Reading Reviews for Wormwood
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HumbleHufflepuff Wormwood

18th June 2010:
This is incredible. I don't even really know what to say .. it's just absolutly incredible! I've just downloaded it onto my ipod, and I've got a terrible airplane ride coming up. Guaranteed I'll be listening to it the entire way! This is fantastic - I loved it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by kill the moonlight Wormwood

2nd April 2010:
This is simply amazing, I came across it listening to the podcast. You really should continue it, Ginny must act! You have great talent in your hands, I only wish I could write as good as you do. :)

G.

 Report Review

Review #3, by reading_is_my_life Wormwood

27th February 2010:
Love it! I was listening to it on my ipod at work trying not gto cry. Wish you would turn into a full story. Ginny can't take that

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ydnas Odell Wormwood

22nd January 2010:
This is awesome, written perfect, wiht superb pace and detail is super realistic too, since there is hardly a real life hero that doesn't have a least one mistress, or suffer ordinary tragedies even after their heroics.

And we know what the award for heroism or just fame often is.

Even as good as Harry is, if you think about it he's really with Ginny for her family. He'd never leave her of course, because she gives him meaning, but for the other thing, realistically opportunity would knock...LOL!

How could he resist all the awesome tempations he would have? That would take a God, not a hero! The best part, is that you make the mistress a OC, just a girl, perhaps a sort of smart groupie and not someone Ginny would know such as Luna (who is the only other girl he could have been with) or say Cho; which again is realistic.

People usually have enough self-control to resist lust for the sake of deep friendships, but strangers, that is a different question. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #5, by George Whitman Wormwood

6th February 2009:
You've single-handedly destroyed the concept of Harry being a goody-two-shoes, who always does right. Thank You! This story is hard to swallow, the hero of our favorite saga has been reduced to mortality, and I actually applaud you. You've brilliantly captured Harry's personality in the worst of ways. This would compel me all the more if we learned how Ginny and Harry work through this but, until then... well done!

Author's Response: thanks so much, very glad you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by The Alta Loma Demon Wormwood

30th November 2008:
oh my god!!! this story was so good. I actaully cried. Keep up the good work. I am defenently faving this story!! 10/10

Author's Response: I'm sorry *hugs*
but thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by raveneye Wormwood

16th November 2008:
That's amazing. I Love this story. I just heard it on the podcast. I love the feelings you describe, felt by not only Ginny, but through her, the reader too. Its not often that I read stories that powerful. I don't know if you've written anything else, but i'm going to go check as soon as i've finished this review. 11/10. this is one of the best written stories I've read. Not just on this site. I hope you write lots more, maybe including original writing too?

I loved the descriptions of the house. It made the perfect life that she used to have more real, but ancient and faded. it was fantastic. I wish i could write half as well as you. This was fantastic.

Author's Response: thank you!
didn't the podcast people (well, Alex) do a fantastic job? I'm glad you liked it... I'm not sure what else to say to such a great review. I have written more... original's not my thing though.
thanks so much again :D :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by cognizant Wormwood

3rd June 2008:
Oh, goodness. Your story is so poignant I felt for a minute there, at the end with all those memories, like I was going to vomit. What a horrible, horrible tale- yet so beautifully written. Well done.

Author's Response: Oh, wow, I'm sorry :( Cheer up *hugs* It's only a story. But thank you for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by lilyan potter Wormwood

8th April 2008:
ummm.
i'm sorry but i don't understand the part about the wormwood. i mean is it supposed to make Ginny see bad things, or the most horrible event in their lives???

you see i don't under stand things easily.
but i did like the story

Author's Response: The symbolism of wormwood is that it's a bitter herb (used to make absinthe) - so it's Ginny feeling bitter about what Harry did. Don't worry - i doubt I would have gotten it either if I hadn't written it ;) Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by AHeat Wormwood

8th April 2008:
This was so sad! I saw it coming when ron said he wasn't at the ministry, and I could almost not read through to the end! you did an excelent job, too bad about Ginny's life being so sad, though.

