Reading Reviews for My Sunshine
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by converse_rocks345 You Are My Sunshine

14th April 2008:
Aw Major AW. This is cute.

=]

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! ^^

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #2, by Cedrics_gurl You Are My Sunshine

16th March 2008:
Well, first of all I must apologise for the long wait for my review - I never knew how challenging a review thread could be! :)

I really loved the sweet ease of this story - there was no challenging vocabulary or complex use of words, and I liked that in this story as it added to the innocence and simpleness of the plot.

It was written in a way that you could tell came from the heart, and I knew there was some connection between you and the lullaby by the way you wrote it. It was truly adorable.

I only noticed one "mistake", boy I hate that word! And that was when Lily was face to face with old Mouldy Voldy and you wrote "she instructed" rather than "he instructed" or "she was instructed". Besides that everything grammatically and spelling-wise was perfect.

Now I know I need to mention this - the James/Lily at the end. Genius, I tell you. It warmed my heart to be told that even though they were murdered, they were still with Harry, perhaps not in the way they wished they could be, but they were still there. It also made me think that maybe all of the references in the books about his parents still being with him were made true due to them being "half-ghosts" or whatever they were.

For example "The Mirror of Erised". Harry saw his parents - perhaps it was not just due to his desire to have them with him that helped him see them in his mirror. Perhaps they really were with him. And secondly, in third year when Harry cast the Patronus - maybe it was his father he saw, as well as himself. Maybe none of this makes sense to you, but I absolutely love the way you opened up a box of possibilities for us - you gave us thoughts to dwell on, and yes, I've probably read to much into it, but you allowed us to do that!

Well done. If you don't mind me asking, is there an even deeper meaning to James and Lily being half with Harry than just for the stories sake? Where did you get the inspiration to write this?

Well done, I loved it! 9/10

:D

Author's Response: Oh wow! I didn't mind the wait, especially because of how long and in depth the review was! First let me say thank you for taking the time to read my story, and to write such a long review. You've really made my day!

Mmkay, thank you for pointing out that mistake, I will fix it right away!

I did try to avoid the more complicated vocabulary I use in my other stories because this was such a short and simple plot. I'm glad it turned out that way! And there is a connection between the lullaby and myself because, as I said in the A/N my mother used to sing it to me all the time, and I remember on a few occasions it brought tears to my eyes, because the lyrics are really sad.

Genius? Why thank you! XD I always felt as though Lily and James were there, and I deeply and truly believe in guardian angels, so I suppose that's what I made them, to an extent. What you said actually makes sense, but, as boring as it is, it was truly just the lullaby that inspired me to write it. For some reason, as I was walking my dog, I started humming it, and when I focused on the words, a plot sprung to mind. There really was no deeper meaning except that I do believe that Harry has his guardian angels.

Thanks again for your encouraging review, and I'm glad you liked it so much! ^_^

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #3, by GemmaBlack You Are My Sunshine

18th February 2008:
Don't know if I've already reviewed but oh well

I loved it, it was really well written and i actually felt a tear come to my eye at the end :(

You should write more about lilly and james like this, you know, their point of view of what harry is doing, that would be amaizing :D **hint hint **

xxx

Author's Response: Nope you didn't review.

I'm very glad you like it, and I'm glad you felt the emotion of the story. I am sorry it made you cry though.

I do agree that it would be interesting to read, but I doubt I'll be writing anything like that anytime soon. If you feel like reading a story like that, I would issue a challenge on the forums.

Thanks again for reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #4, by Wandering_Alone You Are My Sunshine

17th February 2008:
Omg I think I might cry. I loved this story!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you likd it so much. Thank you for reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #5, by Sarah MacKay You Are My Sunshine

14th January 2008:
I loved this story! My mother used to play a record of Anne Murrey singing You Are My Sunshine to me when I was little. When I worked at a summer camp and the kids got scared singing it to them over and over again was the only thing that would calm them down. Your story is very bittersweet because of what happened but it's a point of view that was refreshing.

Author's Response: I'm very glad you like it! ^_^ This seems to be a popular lullaby. Thanks for reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #6, by tanisha You Are My Sunshine

28th December 2007:
it was superb. i really liked it.and when u said that ur mum had sung the lullaby it was not corny but shows ur affection and love towards ur mother.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! *blushes* Thank you for reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #7, by LJR762442 You Are My Sunshine

17th December 2007:
SOOO GOOD! and so sad! i love this! it is most likely one of the best i've ever read!!

