Reading Reviews for The Pitch
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Maybe The Pitch

5th June 2012:
I'm just a puddle on the floor here.

So sad and such a sweet one-shot. I love that it was Fabian and Gideon who came to get him and that they understand how he feels because they are twins too. The splitting up of Fred and George is what hits me hardest about Fred's death. I've always thought about George being left behind but I loved reading about how Fred has to move on without him. At least he can come back to get him when it's George's time.

Oh, this was just wonderful :)

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it.

I like the idea of Gideon and Fabian being twins, and write them that way in the Unsinkable stories, so I used it here too. I think it highlights Fred and George's tragedy in a way. The split of the twins hit me the hardest too. George left behind is awful to think about, but Fred was left behind in a different way. It's horrible for both of them. :( Poor boys. But he'll be back for George and they'll be together again someday, I like to think. Thank you again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by ScarletEye158 The Pitch

2nd June 2012:
This was so cute :) It made me tear up and I'm glad Fred is getting some closure and at least has some people up there to keep him company :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Kathrynen The Pitch

28th April 2012:
This is proper cute, it made me cry and the whole fred being seperated from george thing is so horrible, probably one of the worst parts of him dying. I always loved the idea of Fabian and Gideon, they were just like fred and george and i loved the line about how they go to go back to back. because that would have to be the worst part of being a twin, if you or your twin died first and then the other one just has to live without you even though they should have someone there who is just like them. especially if they are practically the same person like fred and george. so sad but really well written. i like the whole, he better name his first born after me, i always thought it was proper cute how george did that, he didn't just give him the middle name, it was his actual name. although i have to admit, that family do not have many original names; they just use dead peoples names! this was really well written though and i really like! now after this disgustingly long review for a one-shot, i'd better go do some revision! well done (:

Author's Response: I do think that's the worst part of Fred dying, is that he's separated from his twin. Twins, especially identical twins, being split up like that and so young :( Being completely alone like that is hard - they have, quite literally from the moment their existence began, never been alone. Fred and George were really really close, yeah. Fabian and Gideon being twins isn't canon - it's never specified - but I like to think of them that way. I'm glad George got some closure of a sort by marrying and naming his son after his twin. It still makes me sad to think about it though. And yeah, the Weasley/Potters do like to recycle a family name, don't they? I write the Next Gen (Victoire and Teddy and their kids) doing the same, using family names. Anyway, thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by GinnyMione The Pitch

29th November 2011:
Aww so sad :( but such a sweet story

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by forsakenphoenix The Pitch

6th August 2011:
I have a soft spot for afterlife fics. There's something comforting about having more in life after, you know? That when it's over your journey isn't really over and you have an eternity ahead of you. It's all very terrifying.

This was so touching. I'm a twin myself and while we're not as close as most twins, should something happen, I don't know what I'd do. It's even more upsetting in this context, with Fred and George, because of how close they are. It almost feels like you're trying to separate one person.

I liked the idea that Gideon and Fabian were twins. I think that would be good for Fred to help with the panic and the fear of leaving George behind. They understand that twin-bond better than anyone else.

I really like the fact that they know the future of their family, or at least of George. I should think that Fred finds some comfort in that. They can say for certain that he will live a good life despite Fred's absence.

I just really loved this piece. It has a sort of quiet beauty to it, you know? I'm not sure if that makes sense, but I felt at peace while reading it, knowing there was something waiting for Fred after. I think that's the best part of good fics - being able to feel for the story rather than just reading the words and not having any sort of reaction to it.

You're a great writer and I'm definitely going to be reading and reviewing more of your fics shortly. :)

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I liked the idea of Gideon and Fabian being the ones to come and collect Fred after he dies, especially if they were (as I picture them) identical twins as well. I really hate the idea of Fred and George split up, and everyone was writing stories of George after his brother died, but nobody wrote about Fred. Thus, an afterlife story.

I actually don't really believe they would know the future, I think they'd be able to watch it unfold, but it went well in the story so I just wrote it that way... I thought Fred would need the comfort of knowing George would be okay and have happiness in his life even if his twin weren't there.

My sons are twins (as you might know) and I try to write twins accurately based on my experience with them, so I'm glad you as a twin yourself didn't see this as blatantly off or something :) If you see what I mean. Anyway. Thank you so much for reviewing and for the kind compliments!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Nora The Pitch

20th June 2011:
Oh my goodness, this is amazing!! Fred and George were always my favorites; I basically went into mourning when Fred died. You have taken JK's world and expanded it to an incredible point, I love all your fanfics. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love Fred & George too, I was so upset when I read that scene in DH, I wanted to throw the book across the room. :( But, at least we can still write about him in fanfic. Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by _hedwig_ The Pitch

21st May 2011:
That was breathtaking. I always loved Fred, he was my favorite twin and I was sorry to see him go. This was a nice change from the angst George-centric fics circulating around. It was a story about moving on...I liked that :)

Author's Response: Thank you :) I figured George wasn't going to be the only one having a hard time. I'm very glad you liked it! I wish she hadn't split up the twins, but it was a very effectively powerful death. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Mooby The Pitch

22nd March 2011:
aaw
You made me cry. You did.
Yeah, Roxanne, kinda random.

Author's Response: It is a bit random, isn't it? Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sirius Black Dog The Pitch

20th July 2010:
Very gorgeous indeed. Not too mopey at all just well written and plain beautiful :)

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Kirsty Weasley The Pitch

4th July 2010:
you made me cry...

