Reading Reviews for Parallel Lines
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by collette michelle Parallel Lines

5th November 2009:
I really enjoy these academic metaphors. Maybe I am a nerd (I am), because they make perfect sense to me.

I enjoyed this one as much as I did the physics one. It's a whole new look to the James/Lily story. And I love that!
xx.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm thrilled you've enjoyed these! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ozoh the Wise Parallel Lines

7th February 2008:
Wow this is great! I feel quite smart knowing everything that you were saying. However I was slightly disappointed that nothing happened...ah well, still good.

Author's Response: There wasn’t much of a plot, it was just supposed to compare their relationship. I’m glad you still liked it, though! : ) And I’m very happy you understood what was going on. ; ) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by blimey Parallel Lines

6th February 2008:
Wow, how do you know so much about... lines?
This is a beautiful metaphor. This could be the eulogy at their funerals. Or the celebratory speech at their wedding.
Wonderful writing!

Author's Response: Geometry is my favorite math subject, and I've taken multiple years of it. Sooo, I sadly know a lot about lines, but at least it came in handy when writing this piece. ; ) I'm really happy you liked it, blimey!

Thank you so much for all of your reviews! I can't tell you how much I appreciate them. : )


 Report Review

Review #4, by HPsmartone32 Parallel Lines

20th January 2008:
awww.
this is sooo cute!

Author's Response: I happy you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by not2b4got10 Parallel Lines

15th January 2008:
I had read this story a long time ago, and I thought, hmm, that's a cute little story, and left it at that. Then I recently refound this story (I had forgotten it existed), read it,, and thought to myself once again, hmm, that's a cute little story, added it to my favorites, but still left it at that.

It was only today, then, as I was rereading it for the third time, that I realized what a beautiful piece of writing this was. I had appreciated the metaphor of the parallel lines before, but I hadn't noticed all the alliterations (perplexing, painstakingly, proportionately, positively, permanently). And after I noticed this, I realized how each paragraph before an alliterative statement extends off a certain aspect of the whole parallel lines analogy, and the one-sentence statement is something between a pun and paraxodical statement on the previous paragraph. Only after I had realized all of this that the conclusion shone through to explain all the previous paradox-ish statements. So it was only just a moment ago that I realized that this is the most carefully crafted and beautifully executed one shot I have read on this site so far. Great story!

Author's Response: First off, thank you so much for the lovely and thoughtful compliments! I can't tell you how much it means to me that you took the time to read this (three times, no less!) and really think about it, and then tell me in a review!

When I use literary devices, like alliteration and paradoxes and parallel structure, or whatever you want to call them, I tend to lay them on heavy, and in most pieces, that doesn't work. Since this was a something it did work in, I just went for it! ; ) And you're one of the few readers who mentioned them in a review, so you just made my day! I love adding little things like that in. And to hear that it's carefully crafted and beautifully executed is amazing! Thank you so, so much!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Macavity Parallel Lines

15th January 2008:
This is too cool! According to Physics, too!

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Midnight Ink Parallel Lines

10th January 2008:
This was good but I think that there was too much maths and not enough...I don't want to say romance...I can't quite put my finger on what physics had; a little haunting beauty mixed with something else perhaps. Anyway this was still excellent, good follow up/companion.

Author's Response: I have a soft spot for 'According to Physics' since that was the first one of these I did, so I think I know where you're coming from. : ) I'm glad you still enjoyed it, though! Thank you so much for your thoughtful reviews!

 Report Review

Review #8, by momotwins Parallel Lines

27th December 2007:
Well it might have been beating an extended metaphor to death but it was highly enjoyable anyway LOL. Poor James, he's so sad and obsessed with Lily *snugs*. Anyway, I love the way you changed his perspective on "parallel" at the end to its other meaning - must have come as a great comfort to him LOL. Great fic, very fun read.

Author's Response: I happen to like extended metaphors for some strange reason, so I'm glad you enjoyed it! While I'm sure it irritated Lily, I love that James was so passionate about her and willing to do almost anything, even if it made him look like a fool. ; )

I based the story on the end, so I'm glad you thought it was a logical take on parallel. Thank you so much for your kind review! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderluverz Parallel Lines

26th December 2007:
Wow! I loved it just like 'According to Physics' So awesome!!!Do u have alot more stories? Plz let me know! Do u do any other couples? Jc. .

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I have many stories on my author's page, but these are the only James/Lily stories I've written. I have Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione, and Neville/Luna stories, and I also have stories that aren't romantic. I hope you check them out! Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Roger Watson Parallel Lines

16th December 2007:
The END. Amazing!!!
When I started reading this story and got to the middle, that's just what I thought the end should be. And you made it! PERFECT!!!
Keep Up The Great Work!
You are a good genuine writer.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I really appreciate your kind comments. The end was what I first thought of and wanted to lead up to, so I'm really glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ginwannabe Parallel Lines

12th December 2007:
For some reason, geometry was the one thing in math I DID get, lol. I loved this, and the imagery you used to describe Lily as geometric shapes and formulas...how does one even get there? It fit perfectly, but I'm amazed at how you were able to make those connections. Parabolas and spheres! It was great! Sorry it took me so long to find it, I've been swamped at work (I'm struggling with just getting my first graders to count by 2's, 5's and 10's, lol).