Author's Response: Oh, wow! ^_^ I'm glad you like it so much! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #8, by CHSswimmer You Are My Sunshine

16th December 2007:
I appsolutly loved this story. My mom used to sing the same thing to me. It brings back memories.. I almost cried when i read this story

Author's Response: Aww, I'm sorry for almost making you cry, but I'm glad that the emotions were convayed well enough! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #9, by ShadowZora You Are My Sunshine

16th December 2007:
this was a great one-shot. I just love lily/james one-shots. 10/10

Author's Response: I'm very glad you like it, and thank you for the high rating! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #10, by thediarywithin You Are My Sunshine

16th December 2007:
very well. I loved it.

Author's Response: I'm glad! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #11, by symphonyofwords You Are My Sunshine

15th December 2007:
my mom and I used to sing that song every night before I went to sleep.

I really liked this, good job.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it, and my mom and I used to sing it too! Thank you for reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #12, by calderglen You Are My Sunshine

15th December 2007:
Aw! It's so sweet! :D I love it. 10/10
My mum used to sing that song to me too! I don't really remember it though, but apparently she did.

~kirsty

Author's Response: Wow, apparently lots of people know that song! I'm glad you like my fic, and thanks for reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #13, by LoveULongTimee You Are My Sunshine

15th December 2007:
i have tears in my eyes!!!
*sniff*

Author's Response: Aww, sorry for making you cry, but I'm glad you felt the emotions of the story. Thanks for reviewing!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #14, by hermione_roxx You Are My Sunshine

13th December 2007:
hey again katie! remember Nana Muriel used to sing that lulaby to us when we were little???

p.s. great one-shot... sad but great

Author's Response: Yeah, my mom sang it to me too! ^_^ I'm glad you like it!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #15, by gredandforgelover You Are My Sunshine

12th December 2007:
Hey. I know it's tough to get a new story out there and noticed. So props to you!
This is a really good piece of work. I really liked the naturalness of the whole setting, I never thought of it as being just an ordinary day for the Potters. For some silly reason I thought they would all be sitting there waiting for old Voldypants to just knock down the door and come for them. Nice interpretation in general.
This was great!
Lovely Job!

Author's Response: Well, This isn't exactly my first story, I have....12 others, but you're right, it is hard to get a story noticed. Thank you for your lovely review!!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #16, by Sarah You Are My Sunshine

9th December 2007:
that was so great! i also love that lullaby so much my parents used to sing it to me to.

Author's Response: Yeah, it was my favourite lullaby when I was a baby. ^_^ It's kind of sad when you actually think about the lyrics, though. I'm glad you liked it, and thanks for reviewing!

~Hermionesclass


 Report Review

Review #17, by Quidditch_Kisses You Are My Sunshine

7th December 2007:
That was one of the sweetest things i've ever read. It was short but well written. I really liked it:)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm so glad you liked it!

~Katie


 Report Review

Review #18, by Lisa You Are My Sunshine

3rd December 2007:
this was awesome.it is a good story and i remember being sung the same song.it brings back a lot of good memories.it is great

Author's Response: I'm so glad it brought back memories for you, especially if they are good ones! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by inabena57 You Are My Sunshine

2nd December 2007:
It was short but it was lovely. It made me cry but in that it was so sweet kind of way :]

It was definitly sad and heartbreaking, though it was well written. You described the emotions very well, going from the happiness and peace to sorrow and pain.

I especially loved the lullaby. My grammy and my mom used to sing it to me when I was younger so it had a deeper meaning to me to have it in the story.

It's a sad story but it was well written and I really liked it.

10/10 great job, adding to favourites. :)

>Angelina

P.S. I'm paddyfootblack057 from the forums. Really liked the fic.

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so glad you like it so much! ^_^ Thank you for reading and reviewing! You made my day!

~Hermionesclass

(Hermione101 on the forums)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Lily_girl You Are My Sunshine

1st December 2007:
Thanks for giving me the link to this story, despite its length, I really enjoyed reading it and, the song really captured how much Lily loved Harry. My mom used to sing this song to me when I was yoounger as well, I love, it.

10/10

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it, it was my favourite lullaby when I was younger. =) Thank you for reading and reviewing, and thanks for the high rating!

~Hermionesclass


 Report Review

Review #21, by momotwins You Are My Sunshine

1st December 2007:
Oh that was so sad and sweet!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, and I'm glad you liked it!

~Hermionesclass


 Report Review

Review #22, by Littowitch You Are My Sunshine

1st December 2007:
Omg I am actually crying that is the sweetest thing i have ever read *sniff*

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! Sorry for making you cry, but I'm glad I wrote it well enough to make you feel what I was portraying!

~Hermionesclass


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login