Reading Reviews for The Dream of One Night
  
1,042 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Epilogue - Avrille

24th January 2015:
Renny! A perfect end to a wonderful story. Thinking back I think my favorite part was their first real kiss in Hogsmeade. That started their relationship and brought us here. I still have an inkling all will not be perfect in the sequel but I won't think about that now. Wonderful job! Years later and your hardwork is still being read. Don't be a stranger!

 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Eight - Severus

24th January 2015:
Oh wow! I've fallen in love with Dumbledore all over again! He was so funny and had his little charm and twinkle that only he could have. I appreciated Severus worrying and opening up to Dumbledore and Avrille. Our man has gone through such a change. I cried a little.

Okay maybe I'm crying a lot.

 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Seven - Avrille

24th January 2015:
Go Avrille, you bad apple! That chapter was hard to read. I think because I was still or I am convinced the death wish will take hold of them still. Just because she's pregnant she might not survive childbirth and I don't know there are just so many unknowns. You're too good with not giving anything away. I'm not sure I can handle more shocks.

 Report Review

Review #4, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Six - Severus

24th January 2015:
No! I know everything is going to be fine because there's a sequel but no! That was truly horrible to see Severus so weak and vulnerable. Of course no matter how strong Severus acts like he is there are always cracks. He's human even though I and Avrille see him as more than that.

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Five - Avrille

24th January 2015:
Come on Avrille! Save your future husband! Grr...the only bad thing about magic are those protective spells. Obviously they're useful but come on! I thought maybe she would easily be able to get in because his magic knows her and she's part of him now. I thought foolishly because she's his wife to be the property would automatically allow family in. Can never make it easy, can you?! Haha.

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Four - Severus

24th January 2015:
Wow. His memories are so painful. I'm still crying a little from the last chapter so to read this, well, it really struck me. I liked that you didn't stick to one timeline of just his father. I reckon Avrille memories will touch the surface and that will be horrid. Only a few chapters left and you're killing me here.

 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Three - Avrille

24th January 2015:
No!

No!

No!

I figured it out in the other chapter but wanted to be wrong. She's pregnant. She's going to die, isn't she? I'm actually crying at the thought.

Why would Severus's mother not reveal the location of her son. Is it because it was a vision and they don't reveal all or the spells that don't allow anyone on the property?

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Two - Severus

24th January 2015:
This is not the story to read to get me back to sleep! I'm going to have nightmares. That completely blindsided me. Beyond freaky. Severus is strong but his strength is wavering as he grows hungrier. You know what gets me though is that it would happen to him. Fall in love, nearly die. The universe is forever out to get him. It's like he never had a chance.

 Report Review

Review #9, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-One - Avrille

24th January 2015:
So Nan gets visions too? She's so flighty I wish she would sit down and explain herself sometimes but she's young and has such personality I can't fault her for that. So Avrille forced herself to have vision. I'm assuming that was Severus's mother? That's my best guess and what I undersrand. For a moment the dream felt so real and now I'm wondering what if all of this is just not reality. In the sense they're not actually together or is that looking too much into it? I don't know something feels off and I can't figure out what it is.

 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty - Severus

24th January 2015:
I'm on my phone at three in the morning unable to sleep reading this chapter so this review will be short. I'm starting to get it now. So the Death Wish means Severus should die. I say should because I don't see that happening. My tone has changed! I see him dying of his own accord in the future. That was seriously creepy though when he took the clothes off the corpse. You really have to have a burning hatred for someone in order to do that. I can't imagine.

 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Nine - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
What's wrong with Severus? Is it the Dark Lord? Is it his mark? IS IT THE DEATH WISH?

...Mystery. This mystery is killing me.

Anyway, the proposal was beautiful. Italy! If only. I'm all for happy endings and seeing these warm moments between them is great but what really gets me about your writing and what keeps me coming back are your descriptions. How you're able to make me feel everything they are feeling, happiness, lust, love, pain. It's an emotional roller coaster as I read on and I'm not mad about it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Eight - Severus

23rd January 2015:
ďItís no good. I canít remove it from you,Ē she said sadly. I had suspected she was trying to do something like that.

^ Aw. Oh Avrille. That was really sweet.

I STILL DON'T GET THE DEATH WISH, GIRL! I just don't understand it. What exactly is supposed to happen to Severus? Maybe if she has a child she dies or he dies? If they get married and then consummate their marriage? I feel like I'm missing something completely!

And he wants to get married! Severus! I figured it was coming so maybe by the end of the story or the next few chapters. I feel like I'm missing something though and it's there, right in front of my face, you always give some clues and foreshadowing things to come.

