how in the beginning Astoria is so pessimistic and hopeless and so darn lost. You portrayed her emotions so wonderfully! And then how she comes across Draco -- also brilliant. You subtly let the reader know that here is someone who can possibly relate to her, another pureblood who is obviously experiencing his own troubles in the aftermath of the war. And then I love how you touched on the emotions again near the end. How Astoria kind of looks back on that meeting with Draco and how she understands that there is life and there is death.

hehe, I'm rambling, but hey! We all love rambling reviews! Anyhow... Above all, what I loved the most was Death. It was so... damn, it just touched my heart in such a beautiful and almost painful way. The way Death felt like he was intruding on their intimate moments.. OMG IT WAS JUST SAD, OKAY? Yeah. XD

"It's a good day to die on." Kill me, woman. Just kill me. that was just.. argh. All I can say is, you have crafted a masterpiece here and it definitely deserves more attention. I'm so glad you pointed me towards this, because it was so thought-provoking and touching and I didn't once feel bored or detached from the story. I felt involved and it was such a pleasure to read.

Imagine thunderous applause and pretend it's all from me and others who love this piece, like me. :)

Author's Response: Honestly, I have no idea where to begin and I probably won't give this review the reply it deserves. First of all, it warms my heart to hear that you thought the circumtances in which they found each other felt real. And I'm glad you liked that silent conversation between Astoria and Draco. I was worried it'd be too much, but I figured -- well, you don't always need words... And yes, it makes sense ^_^ It was, after all, almost a fairytale, so I wanted things to go better for them both. They deserved it! And I'm also glad you liked my characterizations, especially the one of Draco. I feared he was a tad bit OOC, but as I've said in earlier reviews and I even mentioned it in the story too, I do think war changes the way you are and the way you think. I LOVE rambling reviews. Although they are the most difficult reviews to reply =p And ah... Death. I loved writing 'the prologue and the epilogue'. Something I needed, I believe. Anyway, I can't even begin to tell you how much this means to me. Thank you for your constant support!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Unwritten Curse of fairy tales and sunset sails.

7th April 2008:
So, the first part of this story absolutely blew me away. I was unsure as to who was speaking at first, but once I realized that you had Death as the narrator, I honestly think my heart skipped a beat. Beautiful, simply beautiful.

To tell the truth, this entire piece blew me away. I've got tears streaming down my face at the moment. Everything was just so genuine and full of emotion. I absolutely fell in love with Astoria's character, too. She reminds me of a character from a story I just recently read - Emilie from The Alchemist's Daughter by Katherine McMahon. The innocent, loving young girl who knows little about life until it is shown to her with the help of a man that becomes her lover.

Honestly, I feel terrible at the moment because I don't have any CC. I think there might have been one or two grammatical mistakes, but other than that, your writing was flawless. I could feel the love between Astoria and Draco. There's writing about an emotion, and then there's conveying an emotion, and you've certainly accomplished the latter.

Thank you for writing this. I genuinely enjoyed it. (:

Author's Response: Can't tell you enough how sorry I am for not replying earlier. I suppose there's no good reason for it either. But I'm here now. First of all, thank you a hundred times over again. I'm very happy to hear that you liked Astoria's character (I really enjoyed writing her - it was refreshing and challenging to come up with a new character, but that still is as much as canon as, well, the trio, I s'pose.) And what a coincidence! I have just recently read The Alchemist's Daughter myself! I love it that Astoria reminded you of her. When you put it that way, the similarity does show. ^_^ But thank you again - can't say it enough times. I felt that I really thought this story through and by the end of it, it felt as if I'd become very familiar with the characters and as if I'd known them for a while. I just loved writing it.

 Report Review

Review #19, by JLHufflepuff of fairy tales and sunset sails.

