Reading Reviews for A Stocking for Dobby
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by shadowcat2 A Stocking for Dobby

30th December 2010:
i LOVE dobby! awesome story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the nice review. I also love Dobby and his death hit me the hardest of all the deaths in all the books. I love writing about the house elves.

 Report Review

Review #2, by SaphireSmiles A Stocking for Dobby

6th November 2010:
a VERY important point. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review. It's not often that an older story gets reviewed, so I appreciate it. I love Dobby and when he died it was harder on me than any of the other deaths in the books.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Singularity A Stocking for Dobby

17th July 2010:
This was really sweet. I think you've really captured Harry's character in the aftermath of the final battle, especially in regards to his fame. I think he would definitely be the kind of person who would be a little embarrassed by his fame, but he wouldn't be above using it for a good cause...but only for a good cause.

By far, my favorite part of this story was the cameo by Draco. I always wanted Draco to be redeemed, but he doesn't really get there. This small moment when he donates money and whispers "For Dobby" really shows how he has changed in the aftermath. It was beautiful.

Dobby's death was, by far, the saddest for me, so it's great to see this story and imagine a future where he isn't forgotten, and where his life and death are used for good.

RIP Dobby, a free elf.

Author's Response: I always love a review for this story. I don't think it's my best-written story, but I think it's the best job of emotion projecting that I've done.

I always pictured that Harry would be uncomfortable with his fame, and it seems that you agree with me. I could see him using it occasionally to promote a cause he believed in and this was one of those cases.

A lot of people really love the Draco part. When I had finished the story, I realised that something was missing and that was how the stockings affected someone outside Harry's family and friends. Then I had the brainwave of Draco because it was his family that owned Dobby in the first place. I wanted to show a changed Draco, but still not one who could openly support SPEW. He still hid behind anonymity.

Dobby's death was also the hardest for me. I told my wife not to be surprised if I cry during the DH movie if they show Dobby's death. I think above all the other characters, even Harry and Neville, that he exemplified the Gryffindor spirit.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Alopex A Stocking for Dobby

15th August 2009:
Hey, pookha, I loved this! In a way, it was sorta cheesy, but it was also funny and touching. I felt such a mix of emotions when I read this.

Ok, some funny stuff first: The celebrity endorsement by Harry! I swear, they sound the same whether the message is save the house elves, save Darfur, or eat this brand of breakfast cereal. I got a big kick out of that. The second thing that cracked me up was Draco saying "Accio Galleons. Accio Envelope." For some reason, that was the funniest part of the chapter to me.

At the same time, both those scenes were very touching. I was touched that Draco Malfoy donated to the Stocking for Dobby campaign. The way you wrote that scene reveals a lot about his characterization. For one, he's softened up. Of course, he was more misguided and badly influenced than a true bad egg, but the old Draco Malfoy wouldn't have given a hoot. And yet, he's donating secretly, which shows that he hasn't turned over a miraculous new leaf.

Ok, I spent way more time talking about Draco Malfoy than he deserved, considering the amount of space he took up in this chapter. I'll go back to the beginning. I liked the way you opened the story, with a Christmas scene at the Weasleys. It moved very naturally along to the stocking hanging scene - which Harry must have known would happen - and then Harry makes this announcement. And slowly, the reader realizes what a big thing this is, not just some little private, in-the-family whim.

So getting back to the celebrity endorsement: It amused me, yes. But it also touched me. It was so Harry Potter. He wasn't above using the media when it suited him. Trying to save SPEW, which is something that means a lot to Hermione, one of his greatest friends, is completely in character with him. More importantly, the house elves, especially Dobby, came to mean a lot to him, so he had a double reason.

Well, I'm not telling you anything you didn't know already. So here's the condensed version: I thought your portrayal of Harry was fantastic. I loved the Draco moment. I loved the celebrity endorsement moment. I was very moved by this story. I liked the funny bits and the serious bits and all the other bits. I am quite impressed by this story. I always like to see fanfics that tackle more serious topics, as this one does. Great job.

Author's Response: Wow! What a great, long review and on an older story. Thank you so very much for this review.

I really wanted to make it clear that Harry had been ducking his fame and only went public with something because he believed in it and it was hurting one of his best friends. Dobby's death hit me the hardest of any of the deaths in all of the books and I think Harry felt the same way.

I thought the Draco part was necessary to bring it around and show that it was having some effect. I didn't have Draco donate because he was reformed. I think it's more of a guilty conscience, even though he may not have abused Dobby. Draco is a very ambivalent character and I wanted to show that here.

I'm so glad that you liked the opening scene with the Weasleys and the stockings. I know now that some of it's not strictly canon, but I didn't know it at the time and I don't want to change it because, well...that's how I wrote it. Thank you for letting me know that I did a good job with that scene.

