Reading Reviews for Sweet Silence
  
60 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rumpelstiltskin Take Your Pick

11th July 2014:
Hello again.

I like the tidbit at the beginning, explaining pureblood marriage practices at the time. I can't help but wonder what kind of relationship that this main character is fall into, though you did mention that he was going to turn out to be " both my bittersweet savior and eradicator".

Also, this character's reactions to the news of an arranged marriage are quite fitting for a teenage girl, especially one who's not overly enthused about accepting her 'pureblood duties' and whathaveyou. That particular societies feelings of women's duties are what I could only imagine of the pureblood elitists at the time.

Furthermore, any of the Malfoy's ideas that she'll be able to fall in love with Severus Snape over the course of a year is quite funny, but as is their ideals in that society. Having her father leave at such a young age probably doesn't assist her fears of an arranged marriage, as the marriage between her mother and father was arranged as well.

Severus Snape is one of my favorite characters, and I have to say that you are doing a fantastic job with his characterization. I love that, despite Rose's general questions, meaning no harm, that he remains untrusting, cold, and distant. Though, he's a little bit rougher towards a complete stranger than I would imagine, but given their predicament, he's probably in a particularly foul mood.

Woosh, that was an avalanche of scary moods at the end *covers eyes*.

Great job!

-Rumpel

::Slytherin - House Cup Review - 2014::

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rumpelstiltskin Little Black Book

11th July 2014:
Hey there!

So, first of all, I'd like to compliment you on the amount and quality of detail and imagery that you've put in this. Taking the time to do so is not only very much appreciated, but also it effectively draws the reader into the story.

Second, I really love the effect that this introduction has, giving us readers a little bit of inclination as to what is currently happening -- the main character reading back into her own diary so that she may possibly find some sort of weakness in Voldemort and deliver that information to the Order -- and what is going to happen (that we will be taken back through her seventh year at Hogwarts). This tells us that she's been involved with Voldemort in some way, and that she could possibly be useful in the war against him.

Obviously, there's something in that past that she doesn't want to remember, but upon Dumbledore's request, she's willing to give it a try. I can't wait to find out what it is!

-Rumpel

::Slytherin - House Cup Review - 2014::

 Report Review

Review #3, by Michelle One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

16th November 2011:
I loved it! Please update more chapters!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sasa09 One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

22nd October 2009:
It's amazing I love the way youwrite and the way you portray Severus

 Report Review

Review #5, by meah One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

21st August 2009:
so i just noticed when was the last time you updated, which is a real shame.
I guess no more updates??? :(
You had a really good story going, and it was really interesting. well i'll still give you a 10/10 ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by meah One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

15th August 2009:
aw thats so cute.
despite the fact severus can be a complete ass, he can be sweet in his own ways. I just hated how he could just slap her without feeling any sympathy afterwords. We really dont see a side of him that will change our opinion of him, because its just been really small things so far.
anyways, its 4:43 am here, and i am hooked!! haha
you better update soon!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by queenb_jan One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

5th August 2009:
why don't you write another chapter i'll like to know what else is to happen

 Report Review

Review #8, by 3s_hp_ Little Black Book

15th February 2009:
Wow a gripping start - that was actually really good :D Lol - makes you think - brilliant (:

x

 Report Review

Review #9, by evil_toothpaste One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

15th February 2009:
omg.i cried.i cant believe it...i cried!!! that says alot cause i dont cry easily so bravo! Truley amazing! Truley amazing indeed!!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by evil_toothpaste Inciderious

15th February 2009:
OMG YES! FINNALLY! SEVERUS IS GIVING HER A CHANCE! YAY! I'm so happah! keep it up!

 Report Review

Review #11, by sorceressofestacada One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

10th February 2009:
Oh, God, I want to read more!!! I love it!!! There's so many nuances to this that you just have to stop and think about!!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by brittni One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

8th February 2009:
i love it =] as always
i love how its not all "ohmygod and then we blahblahblah" you know?

 Report Review

Review #13, by sorceressofestacada Inciderious

20th January 2009:
I can't stop reading this! I love it! The more I read, the better it gets!

 Report Review

Review #14, by sorceressofestacada My Tourniquet

10th January 2009:
I totally think that his controlling behavior is a sign that he likes her, even though she obviously doesn't realize it. I love this, this is one of my favorite HPFF stories!!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by godrinkpinesol My Tourniquet

10th January 2009:
Wow this story is sooo good please update!

