87 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 Three French Parps

29th December 2013:
Hi! I'm here for Day Three of the Twelve Days of Reviewing on the forums. As today's challenge was to review stories starring Hagrid, this story was a perfect thing to read! And in honor of the title of your story and because it's Day Three, I decided to review the third chapter. :)

I think that this story is incredibly cute. Right now, I'm rereading the Harry Potter series, and I was just thinking to myself yesterday about how adorable it would be to write a Hagrid/Madame Maxime story. You, dear author, have done just that! You've taken an extremely long Christmas carol and put it in a magical context, then added everyone's favorite half-giants to the mix! This story couldn't be more perfect if it tried. :D

As a bird lover myself, I am extremely pleased by the fact that Hagrid keeps giving Olympe birds. Soon she'll have so many birds, she'll have to open an aviary! Hagrid's knowledge of the magical creatures that DON'T have fangs really becomes apparent in this story. He likes the creepy critters, but he understands that Olympe needs cute, feathery pets to make her happy. Of course, I'm sure that she could do without the pets if she could just have Hagrid, but still, the pets are a nice addition.

I applaud you for writing this gem of a story! Happy Holidays!

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #2, by BookDinosaur A Fwooper in a Star Tree

29th December 2013:
Hello! I'm here for the Third Day of the Twelve Days of Reviewing Challenge, which is pretty amusong condering your story is about the Twelve Days of Christmas as well. :P

I loved this little story, it was really sweet! And of course, it's typical Hagrid behaviour to give someone a bird whose song will make the listener go insane. Your characterisation of Hagrid is spot on, because that's exactly the kind of thing he'd do! :P

I think you did a fantastic job capturing the accents of both of the characters here, with Madame Maxine's French accent and Hagrid's English one. You did a brilliant job capturing their dialogue, and the way they speak was spot on as well, so major kudos for you there! :D

The imagery in this was really lovely as well, I could really see and hear everything that Hagrid and Madame Maxine were saying and seeing. I love the description of Madame Maxine's house and the star tree, both were really vivid and clear in my mind. I particularly loved the description of snow lying on Madame Maxine's house, it was lovely to picture.

I really liked this story, you did a great job with it. I think Hagrid isn't written much, he's a pretty underrated character, and reading about him and Madame Maxine was lovely. :D Great job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan A Fwooper in a Star Tree

29th December 2013:
For the forums 12 days of Reviewing, day 3. (awesome, considering your story's title, right?)

I love this, it was so cute. You wrote Hagrid and Madam Maxime really well! I don't often see fanfiction about that pairing so it was really refreshing to read. And you did a splendid job with their accents, by the way. It's easy to mess that up and you did it really well, I could easily hear their voices as I read!

In addition to the accents, your characterisation on the whole is wonderful. I love how you wrote Hagrid particularly - he's being very sweet to the point of ridiculous (a bird that makes the listener go insane - that's absolutely perfect as Hagrid wouldn't consider something like that to be a problem, or dangerous :p ) He seems very similar to how JKR wrote him, so great job!

Your imagery is wonderful too. The star tree and all the sparkly snow sound just beautiful, and I could picture it so vividly!

Wonderful beginning to your story, it's very Christmassy and enjoyable!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lululuna A Fwooper in a Star Tree

29th December 2013:
Hello! :) I'm here for Day 3 of the 12 Days of Reviewing on the forums!

I love the idea of this story, and Hagrid is the perfect character to be buying a melange of strange creatures for his true love- and naturally she would accept it as a wonderful gift as well! I also really liked how you wrote both of their dialects and accents, they felt really realistic and I could hear Madame Maxime's voice chiming in my head as I read her dialogue!

The star tree just sounds beautiful! I loved the idea of that, and how it would look at Olympe's beautiful home. The descriptions of her home were really lovely as well, and seemed to suit her. I imagine she would have a home very elegant and proper, like her personality, but also a little quirky and set to accommodate her size of course. The description of the snow looking like white sugar was especially lovely. :)

I really enjoyed the Fwooper and it's fantastic name. It sounded lovely and trust Hagrid to get something which was a little dangerous and which can drive the listener insane, that was a hilarious addition. I love these two, they are such a cute couple, and I like how Olympe knows Hagrid very well and has the fore-knowledge to be concerned that the bird could be dangerous.

I loved this line especially: Hagrid's face turned bright red under the sparkling lights of the star tree. It was a great image. Ah, I just love Hagrid so much.

