Reading Reviews for The Dream of One Night
  
1,048 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cordelia Palmer Epilogue - Avrille

26th January 2016:
I always hate coming to the end of your story and I miss it as soon as it is over, but I never realized there was a sequel, or else there wasn't a completed one last time I read this. I am off to read it now! I can hardly contain my excitement. I let out an audible squeal when I read that there is a continuation of their story. Thank you so much for having written this. It has brought and will continue to bring me so many hours of joy.

Author's Response: Huzzah! I'm so glad you discovered the sequel! I was going to gently nudge you in its direction since it sounded to me in previous reviews that you didn't know it was there. But now that's unnecessary ^_^ For me it's really a matter of wanting readers to read my most recent writing, since I feel it's definitely improved since I started TDoON like (*hides head OH I'M SO OLD*) almost 12 years ago. I mentioned before that I have gone back through TDoON and changed some things here and there that *really* just irritated me too much. On the whole, though, I try to not alter it beyond that since if it was an actual published book I'd have to stand by what came out with the first printing. But ANYWAY, point is that I was pretty darn proud of myself for finishing one fan fiction novel, but I was over the MOON for finishing a second after having a baby and having it be, at least in my opinion, much, much better.

I really can't thank you enough for all of your kind reviews. I said something like this before, but hearing from a reader who's come back multiple times to re-read is one of the best things in the world for me. These two stories obviously mean a ton to me and it's just so cool to know that other people care about them as much. So thanks, a million times over.
~Renny


 Report Review

Review #2, by Cordelia Palmer Chapter Thirty-Four - Severus

26th January 2016:
Christ, it is almost a shame that Snape is already one of
Rowling's characters because this would make a great novel
and a great movie.

Author's Response: Tell me about it :( It is kind of hard spending such a huge chunk of your life writing two stories that you know you can never publish and receive royalties for. However, I also don't regret writing fan fiction one bit. Honestly, money's very helpful, but it also completely makes my day when I find out someone's enjoyed reading something I wrote. It also was really priceless practice for writing original fiction in the hopefully near future. It taught me a lot of discipline, and reading stuff I wrote before these stories shows me how far I've come.

If heaven's real, and I end up there, I hope I'll be able to make epic miniseries length movies of all my stories and all of my favorite books. That would be just perfect.

Thank you for the review! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cordelia Palmer Chapter Twenty-Three - Avrille

25th January 2016:
I know I have written about a thousand comments on your story, but I forgot you added the bit with the Weasleys regarding the map, which is completely brilliant. I mean, really, for a fan story, this could not have been more well thought out.

Author's Response: Eek! Now that I'm on here, I see you've already completed the SEQUEL, so I guess i need to get on replying! Sorry about the delay. I'm usually very quick to respond when I know there are reviews waiting, but we had a big heaping dose of winter sickies in our house this week. What I wouldn't give for some Pepper-Up Potion in real life.

I'm so glad you got that bit with the twins. It was one of those things I thought of that I personally thought was hilarious, if I do say so myself, but also wasn't sure if anyone would get besides me. A few people have remarked on it over the years, so at least I know it wasn't impossible to figure out! Poor Fred, though. In my head, he refused to ever look at the dungeon section of the map ever again until they passed it off to Harry (hmm, maybe I sense some kind of ulterior motive there for finally getting rid of the thing?)

Thank you so much for the review, and I'll get on answering the rest of them as quickly as I can! I should be able to knock off at least a few right now.
~Renny


 Report Review

Review #4, by Cordelia Palmer Chapter Twenty-Two - Severus

25th January 2016:
Was there an earlier edition of this that had Severus asking Avrille her weight? If not and I am misremembering, ignore this, but I quite liked that, as it made Snape seem a little shy and less perfect. I felt like it suggested an awkward side to him that sort of fit well with the version of Severus you have written into your story. If I am mistaken in thinking that was once here, ignore me completely, and ignore me completely if that comment sounds stupid to you. I love this story. I am a lesbian and even I can't help but find the Severus you have written very attractive. I mean, I had a sort of weird half-crush on him in the books and movies, but you have made him seem a little more approachable, without losing any of the power the idea of the character holds.

