Reading Reviews for Decadence
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ronsgirl29 Summer 1998: Man Down

12th November 2011:
Your writing style is amazing! I just love how descriptive and detailed you can be with hardly any dialogue. I struggle with putting way too much dialogue in my writing, so I'm beyond jealous of your skills.

This story is really enjoyable so far, the emotions are so real and vivid. The stuff about fred's death made me nearly cry. I can't wait to read more!
off to the next chapter,

Ronsgirl29

Author's Response: Thanks, champ! I hope you enjoy the rest. I appreciate this lovely review. =)

 Report Review

Review #2, by bluecharlotte Summer 2002 through Spring 2003: Full Circle

18th October 2010:
:( This story is bittersweet, because it ends sadly but somehow Charlie is better off in the end. I loved it the whole way through! Great writing. 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it! =)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Coline7373 Summer 2002 through Spring 2003: Full Circle

18th September 2010:
Talk about depressing!
Poor Charlie! I love this character and when I read about him I want to see him happy, yet it just make me cried my eyes out!
Good story thought. Snif, snif...

Author's Response: I'm sorry about the crying! I grew pretty attached to Charlie as I wrote this, and trust me, it was just as hard to put him through it as it is to read it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by paddie Summer 2002 through Spring 2003: Full Circle

14th December 2009:
you made me cry, and I'm not sure if they are happy tears or not. Probably a mix. Thanks for writing a fantastic piece of fanfic

Author's Response: Sorry about the tears. It was a bittersweet ending, I know. Thanks for reviewing, though!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Daphne 13 Summer 2002 through Spring 2003: Full Circle

31st May 2009:
Amazing. Loved it. The best. Incredible. I am in my WOW state. WOW. Thank You for this amazing experience! ;)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you. That's great to hear. I'm so happy you enjoyed it so much. =D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lotus_Kiss Summer 2002 through Spring 2003: Full Circle

8th May 2009:
Superb!!! This story was very well written, intricately designed. Personally, Charlie is my favorite character to write about. Hope you had fun with him.

Author's Response: Great, thanks! I did have fun with him. He's great because we know just enough about him to create a foundation, but there's a lot of creative wiggle room to play with his character. =)

 Report Review

Review #7, by taylorj828 Summer 2002 through Spring 2003: Full Circle

7th April 2009:
Oh my dear. It's over. And I'm not sure what I feel. Maybe I had always hoped Harry and Charlie could be together at the end. I'm not torn up that they're not, just a bit sad. Maybe I got into this expecting to to be that way though. Because I know you. And this isn't a shock. You know my feelings about Harry and Ginny, but... still you painted such beauty and darkness with the Harry/Charlie, and there's that whole silver lining you've got going.

Oh dear, I don't know what to say really. Thank you SO much for writing this! No one ever explores some kind of relationship like this with these characters, and for me, it's not just about the destination - who ends up with who. It's about the journey, and what we think and feel along the way. The guilt, the love, Charlie's struggles, Harry's struggles. You described them all so well, and I can't thank you enough for writing this. (o:

I wouldn't be surprised if this Charlie remains single for his life. But knowing how he craved that companionship with Harry, it makes me a little sad. But he doesn't just want someone, so 'just someone' wouldn't do. And even though good things came out of this, I'm still sad. Harry and Ginny got what they wanted, it seems. And Charlie's family got what they want - both Harry and Charlie. But Charlie... He's received some things, yes, but not exactly what he really, deeply wanted. Instead, he's sort of lost that altogether.

I'm not sure how I feel. I hope it doesn't alarm you. I think it's a good thing that I feel this way, though I'm not sure what emotions you were aiming for in readers. (o:

I just... it's one of those stories where I have to sit with this for a long time and just mull it over, and the way it turns my thoughts and emotions. I like it that way, but it's a bit painful too. Thanks again and again and again. Lots of love. (o:

Author's Response: Since it's not meant to be a happy ending, I'm not too surprised at your reaction, not knowing how to feel about it. But, yeah, Charlie and Harry couldn't be together because a. I tried to make the story fit canon as much as possible, and b. I don't even want to imagine the repercussions on both their lives if they had. Imagine if all of this had come out to the Weasley family, right? So, really, it's for the greater good, even if it's not a happy ending. Charlie kind of got the crap end of the stick, that's for sure - and yeah, in my mind (as in canon), he stays single, or at least unmarried. But, you know, every once in a while it's nice to write/read something that comes out with a realistic ending, and that's better than writing a happy ending that doesn't seem realistic. And in this particular story, I don't think I could have written a plausible happy ending. I didn't want you (or anyone else) to read this and think, "Yeah, that's nice, but it wouldn't happen that way."

Thank you so much for challenging me to write this, and for all your support when it was first coming together. I wouldn't have written this without you. I hope you like it as much as you seem to. I really do appreciate your feedback. Thanks so much, for everything.


 Report Review

Review #8, by taylorj828 Summer 2001 Part I: Testing the Waters

7th April 2009:
Heya! Just wanted to tell you something, though I think I read this ages ago. I wanted to re-read so I'd be properly set up for the end!