Author's Response: thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by nohbody Wormwood

7th April 2008:
very good writing kinda sad

Author's Response: thanks - yeah, sad :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by apAidan Wormwood

7th April 2008:
a very different take on h/g. very well told, and it leaves the reader square between the two of them, feeling they are both victims. nicely done

Author's Response: thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by lily_evans_is_my_hero Wormwood

7th April 2008:
I want a happy ending! MAKE ANOTHER ONE, AND MAKE IT A HAPPY ENDING!!! NOW! I don't like crying! Great, amazing, fantasticable job! I loved it!

Author's Response: hey, thanks for reviewing :) Sorry if I made you cry, but I' not changing it. It's meant to be unhappy, I'm afraid ^__^

 Report Review

Review #14, by RupertsPheonix Wormwood

21st March 2008:
Oh, goodness. I am so terribly sorry that it has taken me so long to fill your review request. Things have been hectic along with a troublesome computer, so I haven't had a chance to read. I am so sorry.

Before I go on with the review, I want to say that your banner is amazing. Just gorgeous! =)

Okay, so normally I have a list of things for writers to work on; you know, spacing problems or italics or point of view errors. Fortunately for you, there are about zero problems. I really had to nit-pick to give you anything helpful. Here's my pitiful bit of advice:

-Watch for typoes. You had "uncontrollede" instead of "uncontrolled" when talking about Harry and Zephira, and you had "thay" instead of "they" in the last paragraph.

See what I mean? I had to really pick through your words. Haha.

So, now to the positives! =)

-I loved te subtle differences you showed between Ron and Hermione's life and Ginny and Harry's. My favourite showing of this was the way you foiled Hermione and Ginny. You would describe Hermione as "waltzing," and Ginny as having "flung" something. Tiny details like this really work for a story. Wodnerful job with that.

-The emotions in Ginny were so realistic. I'm actually on my school forensics team (acting, speech, and debate), and my coach always tells us to paint the scene with more than one colour (or emotion). Well, Ginny's a rainbow with this one; it was great.

So overall, this story broke my Harry/Ginny-loving heart, but it was magnificent. Even though I found myself hating Harry, I still love the story. I'm definitely favouriting this one.

I'd give you 100/10 if I could.

Happy Easter,
Kate/RP

Author's Response: thank you! I don't mind that it took so long - my review request thread gets hugely bunged up too, so I can sympathise ;) oh, the banner's lovely, isn't it - it doesn't exactly fit the story but I had to have it...
Pitiful advice is better than no advice, and I'll fix those. This is in the process of being beta-read, a process that seems to have taken three months and counting...lol
yay, positives! I'm sorry I broke your heart, and made you hate Harry, but that was sort of my reason for writing this - I hate this ship, and I hate Harry. hate it. Oh, I'm glad you thought the emotions were realistic - I really worked on that, and on the details, as you said.
ooh, a favourite! Anyway, thanks so much for the lovely review :) Happy easter to you too ^_^



 Report Review

Review #15, by Cedrics_gurl Wormwood

13th February 2008:
Hopefully this review will make your day too! :)

I am truly sorry I took so long to review! I seriously need to find a way of getting everything done quickly!

I absolutely adored this story - right from the off. I have looked at the challenge, so I knew what it was about, and, honest to God, I could not think of a more suitable story for it!

Right from the off I was drawn in, wondering what had happened to drive Harry and Ginny together, wondering what having the child had meant to them - only to find out that it wasn't the baby that had caused the problem, it was having the baby and having it snatched away from them.

Every single emotion in the story seems to fit how you would feel (or as least how I think you would feel) if you were going through what they were. The only things about your descriptions of the emotions are that in some places you could use comparisons etc. to help people understand them more easily. Besides that, utter perfection on that front.