Author's Response: Again, nope! You're not crazy! That was another one of those things I ended up changing in a later edit because it grew to bother me the more I thought about it. I'm not even sure why I included it originally. I think I was trying to get one last "describe what the character looks like" detail in there, but it's really so late in the game to be doing that there; by that time the reader has a pretty entrenched idea of what Avrille looks like to them, so it's unnecessary. This might sound weird, but I also didn't want a more curvy female reader to think I was doing something like "Avrille's hot cause she's skinny!" though in my defense, I did always imagine Avrille to be fairly short, 5'-5'2" at the most, so she isn't stick thin either. But for whatever the reason, it eventually just read wrong to me, so I removed it. I figured Severus is enough of a scientist to be able to measure out a dose of potion without needing to ask his girlfriend personal questions.

Well, I'm straight so I obviously find my Severus INSANELY attractive (*ahem* sorry) but I've had definite girl crushes in books before. Brienne of Tarth from "A Song of Ice and Fire" springs to mind. SO. COOL. Snape can be a tough one because he's definitely not painted with a pretty brush in the books. But whose interpretation are you going to trust? Thousands of rabid fan girls, or an eleven year old wizard who probably still thinks girls have cooties? I'm obviously on the side of the fan girls. And I don't know why, but I've always had a thing for "pretty" guys, so maybe I'm not quite as 100% straight as I think I am? Hmmm.

I mentioned in the last reply that I didn't really model my Severus on Alan Rickman. Don't get me wrong, there is no one else in the world who could have played that character better. But the unfortunate fact remained that he was about twenty years too old for the part when they started the first movie, so I turned to one of my favorite singers instead for inspiration, Jyrki Linnankivi (c. 2002), lead singer of the Finnish band The 69 Eyes. You can look up their "Dance D'Amour" music video on YouTube if you're curious as to how I imagine Severus in my head, minus all the goth jewelry and eyeliner, of course. He even has a perfect deep voice and sneer.

Anyway, thanks for the review! It's really incredible how closely you read in the past that you're noticing these omissions. I made changes thinking no one besides me would ever really notice or care. I guess I've been proved wrong!

~Renny


 Report Review

Review #5, by Cordelia Palmer Chapter Twenty-One - Avrille

25th January 2016:
I must apologize, for I left a comment on an earlier chapter noting that, though I have read your story many times and I absolutely love it, I had a slight problem with this chapter and the way Avrille took a first kiss to mean love upon assumption, rather than evidence. As I reread the chapter today, it would appear that I misremembered that particular moment, so I would like to amend my earlier comment to say that I love your story through and through. You are a spectacularly talented writer and this story is one which I think even Rowling herself would love. Since Alan Rickman died ten days ago leaving a hole in my heart, I have rewatched thirty-nine of his movies, reread "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince," reread "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows," reread "Perfume: The Story of a Murderer," and I have come to reread this. Snape was such a magical, beautiful character and you have truly done him justice in your writing. Thank you for that.

Author's Response: So in response to this question you had: no, you're not imagining things. The way I originally wrote it, I did have Avrille say something like, "Is this really ... real? Do you ... really love me?" But after thinking it over myself, and having other readers mention they had a hard time believing she would jump to that conclusion so quickly--especially after telling herself for months Severus could in no possible way ever have romantic feelings with her--I decided to change it. I do think that by then Avrille would have had enough of a feeling for Severus's personality to know he wasn't the type of person to risk his career for a lust-filled fling, but I agree with you that it was a big jump for her character to make, at least out loud, from one kiss to love. Part of that is my own fault. I was my husband's first and only girlfriend, and we got engaged in high school after dating for only three months, so we had a big dose of that first love is forever thing. Of course I know we're in the vast, vast minority (half of our married friends already being divorced is a testament to that) but I was a lot younger when I wrote this story. But anyway, yes, it's been changed now. :)

