Reading Reviews for The Birds and the Bees
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Beeezie The Birds and the Bees

14th July 2013:
We still have a few pre-2009 stories to review before moving on, so I thought that I should check out our HoH's page. It seemed fitting.

I am so glad I did. I laughed through this entire story, and enjoyed it so much that I added it to my favorites before writing the review.

The image of the Weasley boys trailing after Arthur like little ducklings when all he wanted to do was give Bill the dreaded talk was both hilarious and really believable, and I thought that you showed age-appropriate reactions for all of them. (Yes, Bill, they don't like it when you throw dungbombs at them, you're absolutely right!)

And, in Percy's case, you showed a very Percy-like reaction to what he was hearing. Of course Percy would have found a book and read it, and of course Percy would start explaining it to his brothers. That's just so very Percy. (I loved Arthur's comment to Molly at the end regarding Percy, too - genius.)

This was so good. I loved it.

Now I want to write one of these. Maybe after the House Cup I'll try my hand at it...

Author's Response: Aw thanks! I'm glad you stopped by :)

Poor Arthur, he really is inept at this. He just plows right on knowing that he's not handling it well, and then gets hijacked by a precocious 7 year old. XD Poor guy. And poor Bill and Charlie, the only two really old enough to understand everything, they're so embarrassed. And Percy who understands all the concepts but doesn't really *get it*, you know? He's just too young. haha... Arthur does love to crack an inappropriate joke ;)

Thank you so much for the review! You should definitely write a birds and the bees talk - it's really fun to show it all going downhill.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Olivia The Birds and the Bees

3rd October 2012:
This is pure genius.
What is it with Harry Potter fans? Every story on this site is so unique... With One Direction fanfictions, everything is about some gorgeous smart girl who falls in love.
Superhero fanfics always have a normal guy/girl who becomes a super, meets the person of their dreams and then saves said love interest when he/she is kidnapped by an evil villain.
But Harry Potter? Anything can happen, including the Birds and Bees talk.
Sex is always something that confused me about Hogwarts; eleven year olds can't know these...things... so wouldn't heaps of them get pregnant in their seventh year or something?
Also, the students don't study math, english, studies of society and environment or any of the essential aspects of learning- so shouldn't they be reeeally oblivious to the world?
Anyways, this is brilliant :D

Author's Response: I wonder about the lack of math, too. I mean there must be wizard accountants, right? They have to learn it somehow. Maybe there's a calculate spell to solve that stuff. Who knows.

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed this story! I really had fun writing it. Poor Arthur, he get so overwhelmed by all those boys! XD

Isn't One Direction a band? (sorry, I'm over 30, I don't always know these things) I didn't realize people wrote fanfics about bands. I don't really get how that works. Now I feel old. lol. :p But I totally hear you on HP fanfics. They have so much possibility for theme, plot, character. It's good stuff. Fun for the writer.

I assume the sex ed is happening at home, for Hogwarts students. Otherwise they probably would have a rash of teenage pregnancies.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginger Lust The Birds and the Bees

3rd September 2012:
This was great. So funny. I loved it.
Great job. I love how you got the charaters perfect... even at such a young age.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Writing the little Weasleys is a lot of fun. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by apocalypse The Birds and the Bees

7th May 2012:
H.I.L.A.R.I.O.U.S. That was hilarious! I think I didn't stop laughing for one second there, it was SO funny! You've done a very good job with Arthur's characterization! The way he was nervous and then those little comments he made when Percy started talking, that was TOO much fun! I LOVED THIS! =D Best part: "What do you mean, let Percy take care of it again?" Laughed for a full minute before I was capable of writing this review! AMAZING job! =D

-apocalypse
~Recenseo '12

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it :) I adore making people laugh, I have to admit. Gives me great joy. I had a lot of fun writing this story. Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia rose potter The Birds and the Bees

19th April 2012:
I'm really not quite sure how you do it. My roommate wanted to know what on earth was so funny becasue I was laughing so hard. I can just picture Percy at seven giving his older brothers the sex lecture! Absolutely brilliant. You are a wonderful writer.