I'm highly impressed with your well thought out reviews and how much you put into them. Thank you so much and I'm glad that I've been able to interest you with my prose and interest you in my topics.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Joanne K A Stocking for Dobby

7th December 2008:
This was such a sweet Christmas story. I had a tear in my eye when Harry said he wanted to hang a stocking for Dobby, it was so sweet and noble, and very much something Harry would do. I found it interesting that Malfoy decided to donate to SPEW, it was a different side of his character and it shows how much he has grown since the war. It was also sweet having Lily ask to hang the stocking at the end and Harry pulling out the same old green sock. It was a little confusing at first when you started jumping ahead in time, and I wondered why Malfoy had a son when Ron and Hermione were only newly married, but I soon realised that it was a later Christmas. The only thing I picked up on was that you had George married to Alicia, although in canon he marries Angelina. I wasn't sure if this was just a simple error or if it is meant to be that way. Overall I really enjoyed reading this sweet little Christmas fic, it was a lovely tribute to Dobby and all the other house elves.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the very kind review. This definitely is meant to be a story of short vignettes and jump through time and I'm glad it wasn't too confusing that way.

A 12+ fic is way out of the ordinary for me, as I usually write darker adult themes, but I love the house elves and this story needed to be told. I meant it to be Alicia, because at the time I wrote this story, I didn't know that George and Angelina were married canonically. If you look closely, you'll see Draco's wife described as 'pug-nosed', which means I used Pansy as well, since I didn't know about his canon wife at this point either. I doubt that I'll go back and make it canon with the wives as I don't think it makes a lot of difference to the main point of the story.

Draco, ahh. I don't think that people really change, which is why he's doing what he's doing more out of guilt than any other reason, and he's still cowardly enough to hide his actions from his wife and son. I picture him trying to assuage familial guilt with money.
So, yes, he's grown some, but deep down, he's still arrogant and cowardly.

This story means a lot to me, since Dobby's death was the one that hit me hardest in the books, even more than Dumbledore or Snape. (Strangely enough, Hedwig's death really affected me strongly too).


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lunicle A Stocking for Dobby

10th October 2008:
Aw, that was really sweet. Unfortunately, it made me wish it were almost Christmas./random

I think it's really cool that you've done a story focused on House Elves. Dobby was such a sweet, pure character but there aren't many fics out there with him in them at all.

Also, your writing just gave off such a strong, family feel- I could really feel how everyone was so close and ready for Christmas. Nice emotions!

This is so sweet. 10/10

-Luna-

P.S. Your Author Name is AWESOME! (I love Irish legends, and I assume that's where you took Pookha from.)

Author's Response: My name is indeed taken from the Gaelic/Irish legend of the Phooka/pookha/puck or many other variant spellings.

I actually have a second house-elf story as well, focusing on Winky.

I'm glad that you liked this story. It's quite unusual for me to write a 12+ story as I usually write darker stories. I just had a vision of Harry trying to help Hermione with SPEW as it goes through hard times.

Thanks for the nice review.


 Report Review

Review #7, by ian A Stocking for Dobby

2nd March 2008:
this was a cute story

Author's Response: Thanks. A cute, polite little story is a bit ooc for me, but my muse took me here, so out it popped.

 Report Review

Review #8, by brenda A Stocking for Dobby

30th December 2007:
cute and creative luv it!10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Pretty Purple Pelican A Stocking for Dobby

24th December 2007:
Wonderful. At first, I was like, "Well, this is nice how he managed to turn such a simple family tradition into a beautiful story." But then you started on the bit about S.P.E.W, and I was completely taken aback. What a wonderful idea! I'm so glad that Dobby is being remembered. You've really got a charming story here. I love that Harry got on the radio, and I loved the bit with Draco. Absolutely perfect. This may have been the best Christmas story I've read. Congratulations, and Merry Christmas! :)

Author's Response: Of all the deaths in DH, it was funny that Hedwig's and Dobby's hit me the most, even more than Fred.

I like the bit with Draco because I think it keeps him still too cowardly to directly confront a problem.

Thanks for the great review, I look forward to your reviews because you always have kind words for me. Happy Christmas.


 Report Review

Review #10, by ginwannabe A Stocking for Dobby

22nd December 2007:
I miss Dobby!! I cried so hard when he died. This is a beautiful story!

Author's Response: Thank you, it's quite a departure for me, so I'm glad that people like it so far. I deliberately wrote it sparsely.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Hermione15 A Stocking for Dobby

16th December 2007:
I loved it! It was so cute! Hmm maybe I will hang a stocking for Dobby this year to remeber him!
Rating:11/10

Author's Response: Ty. Show your support for elfish rights!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lozzy_4992 A Stocking for Dobby

15th December 2007:
Incredibly sweet, loved it, well done.

L xxx

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. Sweet is just about what I wanted. A 12+, non-dark fic is a bit out of the ordinary for me, but the darn plot bunny just wouldn't go away.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login