Author's Response: In math, geometry was what I was best at, considering I had so much of it. I'm really glad you liked it! Especially that passage describing Lily since I wanted to incorporate the terms without making it seem forced and awkward.

And don't worry about it! I love when you review, but under no circumstances should you feel oligated, especially when there are first graders' minds to mold! ; )

Thank you so much for the nice comments! It really means a lot to me.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Vickiicky Parallel Lines

10th December 2007:
Dang, dude (or dude-ette, don't n=know) You really know your schooling. I just learned this in math class, so I understood you!!!

Author's Response: Dude-ette. ; ) I've taken a lot of geometry, so hopefully it paid off! I'm really glad you understood it and liked it! Thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by SaveMySoul Parallel Lines

10th December 2007:
I really liked this one, but I think 'According to Physics' was better. Just my point of view.

Author's Response: No worries, I don't mind. 'According to Physics' was my first one of these (I'm in the planning stages for another), so naturally I have a soft spot for it. I'm happy you enjoyed this one, though!

Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Hilary Radcliffe Parallel Lines

29th November 2007:
I love these stories. They make you think and they analyze so much detail. Great job!

Author's Response: I'm happy to get those gears turning! ; ) It means a lot to me that you enjoyed them enough to take the time to leave such a kind review. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by hprulestheworld Parallel Lines

29th November 2007:
Extended metaphors, geometry terms. I love it :] (and I loved your other math story, too :])

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! And the other one, too. : ) Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by prettywheezy Parallel Lines

29th November 2007:
it was fantastic! a new example to remember parallel lines!

Author's Response: I hope it'll help you remember some geometry terms ; ) but more importantly, I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by fantasygirl77 Parallel Lines

28th November 2007:
That was really good. Very different from what I'm used to but very unique. So thank you for the interesting read. :)

Author's Response: Your welcome and thank you! ; ) I have another story along the lines of this called 'According to Physics' if you're interested. Thanks again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by JamesBlackPower Parallel Lines

27th November 2007:
this was beautiful! liked the comparsion to math (geometry) good job!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I really appreciate that you took the time to read and review. : )

 Report Review

Review #19, by GriffinClaw Parallel Lines

25th November 2007:
You're taking geometry, aren't you? lol, this story helped me review all of my geometrical terms and it was enjoyable! And I hate math! So great job, I really loved it. I loved how you worked in the terms and made them relate able to something. You're so good at it. I wish I had this story last year, maybe studying for that final wouldn't have been so hard!

Author's Response: Actually, I took Geometry three years ago, and then I had to take a more advanced course last year, since I had graduated from the school where I first took it, and my current school required for me to take it again. So I’ve had a lot of Geometry rammed down my throat. ; ) I’m really happy you enjoyed it and found it easy to understand and relate to!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by light_blue Parallel Lines

24th November 2007:
I think I learned more about parallel lines than in math class!
:D
I really like the extended metaphor-it gives a different, more logical light to the story which is quite interesting to read.

:) I truly hope to see another chapter-who can resist a story of perfect logic and math?

100/10 where the ratio of performance to expectation is 100:10

:)

Great Job on the story!
From light_blue

(PS i hope my math is alright!)

(PSS thank u for reading my latest chapter!)

Author's Response: Don't tell your teacher that! ; ) I like extended metaphors, too, with the exception of anything from the Odyssey. It was overrated and the metaphors went on for pages upon pages. Anyways... Another one of these is a maybe; I have to think of a good idea first! : )

Love the rating! And the review, of course! Thank you so much. And I'm always happy to review my readers stories. : ) Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Action Evans Parallel Lines

24th November 2007:
Wow, this is like, perfect. It's so cool to see you use school subjects and relativity and so on to compare Lily and James's relationship. I really do hope you do another

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate it! I've truly had a great time writing this and 'According to Physics.' If I can come up with another idea, I'll ceratinly continue with these. *crosses fingers for luck* : )

 Report Review

Review #22, by onestop_hpfan18 Parallel Lines

24th November 2007:
I liked it just as much as I enjoyed According to Physics. 10/10

Author's Response: I'm glad! Thanks for the great rating and review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ryan's Girl Parallel Lines

24th November 2007:
Loved it! Miss Smarty-pants!

Author's Response: Not quite. ; ) Thanks for reviewing. I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Brilliant Parallel Lines

23rd November 2007:
Awesome! I loved the math review. I also enjoyed this story more than the science one. I love the way that you write, like 3rd person present tense, I think? Love it.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! Yeah, it's in third person in the present tense. This and 'According to Physics' are the only things I've written like that, I like to experment with tenses. I have stories from first person, and even one from second person.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Mini786 Parallel Lines

23rd November 2007:
I loved According to Physics and I loved this one!! They both are great! Great metaphors! Ha! Could teach Physics and Geometry with these two! But in all they are great, cute too!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked both of them! I do like Math and Science better when I can apply them to people and such, I know that seems a bit strange, but it works for me. ; ) It helps me have a better understanding.

Thank you for taking the time to read and review! It means a lot to me!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>