22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elle Young Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

4th October 2011:
I love this story :)
You're such a good author. x

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you like it :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Alopex Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

14th February 2009:
Another nice story and a very interesting idea! I think it's great to have a Muggle (or a Muggleborn, at least) teaching Muggle Studies. I especially enjoyed the last part, describing Annie's arrival and adjustment to Hogwarts. The first part moved much more slowly (although you certainly crammed a lot into one story), but it was necessary background and set-up.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I wanted to write something for Teacher's Day and I also wanted to write something a little different. I thought it would interesting having a Muggle teaching Muggle studies and trying to adjust to the magical world. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLane Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

28th January 2009:
*grins at the dedication*

*cracks up at McGonagall coming to ask Annie to teach in the UK* That sounds familiar. I've got a few e-mails and phone calls along that line: "Come teach in the UK". Seriously! Not because I'm such a gifted teacher though; just 'cause they're short of teachers over there, apparently. I'd be rather scared to live and teach in a different country though.

I like her method of teaching, I must say.

I actually posted a challenge ages back about writing about a Muggle going to Hogwarts for a realistic reason, such as a Muggle teacher for Muggle Studies. Nobody took it up though.

Good story.

Author's Response: Glad you liked the dedication :P

Yes, as we discussed through PM, there is not just a shortage of teachers in the UK, but in the US and Australia too. I don't blame you for being scared of living and teaching in a different country, I think I would be too, although it would be a fantastic opportunity.

I'm glad you liked her method of teaching, I based it on my own beliefs of teaching and how I would like to teach when I have my own classroom some day (as you know I'm currently doing substitute teaching).

It's a shame no one took up your challenge, perhaps I can be an honourary challengee with my fic :D

Thanks so much for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #4, by queen_luna Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

14th October 2008:
This was a lovely one-shot! I liked Annie's character, but I felt like you could have developed her a little more. Let readers know more of what she's thinking, instead of just simply stating what she's seeing. It's an interesting idea that a non-magical teacher would have been asked to teach at Hogwarts. I never thought about the possibility, so kudos to you for the creative idea. Great job. ^_^

Author's Response: I would really love to develop this more at some stage (if only I had the time) as I think that there is a lot more that could be explored and expanded upon in relation to both Annie as a character and the storyline in general, so thank-you for your comments. I'm glad you liked the idea and the story. Thanks for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by dracoslover1 Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

13th October 2008:
I must say I was a little hesistent when I first began to read your story here. I thought that at first Annie might be a Mary-Sue. But as I began to read the story and read about her experiences, I thought otherwise. She does have some Mary-Sue qualities (for example, being the only muggle at Hogwarts, finding out about the wizarding world from McGonagall, etc.) but you took those qualities and made them into a real character.

Your descripitions were good for the one shot. I think this would make an excellent short story or novella--taking the scenes like her debating whether or not to go to Hogwarts-- and establishing them into seperate chapters would be great. But it is your story so you can disregard my suggestion.

I like your story. Good job!

Author's Response: I thought the fact that she was a Muggle teacher rather than a Muggle student was something a little different and therefore steer her away from being a Mary-Sue, I'm glad you thought that overall she wasn't a Mary-Sue. Obviously I want my characters to be real and un-Mary-Sue, so I'm glad you thought she was a 'real character'.

I would love to turn this one-shot into a short story or novella at some stage, but at the moment I just don't have the time as I am already working on a novel and a short story, with another story in the works!

Thanks so much for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #6, by FanofCards25 Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

12th October 2008:
This story has an interesting point of view. Who would have thought that McGonagall would introduce a Muggle into the Magical world. I wonder if they had Muggles teaching the class before this or if they had Wizards who study Muggles teaching? Anyways ... Good Story, Well Written, Keep up the good work! 10/10

Author's Response: It's interesting to wonder if they ever had a Muggle in this position before, though I would say probably not, it would probably be either a wizard trained in Muggle studies, or else a Muggleborn wizard. I think after the war they may be more open-minded. I'm glad you thought it was an interesting idea, thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Leo072491 Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

8th October 2008:
Nice dedication to all teachers. I'm sure they all appreciate it! I really like the teacher you created. she was nice and relateable and I found her character most appealing. I think that your story as great up until she arrived at Hogwarts. The only issue I had after she arrived at Hogwarts was because I wish there had been a bit more dialogue. I think that really would have made the story even greater. But you did a fantastic job and I loved the story!