I always hated Joanne for killing off Fred (one of the few things I disagreed with her doing, the other being killing off Remus and Tonks and not giving them a heroes death if they had to go). I mean for some weird reason I always liked George more anyway, but Fred was his soul mate (I dont believe soulmates have to be your lover) they were best friends brothers and so much more. I think I would actually have prefered it if they had both died to just the one!

I dont believe that George would ever have fully recovered. And it broke my heart- that one line in the final book

"and Freds eyes stared without seeing, the ghost of his last laugh still etched upon his face"

and cruel as it is- i'd love to pretend that Percy died instead.

This one shot was amazing! Thankyou for taking the time to write it. -Kirsty Weasley xxx

Author's Response: I hated that the twins were split up, too. It was a brilliantly written scene, Fred's death, but I hate that she did it, kwim? *sigh* I thought Charlie would be the Weasley to die, actually. I think I'm inclined to agree with the better both of them than only one twin position.

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked the story.


 Report Review

Review #11, by ekroman The Pitch

30th June 2010:
Cute story. And actually the twins stuff with Gideon and Fabian is at least movie-canon (first order picture in OotP)

Author's Response: That is what gave me the idea! Once I started thinking of them as twins, it really stuck in my head. I hope JKR meant them to be twins. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by GinnyCullen The Pitch

16th June 2010:
Wow that was great! I never really thought about how Fred and George have never really been apart from each other! I like that Gideon and Fabian know everything about the future it would definitely help Fred feel more at home and such!

Author's Response: I have thought about that quite a bit, as relates to my sons. They have, quite literally, always been together, from the first moment of their existence. The concept of really being alone is pretty much alien to them. There are quite a few books on twin psychology that talk about developing ability to be alone. Anyway, thank you very much, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by propertyoftheHBP The Pitch

15th November 2009:
This was wonderful, very touching.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by 1917farmgirl The Pitch

7th October 2009:
Once again, wonderful story. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Laugharama_llama The Pitch

20th September 2009:
Aw, that was cute. Haha, I liked the ending quote; it was like comic relief. :)

Favorite Quotes!
"Of course good wins," Fred said. "Harry always gets away with stuff."



He’d just been fighting the Death Eaters with Percy only a moment ago, and Percy, bless him, had actually made a joke…

“We could hardly believe it either,” said a cheerful voice behind him.

“Percy, joking! Can you imagine?” said his other uncle.



hahahaha, love it!! Thanks for the awesome story!

Author's Response: Aw thanks! I'm glad you appreciated the humor. Thanks for the favorite lines too ;) You're the first person to remark on the "Harry always gets away with stuff" in a review, and that was one of my favorite parts writing this. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by redflameeyes The Pitch

30th July 2009:
i think they are twins in canon, actually

Author's Response: There's no evidence one way or the other. There's very little mention of them, but the way they're grouped together seems to be the way Fred and George are grouped together, and I think that's why people assume they must have been twins as well. I like to think they were.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Jemione The Pitch

1st July 2009:
That was beautiful. It was sad that he had to leave George behind, but it's comforting to think that he always knew what happened to his brother.

Great job. :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by krissy87 The Pitch

18th June 2009:
*wipes away tears* Aw.. lovely fic. I love how Fred keeps his sense of humour, even when he's feeling down about leaving George behind.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very fond of this one, so I'm always happy to hear someone liked it.

 Report Review

Review #19, by angelchaser13 The Pitch

9th April 2009:
Brilliant! Amazing! Sad-but-happy at the same time! Magnificent! GOOD WORK!

Best,

angelchaser13

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #20, by MoonNRoses The Pitch

31st January 2009:
I think that is exactly the "passing on" that Fred deserved and needed. Well done. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by slytherensangel26 The Pitch

14th December 2008:
this is nice. good job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ashley411 The Pitch

25th November 2008:
I LOVE IT it was FUNNY and CUTE i could not keep the smile off my face. Write more to this please!. Or write another story like this it was GREAT

Author's Response: Thank you! I don't think this one needs any more, but I will be writing more about George. After NaNoWriMo is over lol!

 Report Review

Review #23, by I_LOVE_love The Pitch

11th November 2008:
Wow, my first review was deleted in the crash so here I am again! Your little story here is sooo sad, and yet so happy and great. I love it and could read it so many more times, and you never, I just might ;). I love you showing Fred moving on, and I love how you show him expressing how he would've felt be leaving the world behind, not just everyone expressing losing him. I also think that Gideon and Fabian are a good addition because it gives Fred some comfort and family to have with him after he dies. I also like how Fred finds out all that will happen to George, and his comments are also good too! ;)
love it all! 10/10
*love*

Author's Response: Thank you for coming back and leaving another review! I really appreciate it. I'm very glad that you enjoyed this story, and my take on Fred's death. I really hate that the twins were split up :(

 Report Review

Review #24, by I Luv James P II The Pitch

11th October 2008:
Great Job!!! I really like it...You should make an actual story about it...

Author's Response: Well, it is an actual story ;) But if you mean something longer, I don't think I want to add to this. Someday maybe. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Cody L The Pitch

9th October 2008:
i cant believe it this one is so sad and happy at the same time just what a story needs

10/10 becuase you made me cry and smile

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>