This story is one of those imperfect perfections you seldom get, which is why I love it so! Don't get me wrong, I loved everything about it - the length was perfect, the description (as I've said, was hard to fault), and the characterisation of Ginny (although it was not the same Ginny we knew in the Harry Potter books), was still believably considering everything she had to go through. But there was one thing that puts it under the 'imperfect perfection' heading, and that was "HOW COULD YOU DO THAT???". I am a HUGE Harry/Ginny fan and it absolutely killed me that he could do that to Ginny. But for every part of me that screams, "change the ending!" two parts argue "if you changed it, it wouldn't be the same and it's amazing as it is".

I feel you have some up with something special here. Well done! 8/10! (Purely due to the cruel Harry!) :)

Author's Response: oh, don't worry about taking so long. As long as you're as nice as this, I really don't mind. My review thread gets backlogged too. :)
It was a great challenge, wasn't it? I'm so glad you thought it was suitable -- I thought it rambled a bit too much.
Oh, and the baby. That was added in at the very end... I feel so horrible for doing that to them. Losing a baby is just about the most awful thing.
Perfection on the emotions? No idea how I did that... ^_^ I see what you mean about the comparisons, I'll definitely look into that.
I don't know how I could do that. I am a heartless person. I do detest Harry/Ginny (sorry) so this was my very over-the-top revenge ^_^ I had about five endings i could have written, because it just didn't seem resolved to me, but they were all so... melodramatic and implausible, so in the end I left it. I'm so glad you liked it *hugs*
Muchos gracias!



 Report Review

Review #16, by chiQs09 Wormwood

2nd February 2008:
Here's chiQs09 from the forums. I have to say that I love this one-shot! Your description was amazing! And the whole emotion in it. It was a bit dark, though, and sad because of the tragedy that happened to Ginny's baby. Actually, if a story has got many flaws or mistakes, I do comment a lot. But this time, I'm speechless, which is a good thing.

Author's Response: thank you! No flaws or mistakes at all? ^_^ Dark in a good way? Hooray! Hehe.. I'm alittle speechless too. Glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Clare Roy Wormwood

9th January 2008:
This was an amazing One-shot! It was haunting; I just want to reread it.

You have some beautiful descriptions, I really liked how you wrote the part about Ginny waking up alone. I usually don't enjoy Ginny-centered fics, but yours was amazing.

The only bit of advice I have (which is more of a random thought thought than advice) is that having a canon character as the shop assistant might be more effective.

All in all, I think you're a wonderful writer, and this is an gorgeous piece!

Author's Response: thank you! yeah, i don't like ginny myself--this was a sort of revenge on her character ;)
The shop assisstant was originally Cho, but I don't like all the Cho-bashing that goes on in Harry/Ginny, so I left her out.

thank you once more for that very cheering review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by TokyoGal11 Wormwood

8th January 2008:
Sorry it took so long, I've been really busy.

So, I actually quite liked it. It was angsy without being irritating, and it has an honest ring to it that not a lot of stories have, and I commend you on that acomplishment.

There's really not much I can say, it was definitely good work, and I would keep it up!

Overall Grade:O (Congrats, you're only like the 17th person to get one)!

Good Job!!

♥Rini

Author's Response: thank you! don't worry about it taking a while, I always take for ever to get through my review thread--I have sympathy :)
ooh, your 17th O? and not irritating? and honest? yay! (sorry, im in an irriatingly good mood)

well, thank you once more!


 Report Review

Review #19, by i_want_to_be_ginny Wormwood

5th January 2008:
I loved it!

Keep writing!

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #20, by infested_with_NaRgLeS_14 Wormwood

21st December 2007:
Wow that was really sad!!! I kinda figured that he was cheating when Harry was staring at his watch but still it was sad!! Poor Ginny, she lost her baby and now her husband!! Losing a baby is tough, my mom says that she lost one but she only miscarried. God, having to see its dead body would be torture!!! I can only imagine how she feels, but thanks to your amazing description I don't have to! The way that you divulge how Ginny's feeling is amazing!!! You so deserved 2nd place!!! Congratulations!!! You're an amazing one-shot writer!!!