Honestly, I don't think I've even come close to processing Alan Rickman's death. I was still recovering from the sucker punch of losing David Bowie, another one of my idols, so hearing about Alan's death was like getting kicked in the stomach when the wind had already been knocked out of me; it hurt but not nearly as much as it would have if I wasn't already in shock. I think it will hit me later, probably next time I watch a bunch of his movies like you did. I've seen almost everything he's ever been in, except for his most recent 4-5 movies. Since I spent something like ten years on and off again writing this story and its sequel, the Snape character (and obviously Alan's portrayal of him) has grown to feel like a part of my family. Despite the fact that I don't *exactly* picture my Severus as Alan Rickman (more on that in a later reply) it was still his interpretation of the character in the movies that first grabbed my attention and made me read about Snape more carefully in the books, then eventually grow to absolutely love him. So, BIG HUGS all around to us fans who feel like we had to watch Snape die all over again. :( I don't know if "thanks" is the right thing to say for you sharing your grief with me, but I think you know what I mean when I say thanks. We're all in this together.

And of course thank you for the review and your compliments :) I cared way too much about Snape the way J.K. Rowling wrote him to take too many liberties with his characters. Any I did take were the result of having started the story before HBP was published.

~Renny


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cordelia Palmer Chapter One - Avrille

24th January 2016:
Alright, while I love the story of Snape J.K. Rowling wrote detailing his past and his love of Lily, etcetera, I have read your story probably around fifteen times over the past few years. I have links to it on my desktop and on my phone homescreen. I am a writer and a passionate grammarian, and I therefore find it hard to appreciate fanfiction, as I tend to get caught up in the particulars and small (or glaring) errors. You are a beautiful writer and it always brings me great joy to read this story. I cried for an hour when Snape died and his memories were described. I like the idea that things worked out a little more happily for him. Avrille is a wonderful character Who is far more expertly developed than most original characters I have found in fanfiction - almost as though she were of Rowling's own creation. On top of that, there is only one thing in your story that does not ring true to me (that Avrille would assume Snape loved her after their first kiss and thereby ask him if it was true - I don't think a first kiss represents true love and, while I can accept that they were in love, I struggle to accept that she knows that first kiss means love) and, while that sort of thing would ordinarily put me off a story, yours is so brilliant in every other way that I find myself drawn back to it time and again. Thank you for having written this. I am a massive fan.

Author's Response: Wow, hi! Talk about great timing! Since I'm not active writing fan fic anymore, reviews have trickled to almost nothing, which is completely understandable. Therefore I don't tend to check this site very often anymore. So imagine my delight and surprise to not only have new reviews, but to have them be so incredibly nice!

So wow, Cordelia, where to begin. I guess I just want to say thank you about a million times. To have someone say that they read the story to the end is pretty cool. To have someone say they liked it enough to re-read it makes me think, "Wow, I must have done something right!" To have someone say they've read it "around fifteen times" leaves me ... speechless? I mean, what an unsurpassable honor. I wrote these stories completely for myself, because it was something I would want to read personally, because it helped me get through multiple rough periods in my life, and because it helped me deal with a whole lot of sadness when Snape died in the books (even though I really couldn't have imagined a more poignant end for him, despite the fact it made me bawl my eyes out as well when I was reading it). So to have something that I consider very personal to touch someone else in a deep way means a lot to me. So thank you so much for coming back to read so many times and for also letting me know.

Since you left several more reviews, I'll respond to the points you brought up in those chapters specifically. But rest assured you're not going crazy; there were changes made to the story over the years, either because of things that ended up bothering me or things that careful readers like yourself brought to my attention. This story was my first foray into serious fan fiction--definitely the first thing I ever published online to be read and dissected by strangers--so all around it's been a really cool learning experience for me. And getting a super thoughtful review like yours is a much needed mood boost when I've been struggling lately with the obligations of motherhood leaving me no time or energy to start my original fiction. Hopefully that will happen soon. But until then I'll enjoy reading whatever reviews you have time to leave and responding the best I can without rambling on and on too much (oops, too late?)

Thanks a ton!
~Renny


 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Epilogue - Avrille

24th January 2015:
Renny! A perfect end to a wonderful story. Thinking back I think my favorite part was their first real kiss in Hogsmeade. That started their relationship and brought us here. I still have an inkling all will not be perfect in the sequel but I won't think about that now. Wonderful job! Years later and your hardwork is still being read. Don't be a stranger!