This was a lovely beginning to a story and I really liked your writing style here, it was beautiful! :) Well done! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by spellboundtimetraveler A Fwooper in a Star Tree

28th December 2013:
I acknowledge how difficult it is to write in the cockney and accent, and respect you for it seriously respect you. There is some ncredibly skilled dialouge you have written there!

It sounds so like hagrid to have a bird in his possesion that causes insanity by the sound of its song!

Just a quick edit to suggest-

“Thanks again for inviting me to yeh ‘ome fer Chris’mas,” Hagrid said, smiling like a school boy with a crush.”

You should take out that quotation mark at the end of the sentence.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Rumpelstiltskin A Fwooper in a Star Tree

28th December 2013:
Hello!

I am here for the third task of 12 Days of Reviewing!

I would first like to mention how adorable this idea is! Hagrid is awesome, so he deserves some spotlight at times! Also, how fitting is this challenge for your story title? Awesome!

Right, on with my review.

I think that you did a fantastic job at staying true to the way Hagrid and Olympe speak. I also that doing so is an important part of characterization! Olympe's french accent and Hagrid's accent are definitely part of their personality and capturing their dialects stood out to me (it's the little things that can make a story better).

I found this line, "The roof was topped with a layer of snow, as were the branches of the cherry trees that lined the drive, giving the appearance that everything had been dusted with a layer of fine white sugar" to be particularly pretty. The imagery reminded me of how early winter looks where I live; it is always so very beautiful. I think that sugar was an appropriate metaphor of snow.

The star tree sounds beautiful as does the Fwooper (and-hooray-I now know what a Fwooper is)! I think that what I found most amusing was that the Fwooper's song makes the listeners lose their minds! Thank goodness Hagrid placed a silencing charm on it!

I think you did a fantastic portraying Hagrid and Olympe as a couple; they're so cute together!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan A Fwooper in a Star Tree

28th December 2013:
I am here for the 12 Days of Reviewing!

I haven't really read a story about Hagrid and Madame Maxime before so this was new for me. I have to say though, for a first time, I chose a pretty good story.

I love how sweet and shy Hagrid is in this. I'm so used to seeing him as this kind of loud, cheerful person I guess that it's always nice to see the sweeter, quieter side of him.

I've got to say though, when Hagrid likes someone, he goes all out for them. I can't imagine how difficult it must've been to find a Fwooper.

But yeah, this was really lovely!

 Report Review

Review #8, by gingersnape A Fwooper in a Star Tree

13th December 2012:
D'AWW! You wrote Hagrid and Olympe so well - their accents made their words come alive in my head, and it wasn't at all difficult to understand what they were saying. I couldn't help but be taken over with an enormous smile at Hagrid's present! A fantastic, totally fitting play on the old song. :)

I adore stories that focus on minor characters, but still manage to make them seem as if they were the stars of the series they're so well developed and well written, and this definitely did that!

The chapter was a bit short, but as chapter a day as a challenge? Amazing! I can't wait to read the next chapter; all this Christmas spirit makes me so happy. :)

Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two

 Report Review

Review #9, by Debra20 Eleven Mokes a-Shrinking

13th December 2012:
Heya!

What a fluffly, adorable little chapter. The simplicity and cuteness of it is what gives it a special touch. We don't get to see many Hagrid (and Olympe) stories around the Archives and it's a shame because they are lovely characters just as any. I felt fuzzy and warm inside while reading this little story and it made me wish Christmas was here already. I won't share it with my loved one but I've always thought this is more of a 'family' holiday so it's all good.

I am very very happy to see that you stayed true to the characters and gave them the way of speech they have in the books and their personalities reflected in the gifts they exchanged. It's so like Hagrid to present someone with a strange creature (thank god it was a harmless gift haha) and Olympe to offer something of value. I've always thought her as an elegant woman, despite her origins and appearance so it's a pleasure to see your view of characters shared by other authors as well. Loved it!

Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two

 Report Review

Review #10, by GrangerDanger76 A Fwooper in a Star Tree

12th December 2012:
Holiday Review Extravaganza Two

First off, YES for a HAGRID story. You are just fabulous,because Hagrid is such an underwritten character. You captured him perfectly, and this is such a great story! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Alopex Twelve Flutterbies Flying

27th December 2008:
Wow! I was not expecting that ending! You sure did give Hagrid quite the romantic side, didn't you? That was really, really beautiful. And the flutterbies . . . beautiful but poisonous. Figures that Hagrid would pick something like that. :-) I've never read a Hagrid/Olympe story before, but I sure do like the ship in your story. Thanks for posting a link in your signature in the forums. I never would have found this story otherwise, and I did enjoy it very much!

