Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Learning to live again
  
1,144 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dowlirts99 They Do

24th February 2017:
You've done a great job over the last few chapters bringing H/G back together again, but done properly rather than rushing through things. Exactly the way it would have panned out IMO after the proposal bombshell; it was bound to take time and hard work after those events.

We see Ginny maturing quite a bit in these chapters, especially with her reaction to the Jaclyn situation. There is no way she would have been as understanding earlier in your story! The aerodynamic disadvantages bit made me laugh - you don't happen to have any spare action figures do you...?

Great to see the muggle-theme for the R/H wedding (Hermione would have it no other way) and you have managed to use it to show how all four of them have really developed personality-wise in the 18 months following the battle through your story, which isn't an easy thing to do especially when this is mainly an H/G plot. So hats off!

Author's Response: Yes, our favorite couple is maturing. And they needed to do so! If it took a while for them to grow apart it would take a while for them to get back together.

As for the wedding, I'm certain it would be muggle with small bits of magic. And I don't think Ron would care. I also don't have the Grangers loving, or even liking Harry due to the influences on their daughter.

thx again for the reviews


 Report Review

Review #2, by dowlirts99 Welcome Home

21st February 2017:
I notice a lot of people have been critical of your inclusion of Ginny saying no to the proposal, however I can definitely see where you are coming from with your take on this. And especially given the way you portray the two of them throughout the story so far. You have them both as quite hot-headed and wanting to do their own thing, which is fully understandable after the war and what they have been through.

So we can see why they (foolishly!) decided not to speak to each other about it in the prior chapters and even on the night itself - I think the thought of moving in together at only 17 has spooked Ginny past the point of reason here, at least for the time being?

One thing that did confuse me a bit - how come you had the whole family there to witness when the likes of Hermione and Molly knew it might not go down as planned? You have to feel for Harry but then again he's just as much to blame here...they will both have to learn from this.

Coming back to a couple of chapters ago (I had forgot to review as been busy over weekend), I must say your take on the graveyard visits was superbly written. A excellent addition to the story and not something I have seen before in other fics - really hammers home the raw emotion of the situation and the realisation it will take years to rebuild from this.

Author's Response: Graveyard visits- Harry is realizing that he has to come to grips with the past, and his underlying feeling of guilt. He finally confronts the past and does it by the grave visits. And while we've seen him an Ginny getting closer this is still something he is trying to hide from her. But she doesn't let him (good for her).

The proposal... yeah, not what people expect is it. And the split is pretty close to 50/50. Some say Harry's fault, others Ginny, but is either really to blame. It's a lesson in being open, it's a lesson in slowing down and taking a breath before you say something. Its about trying to force your will on another, its about putting your own needs above your partner's. But the thing that gets me the most- is how it just didn't have to be that way. If either Harry or Ginny calms down, it doesn't go the way it did. If he doesn't demand yes/no she has a way out. If she stops and realizes she can say yes and have a long engagement.

So many small things could have changed the outcome.

As for Molly/Hermione- its more of a case of hindsight is 20/20. They saw clues, but it wasn't until it all fell apart that the clues became obvious.

Thanks again for the reviews. Love the conversations.


 Report Review

Review #3, by dowlirts99 Serious Encounters

16th February 2017:
That was some holiday! Not sure my Miami trip will be quite as good as Harry's..but they definitely deserved that after what they've been through right?

I like the way you still managed to work in a bit of conflict with the Jeff situation. After all this is Harry Potter we're talking about so it can't all go as planned

Author's Response: I know!! too bad all holidays aren't like that. I really debated leaving the Jeff scene in or not. Wasn't sure if the story needed it, but I wanted to show he'd improved and this was a way to do that.

Thanks again for reading and even more for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #4, by dowlirts99 The Deal

13th February 2017:
The Quidditch scene had me hooked there you manage to keep the tempo flowing throughout the game right up til the end collision...a nasty crash indeed! But two sportsmen with the utmost respect for each other. Also a nice touch how you had Ron winning the game and deservedly getting his time in the spotlight.

