Reading Reviews for Xeno's Paradox
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maskedmuggle Xeno's Paradox

12th December 2010:
An entertaining story and an enjoyable read!
Written really well, though the last line threw me off a bit, it makes sense now that I think about it! I was wondering which Weasley it was, but Ron - it really works well!
I loved this line:
Have those people at Hogwarts been teaching this without Ministry approval? HAHA!

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story. I'm always amazed at how many people really like this one. It seems to make people laugh and I'm always glad when I can brighten someone's day.

Thanks again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Axjion Xeno's Paradox

12th October 2010:
I... read this before, so many years ago, it seems. I swore I commented then, I may have. I remember commenting anyway.

I had no idea that you, pookster, were the one who wrote this. This is one of my favorite stories (and challenges) because it deals with something so much more mature than other fics. (And because whenever I read scrofulitic pygalgia and that red-heads are agents of heliopaths, I laugh uncontrollably.)

I like the characterization here. Xeno growing more and more embarassed, Luna's so far in her own world as not to realize that it's hard for most people to talk about these types of things with their parents/children for the first time.

I can't help but have a smile on my face when I read this.
--Axjion

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed this old story of mine. I still laugh when I read it, too. I don't think it's my best writing, but it has something.

Pygalgia has a real meaning if you can figure it out.

I've read stories before and then reviewed them much later, so I understand. I really enjoyed just popping this out of my head in a few hours.

Glad I could put a smile on your face.


 Report Review

Review #3, by moonbaby11 Xeno's Paradox

26th September 2010:
Ah, that last line really got me! I was thinking that the story was really cute, and funny at parts, but then I read the last lien and could NOT stop laughing! :D

Really good take on the idea of having 'the talk'. I thought this was good, even though it was quite short. :) Really good idea!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this very early story of mine. I love Harry/Luna, but there's got to be a twist on it to make it interesting.

Thank you so much for the nice review and I'm glad that I could make you laugh.


 Report Review

Review #4, by voldy_needs_a_hug Xeno's Paradox

10th December 2009:
damn that last line got me.


kudos to you carl...
fab story... as soon as i become un-lazy enough to log in, il favourite u
10/10
~Annie

Author's Response: Glad you liked this story. I wrote this story very quickly in a fit of inspiration and haven't edited it since (except for typos). I'm always please when this story makes someone laugh.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Alopex Xeno's Paradox

21st August 2009:
LMAO! I loved that last line. I wasn't expecting it at all, but I thought it was just hilarious. The whole thing was very funny, in fact. I was giggling the whole time. Not only was the story funny, but the subject matter itself is almost certain to provoke embarassment and awkwardness - or at least memories of them - among the readers. And you know what people do when they're embarassed: they giggle. Some people do, anyway.

I've been eyeing this story for a little while. The story momotwins wrote for the same challenge is the very first Harry Potter fanfic I can remember reading (I'd read quite a few others, but none had made much of an impression), and I was eager to see how another writer would handle the same challenge topic. I enjoy humor a lot anyway, at least certain kinds of humor, so I was expecting humor; I was not disappointed.

I liked the way you wrote Xeno. He's just scatterbrained and eccentric but well-meaning. He put in a really good effort here, but Luna totally upstaged him! I was almost able to see the Wrackspurts stealing Xeno's line of thought whenever he realized she knew a lot more than he had anticipated. Still, I liked how there were one or two little parts where he nearly managed to take control of the situation - he is older and more experienced, after all. Luna was simply delightful in the way she was trying to make the situation less embarassing and all her little comments and explanations. And, of course, that final line.

Hilarious story. Great work.

Author's Response: Hey! Wow! Thanks so much for reviewing this older story of mine. I sat down and wrote this story all at once, and posted it without editing it. Since then it's only been edited for typos, never for content. I'm glad it stands up, as I was still just learning how to write and how to write Luna.

I remember that time in my life and while my experience was quite different, I had friends who had the parents 'explaining' while they rolled their eyes because they already knew it all. Even though I love humour, I don't attempt it much because it takes either a delicate hand or a blunt instrument and sometimes I feel I lie in between.

Ah, the last line. I gotta be me and ship Luna/Harry, although I think I'm growing now and can see other ships (hello Charlie/Tonks; I love your ship, too).

I'm so glad you liked this little story and I'm particularly glad you liked the characterizations as I really hate for my characters to be too OoC.