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Eight - Severus

24th January 2015:
Oh wow! I've fallen in love with Dumbledore all over again! He was so funny and had his little charm and twinkle that only he could have. I appreciated Severus worrying and opening up to Dumbledore and Avrille. Our man has gone through such a change. I cried a little.

Okay maybe I'm crying a lot.

 Report Review

Review #9, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Seven - Avrille

24th January 2015:
Go Avrille, you bad apple! That chapter was hard to read. I think because I was still or I am convinced the death wish will take hold of them still. Just because she's pregnant she might not survive childbirth and I don't know there are just so many unknowns. You're too good with not giving anything away. I'm not sure I can handle more shocks.

 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Six - Severus

24th January 2015:
No! I know everything is going to be fine because there's a sequel but no! That was truly horrible to see Severus so weak and vulnerable. Of course no matter how strong Severus acts like he is there are always cracks. He's human even though I and Avrille see him as more than that.

 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Five - Avrille

24th January 2015:
Come on Avrille! Save your future husband! Grr...the only bad thing about magic are those protective spells. Obviously they're useful but come on! I thought maybe she would easily be able to get in because his magic knows her and she's part of him now. I thought foolishly because she's his wife to be the property would automatically allow family in. Can never make it easy, can you?! Haha.

 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Four - Severus

24th January 2015:
Wow. His memories are so painful. I'm still crying a little from the last chapter so to read this, well, it really struck me. I liked that you didn't stick to one timeline of just his father. I reckon Avrille memories will touch the surface and that will be horrid. Only a few chapters left and you're killing me here.

 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Three - Avrille

24th January 2015:
No!

No!

No!

I figured it out in the other chapter but wanted to be wrong. She's pregnant. She's going to die, isn't she? I'm actually crying at the thought.

Why would Severus's mother not reveal the location of her son. Is it because it was a vision and they don't reveal all or the spells that don't allow anyone on the property?

 Report Review

Review #14, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-Two - Severus

24th January 2015:
This is not the story to read to get me back to sleep! I'm going to have nightmares. That completely blindsided me. Beyond freaky. Severus is strong but his strength is wavering as he grows hungrier. You know what gets me though is that it would happen to him. Fall in love, nearly die. The universe is forever out to get him. It's like he never had a chance.

 Report Review

Review #15, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty-One - Avrille

24th January 2015:
So Nan gets visions too? She's so flighty I wish she would sit down and explain herself sometimes but she's young and has such personality I can't fault her for that. So Avrille forced herself to have vision. I'm assuming that was Severus's mother? That's my best guess and what I undersrand. For a moment the dream felt so real and now I'm wondering what if all of this is just not reality. In the sense they're not actually together or is that looking too much into it? I don't know something feels off and I can't figure out what it is.

 Report Review

Review #16, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Thirty - Severus

24th January 2015:
I'm on my phone at three in the morning unable to sleep reading this chapter so this review will be short. I'm starting to get it now. So the Death Wish means Severus should die. I say should because I don't see that happening. My tone has changed! I see him dying of his own accord in the future. That was seriously creepy though when he took the clothes off the corpse. You really have to have a burning hatred for someone in order to do that. I can't imagine.

 Report Review

Review #17, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Nine - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
What's wrong with Severus? Is it the Dark Lord? Is it his mark? IS IT THE DEATH WISH?

...Mystery. This mystery is killing me.

Anyway, the proposal was beautiful. Italy! If only. I'm all for happy endings and seeing these warm moments between them is great but what really gets me about your writing and what keeps me coming back are your descriptions. How you're able to make me feel everything they are feeling, happiness, lust, love, pain. It's an emotional roller coaster as I read on and I'm not mad about it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Eight - Severus

23rd January 2015:
Its no good. I cant remove it from you, she said sadly. I had suspected she was trying to do something like that.

^ Aw. Oh Avrille. That was really sweet.

I STILL DON'T GET THE DEATH WISH, GIRL! I just don't understand it. What exactly is supposed to happen to Severus? Maybe if she has a child she dies or he dies? If they get married and then consummate their marriage? I feel like I'm missing something completely!

