Reading Reviews for Now or Never
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by blackthoughtsredwriting Now or Never

20th December 2009:
That was sweet =] I liked it. lol It was a good little fluff story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Daphne 13 Now or Never

12th April 2009:
You should really continue this!! I love it!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cedrics_gurl Now or Never

1st January 2008:
Perfection. Utter perfection. The only thing I would change is the spacing between the lyrics and the story as sometimes it was hard to tell what was what, besides that - truly amazing.

I personally can't stand Draco/Hermione, Ron/Hermione is my favourite pairing ever, but reading this made me see that it isn't the pairing of Draco/Hermione that I hate, it's the waay most people write it - they leave so many gaps, so many places where I can say "what if...?", but this story, with this story you didn't provide me with any spaces that I could think those two words, for that, I applaud you! :D

At first I thought you introduced the Death Eaters and the fighting to quickly, almost like you stumbled into saying, but then I thought - "That's what Draco did, he was forced into thinking about death, destruction and Muggle-haters, so why should I be any different?". Introducing the danger the way you did, and at the time you did it, is all part of your plot and your atmosphere, and without that, then maybe the story wouldn't be what it is.

I'm sorry for the rambling review, and I'm sorry it took me so long to reply to the request, but it's done now, and I hope this review is okay. I know I haven't written much, but I'm scared I might start rambling on about how excellent it is and you may grow an ego as large as my nose (that's big by the way, I have a HUGE nose... I blame my father...), but then again, after writing that, you have every reason to boast about it. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for the long review! I'm glad you liked the way I wrote them, because my favourite pairing is also Ron/Hermione! So to hear that I wrote a pairing I don't really like much very well is fantastic!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Clare Roy Now or Never

26th November 2007:
This was good! I love that it's about Hermione and Draco, because I'm a devoted Dramione shipper.
The beginning had great detail, and the together-before-the-battle plotline was very touching. It was rather out of character, but aren't all Hermione/Dracos? =]
One think to make it more realistic would be have Hermione call Draco "Malfoy" until she professes her feelings for him.
Wonderful story!

-- Clare (Vintagegrl 19 on the forums)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The only way I know how to write Draco/Hermione is out of character, but I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Icy_Blue_Rose Now or Never

24th November 2007:
Love this story! Totally wicked!!

Author's Response: Thanks Icy_Blue_Rose!

 Report Review

Review #6, by JLHufflepuff Now or Never

15th November 2007:
This is very well-written in terms of descriptions and emotions. The only problem I see is that I think both of them are a little out of character. I don't see Draco as being sensitive and unafraid and willing to sacrifice for love. Unless something big happens, I don't really see it happening. That's just my take on Draco, though. Anyway, I think that the song fit in with the ideas in the story. The way you described him kissing her skin seemed very real.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I felt I had to change Draco character's, or at least be flexible, in order to make the relationship between Hermione and Draco possible.

 Report Review

Review #7, by amritab529 Now or Never

15th November 2007:
that was really really good.
i enjoyed reading it a lot.
great job. 10/10.


Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by AussieAnatomy627 Now or Never

15th November 2007:
That was really sweet! I know it was a little cliche but it was written well. I understand why you made Hermione want to...go to the next level so quickly. Was it because she felt that she might not even be alive the next day and she really does like Draco so she wants to live her life to the fullest with him before she loses that chance? I know what I want to say but I'm not quite sure if it came out that way...

Great job anyway. A few syntax and grammar mistakes and the braks could have been better chosen, but nothing too major.

I think it was great!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I made things move quickly because the reader was suppose to get the idea that their feelings had been bubbling under the surface for awhile and things moved so quickly because they might only have one night left! I hope that helps. Thanks for being honest!

 Report Review

Review #9, by shmegalah Now or Never

14th November 2007:
i dont know what to say other than you used my favorite josh groban song ever
and i just love it
you're a great writer, i can't wait for some new stuff!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, i love the song too!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Lya Darkfury Now or Never

14th November 2007:
*sigh of happiness* that was a really sweet and wonderful song fic. The best one I have read to date. Well done!

Author's Response: wow, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by GryffindorSeth37 Now or Never

11th November 2007:
Well, I have to admit this was a rather nice story. I don't usually read Draco/Hermione all that much. But there is one thing that bothers me. Shouldn't Draco and Hermione develop their relationship before they go to Draco's room? Isn't that a bit too fast for a relationship? But nice story.