Merci beaucoup.


 Report Review

Review #6, by RazPanda Xeno's Paradox

2nd August 2009:
I was disappointed with it for a while, but then you got to the end and it had the "Harry and I will both be of age next year" and I just busted up.

Still, it was a long way to go for a punch line. There is little we know about Xeno's character but he seems good; Luna, I find is a little bit too ... normal ahahah. If that makes sense.

Anyways, It was amusing. Peace. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I wrote this piece very quickly and posted it as-is. It's not really meant as going a long way for a punch-line, but I can see how you'd think that since I pushed my Harry/Luna into it.



 Report Review

Review #7, by xxLavLavxx Xeno's Paradox

22nd July 2009:
Hahaha! That was just really very funny. The fact that Luna was pretty much taking the words out of her father's mouth was a ding dong riot.
The ending was pretty spectacular.

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought this story was funny. I had a lot of fun writing it. Kids always know more about that subject than their parents think they do.

H/L--I gotta be me and ship it.


 Report Review

Review #8, by SereneChaos Xeno's Paradox

12th April 2009:
Hahaha, those last few lines got me. Excellent. My only criticism would be to expand more on the conversation, as I can't help but feel that Xeno would say more than the usual warnings. He might have thrown something out there about various make believe STDs...or something.

You got Luna spot-on though, so well done!

Author's Response: Hey! A review for an older story! Worth its weight in gold these days. I'm glad that you enjoyed this story. I actually wrote it in a fit of inspiration one morning and didn't want to mess with it too much, that's why theres not a lot more to it.

Thanks also for letting me know that my Luna was IC. I love writing Luna.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Toxic Turquoise Xeno's Paradox

4th April 2009:
Lol, good last line =D
This was good =)

Author's Response: Thank you, this was written very, very quickly for a challenge a while ago. I really enjoyed writing it.

Glad you're enjoying my short works.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lunicle Xeno's Paradox

10th October 2008:
Hia there!

Random things I must commend you on:

"Ron's just rude, Daddy, not evil."

LOL! That is so true, too!

Also, this sounds like it was a very unique challenge, and I think you really handled it well. I found Luna to be IC, particularly in her dialogue.

This is a really short but cute and scene that I'm sure happened and could have happened much like this.

Nice fic and nice job writing it! 10/10

-Luna-

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the nice review. I wrote this fic in a very quick burst of inspiration and I'm glad that it's been so well received.

I love Luna, by far my fave character.



 Report Review

Review #11, by Jianne Xeno's Paradox

7th October 2008:
Cool! Nice twist at the end. Xenophilius seemed a little out of character to me, but that's probably because we didn't see that much of him in the books and he's in an embarrasing situation. I like it, though. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks for the nice review. I must admit that I wrote this in a fit of inspiration and posted it almost immediately, so it doesn't have much editing.

I'm glad that you liked the humour of the situation.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Renfair Xeno's Paradox

17th March 2008:
Wow, that was an ingenious idea to have! And what could be more embarrassing for a father than having to give that talk to Luna, the queen of truth delivered by a blunt force object. Poor poor Xeno... though I have to admit the mere thought of him having that discussion (or going through the "mechanics" of creating Luna...) is pretty darn disturbing.

"Scrofulitic pygalgia..." HAHAHA! WTF? I love it! And this: "Don’t ever kiss a boy with red hair, he might be an agent of Heliopaths." Yes! Ron is the devil! I highly agree! 10/10 for pure inspiration!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing this story, it was getting lonely. I had the idea pop into my head when reading the challenge and I just had to write it out. It's extremely short for me, but I feel it's really self-contained.

Poor Xenophilius, like any parent, he just can't understand that his kids know more than he does. Her mother must have been some special person to have loved Xeno, but maybe he went stranger after she died.

Pygalgia literally means "pain in the butt", BTW. Xeno really thought she had a thing for Ron, weird, huh.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ron is my hero Xeno's Paradox

5th March 2008:
AWW! :( Luna has no boyfriend
But AHHAHHAHA i was laughing through parts of the conversation!
great job
10/10
~MIchelle

Author's Response: Thanks for the nice review. It was really my first try at humour.


 Report Review

Review #14, by inkismyworld Xeno's Paradox

8th February 2008:
Wow her and Harry who would have thought? Luna's direct manner made this a very good read, great job.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad people like this story. It's the story that flowed the easiest from inspiration to finished product for me.