And he wants to get married! Severus! I figured it was coming so maybe by the end of the story or the next few chapters. I feel like I'm missing something though and it's there, right in front of my face, you always give some clues and foreshadowing things to come.

OO! Patronus. So she's going to be around for the next war, the order maybe? Ah! I'm not sure if you're skipping a few years or what. A time jump would make sense but I don't see Severus wanting Avrille involved. He had nothing to lose before but now he does. So she needs to learn how to protect herself and then this Death Wish.

So maybe he dies either way. The Death Wish doesn't impact him. Grr.I can't figure it out!

 Report Review

Review #19, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Seven - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
Bad boy! I am your mother, and you will love me!

^ That was a little crazy to me. Maybe it's because I'm watching this really creepy lifetime movie or something but that didn't sit well with me. Now with her magic back I feel like Avrille has a sense of confidence she didn't have before. It has come out in full effect and I guess it feels a little off to me.

I'm just not used to her being so strong? I guess. I kind of always felt she was a little timid in her own way but it was charming. Don't get me wrong I still root for her and for Severus too.

I'm probably looking too deep into this. I didn't realize she was SO powerful. It's a little scary! But should it be? UH, I can't decide how i feel!

 Report Review

Review #20, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Six - Severus

23rd January 2015:
As much as I wish that were true, I have in the past received a few valentines, anonymously of course. I always promptly threw them into the fire.

^ I completely forgot about the Valentine's Day scene as I read through the rest of the chapter. Valentine's Day was funny but man. Where do I begin?

The sheer horror of having to just read about her father's death scene over and over again. I can't even imagine going through something like that. Every time we revisted the memory I felt my heart tug and tears form in my eyes. How horrible but this will be her closure, her first step to being able to perform magic like a regular witch.

I think I have been doubting Avrille and her ability. I'm not entirely sure of your timeline and I know there's a sequel to the story but if Avrille doesn't die (still convinced she will at the end) I see her fighting with the Order to not avenge her father's death but to make sure something like this doesn't happen to anyone else again.

The way you described Severus going into her mind and sifting through her memories was amazing. I found myself glued to my computer screen and I was supposed to get off and stop reading thirty minutes ago. The sheer amount of work is obvious in this chapter. I feel like even throughout the last few chapters your writing has grown and improved so much.

 Report Review

Review #21, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Five - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
I thought this was a filler chapter. Not much happened but I think this is where the action will begin. He's going to continue to probe her mind and sift through her memories and I'm intrigued what he's going to find. It'll be interesting to see her perform magic eventually because I feel like it'll be so foreign to her and she won't be able to control her magic. I have this feeling there's a dark side to Avrille that I'm missing. I don't think it's intentional but there's something there.

And now the comment Severus made about their child has me reeling. I ask again, can they have children? Can they even be together with the death wish? I'm so confused!

 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Four - Severus

23rd January 2015:
How strong is Avrille's magic exactly?

I figured she wouldn't be angry at Severus for being a Death Eater. It's not like he attacked her father. What I'm more interested in is the Death Wish. What exactly does it mean? Can he never make love to her? Or have children with her? If they were to marry would she die or something around those lines? You only gave us a snippet of info and I just want to know what doom to expect.

I'm telling you. Even though there's a sequel I feel the worse. Avrille will not survive.

Author's Response: So... you've gotten far enough that I don't feel like I need to explain exactly how strong Avrille's magic is. But yeah, I always pictured her magic being slightly stronger than Severus's, though innately. He had to work really hard to get that strong, though he had a gift for it as a child to help him, in my mind at least. But Avrille, it was sort of there already, waiting to be nurtured. I have the feeling that if she ever really worked on it, she probably could have been as strong as Dumbledore at his peak, and probably at a younger age, though I don't think she'd ever have the interest in doing so.