OO! Patronus. So she's going to be around for the next war, the order maybe? Ah! I'm not sure if you're skipping a few years or what. A time jump would make sense but I don't see Severus wanting Avrille involved. He had nothing to lose before but now he does. So she needs to learn how to protect herself and then this Death Wish.

So maybe he dies either way. The Death Wish doesn't impact him. Grr.I can't figure it out!

 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Seven - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
ďBad boy! I am your mother, and you will love me!Ē

^ That was a little crazy to me. Maybe it's because I'm watching this really creepy lifetime movie or something but that didn't sit well with me. Now with her magic back I feel like Avrille has a sense of confidence she didn't have before. It has come out in full effect and I guess it feels a little off to me.

I'm just not used to her being so strong? I guess. I kind of always felt she was a little timid in her own way but it was charming. Don't get me wrong I still root for her and for Severus too.

I'm probably looking too deep into this. I didn't realize she was SO powerful. It's a little scary! But should it be? UH, I can't decide how i feel!

 Report Review

Review #14, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Six - Severus

23rd January 2015:
ďAs much as I wish that were true, I have in the past received a few valentines, anonymously of course. I always promptly threw them into the fire.Ē

^ I completely forgot about the Valentine's Day scene as I read through the rest of the chapter. Valentine's Day was funny but man. Where do I begin?

The sheer horror of having to just read about her father's death scene over and over again. I can't even imagine going through something like that. Every time we revisted the memory I felt my heart tug and tears form in my eyes. How horrible but this will be her closure, her first step to being able to perform magic like a regular witch.

I think I have been doubting Avrille and her ability. I'm not entirely sure of your timeline and I know there's a sequel to the story but if Avrille doesn't die (still convinced she will at the end) I see her fighting with the Order to not avenge her father's death but to make sure something like this doesn't happen to anyone else again.

The way you described Severus going into her mind and sifting through her memories was amazing. I found myself glued to my computer screen and I was supposed to get off and stop reading thirty minutes ago. The sheer amount of work is obvious in this chapter. I feel like even throughout the last few chapters your writing has grown and improved so much.

 Report Review

Review #15, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Five - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
I thought this was a filler chapter. Not much happened but I think this is where the action will begin. He's going to continue to probe her mind and sift through her memories and I'm intrigued what he's going to find. It'll be interesting to see her perform magic eventually because I feel like it'll be so foreign to her and she won't be able to control her magic. I have this feeling there's a dark side to Avrille that I'm missing. I don't think it's intentional but there's something there.

And now the comment Severus made about their child has me reeling. I ask again, can they have children? Can they even be together with the death wish? I'm so confused!

 Report Review

Review #16, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Four - Severus

23rd January 2015:
How strong is Avrille's magic exactly?

I figured she wouldn't be angry at Severus for being a Death Eater. It's not like he attacked her father. What I'm more interested in is the Death Wish. What exactly does it mean? Can he never make love to her? Or have children with her? If they were to marry would she die or something around those lines? You only gave us a snippet of info and I just want to know what doom to expect.

I'm telling you. Even though there's a sequel I feel the worse. Avrille will not survive.

 Report Review

Review #17, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Three - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
Maybe because you hope Iíll be spending a lot of time here? I thought privately with a small smile as I speared my eggs. I hope I will, as well Ö

^ I love this cheeky side of Avrille even though it's in her head and not out loud. Severus would not be able to contain himself if she said something like that to him. He could barely sleep in a seperate room from her!

The addition of Justin's family was intriguing. Especially the way the staff just turned silent at the sight and movement of them. Or lack of movement because they weren't eating. How do you celebrate a holiday and pretend to be joyful when your son is petrified? It's like when you have a death in the family and you don't feel like celebrating that year or for some people never again. It's like he's in a coma. He's still there. They can save him and he will be back once again but the unknown is too much to bear.

 Report Review

Review #18, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Two - Severus

23rd January 2015:
Now she knew how madly in love with her I had fallen, although I doubt she understood how deep my love ran and how I would willingly give my life to protect her.

^ It amazes me because I know you started writing your story because we knew entirely who Severus was but you were able to write him really well because Severus has always been about love. Sure it was unrequited love with Lily but love for her made him switch sides and protect her son even though he despised him. There are very few Death Eater's who can love but then again Severus has never been a true Death Eater by heart. It is true though, he would do anything for Avrille, because again he loves her.

All of a sudden I feel really morbid. I think Avrille will die in the end. I just don't see them having a happy ending.

I knew I had been insane to even consider the possibility I could be in that bed with her and sleep innocently.