Notice that I never really said whether that Harry was really her boyfriend or if it was something she was fantasizing about.


 Report Review

Review #15, by XharrysdarlingX Xeno's Paradox

7th December 2007:
You know, I think everyone dreads "The Talk" lol. I guess single fathers with daughters must dread it the most as it usually is mum who deals with it. Therefore, with that in mind while reading, I thought you did a good job with the uncomfortable, nervousness of Xeno.

Luna I would think is probably much more aware than daddy would like to think lol. She does share a room with about 4 other girls after all, and I liked how she didnt come across as innocent and naive as her father would think she is.

Loved the ending with Harry lol.

Author's Response: I think that usually Xenophilius is very confident with his assertions, but that this is something that would make him doubt himself at least a little.

Thanks for catching that I didn't want her to come across as playing the innocent: I believe that Luna wouldn't do such a thing, although she would keep some secrets.

I gotta be me and ship Luna/Harry, even when it looks like it might be a Luna/Ron fic.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by storyteller Xeno's Paradox

2nd December 2007:
the last line was like the cherry on the cake.
TOO GOOD!
9/10

Author's Response: Thank you. I saw the challenge and could not resist. H/L all the way, baby!



 Report Review

Review #17, by lilyandjamesfan Xeno's Paradox

27th November 2007:
haha thats so funny. i love the last line about her and harry being of age.

Author's Response: Thanks, I was trying to go for funny without being too sappy. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by EileenPrince Xeno's Paradox

24th November 2007:
Hahaha, rather hilarious... but I have to agree, it was unexpected AND creepy... I can almost imagine Luna's devious expression... also, I think this line really adds atmosphere;
'Luna sat up quickly, eyes glowing with curiosity, “Is this going to be the talk about sex?”'
Haha, so Luna-ish. lol. Poor xeno, so naive...
10/10
Ariane
x

Author's Response: Yup, I think that might be the only thing that Xenophilius might be naive about (which is to say that he might be mistaken about some things, but not naive about them). Gah, that sentence makes no sense, Oh, well. Thank you for your kind review.

This story seems to have a different favorite line for each person. Still, I don't understand where "Creepy" is. To me creepy is Stephen King, LOL.

I gotta be me and ship Luna/Harry.


 Report Review

Review #19, by insider Xeno's Paradox

22nd November 2007:
Wow. Haha, the ending is so...I don't know, creepy and so unexpected :] I never thought Luna had it in her. But there you go, I loved the ending. 10/10 :]

Author's Response: Ty for the review. Unexpected I get, but creepy? LOL. Poor Xenophilius, he might know all about the Deathly Hallows but not much about teenage girls.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Shamoogrl101 Xeno's Paradox

19th November 2007:
Ooh! Luna is feeling the love for Harry, literally! This cracked me up, I loved it. The conversation went exactly as it should between Luna and her dad. Great writing.

Author's Response: Yup, I ship Luna/Harry. I thought Xeno's embarrasment was funny. Thanks for compliments.

 Report Review

Review #21, by weluvjamesandcharlie Xeno's Paradox

18th November 2007:
That was interesting. Good job, i really like the ending. The whole thing is good.

Author's Response: Thank you, the plot bunny would not go away. Glad people like the semi-surprise ending.

 Report Review

Review #22, by NevillesSoulmate Xeno's Paradox

17th November 2007:
Very funny and original. I liked it a lot!

Author's Response: Thank you. My first try at humour (in about 20 years, since high school.)

 Report Review

Review #23, by xxMugglePrincess Xeno's Paradox

16th November 2007:
it was fantastical, I loved how it was more awkward for the dad than for Luna.

Author's Response: TY for your review. It's always more awkward for the parent it seems.

 Report Review

Review #24, by faerieall Xeno's Paradox

13th November 2007:
I totally loved that!

And even I was expecting a R/L ending, this was fantastic! :D

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad others like it. No way would I do a R/L, that's Xenophilius' delusion. LOL

 Report Review

Review #25, by RupertsPheonix Xeno's Paradox

13th November 2007:
Hahah! Great ending line! This cracked me up and was quite entertaining. Great job!

=) Kate/RP

Author's Response: Ty, I love the last line, too. I know it's not my best writing, but I couldn't resist writing it when the plot bunny struck.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>