I do want to say that there IS a reason for her extraordinary powers. I'll guiltily admit that when I first wrote this story, it was sort of a "she's powerful cause I say so, so there," type of thing. Her character was originally very, very loosely based on another powerful female character in a fantasy series. But later that kind of bothered me, so I thought up an explanation for both that and the visions Avrille has. It's about mid-way in the sequel, if you're interested in reading that someday ^_^

You know, being the writer and all, I also figured Avrille wouldn't blame Severus for being a Death Eater ;) But it's surprising how many people basically thanked me for having her act like an adult and accept he made some mistakes as a youth, like almost everyone does. I was like, "Um, yeah, cause she IS an adult..." Maybe it's because the greater percentage of the site's readers are a lot younger than me? No idea. But, you still can't really blame Severus for being nervous about it. He can't forgive himself still, so his greatest fear is that she'd feel the same way.

Well, you also know all about the Death Wish now, so not going to comment on that. I'll just say that "consummate" WAS the key word there. Again, I think a few readers in the past didn't know what that meant. And funny that not one person has EVER asked me what the Latin in the Death Wish means (it means, "to ruin utterly," basically. In case you cared :D)

Thanks for the review! I think I can maybe fit one more reply in tonight, but it's getting late! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #23, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Three - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
Maybe because you hope Ill be spending a lot of time here? I thought privately with a small smile as I speared my eggs. I hope I will, as well

^ I love this cheeky side of Avrille even though it's in her head and not out loud. Severus would not be able to contain himself if she said something like that to him. He could barely sleep in a seperate room from her!

The addition of Justin's family was intriguing. Especially the way the staff just turned silent at the sight and movement of them. Or lack of movement because they weren't eating. How do you celebrate a holiday and pretend to be joyful when your son is petrified? It's like when you have a death in the family and you don't feel like celebrating that year or for some people never again. It's like he's in a coma. He's still there. They can save him and he will be back once again but the unknown is too much to bear.

Author's Response: Oh cheeky Avrille! I love her. Cause you know, ladies get urges too! I imagine she probably was starting to feel her clock ticking by then, not for babies necessarily but for SOMETHING to happen. I'd think twenty-four/five was pretty old in the magical world too to still be completely inexperienced.

But I'm glad she kept it to herself. I think their relationship would have gotten pretty personal pretty quickly if one of them had just been like, "Hey, so uh... do you want to... you know." And then that would have caused ALL kinds of problems, Avrille not having much magic back yet and all. Not to mention I like that they got to sort of really get to know each other outside of just their school relationship before becoming that intimate.

I always have some issues with the first couple books, though I am SUPER UNDERSTANDING that JKR didn't have every single possible detail explained or thought through in the beginning. But certain things, like the fact that the petrified kids couldn't somehow be cured before Hogwarts's mandrakes were harvested (I mean, St. Mungo's doesn't have some Mandrake Draught in stock? Or Snape for that matter?) always kind of bothered me. I tried my best to think of my own reasons for why these things would happen in the books. Personally, I thought it was kind of unbelievable that kids who were attacked would remain at Hogwarts, the scene of the crime, and not be transferred somewhere safer, and that was before I became a parent myself. Maybe cause the parents are Muggles, they're just kind of trusting Dumbledore to know what's best? So my addition of having the families of Colin and Justin show up was kind of a nod to that. Like, these are real kids with families and lives, not just background characters.

I'm really fortunate in that I've never had anything tragic like a close death happen right around a holiday. I always felt bad for Severus in this story, having his mother's death two days before Christmas, not that he ever had a great Christmas before then anyway. I like to think that later having a family takes some of the sorrow out of that time of year for him. Thanks as always for the review, Deeds! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #24, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-Two - Severus

23rd January 2015:
Now she knew how madly in love with her I had fallen, although I doubt she understood how deep my love ran and how I would willingly give my life to protect her.

^ It amazes me because I know you started writing your story because we knew entirely who Severus was but you were able to write him really well because Severus has always been about love. Sure it was unrequited love with Lily but love for her made him switch sides and protect her son even though he despised him. There are very few Death Eater's who can love but then again Severus has never been a true Death Eater by heart. It is true though, he would do anything for Avrille, because again he loves her.

All of a sudden I feel really morbid. I think Avrille will die in the end. I just don't see them having a happy ending.

I knew I had been insane to even consider the possibility I could be in that bed with her and sleep innocently.