^ Severus you old dog. I know they have to keep their love a secret, at least for the time being, but still I can't help but love their love. It's warm and comforting and dare I say easy. I don't think Severus or Avrille are easy to love because they're complicated people but when they're together and experience innocent moments like that you can't help but smile and cheer for them.

 Report Review

Review #19, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-One - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
Perfection.

You have turned my mind into jelly and I don't know what else to say and I had a lot to say originally.

Just pure perfection.

A wonderful kiss. Great imagery and conversation but more. There was just something magical about it and yet---completely normal. It just fit them perfectly.

Man, I wish Severus's existed today. I love my boyfriend and everything but Severus makes me swoon.

I feel giddy with excitement and naturally I know it won't last long.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That chapter was obviously one of my top favorites. It took me a really, really long time to write (as in, get to that part of the story) even though I wrote this story very out of order. So when I got to where they finally kissed for real, I was pretty excited. Ok, I might have been fist-pumping the air and squealing. I'm going to hope that most writers kind of love their own characters and do that sort of thing, and that I don't sound like a huge loser.

I remember that chapter being one that I wrote in almost one continuous binge and completed at 4am, and it all just sort of seemed to work. I don't think I started it out thinking, "Ok, they're going to have this totally rockin' snowball fight" or whatever. So maybe that's where some of the normality and spontaneity came from. Who knows. That was a REALLY long time ago now. I'm just glad you liked it!

Sigh, don't we all wish there were Severus's out there. My husband is pretty damn awesome too, but I don't think I could ever get him into a waistcoat. ;) Thank you, thank you for the review! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #20, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty - Severus

22nd January 2015:
Her life had been so dark and wretched that I had wanted at least in death for her to always be free under the trees and sky.

^ That was the sweetest part about this chapter. I thought the focus would be on his mother but when it shifted to his father I wasn't mad.

Of course his father is disgusting and their relationship was horrid but it was intriguing. Does that make me a bad person? Haha. You threw me a curve ball at the end.

A Death Wish.

So that would be part of the reason Severus wouldn't want to be with Avrille. He couldn't? But even though they aren't together but both in love with each other is the Death Wish effecting them now? Their lives are morbid and dark. I don't see happiness lighting up their lives. It's like they're meant to be together but it's like that quote, "The path of true love never did run smooth," or however it goes.

Man, Severus and Avrille can't catch a break.

Author's Response: *sniff* Severus's mom *sniff* You know, I'm always partly miffed that my story isn't 100% canon, despite the fact that I can't imagine a 100% canon Severus falling in love with anyone after Lily, but then I remember how much I liked making my own back-story for him. It kind of separates him from the book Snape and lets me feel more comfortable about some of the slight liberties I took with his character (*ahem* better hygiene anyone??) I really had a lot of fun making up the characters of rich, naive Charlotte and social-climbing, alcoholic Septimus. I was a little bummed I didn't get to focus a whole lot on Severus's mum, but I made up for that with a chapter in the sequel that I really, really like.

I think Severus's relationship with his father is definitely intriguing. I mean, he obviously looks down on his father for so many things, but then Severus isn't a completely innocent angel right before his father's death, either. I guess that's his mother's influence, maybe? She was strong enough to keep him from growing up to be a complete sociopath, but couldn't afford the extra energy to teach him not to follow after a scumbag evil wizard with world domination goals.

But yes, sorry, rambling there. The Death Wish. I was so, SO happy when you came back to read this story, just for this one chapter. I remember having a little back and forth with you about Severus's apparent hang-ups over the ladies, and me wanting to explain that it isn't necessarily his inexperience that makes him want to push Avrille away. So then I was a tad disappointed when you sort of faded away cause I was all like, "ACK! She was ALMOST THERE!" LOL. But now you know. You know, I never even had the idea of the Death Wish affecting Avrille and Severus day to day, like general bad luck. That's an interesting thought. I just had it very tied up to the physical act it referred to and procreation. Avrille and Severus's crossed stars I'm going to attribute to the general suckiness of trying to have a decent life in the wizarding world around the time of the wars.

Glad you got to this chapter, and so glad you surpassed it to the very end! Thank you for the review! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #21, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Nineteen - Avrille

22nd January 2015:
He might try to kiss a lamppost when drunk, for all I knew.

^ Haven't we all. I mean...HAHA.

After reading Avrille's chapter more about the previous ones has come back to me. I understand her inner troubles. Should she or shouldn't she? It would be quite scandalous once it got out, wouldn't it? Plus it would be dangerous for the both of them.

Plus, love in the Harry Potter universe doesn't exactly prevail.