The only thing that is "wrong" with your story has to do with the twelve days of Christmas. The first day of Christmas actually falls on Christmas Day. The final day of Christmas falls on January 5th, the eve of Epiphany. January 6th, Epiphany, is when the three kings are said to have arrived to see the baby Jesus.

Author's Response: I'm glad I could surprise you :) I've never read (nor even seen) any other Hagrid/Olympe stories before, so I thought it would be an interesting ship to explore. I'm glad to know that having the link in my signature has paid off too!

I do realise that the true twelve days of Christmas begin on Christmas day, however for the purpose of this story I decided not to follow tradition because I wanted to end on Christmas day when he gave her the last (and best) present. I don't think it would have worked as well to have started on Christmas day.

Thanks so much for reviewing this story, I'm so glad you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Alopex Eleven Mokes a-Shrinking

27th December 2008:
Oh my gosh! This was so sweet! It just occured to me that Hagrid probably never got a watch, according to tradition, did he? But even in the unlikely event that he did, he will obviously treasure this one. I always pictured him more as a pocket watch sort of man though; wouldn't a wristwatch get in the way while he is doing all his gamekeeping duties? Then again, I don't suppose he'd wear it while working, would he? Who wears a fancy watch while working outdoors? No, this is an indoor, special occasion watch.

Mokes. How interesting (I have to whole-heartedly agree with Olympe's word choice). I would love to see them! Is this one that you made up, or one that you came across?

Author's Response: I don't think Hagrid ever would have got a watch when he came of age, having no family to give him one, so it would definitely be extra special. I didn't think about it getting in the way while working, but as you say, it is more of a special occasion kind of watch.

I did not make up mokes, they are a creation of JKR's from Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. They are certainly interesting creatures. Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Alopex Ten Porlocks Grazing

26th December 2008:
Haha, guards for the horses? That is an interesting idea. I thought at first the Porlocks sounded a bit like sheep, but maybe they are more like sheep dogs? Actually, they are probably their own unique creature. :-)

I liked that you let those two have a more serious conversation in this chapter. That is an important aspect of any relationship, and to manage to fit it into a fluffy story like this is quite good.

Author's Response: I would definitely class porlocks as being like shaggy sheep - well shaggy sheep crossed with Jar Jar Binks from Star Wars maybe lol. I've actually got someone creating Potterpuff chapter images for this story for me and it was interesting trying to describe what porlocks look like to her as they really are quite unique creatures.

I did want to show a bit of a deeper side to Hagrid and Olympe's relationship as the story progressed to show the progression of their relationship. Thanks for reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Alopex Nine Fairies Dancing

26th December 2008:
Aww, how cute and sweet. At least the fairies are happy in the tree. It wouldn't be nice to keep them locked up. I'm so glad Hagrid and Olympe are enjoying their Christmas vacation!

Author's Response: I'm sure Hagrid would never allow them to stay locked up, it's just not in his nature. Thanks for another review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Alopex Eight Knarls for Milking

26th December 2008:
Erm . . . I'm still giggling incredulously at the image I have in my mind of Hagrid (or anyone) trying to milk a HEDGEHOG. That is hilarious! You have a really good imagination. It is amazing how you come up with all these different creatures!

By the way, I just noticed that you keep the right number of syllables for each line of the song. I guess that's part of the reason why you went with salamanders instead of some bird with a long name.

Author's Response: It is a funny image lol. I really did have a great time writing about all these strange creatures. Some of them are JKR's creations and some are my own.

I really wanted to make sure that my changed version of the song still fitted with the original syllables of the traditional song, so thank-you for noticing. And thank-you for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Alopex Seven Plimpies Swimming

26th December 2008:
Gosh, Hagrid is so handy! Who wouldn't love to have him around the house? (Well, except for people with normal-sized houses who prize their beautiful, hole-free lawns . . .) I like your description of the plimpies. I always thought of them as fish (no legs), but I never did gather what they really looked like, just like I never gathered what exactly Nargles were supposed to be either. I think this is my favorite or second-favorite chapter so far.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this chapter so much. Yes, Hagrid would be a handy man to have around, if you didn't want holes dug in your lawn lol. I actually always thought plimpies were just fat fish when I read the books too, but after researching them on the Harry Potter Lexicon I found out about the legs. They are very interesting creatures. Thank-you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Alopex Six Skrewts a-Blasting