^ Severus you old dog. I know they have to keep their love a secret, at least for the time being, but still I can't help but love their love. It's warm and comforting and dare I say easy. I don't think Severus or Avrille are easy to love because they're complicated people but when they're together and experience innocent moments like that you can't help but smile and cheer for them.

Author's Response: Hi Deeds! Back to knock out a couple of replies before it gets too ridiculously late. It's really been fun reading through your reviews and having to reach back into my brain to remember things about this story. I was so deep into the sequel for so long in the recent past, that this story *really* feels old to me now. Old but good! I still like it at least, lol. The characters also feel pretty young and innocent (though maybe not too innocent...)

I can't remember exactly if I'd read Deathly Hallows yet when I wrote this part of the story. It was probably pretty darn close. But you know, it really doesn't matter cause, like you said, Severus has always been about the love, even when we didn't "know" it yet. I always read him as a very deep person, and certain quotes of his in earlier books always gave me pause, especially that one he says to Harry during Occlumency lessons about "...people who wear their hearts proudly on their sleeves," i.e. weak people. That made me think, "Huh. This guy is obviously strong. So... he's implying he does have a heart, but he doesn't flash it around for the world to see because he's so strong?" So yeah, little things like that got me thinking he could really have this immense capacity to love if given the chance. I kind of knew it before reading DH that if that guy loved, he would love HARD and probably only one person ever. I've read other fics since with a Snape that has more casual "encounters," and they never sat well with me.

Well, I won't comment on the ending here since you've already finished the story, but I do think it's funny how quickly you went all morbid on me! I mean, yeah, it was supposed to *maybe* read a little too good to be true, and I *might* have been toying with the idea at some point a long time ago to have Avrille die at the end of this story... but maybe the real end of the Harry Potter series depressed me enough that I didn't want to do that to my Severus. I distinctly remember my mom begging me not to do that to him. Hehe.

Severus is such a sly old dog. I mean, he might be all genius-y and proper and noble, but he's still a dude. I would imagine he probably thought a lot of stuff a lot of the time about Avrille that I didn't think necessary to spell out.

What can I say, I also love those two together. Duh. Somehow, I don't know, they just FIT. I don't think either one is a complete saint, even though they're both very good people, but their strengths and flaws balance out. Severus is obviously very critical and harsh sometimes. Avrille gives him a sense of humor and, I'd like to think, tones down some of his worst behavior to certain students like Neville. Avrille tends to go into a self-doubting/deprecating mood sometimes. Severus gives her the encouragement and validation, being her academic idol originally, to allow her to see that she's a very powerful magic user in her own right and deserves to stand at his side as an equal.

Ugh, I almost wish I didn't have all these reviews ;) They're making me think about these two characters TOO MUCH AGAIN when I'm supposed to be doing original fiction work. But it's definitely fun! Thank you for that! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #25, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Twenty-One - Avrille

23rd January 2015:
Perfection.

You have turned my mind into jelly and I don't know what else to say and I had a lot to say originally.

Just pure perfection.

A wonderful kiss. Great imagery and conversation but more. There was just something magical about it and yet---completely normal. It just fit them perfectly.

Man, I wish Severus's existed today. I love my boyfriend and everything but Severus makes me swoon.

I feel giddy with excitement and naturally I know it won't last long.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That chapter was obviously one of my top favorites. It took me a really, really long time to write (as in, get to that part of the story) even though I wrote this story very out of order. So when I got to where they finally kissed for real, I was pretty excited. Ok, I might have been fist-pumping the air and squealing. I'm going to hope that most writers kind of love their own characters and do that sort of thing, and that I don't sound like a huge loser.

I remember that chapter being one that I wrote in almost one continuous binge and completed at 4am, and it all just sort of seemed to work. I don't think I started it out thinking, "Ok, they're going to have this totally rockin' snowball fight" or whatever. So maybe that's where some of the normality and spontaneity came from. Who knows. That was a REALLY long time ago now. I'm just glad you liked it!

Sigh, don't we all wish there were Severus's out there. My husband is pretty damn awesome too, but I don't think I could ever get him into a waistcoat. ;) Thank you, thank you for the review! ~Renny


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>