~Leo

Author's Response: Thank-you, Leo. As a teacher myself this was something I really wanted to write. I partially based Annie's character on myself, so perhaps that is why she was so relateable - she was more than just a character. I think if I was to come back to this story there is a lot more I would like to put into it, I think I would extend it into a short story or novella. I'm glad you liked it, and I appreciate your comments. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by CheleCooke Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

7th October 2008:
Awww. This was very sweet! I hope McGonagall checked with the Ministry before telling a Muggle about Hogwarts. *waggles finger* he he.

I didn't find any errors that need noting, so I'm afraid this will be quite a short review. However, know that I really like it. It was original, nice and easy to read. A good feel good fic!

CheleCooke

Author's Response: Yes, one would hope McGonagall checked with the ministry lol. Of course being McGonagall I'm sure she had it all approved, and with Shacklebolt as Minister I'm sure there was no problem.

Thank-you so much for reading and reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ollie Vander Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

19th April 2008:
Wow, really nice story! Beautifully written, well characterized, (McGonagall I mean,) just one little negative comment;
I don't think that Annie would have been so calm as she was. If I hadn't read Harry Potter and someone came up to me and asked that, I would ask all about everything. She seemed a little too "Oh, cool!" These people have never heard of it before, so you have to try adn get that across.

All in all, great story, 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank-you so much! I totally understand what you mean about Annie's quick acceptance, at the time I wrote it I wanted to post it in time for World Teacher's Day so I didn't focus on that aspect as much as I could have. I actually want to come back to this story and expand upon it once all my other WIPs are finished and that's definitely an aspect I want to explore more.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by PoohBear813 Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

7th April 2008:
What a clever idea!! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Flower n Prongs Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

30th March 2008:
Cute. The "hello phone" and the tennis racket/food serving device both made me laugh. I enjoyed this. =)

Author's Response: Thank-you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I definitely had fun writing it. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Luna_Lover Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

27th December 2007:
Oooh! That was a great story. Quite original, I must add. But there wasnt much detail in it which made it rather blan. But I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank-you so much for your review. When I wrote this I was trying to do it quickly so it would be out in time for World Teacher's Day, so I guess it wasn't as detailed as it could have been.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Midwinter_wolf Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

13th December 2007:
Wow! I'm addicted to your stories. Happy world teachers day, even though it was quite a while back Lol! This could make a really interesting story and im sure (from what i've read) This is a totaly new idea. Please can we have a sequal?!? I need more! =D

Author's Response: Thank-you so much, I'm glad you liked it. You are not the first to request more from this story, and I am seriously considering extending it from a one-shot, but I really want to focus on finishing my other WIPs at the moment.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lily_girl Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

10th December 2007:
I really liked this story. Not much I can say except, good job!

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by seeker4u Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

9th December 2007:
AW why da ya have to stop there i love this story and cant wait 2 read nore. perfect grammer good text and ill give u an O 4 that

Author's Response: Thank-you for the 'O', seeker4u and for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed reading this story. At the moment I am working on three other stories, but as soon as I have finished them I want to come back to this story and explore it in more detail.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Pookha Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

17th November 2007:
I really like the story, but I have one minor problem. It feels to me like Annie agreed to teach at Hogwarts awfully quickly. It would feel more true to me if she demanded to see some magic of McGonagall or perhaps had gone to see Hogwarts first before agreeing.

I like the lessons that she had, and wish that teachers here (U.S.) were often more inspired in their lessons. I have a foreign language degree, with a minor in linguistics and a minor in psychology. I did my student teaching to children in foreign language, but I rapidly found that teaching is not for me. I lack the patience needed to have students grasp concepts well. My point here is: I applaud you and all other teachers. Little pay for lots of work, treated unfairly by parents who don't understand your challenges, students with behavioural problems, students with attention problems, teachers see it all.

Please continue writing, please continue teaching children. Learning critical thinking is becoming a lost art in a modern age filled with laziness of thinking and we need more teachers like you.

Author's Response: Annie already had a certain belief in everything magic, which contributed to her quick acceptance, as well as her lifelong desire to want to teach overseas. She really thought that even if it turned out to be a hoax, at least she would have gained a free trip to the UK. But it's hard not to believe McGonagall anyway, she just doesn't look like the type of person that would kid around. The main reason it happened so fast is because I wanted to get the fic out in time for Teacher's Day and so skimmed a few minor details. As I mentioned in other replies, I may consider going back to this and developing it, in which case I could spend more time on those minor details. So thank-you for pointing out this problem.