25th December 2008:
Yeah . . . Blast-Ended Skrewts. *cringes* Well, the real Hagrid had to come out sooner or later! Even though this gift is a future disaster in the making, the chapter was really endearing because it showed how "real" Hagrid is, if that makes sense. Here he has been working extra hard to make a special Christmas for his lady, but here another side of his personality shone through. Not that he wasn't trying to make this special here, obviously. It's just that this gift was more a man thing, a Hagrid thing, which was why I found it endearing to read.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this chapter so much. Of course Hagrid had to give a more 'Hagrid' type gift sooner or later. But I'm sure Hagrid thought he was being sweet and romantic, even if the present wasn't exactly something that a woman would be happy to receive lol. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Alopex Five Unicorns

25th December 2008:
Wow! This was a really thoughtful gift! Again, I have to say it was sweet. I really would like to leave slightly more lengthy reviews, but this type of story really doesn't lend itself to discussion or even much comment. However, I am enjoying it very much. :-)

Author's Response: I wanted to show a little of the deeper side of both Hagrid and Maxime in this chapter. I don't mind the short reviews, it is just a light fluffy piece (unlike some of my other stories) and I am just glad you are enjoying it so much. Thank-you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Alopex Four Salamanders

25th December 2008:
Breaking with the birds, I see. Isn't it "four callling birds?" I like the salamander idea, though. It is time to give her something different. I liked the way you had Hagrid introduce the present too, how the salamanders were in the fire, rather than having to be found by taking a walk outside. I also liked the description of Beauxbatons.

Author's Response: Yes, it is 'four calling birds' in the song, but as you said, it was time to give her something a bit different. After all there are so many interesting creatures in the magical world and I didn't want the story to become boring and predictable. I'm glad you liked my description of Beauxbatons, we know so little about it from the books so it was fun to imagine. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Alopex Three French Parps

25th December 2008:
Aww. Again, I have to say it was sweet and cute. I susect I'll be saying that probably nine more times! At the beginning of this chapter, I was thinking, gee, Hagrid is giving her a lot of birds! Then I remembered the song, and it really does have a lot of birds in it! I never stopped to think about that before. Anyway, I liked all the different creatures you came up with; it is always so fun to read about things like that!

Author's Response: There are a lot of birds in that song lol. It was definitely fun creating some of the weird creatures in this story and researching some of JKR's creations too. I'm glad you liked them. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Alopex Two Jabberknolls

25th December 2008:
Another sweet chapter. I didn't know Hagrid had a wand, though? Oh well, it really doesn't matter. I just love reading about him getting these surpises ready!

Author's Response: I know in the books Hagrid had an umbrella, but I thought he might have eventually got a proper wand after his name was cleared in PoA. Thanks for another review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Alopex A Fwooper in a Star Tree

24th December 2008:
Haha, this is an interesting idea. Hagrid is so sweet in this chapter, and probably in the rest of the story. Leave it to him to give something potentially dangerous though. I actually found this chapter to be a bit sappy for my tastes, but it works for this story. Hagrid and Madame Maxime are so sweet together here, and it is Christmas, so I just couldn't bring myself to roll my eyes at the sap. I will definitely read the rest of this story soon. :-)

Author's Response: I'm glad you found the idea to be interesting, I thought it would be fun to write about the romantic side of Hagrid. This was actually quite different to my normal style of writing as I don't usually write fluffy romantic stories, but I like to try new styles and I thought it would be nice to write a light-hearted romance for Christmas. Thanks for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by dracosgem Three French Parps

4th December 2008:
AW!!! That was so cute!! I'm really glad you're writing this...major kudos!! I've always loved Hagrid-- he deserve his own story...they are definitely few and far between!

On to the next...

Author's Response: I agree, not many people write about Hagrid as a main character and I thought it would be nice seeing how Hagrid was doing after the war. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #24, by dracosgem Two Jabberknolls

2nd December 2008:
Cute...I like that you are keeping all of the beasts in canon. I'm one of those HP freaks that bought 'Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them' (along with 'Quidditch Through the Ages') when they came out a few years back.

Another cute little chappie...it's getting me into the holiday spirit!! On to the next...

Author's Response: It was so much fun researching and writing about the different creatures in this story. I don't own 'Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them' (unfortunately) but luckily the lexicon was a great resource on describing the creatures.

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by dracosgem A Fwooper in a Star Tree

2nd December 2008:
Hi JK...dracosgem from eHPF here...this is a really sweet little story. So light and fluffy, great for the holiday season. I like that you are embellishing on Hagrid's relationship with Maxime...they are perfect for each other!!

Well, I'd write more but I'm off to the next chappie!! Great start!

Author's Response: Hi dracosgem, it's great you could stop by and read this fic! I love Christmas and I thought I would base this fic on a pairing that isn't really touched upon in fanfiction. I agree they are perfect for each other :D

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>