Reading Reviews for Overcoming Prejudice
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by pennyardelle Overcoming Prejudice

30th October 2009:
Happy Staff Appreciation Day! This was a very realistic portrayal of what Tonks was probably going through when she was first in love with Remus, and I can totally buy that other people might have an attitude that she should find someone else. Great writing, and a fantastic one-shot!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Darla Overcoming Prejudice

2nd June 2009:
Nice! I really liked it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by alyosha Overcoming Prejudice

10th March 2009:
I generally dislike anything even mentioning christmas, but then i must have thought that any such prejudice having a bearing upon my opinion of a story titled in disfavour of exactly that, would be grossly remiss, because i actually liked this.

I can't say i've ever read one of your stories before, which is rather rude of me, since you've read mine, but i'm glad i finally did take the initiative to.

Tonk's mother is so motherly in this. For some reason, just recognising that, made her amazing to me. Literally, amazing. I guess unconditional love is generally so taken for granted, that you don't appreciate it properly unless you really think about it, and then it takes you by surprise.

Come back some day.

 Report Review

Review #4, by jenrabbit Overcoming Prejudice

9th May 2008:
Aww, that was sweet. Poor tonks, lost in love, at least we know she has a happy ending, for awhile anyway. Execlent little read, totaly a 10/10!! You're an exremely talented author, keep writing, and don't you ever DARE think of givin it up.
kisses
~*Jenni*~

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ollie Vander Overcoming Prejudice

29th February 2008:
Hey, great story. It's very original and creative. Definatly a 10/10! I don't really have any negative comments...good job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by midwinter_wolf Overcoming Prejudice

22nd January 2008:
AW thats so so sweet!!! Wow!!

Author's Response: Thanks! glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by MyronWin Overcoming Prejudice

25th December 2007:
Quite the pleasant Christmas surprise. I read this story on Christmas morning and found it to be very well written and an interesting storyline. You portrayed the Tonks family very believably, which as I've discussed with other authors is not easily done and still remain true to JKR's published writing and perceived vision. It was nice to see Ted in his prime and Andromeda as more than Harry's godson's grandmother or Bellatrix's sister, though that connection was nicely seen (loved the line about the tapestry, or lack thereof!). And Tonks has been one of my favorite characters since her introduction and you have taken a turning point in her life and written an enchanting story about it.
This was, indeed, a very nice Christmas present. Thank you for your story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review! Ted and Andromeda are some of my favorite characters too. And I do like to show the connection between Andromeda and her family, because I think her change in beliefs came about gradually, that she didn't just grow up randomly hating her family like a lot of authors seem to think. I've never written Tonks before but found it surprisingly easy (I guess because in this story she's pretty close in age to me). Anyway I'm glad you thought the story worked out well, and enjoyed reading it. Thanks again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Potterholic Overcoming Prejudice

24th December 2007:
This was really good! I like the idea, I’ve always wanted to read a fic about Andromeda and Ted’s reaction when they find out about Remus. I love how you portrayed Andromeda’s relationship with Tonks. The argument between them was well done; I could understand Andromeda’s worries for her daughter. Molly’s characterization was spot-on too. The ending was very sweet too, it made me smile. ^_^ Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked Andromeda and Ted - they're some of my favorite characters and I just couldn't not include them when writing about their daughter. And Molly was fun to write too. Thanks again for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by VampireKisses Overcoming Prejudice

23rd December 2007:
Aw this was such a lovely Christmas story. I do got to say though I don't remember Tonks saying Voldemort's name in vain so calmly. I thought it was just Dumbledore and Harry...everybody else showed some sign of fear when they heard it. But it could be my mistake. Ted was amazing, I liked how you made him so...Ted like and a good cook. And it was interesting reading into Molly's past views. I liked how you made it original. I always see the Prewtts showing open heartedly promoting liberal acts toward creatures in fanfics so I like this fresh turn.

Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! And you make a good point about Voldemort's name - I was just trying to get this done so fast I didn't stop to think about it, but I think I'll change it now. :) I'm glad you liked Ted, he's one of my favorite characters (I was SO sad when he died) and I've always thought of him as sort of plump and jolly and loving food, lol.About Molly... I'm actually surprised more people don't write the Prewetts like this, because I think there's a lot of canon basis for it with the way Ron reacts to certain statements of Harry and Hermione throughout the books - it's clear that although he thinks of his family as liberal and progressive, he's grown up with certain prejudices, and it doesn't even occur to him that he's NOT being open-minded. He had to get those views from somewhere, and it seems more likely they came from Molly than Arthur based on the way they act in the books - how Molly gets annoyed at Arthur for being overly obsessed with Muggles and doesn't seem to have much interest in them herself: "Mum has a second cousin that's an accountant but we don't talk about him" from book 1. We also know that the Prewetts in general were considered acceptable by the Black family which is saying something. Not that the Prewetts were ever the type to be drawn to the Death Eaters or even be put in Slytherin. I just see them as a typical pureblood family that, while they're not obsessed with their heritage, have simply had no contact with muggles or werewolves or anything and are just ignorant about them.Wow, sorry, long explanation of Molly's character. Anyway, thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by The Last Marauder Overcoming Prejudice

22nd December 2007:
AW! That was a really sweet story! I really liked it! Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Kristina1990 Overcoming Prejudice

21st December 2007:
If I had been in Andromeda's position, I wouldn't have reacted differently. Just the shock of such news. But they made up in the end, which is nice. And the Christmas dinner... Damn, I'm hungry now.

Nice one-shot!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Glad you liked the food, I had fun making it up. I've always thought of Ted as a good chef for some reason. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by JLHufflepuff Overcoming Prejudice

20th December 2007:
This is so amazingly well done. I should go into the exact parts that are awesome, but I'm really at a loss for words!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by mischief managed Overcoming Prejudice

20th December 2007:
Aww thats sweet. Very cute little story and while seeing her refered to as Nymphadora felt a little off, it how her mother thinks of her and the first half of the story could kinda be from Andormeda's pov so...problem solved ;)

So is there a sequal in which they actually get to meet the werewolf?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked it even if it was a little weird with the names and all. I don't have any sequels planned at the moment, but who knows, I may write one someday. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by SillyLily Overcoming Prejudice

20th December 2007:
"He is not bloody dangerous!"
thats my fav line. hilarius. Right on Tonks!!!
Werewolves arent dangerous, theyre just bloody cute!
So says Tonks. lol. I tink Lupin's awesome. My fav marauder! aNyway, Fantastic job with this!!! :) i love how you wrote this with Andromeda and Ted too, i wouldve never ever ever thought of that!! Cant wait for chapter 2, and if there isnt a chapter 2, youve got a LOT of explaining to do. Nah, Im just pulling your wand!!! HAHAHHAHAHAHA!!!
LOve SillyLily::P
I'll say.um.9/10!

Author's Response: Lol. Glad you liked it, and thought Tonks' parents were a good addition. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Robert Overcoming Prejudice

19th December 2007:
Great first chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login