I love being an Australian teacher as we often grasp onto the latest and newest education ideas and I love the freedom we have when teaching the curriculum. And yes, patience is definitely a necessary trait to have when teaching. Teachers do go through a lot of stress for very little pay, it's no wonder the US, UK and Australia are all experiencing teacher shortages.

Writing and teaching have always been my passions and I will not be giving up either any time soon. Thank-you so much for your critique, your compliments and your review.


 Report Review

Review #17, by potterlover Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

5th November 2007:
fab story. you have a great imagination!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed reading it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MyronWin Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

1st November 2007:
I liked it. After having read your Halloween story yesterday, I was more than a little anxious to read anything else you have written and I must say that I am quite pleased that I was introduced to your works. You have created a very likeable character in Annie and I hope to see her in more stories. I am quite eager to see Annie in a more "usual" Hogwarts situation and her reactions to, and dealing with, more magic and other magic users. Having a muggle teach Muggle Studies is, quite frankly, a stroke of genius. I would also be interesting in reading how Headmistress McGonnagal selected her to teach and whether there was any disagreement among the wizarding community about the choice. The time setting of your story is unclear, obviously your intent, but my nearly legendary detective skills lead me to conclude that it is set at some point after HP7. I must say that reading your stories makes me want to read more. I have to start this stuff earlier in the day rather than less than an hour before I need to sleep. Thank you for your story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It definitely makes me feel good as a writer to know that my writing actually makes you want to read more of my writing!

After having written this one shot for World Teacher's Day, I am now thinking that there is so much more to explore with this character and her time at Hogwarts. It is definitely something I want to come back to later, when I have finished my other WIPs.

Your detective skills are quite accurate, this was set shortly after DH, it was my thoughts that McGonagall would take on the role of headmistress for a few years after DH before she retired.


 Report Review

Review #19, by morgana67 Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

30th October 2007:
Wow, this story is a real treat. It's written in a lovely style too. I could imagine being Annie. Wouldn't we all love teaching at Hogwarts. I loved how you did the lesson as well, asking them what they already knew. I was hoping that there might have been some interaction with the teachers we know from the books (mind you, a few of them like Lupin or Snape are dead, assuming this is post DH). I have put it in my favourites. It just makes you want to go and teach at Hogwarts. Really awesome!

Author's Response: lol. I kind of wrote this story from my own perspective really. I thought about what it would be like if I was suddenly asked to teach at Hogwarts. So in a way, if any other teachers read it, they would also feel as though it could be them in Annie Parker's shoes.

I generally teach my lessons in the way Annie does, asking students what they already know, it's a great way to gauge their current level of knowledge and gives me a starting point for implementing a series of lessons on a certain topic.

And yes it is post DH, hence why McGonagall is the headmistress (though we know she is ready for retirement).

Thanks for putting it in your favourites, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by seanos Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

30th October 2007:
Really good. You could go for a bit more on what Annie teachers.

First thing I'd do in that classroom is rip out the blackboard and replace it with a whiteboard.

One thing she could do is go through muggle newspapers with her class.

Plus a bit of muggle science.

In all great - I was wanting more.

Author's Response: There is definitely potential to go a lot further than this, I suppose I didn't really go into as much detail as I could have because I wanted to get it posted in time for World Teacher's Day. I'll have to come back to it in the future and expand upon it.

I agree with your whiteboard suggestion - I can't stand blackboards either! I like your ideas about the Muggle newspapers and science, I'll have to keep those in mind.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. :) If I get around to expanding upon this story I will let you know.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Labby Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

28th October 2007:
This story was adorable! I loved it! I thought it was a really creative idea - I haven't seen too many takes on the Muggle studies class. I would have loved to have read more about everything going on in the classroom, and her adjustments, but this worked out pretty well as a one-shot! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks Labby! I was thinking of maybe going back one day and making it into an actual story, it definitely has potential to be a lot longer and to explore her whole first year as a teacher at Hogwarts. Ahhh...too many plot bunnies, never enough time!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ginwannabe Learning to Teach, Teaching to Learn

28th October 2007:
Teachers do indeed learn something new everyday! What an interesting concept. I thoroughly enjoyed it. From one teacher to another, thank you!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and you are welcome. I hope you had a good World Teacher's Day! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login