Seth

Author's Response: THanks for the review. I did think it was a bit fast but it was one of those situations were their feelings at been bubbling under the surface for awhile and it was the night before the final batle and emotions were running high. That was where i got the idea anyway.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Erized Now or Never

11th November 2007:
Well, I don't like songfics that much... I think that Dramione as you wrote it is very common I can't find anything original in this but Hey! it's an opinion if you think it's good, keep telling people to read it I'm sure you'll find someone who likes it!

Author's Response: Thanks for the honest review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by SilverThimble Now or Never

10th November 2007:
Hello, SilverThimble from the forums here.
I did like it, especially the dialogue, and a lot of the description.
A few minor problems: the 1st paragraph is pretty long, and the song lyrics didn't really stand out (maybe you could put them in italics or bold?). The whole sharing of a common room scenario is so overused, but you did put a bit of a spin on it by making it be the day before Voldemort's attack.
overall 77%

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and advice!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Girldetective85 Now or Never

10th November 2007:
Nice! This was fairly well written, and I'm not a big fan of Draco and Hermione but I enjoyed reading it. It's a tiny bit cliche, what with the two Heads sharing a common room so as to make it easier for them to have a relationship, but I do like that you had Hermione see how Draco changed and joined the Order's side. The song was nicely woven into the story. I think you could have broken up the first giant chunk into a few smaller paragraphs, to make for easier reading. There were a few grammar mistakes here and there, but all in all it was very clean. I also think you could have put the song lyrics into italics, just to make them stand out more? Especially the last line, just a suggestion. Nice job! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. It's currently in validation with edits to make it easier to read. This was a completely random story I wrote, so out of character for me, so I'm glad you enjoyed reading it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by jyyl94 Now or Never

7th November 2007:
Hiya ! You requested for me to review your story, so here I am.

Okay, the first thing I noticed was the length of each paragraph. It was rather hard to read and very annoying too, because I'm impatient and tend to get irked when reading stories which paragraphs are very long. Perhaps you could put a few spaces between each lines to break up the paragraph.

I'd suggest that you bold the title of this story, and also italic the lyrics or poem that you wrote here. It's rather hard to differentiate between the story itself and the poem/lyrics. I apologize for my very straightforward review because I'm a beta-reader, so I tend to point out everything that has to be improved on ! =]

I love your writing style, really, but I don't quite like the way you wrote this story. The words were kinda jumbled up and was hard to read, so maybe you could edit it ?

“Draco,” she said. “I didn’t want to offend you. There is nothing wrong with being afraid, the important thing is that you left—”
“That’s not why I left” he quickly admitted. “When I first left, I told Dumbledore of their plans, so he could prevent what they were going to do. I’m not one of them, Hermione. I couldn’t stand by Voldemort and what he believed in, no matter what he was going to do to me. But that’s not the only reason, Hermione."


Rather than writing like the extract above, I say that you put a spacing there so it will turn out like this :

“Draco,” she said. “I didn’t want to offend you. There is nothing wrong with being afraid, the important thing is that you left—”

“That’s not why I left” he quickly admitted. “When I first left, I told Dumbledore of their plans, so he could prevent what they were going to do. I’m not one of them, Hermione. I couldn’t stand by Voldemort and what he believed in, no matter what he was going to do to me. But that’s not the only reason, Hermione."


At least that doesn't look too jumbled up.

Come to think of it, would you like me to beta-read this story for you ? It's a one-shot, isn't it ? Then I have time. I definitely have time to beta-read one shots, but short stories and above I don't really have time as I'm an official beta for Jess aka Fields of Innoncence. So, would you like me to beta-read this story for you ? If you're interested in my services, OWL me on the forums and I will tell you what areas I expertise in and my experiences in beta-reading.

Hoping to hear from you !!

Janice (jyyl94 in the forums/HPFF/TDA)



Author's Response: Thanks for the long review! We'll talk more about it on the forums!

 Report Review

Review #16, by tinkerbell817 Now or Never

5th November 2007:
It's really hard to read, you should put more spaces in between paragraphs. Otherwise, it's pretty good.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, I've got to revise some of my stories because I've not very good with getting them on the site! But I'm getting the hang of it! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by HProse Now or Never

2nd November 2007:
I love the whole story line of this which, I think I've already told you. There are a few things that I noticed that I had missed when it was betaed. Small things like verbing, a semi-colon where a peroid should be, and a missing comma. I guess you can send the doc. to me over e-mail if you want me to go over it again. :) A million out of ten!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'll email the chapter to ASAP!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login