Author's Response: Oh Percy, he's so the type, isn't he? lol. I'm glad you liked this one, thank you so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by busybusybeta The Birds and the Bees

23rd June 2011:
BAHAHAHHAHA! this was too funny for words. i don't even know where to begin.
no wonder ron turned out the way he did -- he was under the bed while the rest of the boys were getting the talk from perce.
the idea of percy giving the twins and ron the talk and a quiz was brilliant. i couldn't stop laughing.
of COURSE percy would be the one that found the book and pretty much memorized it.
just the thought of poor arthur sitting there while one of his sons gave the rest "the talk" was too great.
the fact that bill was the only one for whom the talk was actually relevent, though, was the best part, i think.
LOVED it! you need to stop being amazing. seriously.

Author's Response: lol! I like to think Ron got an abbreviated version of The Talk from Arthur later on, when he was older, along with the twins (who were really too young to understand here). Poor Arthur, he does the best he can, but that is a LOT of boys. I really had way too much fun writing this story, especially Percy. It seemed so perfect, and I was picturing one of those circa-1950s puberty books that Arthur had. Oh good times XD Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by TenthWeasley The Birds and the Bees

9th February 2011:
My reviews have been working of late, so I've come by here (belatedly) to officially praise your one-shot! And hopefully this time the archives won't spaz out on me. *crosses fingers*

I thought the way that you wrote all of the Weasley children was absolutely spot-on. They are all so adorable - especially Ron! The second he asked for a 'bikkit' I was just in love with his little not-quite-three-year-old self. And I love how you've made other children besides Fred and George turn out to be mini-pranksters, as I've always viewed the Weasley family as a bit jokey (in a good way) - except Perfect Percy, of course. ^^

Poor Arthur, I could never imagine giving the talk to six boys in one go! And then to have to repeat the dreadful act with Fred, George, and Ron in later years... although I suppose Percy COULD do it! That little brainiac. I loved his character too, I would imagine that's exactly what a little Percy would be like. =]

You've done a tremendous job here, and I only regret that I haven't come by sooner to review it! This is just so stinkin' adorable. =] I just love that you could just sit down and write something so simply creative, but not over-the-top with all kinds of morals and hidden meanings and whatnot, and just have it be so lovely. =]

I'm a bit gushy, you'll have to excuse me, haha! This was a very enjoyable read, and I look forward to reading more. Hope to keep seeing you around the forums, as always! *hug*

(I also have to add - your username is great. ^^ My mom uses 'momotrips' as a username for some things and I just love seeing someone else do something similar, too!)

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! This review really made my day, I love long reviews :)

Ron the baby hehehe... That age is fun. He really had no idea what was going on, but he wanted a cookie! And Percy I totally see as a precocious little guy who thinks he knows everything and loves showing off whatever he knows.

Thanks so much for coming back and leaving a review! I am so glad you enjoyed the story so much :D I had fun writing this, so I always love to hear that readers like it.

Hey thanks - I sometimes think the username isn't the greatest, people don't always get it. But hey another mom of multiples! And triplets too, wow. I've just got my twins.


 Report Review

Review #8, by GuardaGuada The Birds and the Bees

6th February 2011:
This was hilarious and sweet, really. Poor Arthur! I was thinking, I found you through the Midnight Run series and when I read you I sort of assumed that you were around 20 and single, I don't know. I suppose because Rose felt so Young and Real.
And then I read in the forums that you've got your family with kids and all that; wich is more than visible when I read this story... I mean, one can Feel the homely vibe here. The kids in your stories feel like real kids, I mean.
I was thinking that you make such great characterizations if that word exists... how do you DO that?
Bye, and a hug!

Author's Response: lol! No, I'm almost 32 and have two kids. 20 and single wasn't that long ago for me though ;) I try to write the children in my stories as real as possible, so I'm glad they seem that way. Characterization (yes, it is a word ;) ), I don't know, I just write them. lol. I'm glad you like it though. Thank you so much for reviewing! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #9, by CDCdancer The Birds and the Bees

6th February 2011:
HAHAHAHA:)

I enjoyed this a lot! I just kept laughing throughout the entire thing. Very original!

Author's Response: Thank you! I had fun writing this one ;)

 Report Review

Review #10, by DemetersChild The Birds and the Bees

6th February 2011:
Oh, this is just brilliant! Haha, I am definitely not looking forward to the day I have to give my children "the talk". Ooh boy, that's gonna be fun. Poor Arthur, they all just kept coming in!