He was playing with fire, only trying to keep warm, though it meant potentially burning everything down. Was there no room for redemption?

Have I ever told you that I love this? Because, I? I do.

It was such beautiful prose, just adore it. The fire, the warmth, burning everything down. You're brilliant. And I try to tell as many people as possible! (o:

I loved so much more, but we both know I get carried away and take hours with reviews if I point out everything, so I just made myself remember this so I could tell you!

Author's Response: I'm so happy you pointed out that quote in particular, because I was really into it when I wrote it, and then I don't think anyone commented on it? Thank goodness you're here to do that. Heh. =) Thank you so much, dear.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Summer 2002 through Spring 2003: Full Circle

30th March 2009:
=O i thought you were gonna have charlie make a movie on harry in the bathroom or something! scared me for a second. everyone loves a happy ending :D

anyways, it was so incredibly descriptive, you did a great job with the whole story... but now what do i have to look forward to?? it's over!! i'm so sad. but you ended it well, it didn't seem rushed or awkward, but it was a good close to the story. great job! :)

Author's Response: =O! No, Charlie has some respect and self control! Lol. And also - what happy ending? Poor Charlie is left all alone! =(

Thanks very much, though, for all your reviews and keeping up with the story.

p.s. I also found where I had promised for the update by the end of January! Hahahaha, I felt so bad, I took it down. But it's over now, no more waiting. =(


 Report Review

Review #10, by SilveryLithium Summer 2002 through Spring 2003: Full Circle

20th March 2009:
Aww. I'm sad it's over. It was a very interesting twist compared to other stories I've read.

Author's Response: That's great to hear! I'm so glad. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #11, by jennaBee Summer 2002 through Spring 2003: Full Circle

20th March 2009:
i love this ending, bitter sweet but perfect.

your a wonderful writer and i've loved this story,

10/10

Jenx.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it. =)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Spring through Summer 2002: Take a Step Back

16th February 2009:
LknIUHDKWNDiudhKNKJiudnkjnkjjiuhkjkjel. chyeah. wow,. okay. i read this chapter like, 2 months ago and forgot to comment it. and guess what, it's the end of january and NO NEW CHAPTER! YOU LIE TO ME!!! LIAR. *cries* :( i'll be checking in every so often to see if you've finally updated. turd nugget. *sticks tongue out*

Author's Response: I don't have any recollection of this promise. You find me some proof. =P But I apologize anyway. School has been getting in the way. I know it's not much of an excuse, but it's the only one I have. I'm working at it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by JLHufflepuff Spring through Summer 2002: Take a Step Back

6th December 2008:
Wow... I am feeling that this is goin to end badly for Charlie. Harry's reasoning about their relationship is really how I see the situation - they never could be a real couple and still have a good relationship with the Weasley family (realistically, anyway) ... But who knows? I think it is AWFUL that Charlie heard whatever was going on in the bedroom with Harry and Ginny, but at least he stood up for himself!

Author's Response: I know, I'm not very nice to the poor characters, am I? Thanks for reviewing. Can't wait to see what you think of the end!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Winter 2001: Subtlety

6th December 2008:
too short!! i like how everything is coming together better. i just can't imagine what will happen w/ ginny + harry!! either ginny or charlie are going to get their heart broken...why can't everyone be happy?!!? you should have them get in a 3 way marriage!! oh crap that's incest, nevermind. yuck. anyways. great chappie. i neeeds more. i only have 1 left!! you better get another chapter validated soon cuz you're getting me kinddda addicted to this story. turd. :D


WWW

Author's Response: HAHAHA. You entertain me. =) Thanks a lot. There's not a lot of it left, sadly.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Summer 2001 Part II: Short Controlled Bursts

6th December 2008:
oh jeez. this was good, obviously. i mean, i've said that about every chapter so far.. i'm just so predictable.

but i read what you said about helping w/ the gay scenes and it actually worked very well. because of the fact that none of the scenes were described as something only 2 males would do, i was able to just imagine it as two people in love.

im so excited to see what happens in england :D and im glad you put some conflict in there to offset the happiness. i also love how you made harry more hesitant and still retreating to the way things were rather than giving up everythign to be with charlie. it really makes me more eager to see how everything unfolds in later chapters.

once again, i just love what you've done with charlie's character. i'd be interested to read a story you write about something non-harry potter. something you created yourself. from reading your story it seems like you would be more than capable of creating your own story. anyways, another great chapter :) ..but im too tired to continue on tonight. i'll start again in the morning! woop something to look forward to :P

p.s. sorry, long review :P


WWW

Author's Response: Yay, great! I'm glad my advice helped. England is going to be... fun. =)

Thank you so very much. =) That's a comforting thought, that sooomebody would read my original work. ;) I'm trying to write my own things but a lot of the time it seems like my HP ideas are better. =P

And, also, I love long reviews. So yay!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Summer 2001 Part I: Testing the Waters

5th December 2008:
oh snap. wow.

okay i can't help but feel a little disturbed, seeing as i'm a straight guy. but if i was a girl or a gay guy, this story would be the best thing ever. i mean, i'm still enjoying it a lot, don't get me wrong! but the male on male stuff is a little disturbing to me personally lol.

your writing is still phenomenal though. dont let the straight guy get you down :P

10/10

Author's Response: Haha, "don't let the straight guy get you down." Lol. Well, in all fairness, the summary and the warnings for the story make it very clear that this is a slash fic, so you can't say you weren't expecting it. ;) And when I'm writing or reading, I don't really think about characters as what they're biologically born into - I just see people in literature/fanfiction/whatever as just that, people, and it works out however it works out - het, slash, femmeslash, whatever. So, I'm not trying to preach or anything, I'm just trying to make the fic more comfortable for you. So try to separate characters from gender, if that'll make it less awkward for you.