Author's Response: thanks! there were 23 "!"s in that review (yes, I counted) so I'm guessing you liked it. Glad you did! thank you for reviewing, as always

 Report Review

Review #21, by JLHufflepuff Wormwood

12th December 2007:
This is really well written and moving. You really accepted the challenge and made a meaningful story around it. Your portrayal of a woman living a life she didn't expect, feeling grief, experiencing unfaithfulness - they all come across very realistically. You give Harry and Ginny real personalities and emotions. They are in no way flat. It's a really sad story and a way I wouldn't like to think of Harry, but I think your statement about him being angry that his happy family dream was gone when the baby died makes it all make sense. I could see that happening if Harry didn't deal with his grief properly. Anyway, this is sad but awesomely done.

Author's Response: thanks so much! i'm glad you thought it was realistic, i was sort of worried it was a bit melodramatic. anyway, thanks again for the awesome review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Allison Wormwood

10th December 2007:
What a sad story! I had a feeling that I knew what was going to happen, but then going through the process...it was like a movie in slow motion. Very nice writing!

Author's Response: thanks! a slow motion movie? that's interesting...yeah it was a bit obvious, but anyway...thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by kara101 Wormwood

9th December 2007:
This is Hermione G from the forums

My opinion is it is very sad and well written. I liked it. The description was wonderful.

I would not have Harry cheat on her and have their baby die but if that is what you want then I would have Ginny say something to Harry when she saw him kissing the other girl. Then Harry should have some explantation.

Then I would have a happy ending like Harry and Ginny expecting another baby and then do a 9 months later. And describe the baby and then in 5 years maybe they have 4 kids or something.

Author's Response: hmm, i could have done all that, but the challenge was to write a one-shot with less than 6000 words, and a happy ending would have taken forever. And I find happy endings really boring. I wrote out a bit where Ginny starts yelling at Harry but it came out so stupid and weird that in the end I just left it sort of open-ended, so you could decide for yourself whether Ginny punches him in the face or just pretends it never happened. Personally, I have no idea what Ginny will do now. possibly something violent.:) Thank you for reviewing and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Tearlit Wormwood

9th December 2007:
*sniffles* This was such a compelling story. Your use of descriptions was phenomenal. I also like how you kept the loss of the baby a constant theme. It was horribly sad though, but wonderful! Great job!! And congrats for winning second place in the challenge!

Author's Response: oh, thank you so much! it came out a whole ot more depressing than I'd intended it to be, though.:) Congratulations to you too, I think you came first (if I remember rightly), and I loved your story too (now i should really go review it to tell you that). gah, ill stop burbling now.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Girldetective85 Wormwood

9th December 2007:
Oh noo!!! :((( Poor Ginny! Wow this was so sad. It was absolutely beautifully written, but really, really sad. I have to mention first of all that your characterization of Ginny is brilliant. There is so much depth to her in this one-shot, so many layers that you have unraveled until she is not just Harry Potter's wife anymore. She's a real woman who is tired of her everyday life, caring for her children, not having enough time for herself or to go back to those happy days when all she had to worry about were Quidditch matches, losing her husband to some hussy. I absolutely love your descriptions, particularly when Ginny is looking into the mirror at her own reflection and hardly recognizing herself. Ron is just as dimwitted and tactless as ever, haha! But that's how he shows that he cares about his sister, by asking after her marriage (which is obviously deteriorating in front of everyone). This was a terrific one-shot, great job! I can't find anything I don't like about it. :) 10/10

Author's Response: thanks so much! i'm so glad you liked it...that review has made me very happy now. My brother is giving me funny looks because i'm grinning my head off at the computer..:p

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>