And that was absolutely hilarious that Percy had read the book and gave them the lecture! At such a young age. Hehe, this was definitely a nice little pick-me-up. xD

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: My kids are 6 now, and I am still dreading having to explain all that someday. lol

I thought it would be funny for Percy ;) I can see him as a precocious kid, reading everything. I doubt he REALLY understood what he was saying, but he could parrot the book's words. Thank you for reviewing! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle The Birds and the Bees

12th December 2010:
Haha loved this story!
Very well written, and I enjoyed it immensely!
I LOVED these two lines:
“Can I have a bikkit?” Ron asked. HOW ADORABLE! and..
“What did you do?” Fred asked in awe. Awwh! Even at a young age you've already characterised them so wonderfully.
Anyway brilliant story!

Author's Response: Thank you! XD I really had fun writing this one. Poor Arthur. Anyway, thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #12, by MeadowBlossom The Birds and the Bees

19th September 2010:
Adorable! Percy is dead on. I couldn't stop giggling.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by NevilleandLuna4ever The Birds and the Bees

24th August 2010:
I could not stop laughing, Once! This is so funny! Loved it!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! XD I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by krazyboutharryginny The Birds and the Bees

18th August 2010:
AHAHA THAT WAS HILARIOUS! Arthur is so awkward! It's great. And your portrayals of all the characters are bang-on. A very believable story and a very funny one too! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! XD I'm glad I could make you laugh!

 Report Review

Review #15, by SimplyStupified77 The Birds and the Bees

13th June 2010:
hahah that was a funny ending! good job! 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by 1917farmgirl The Birds and the Bees

6th October 2009:
That was hilarious! I think I laughed the whole time! Thank you for sharing such a wonderfully funny moment with us.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Keaton The Birds and the Bees

18th August 2009:
Wow. You captured Percy's bookishness and his overall character perfectly! I wonder what you could do with a Molly-Ginny talk. Perhaps Ginny, being the stubborn child she is, doesn't want to admit she has feelings for boys? That'd be interesting.

Overall, EXCELLENT job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I had a lot of fun writing this, it might be fun to do a "Ginny gets the talk" at some point but at the moment I'm not planning on it. Thanks for reviewing! I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by twinklinghazeleyes The Birds and the Bees

13th August 2009:
This is SO funny, seriously I was laughing the whole way through!!! 10/10!!!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Avantgardess The Birds and the Bees

24th July 2009:
Oh wow. XD Percy the seven-year-old men talk teacher.
Appropriately funny and awkward, I think.
You got the characterization well- the twins probably knowing more than they should, Ron looking at Quidditch posters, etc.
Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you think I got the young Weasleys' characters down all right. I hope you continue reading my stories! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by scooterbug8515 The Birds and the Bees

19th July 2009:
I was oddly glancing through your fics for the Riddle hunt though maybe one of them had to do with the Dobby's and then I got side tracked by this wonderful little fic. It brought a smile to my face and sounds so like them. You did splendidly in managing the young ones!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Those riddles are killers, aren't they? I'm really glad you liked this story, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by krissy87 The Birds and the Bees

18th June 2009:
Poor Arthur, although he would have been eternally grateful to Percy for saving the day on this one! The Twins...yes, they probably understood more than they should have! I've read this previously, but a good story never gets old!

Author's Response: Ha! Yeah, lucky Percy was there, otherwise it would have been half an hour of Arthur blushing and "erm"ing while Bill and Charlie lost feeling in their extremities because all their blood was in their blush. lol. Thank you for reviewing, and for rereading this one :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by WeasleyTwins The Birds and the Bees

17th June 2009:
That was adorable!

Just thought I'd pop a review up right quick before heading to sleep. This was just too cute. The characterizations were perfect, utterly perfect.

Awesome!

10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by WitnesstoitAll The Birds and the Bees

12th June 2009:
wonderful. absolutely wonderful. I love when arthur was expecting percy to whip out a blackboard to aid in the presentation. too cute.

Good Story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Toxic Turquoise The Birds and the Bees

22nd April 2009:
Haha! =D
This was really good!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Ava Pearce The Birds and the Bees

18th April 2009:
Oh my *chokes* seriously i've been on HPFF for a sshort few months and you so far are one of the best and funniest (and quirkiest and smartest) writers i've come aacross yet *burst into uncontrollable giggles*

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! You totally made my week with this review :) I'm so glad you like this one, I'm pretty fond of it myself lol. Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>