Thanks for all your reviews! Keep reading, you're more than halfway through and I'm interested in what you'll think later. =)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Winter 2000: Now We've Got a Big, Big Mess On Our Hands

5th December 2008:
stop being so freakishly good at writing, you naughty thing, you. i like how you don't rush into things, you just take your time and make it a fun ride until the BAM part comes in.

i am simply in awe at how incredibly great you did on charlie's personality. you really captured a guy's personality spot on. you really created a great character out of a hardly known one in the actually harry potter series. words cannot express how fantastic you did at creating a realistic yet interesting personality of charlie.

woop :P

Author's Response: Well, jeez. I am flattered by this review. I spent a lot of time thinking about what approach I would take to Charlie's character, and to be honest, he's turned out much differently than I was originally planning. But I like him better now, and apparently it's going over well. =P

And also, I don't think I've ever been called "freakishly good at writing" before, so, um, thanks a lot. =)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Autumn 2000: Ignoring the Consequences

4th December 2008:
holy crap.

good job at making a gay scene not completely disgusting :P

this chapter is very well written and i dont think you over did it or under did it at all. it was just right :D

but i dont know how comfortable i am with the gay scene yet! we'll see how you play it out next chappie :D

Author's Response: Hmm. Well, it's not hard to make a gay scene not "disgusting" when you don't see gay people that way. Look at it this way, if it helps: I'm writing two people who are attracted to each other, and that's all. I didn't start this story necessarily thinking about how "gay" it would be. It's just people, and they both happen to be male. Anyway, we'll see how the next few chapters go for you!

 Report Review

Review #19, by severus_lover Spring through Summer 2002: Take a Step Back

4th December 2008:
I abolutely loved this chapter! It was awesome. I felt so bad for Charlie, I really sympathise with him in this and yet I'm not mad at Harry. He's got a wife and expectations/Reputation to uphold. The green is good on both sides :D. He cant keep from around Charlie. I really loved the dialogue and the descriptions(as usual) but I really loved the chemistry here. Really, really great. Cant wait for more ;D

kay~

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, I really put poor Harry in a pickle in this one. Don't worry, it all works out, somehow, in the last chapter. ;) (But Harry's not married in this story - he and Ginny are just dating/living together.)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Summer 2000: Bad Timing

4th December 2008:
guh-asp. you're still awesome. . . =D

yeah im really tired right now so i dont really know what to say except that it was a good chapter and you are a fantabulistic writer.

chyeah

Author's Response: Haha, that's good enough for me! Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Summer 1998: Man Down

3rd December 2008:
holy. crap. dude.

you are freaking amazing at writing. YOU'RE AMAZING!! woo. okay. yeah so pretty much...this story is incredible. it's awesome because the topics you chose to put in the story could play out to be really boring and stupid or really interesting and creative. you made it interesting and creative and worth reading!! you're awesome @ writing.

Author's Response: Aw, jeez. Thank you very, very much. I don't know what else to say. =)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes Summer 1997: Second Born

3rd December 2008:
wow that was really good! you did a fantastic job on the descriptions and details. it almost felt like i was actually reading harry potter! :D

most people write stories that don't follow the same time periods as the books, but you fit this new story right in with the actual seventh book, well done!!

on to the next chappie :D


WWW

Author's Response: Yeah, one of my goals with this story was to write it so that it could fit right into canon, so that it was sort of ambiguous as an option - to make you question if this could have actually happened, or something similar. JKR left us a really big block of time between the last chapter of the book and the epilogue, and I'm really excited to see what kinds of things people fill that time with. =)

Anyway, thank you very much. I appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #23, by skyvamp Winter 2001: Subtlety

2nd October 2008:
Hi! Just wanted to say I'm still really enjoyng this series and hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm trying to get an update ready, but this semester of school is basically taking over my life. Hopefully I'll get the time to focus on this soon!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Lily Summer 2001 Part I: Testing the Waters

1st June 2008:
Oooh pleaaase! When are you going to post another chapter? I can't wait another month! Aah...

Author's Response: I apologize for the wait. I hope it won't be another month, but I can't really pin down a date. I just need to work through this little rut... =/

 Report Review

Review #25, by silvery lithium Summer 2001 Part I: Testing the Waters

20th May 2008:
I was reading this, and then had to request to find it again. This is a very different ship, but I like it. I like where the story is going.

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it again! =) Thanks for the review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>