1st April 2008:
I think each thing I read of yours is better than the last. Seriously. I was so excited to see a Draco/Astoria, and this definitely didn't disappoint. I love the way you show your vision of the post-war environment for them - the common threads of their lives that draw them together. They both have things to be ashamed of, have made mistakes, but they are kind of drawn together in a weird, dismal sort of home. It was really sad when they lost the first baby, but I still had a sense that they were strong enough together to last, even if they still lived this melancholy sort of existence. I like the way you kind of leave Draco's relationships with his parents a bit of a mystery but show enough for the story to be complete... I love it the way the birth of Scorpius is kind of the end of the story. The only thing I was a bit confused about is precisely WHEN death was coming for her.. Was it right after Scorpius? Or later on? I really, really enjoyed reading this a lot.. Seriously, your writing is very elegant and always a treat to read! :)

Author's Response: What to say? I feel like a fish: opening and closing my mouth, nothing coming out of it. Not even bubbles! Anyway, hideous comparison, but honestly. I'm tongue-tied. First of all, she died old. Perhaps I ought to go back and clarify it... Hm. I think the part when she says to Draco to tell Scorpius that she loves him can confuse things. But he just wasn't there at the time. Anyway. This melancholy atmosphere was exactly what I was looking for and I love it that you mention it. I wanted their past to hang over them both and weigh them down. I wanted something unsaid between them. Like the mystery with Draco and his parents... I'm glad you think there's enough of it for the story to be complete in a way... I didn't want to get into that, because it was a whole different story that I hadn't even figured out while I wrote this. But I needed it there, for it was something that might have brought them together. Honestly, I can't figure out any coherent to say. But thank you, a hundred times over again. You've made my week ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by Weasley twins rock of fairy tales and sunset sails.

16th March 2008:
Wow,

Yeah you have probably had enough of that word now. But this one shot really has blown me away. It is the best piece of fanfiction I have read in an extremely long time and was just absolutely fantastic. I am so very jealous of you right now.

Your writing stype and particularly your description is very flowy and almost poetic in some places. Quite often that style of writing does not really appeal to me that well, but this was written in such a way that it simply took my breath away for a moment. I particularly love the very beginning and the very end with the narrative by death. It is less sinister than many other death narratives I have read, which is very nice, you put a tender side to it. However the beginning and the end really do seriously overshadow some other parts of the fic. Which is a bit of a shame, however I think that the way you have written it in general is really nice.

My favourite thing about this one shot though is the realism of it. I don't think I have read anything that seems so true as to reflect real life. Astoria and Draco seemed so real that they would step straight out of the computer screen and settle down on my dining table for dinner. And the mixture of loss, sorrow, joy and a subtle mutual love really bring the feelings to life in here. I particularly adore their mutual respect for each other, they are not all over each other and declaring their love for the whole world to know, shown by their simple wedding. Yet you can tell that they really do love each other. Which is so nice to see after all of these cliched and over dramatised romances floating around everywhere.

I think that the characterisation of Narcissa was amazing, the formality yet kindness for her daughter in law I think really suits her well. It was nice to see her not molly coddling Draco, it was almost weird to learn that at the beginning they were not talking.

I have to say it though, Draco seemed a little OOC to me. I think that it may be the anti-Draco me speaking, as I do so despise his character. I think that fanfiction really has slaughtered him good and proper. So know it is hard for me to read anything with him in it without completely over analysing everything. He was not too bad, I think at the very beginning he was perfect, just sometimes you seemed to lose him altogether. I cannot pick any significant moment out but I know that I seemed to forget that it was Draco at certain points. I wouldn't worry about it too much, it is probably me just hating Draco.

And Astoria of course intrigued me no end, she seems a fairly nicely rounded character. And you have written her in a way that makes me immediately feel familiar with her character. As though she has always had a fairly prominent place in the books.

