Reading Reviews for Ten Years Gone
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BipBopBoop Ten Years Gone

18th June 2009:
I really liked that. It seems kind of like how it would go, if Harry and Dudley met again. Dudley seemed to be getting a bit better towards the end of the books, and who knows- ten years is a long time, lots of room for changing.
Good work.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ibreathemusic987 Ten Years Gone

16th February 2008:
Great story! I love the idea of Harry and Dudley meeting up randomly and catching up.
There were a couple of grammatical errors and tense confusion, but it's not a big deal.

you should write a story about Dudley visiting him at the Ministry of Magic. for some reason, i think that that would just be hilarious!

great job!

Author's Response: Tense confusion? Darn, I thought I caught all those slip-ups. Thanks anyways!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Gords7015 Ten Years Gone

10th February 2008:
This was a really neat little story about a chance meeting. I like it, although I'd imagine that Smeltings probably isn't in London, so if not, why is Dudley in the bar? But other then that, I like how you made Harry come around, and hope you keep writing!

Author's Response: As for that explanation, it's summer and Dudley and his fiance are visiting his parents. He's stopped by London to visit old school friends (such as Piers), which is why he's in the bar in the first place. And yes, I just made that up but I like it and I'm sticking by it, haha. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by hypercell Ten Years Gone

1st February 2008:
Will you write more? Please do. I like it a lot. I cannot believe you made him teaching History. LOL! Write more!

Author's Response: Not sure if I will, prolly not. But yeah, history's my favorite and I thought Dudley might be interested in that (and it's a slight reference to Fernwithy's fic Shifts).

 Report Review

Review #5, by Lily Marie Evans Potter Ten Years Gone

28th January 2008:
Even though stories like this with reconciliation are unlikely to happen with Harry and Dudley, I like to think they get along better post-DH. You wrote a great believable story, it is a favorite of mine. Keep up the good work and please review my story when it gets validated. Lily M.E Potter

Author's Response: I agree that it's fairly unlikely thing, which is exactly why it took ten years to develop. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by beating_faster Ten Years Gone

24th January 2008:
Mm this was pretty interesting. It was nice, stumbling onto a fic that steps into life after DH. I liked the opening sentence, something about it just grabbed me in, although I was sort of taken out of the story later in the first paragraph. I think I just got confused about Hermione and the Minister. But anyway, I really liked how you wrote this in the present tense. It felt like a script at first, but then you keep reading and it fits.

'Harry rotates his cup so the handle runs parallel with the edge of the counter'.

Vernon really must be ecstatic.

Ha, I loved that, and also the part with Dudley explaining how Muggles have made the phone smaller. ahaha. This was a fun read.

Author's Response: Yeah, it was fun writing in present tense, much like a script. I'll have to look back over that paragraph to see what you mean about it being confusing. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by allthegoodonesweretaken Ten Years Gone

10th January 2008:
I loved this story.

The third person perspective worked very well here. You did a really good job at showing the reader what's going on without ever telling us explicitly what Harry or Dudley is thinking or feeling.

It was really refreshing to read about an emotional moment without the sentence "he felt blah blah blah" appearing. I also think you did a very good job in restricting the amount of descriptions used. You told enough that I could picture the situation, but not so much that it distracted me from what was going on.

I also liked the fact that I have to pay propper attention when I read this. Your style of writing isn't entirely easy to follow -but that's a compliment.

8/10 from me (I'm a stingy point-giver)

-atgowt

Author's Response: Wow, nice review. It's good that I was able to convey the emotions of the two without going out and directly stating them, because that kind of muted description is what I was going for. I'm not ever huge on description anyways - it tends to distract me more than anything when I'm reading and writing, although there are times when it definitely has its purproses - so I try to keep it succinct and clear. As for the last part, I think I understand what you're saying, so yeah. And I actually prefer stingier reviewers. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Dollmage Ten Years Gone

17th December 2007:
Very interesting and very well written. It felt so real, Harry's discomfort, Dudley's lack of knowledge, everything. Excellent.

Author's Response: Good to see that you enjoyed it. It's hard to keep those two in character, particularly after that scene in DH, but that's the fun in writing it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Luna Longbottom Ten Years Gone

15th December 2007:
I love it could you please write more, maybe when then go to dinner with Dudley and Ellie. Pretty please!

Author's Response: Depends if I'm so inspired. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by iloveseverus Ten Years Gone

12th December 2007:
interesting story i like the idea. however i like to think that harry and dudly would see each other more often than every 10 years.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I, on the other hand, think that Harry's probably psychologically scarred from 10 years of abuse and negligence and wants no part of the Dursleys.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Rekhyt Ten Years Gone

1st December 2007:
You get more out of health class time than anyone I know.

Author's Response: What can I say, it's a blowoff class.

 Report Review

Review #12, by harrylilyjames Ten Years Gone

1st December 2007:
Hey!!
That was a really really good one-shot. I really liked it!
I don't think i have anything to point out. Even though it was just a small conversation between the two of them, it was really nice.
10/10 =D

Author's Response: Thanks, good to see you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login