Author's Response: Hi again, Deeds! Sorry it took me a little while to get back to reply (if you even noticed!) You know, I thought life was crazy with a toddler. That's nothing compared to life with a preschooler who neither naps nor attends actual preschool. I'm glad I got these novel-lengths finished last year. But I digress... greatly.

Whenever I feel sad about the current state of the world, I don't think about the Arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. I think about Severus drunk. Or really laughing, like cracking-up-laughing and being legitimately happy. It's impossible for me not to smile thinking about that. I don't know, the simple idea I had of him being super drunk and just as uptight, but now falling over and uptight, struck me as really funny. Now we all know it takes more than a little booze to make him loosen up. It takes... well, ahem.

I really wanted to make Severus's and Avrille's relationship to be kind of realistic in that it isn't this super easy thing to just start dating your boss in the real world (uh, at least I imagine. I have zero personal experience with that). I didn't want it to be the sort of story where the charmingly inexperienced girl just falls all over herself and the older man thinks it's all oh-so-adorable and they end up together in five minutes. I wanted it to be a real struggle for both of them. Severus has some SERIOUS baggage, that you now know about from the next chapter, and Avrille has a huge risk. Hmm, does she risk her whole career for the chance of love? Hmmm...

Thanks for the review! I'm going to try and get all the replies done this week! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Eighteen - Severus

22nd January 2015:
Oh Severus! I kept thinking today, 'There was a story I used to read that I LOVED but I couldn't remember what it was. I was searching and searching and then I looked through my favorites list and checked every single person's story until I got to yours! Oh Avrille, oh Severus!

I thought I finished the first story but I guess not. It was such a long time ago too but I said I would stop at the last chapter I didn't review and it seems it is this one. I don't know if you're still around but I still remember you and our chats.

It has been hard to get back into the groove of HPPF and reviewing so sorry my reviews won't be as coherent as before.

I think what really resonated with me was this part:

It aggravated me beyond explanation to be teaching Luciusís son at a time when everyone knew the Dark Lord was trying to find a way to come back to life. These past two years, I had been forced to tread lightly around Draco, betraying nothing inappropriate that could lead Lucius to believe his former Death Eater companion had been secretly aiding Professor Dumbledore during those vital months before the Dark Lordís downfall.

^ I never thought about it like this before. I wonder if Severus ever worried about Lucius and Draco. I felt like he had some sort of connection to Draco before he became a Death Eater. Obviously Severus was someone we didn't know fully about until to the very end but he was ultimately a protector. He protected his students (even if he didn't like them too much) and he of course was out to protect himself.

And the ending! Severus you old dog, tell the woman you love her. Although I know it is not the right time. She's too fragile and Severus is losing focus. To reveal he loves her would put him in danger I think.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, Deeds! Wow, I am just so honored you came back to my humble "little" story. This is really, really weird cause I'm pretty sure I was just thinking of you last night (ok, I know that sounds insanely creepy, like stalker-ish creepy, but it's true!) I *think* you were the one who wrote a Dudley one-shot called "Pig" or something like that? If that's not you, then ignore me, but if it was, that's crazy cause I'm re-reading "Philosopher's Stone" and now every time I read about Dudley being a pig or whatever in the books, I think of that one shot, and I stumbled across the "pig in a wig" line in the book last night. The one-shot was really good, as I remember.

Anyway... HI!! Trying to not sound pathetically, desperately happy, but I was pretty much like HOLY %$#@ when I randomly checked the account and saw I had 22 new reviews. I usually check in like once every few weeks just in case and might have one new review every couple months or so (which I'm so grateful for!), so this was like bloody Christmas. I think I'll probably be a glutton and blow through reading them then come back and reply more coherently. I'm also just so glad it's YOU! I remember you too and being kind of bummed you didn't get to finish the story since you were such an amazing reviewer, but of course I understood because I've done the exact same thing. There are still a couple stories I swear I'll finish someday, even though I rarely read fics anymore.

So for this reply, I always liked writing Severus's parts because he just THINKS so much. He considers every single possible angle of everything, and it was kind of an interesting challenge to have to do the same thing myself with the books. Even now I sometimes re-read them and stumble onto something I never considered before. So yeah, I do think Severus would have been a little paranoid about Draco, even though it would have annoyed him to have to worry about an eleven year old reporting on him. Kind of like the Nazi youth or something, right? It was probably in Severus's best interest to kind of suck up to the kid and make himself his favorite teacher. Puts sort of a new slant on things, that maybe Draco wasn't Severus's favorite student, just the most dangerous one to him.

Aw, and the ending. Yeah, I kind of liked that. I went back a while ago and changed a couple things here or there before that part, to make sure Severus almost used the word "love" in connection with Avrille. I tried to use things more like "attraction" or "partiality." I wanted the first time that he realized that he actually LOVED her to be kind of a big deal. I think it was always there, but his rational personality wouldn't let him see it.