 Report Review

Review #16, by evil_toothpaste My Tourniquet

27th December 2008:
INTENSE! Very nice! once again though...i hope Sev and Rose can come to terms but thats just me. one of snape's fans! lol! :D I can't wait to read your next chapter cause i know it'll be Fierce! :D it's gunna be sweet! Your story is more addictive than chocolate to me!!! lol!!!
-evil_toothpaste

 Report Review

Review #17, by Maxinarina Little Black Book

27th December 2008:
I don't like it...

I LOVE it!! It's wonderful, it really is. You seem to have a talent for writing stories ;)

I can't wait until i read the next chapter. The way you've portrayed the characters emotons and thoughts is incredible! I love it!!!

Keep up the fantastic work!

xoxo Maxine

Author's Response: You're so nice, I swear my heart stopped when I read that first line. I was mentally preparing myself for a bashing before I read the next sentence. Thank you for your review, I hope you enjoy the rest!
-Jessi


 Report Review

Review #18, by Ghost Chicken Poison Me Sweetly

9th October 2008:
Don't ever allow yourself to be rushed for any reason. Good stories take time. Yes, it's frustrating, and I will no doubt be frustrated when I read the last existing chapter and have to wait however long it takes for the next one. Just keep doing what you're doing. You've the makings of a burgeoning novelist. Remember: JKR wasn't rushed; you shouldn't be either.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ghost Chicken Of Midnight Wanderings

9th October 2008:
Persistent devil, that Sirius Black. Again, the dates are a bit confusing, but no matter. This is become quiet exciting...and a bit scary. Your story has caused me to care about Rose, which is a sign of good writing. It's not necessarily a bad thing that it has taken you a lot of time to write each chapter--that's good writing too. Write, edit, write, edit--producing a good story is like childbirth. It's an often painful labor of love. I shall read on.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ghost Chicken Of Questionable Logic

9th October 2008:
Youth is so wasted on the young... Knowing Sirius, it's hard to tell just what is motives are. He may truly be interested in Rose, but she may be merely a challenge--a potential conquest that's giving him a run for his money.

As Miss Celie tells Shug Avery regarding the beatings Albert gives her (The Color Purple): he beat me for not bein' you. You've sort of illustrated that here by the way Severus treats Rose. He's nasty to her only because she isn't Lily.

Rose holds with her character even as she's binding Severus' wounds. She is hopeful for kindness, but when he shows her none, she blames herself for being to forward. You're doing just fine.

Author's Response: Wow, you're good. You're getting everything perfectly. I'm fortunate to have a reviewer like you that actually lets me know how they're responding to certain elements in the story, instead of a quick "Good work! Write more!". Lol, thank you!
Jessi


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ghost Chicken Transfigure This

9th October 2008:
Rose is a very angry young lady, as most abused and neglected people are. They are mistrustful of just about anyone, and if they're constantly criticized, they learn to condemn. Abused people are conditioned to believe the pain heaped upon them is their own fault and they just don't know how to take kindness as anything but mockery or manipulation. You're doing just fine, here. It's just that I have to believe that this is taking place in 1974, not 1968. It's the only way the numbers work...although Lily and James were born in 1960, so this should actually be 1977. Oh well, it's your story and I like it.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ghost Chicken The Restricted Section

8th October 2008:
I hope she kicks the snot out of him!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ghost Chicken A Spy in our Midst

8th October 2008:
I've no doubt these are memories Dumbledore hasn't sucked out of Horace Slughorn. No wonder Snape is so bitter--first, Lily, then an arranged marriage he isn't interested in. You're good.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ghost Chicken Laughter in the Halls

8th October 2008:
I think I like Regulus. I like this story. I shall read on.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Ghost Chicken Don't Be Stupid, Girl

8th October 2008:
A couple of things confuse me, the first being the dates in the diary. It fluctuates between 1968 and 1974. It appears Rose is betrothed to Severus in 1974 in their 7th year, but September 1, 1968 carries on as if it were 1974, although it should have been their first year. The other thing is that Sirius should be the seventh year and Regulus behind him. Did I not read it right? Whatever the case, I shall read on because, except for a few grammatical and spelling issues (sorry), this is very good!

Author's Response: You did read right, and I congratulate you on being the first reader observant enough to notice my little time-line error. What happened is that when I imagined this story, I set the date of their seventh year as 1968, then, some source informed me the real date should be 1974 so I changed the first chapter and forgot to change the rest. I will go change it right away.
I'm not sure where I've written that Sirius is not in seventh year/is below Regulus but I would love to know in which chapter. Thanks for your help and review!
Jessi


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>