So yeah, overall loved it to pieces. The realism, the characterisation, just the way you write astounds me. This really is a one shot that many authors can aspire to. 10/10 :)

- WTR

Author's Response: You probably can tell that I haven't known what to answer for quite a while; if I'd known what to say, you wouldn't have had to wait so long for this reply. Sorry. But this just knocked the breath out of me! Thank you for a very balanced review. I understand when you saw Draco a bit too OOC. I knew from the start that he was, but I wasn't sure how to make him the Draco we all know. All I have to say is that he's changed. Perhaps not as much as I showed in this, but I wanted these new attributes to be noticable. I couldn't handle subtle! But I appreciate it that you point it out and if I ever decide to write him again, I'm gonna try to work on him a bit more. It makes me very happy to hear that you liked Astoria. I loved writing her. She was very interesting and it was different to write her character in some ways... The fact that you find this realistic just makes me want to cry WOOT! out loud. Realism is very important - not only in surroundings but feelings too - and I constantly aim toward it. Anyway, what else to say? Thank you for this amazing review, you've made my week ^_^

 Report Review

Review #21, by Love Made Visible of fairy tales and sunset sails.

15th March 2008:
Wow, that was unbelievable. It's not really really romantic, as in unrealistic romance, but it's good. Good isn't actually how I should describe it, it's more great than good.
I think it's more of a realistic story than most on here. It was beautiful. 10/10. Proper loved it.

- Sophie

Author's Response: I'm glad you find it realistic; I always aim for realism. But thanks a lot for your review=)

 Report Review

Review #22, by henryjones of fairy tales and sunset sails.

13th March 2008:
hey! so this was a superawesome little one shot. and by little i mean not little at all. which was awesome. it was a great combination because i loved the thief of books (or however it is the title gets translated - untranslated?) and i also love harry potter (as should be obvious...) so i extra loved this story. the story line about astoria and draco was really sweet. i loved how you didnt write the perfect, stereotypical mushy love story, where everyone is super romantic always and it never actually happens in real life. you showed that they loved each other a lot, even if they didnt have the most orthodox manners of showing it. thank you for this superb one shot! ;)

Author's Response: No, I wanted this to be a true-to-life kind of romance, and it's great to hear that I managed. The book is called The Book Thief and it's a masterpiece! =D Glad you liked the combination. But thank you very much for this awesome review! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #23, by SilverShadow04 of fairy tales and sunset sails.

11th March 2008:
Aw I want to cry now that was absolutely beautiful. You painted that story so wonderfully I could see and feel everything. The way you write is so subtle but impacting like a butterfly that can create a hurricane. I loved it, this is definitely becoming a favorite.

Author's Response: Wow, can't even begin to tell you how much I appreciate this. Just - thank you. You've made my day ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by Girldetective85 of fairy tales and sunset sails.

7th March 2008:
This was so beautiful, I seriously have tears in my eyes. I've read your work before but somehow each time I read another chapter or another story, I just find myself being impressed time and time again. Definitely one of the loveliest stories I've read on this site and you are one seriously gifted author. I can't even think of anything constructive or coherent to say, I just want to keep on gushing!

Astoria and Draco are just wonderful together. I've never been a fan of Draco ever, and reading his glorified hero status in fanfiction made me even less so, but I loved the way you made him out to be a changed man who found love after the war rather than some silly bare-chested leading man in a corny romance novel. I also like Astoria because she's so human yet she is just perfect enough to become a Malfoy, which is an interesting combination.

This is a magical story, thank you for sharing it with us! Definitely going on my favorites. :) 10/10

Author's Response: I'm tongue-tied! Honestly - what to say? But thank you very much. Your review means a lot and sorry for not giving it justice ^_^

 Report Review

Review #25, by momoe of fairy tales and sunset sails.

5th March 2008:
I really, really liked this. I thought the memories you chose were perfect, and I really did like how you started with when she was dying and then portrayed their meeting and important events, and then her death. It was breathtaking, honestly. The best thing I've read in a long time.

Author's Response: Wow - that's pretty much all I can say. Thank you very much.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>