So, thanks about a million times for the reviews. Really, really looking forward to binging on--ahem, I mean READING them. I'll definitely reply, though it might take me a while! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #23, by Aednat Majere Chapter Three - Avrille

26th May 2014:
Normally I would think it telling that a fanfic author decide to begjn their story with one of the most annoying characters in their chosen Fandom, but you still seem to be doing well. Again, sorry to sound so...wary, but after reading the fanfic where Dobby does Hagrid while Snape does Harry, I'm sure you would be too.

Some authors just write to make others puke.

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry for the overdue review reply! I was moving out of state this week, so things have been very crazy. Hmm, I'm guessing you're referencing Lockhart here? I totally agree he's one of the most irritating characters in Harry Potter, and maybe even ever written. He's really just that bad. But, it's what makes him so bad and annoying that makes him a *good* character, actually, since he elicits such strong feelings from us :) I can't remember now, having started this story over 10 years ago, but I might have set this story in the Chamber of Secrets year just to have the chance to include Lockhart. He's so deliciously conniving.

Yeah, I imagine I'd be very wary after stumbling onto things like that. Fortunately, I ended up stumbling onto a really wonderful group of HPFF writing friends early on where I managed to avoid any true smut. I invite you to check out some of my favorited authors on this site. They're all really amazing writers. Thank you for taking the time to review! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #24, by Aednat Majere Chapter Three - Avrille

26th May 2014:
Normally I would think it telling that a fanfic author decide to begjn their story with one of the most annoying characters in their chosen Fandom, but you still seem to be doing well. Again, sorry to sound so...wary, but after reading the fanfic where Dobby does Hagrid while Snape does Harry, I'm sure you would be too.

Some authors just write to make others puke.

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry for the overdue review reply! I was moving out of state this week, so things have been very crazy. Hmm, I'm guessing you're referencing Lockhart here? I totally agree he's one of the most irritating characters in Harry Potter, and maybe even ever written. He's really just that bad. But, it's what makes him so bad and annoying that makes him a *good* character, actually, since he elicits such strong feelings from us :) I can't remember now, having started this story over 10 years ago, but I might have set this story in the Chamber of Secrets year just to have the chance to include Lockhart. He's so deliciously conniving.

Yeah, I imagine I'd be very wary after stumbling onto things like that. Fortunately, I ended up stumbling onto a really wonderful group of HPFF writing friends early on where I managed to avoid any true smut. I invite you to check out some of my favorited authors on this site. They're all really amazing writers. Thank you for taking the time to review! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #25, by Aednat Majere Chapter One - Avrille

26th May 2014:
Actually, Snape was 21 whsn he met Harry at Hogwarts and 28 when he diied so...basically they're the same age. Arville would probably be around 18-20 though, given that wizards/witches graduate at 17, assuming that all wizarding school are similar to Hogwarts in this respect.

Anyways, pretty good chapter. Seems like you actually have some brains and can write utilizing a fairly advanced vocabulary, which is more than can be said for most fanfic authors. 8/10. (Snape seemed a bit too nice, and I'm no fan of love at first sight, if that's your explanation.) :)

Author's Response: Hi! I'm going to have to actually respectfully disagree with your dates. According to canon, Snape was born in 1960, so he was actually 32 in "The Chamber of Secrets," the book in which my story takes place in 1992 (According to Sir Nicholas's Deathday Cake dates). I wrote this story before we had all of the canon dates from JKR, so I estimated his birthday and ended up being a year off. I decided to keep my own dates because it was too much of a hassle to re-work my timeline. Avrille is twenty-four in this story. Witches and Wizards usually graduate Hogwarts when they are 18, not 17. They usually turn 17 in their sixth year (hence why Hermione and Ron could take lessons to Apparate in HBP). I have Avrille being 24 because she was a double major in the graduate school I made up, and therefore took twice as long to graduate (six years instead of three). I wanted to "age" her up a bit so a pairing in the story wouldn't be too off-putting.

Thank you for your compliments in the rest of the review. I wrote this chapter almost ten years ago, so I personally believe my own writing has improved substantially since this, even later in this same story. I hope you keep reading so that becomes even more evident. As for the explanation of Snape being too nice, you have to remember that the only times we saw him, more or less, in the books was when he was around Harry, whom he hated. I believe he would act much differently around other academic adults in a professional setting. And no, I don't think it's love at first sight. More interest at first sight. With Snape it's a little more because, well, he's a man. Thank you for the review! I hope you keep reading! ~Renny


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>