Favorite part of the chapter though has to be "Healer, Professor, Girlfriend"; this is Ginny in a nutshell and sums up the developing relationship while still keeping things light-hearted.

On a side note another coincidence that you mention Miami. I am headed there (and to Key West/Key Marathon) from the UK in 3 weeks time for some well-deserved sun so here's hoping it stays in the 80s...

Author's Response: the Victor/Harry relationship is based on my best friend and I. If we played a sport against each other it was all out war, leading to several broken bones. It was the show of true respect to battle as hard and then laugh as the game was finished win, lose or draw.

Ginny is lots of people all wrapped up in one so I tried to let that show through in this chapter.

Have fun in Miami, yes it will be warm, its Miami. Fun town head over to south beach at night, cool place.


 Report Review

Review #5, by dowlirts99 Detention, Detention, Detention

12th February 2017:
As several of the older reviews have alluded to, you really nail mcgonagall in this chapter and she definitely fits with the canon version. Despite her disciplinarian ways, I agree there was always a bit of a rebellious side wanting to get out; we see some of it at the end of the DH movie when she gets to cast the Hogwarts protection spell. Also like the way she recognises the sacrifices Harry and Ginny have made down the years and wants to help them out.

You struck a good medium with the intimate scenes as well, enough description to leave it open to the imagination without making it x-rated. They must have been tough to balance when writing.

Do we ever find out the details of paragraph 11? I had better carry on reading to find out...

Author's Response: This is one of my favorite chapters. I think McGonagall wouldn't break the rules, but there isn't a rule saying she can't make her own. Thus she must give Ginny detention by rule, and then makes the detentions beneficial. I also think the war would soften her up some. Seeing 'her' children fighting for the castle, for their future and some dying in the process would not leave her the same.

The intimate scene wasn't that hard to write. They key to writing a scene like that is to not name body parts. (I don't remember where I got that advice. I read it somewhere) If you can do that, it makes the reader use their imagination. So, very few body parts are mentioned.

Paragraph eleven can't be shown here due to the terms of service...


 Report Review

Review #6, by dowlirts99 The Muggle Way

8th February 2017:
That is interesting timing indeed and bizarre how you say you have also been reading "In the words of..." recently - along with yours it's another great read isn't it?

Anyway onto the review...the Hermione incident had me in bits! An inspired addition. I know some people have commented to say it wouldn't have happened but I disagree - they are all growing up. And Ginny would definitely have put her up to it!

I also like your development of Arthur as a character. A lot of others have him down as too serious/dull, but it takes a dad with quite a bit of humour and nous to raise the likes of fred/george and ginny...all the while keeping on the right side of Molly. I think you have captured all of this in just the right way and his interactions with Harry are very realistic.

Off to read some more chapters

Author's Response: Arthur is one of my favorite characters to write. We know from the books he's not always viewed as the smartest Weasley, but I've always seen him as somebody that sees everything and then chooses what he wants to 'notice' in front of others. And so I tried to write him with more depth.

 Report Review

Review #7, by dowlirts99 Love Hurts

7th February 2017:
So I've decided to read your story again 9 years after I read it the first time. Why you may ask...?

First off I (foolishly) watched the final two HP movies for the first time in many years over the Xmas holidays. They irritated me (again!) big time with the amount of stuff they pointlessly leave out, the awkward acting between Harry/Ginny and Ron/Hermione, and just like the books they jump straight to 19 years later without so much of a hint as to what happened between the characters just after the battle (esp. H/G)

Secondly I remember it being one of the very best post-DH/straight after the battle stories on the site - and after reading the first 3 chapters I stand by my original view

Finally I needed a bit of closure (again! really wishing I hadn't watched those movies now...). After reading "In the words of Ginevra Molly Potter" by the JeaLous One I thought I would give yours a go again as you both have the immediate aftermath of the battle playing out in total contrast.

In the other story we have Harry/Ginny re-uniting immediately and him being integrated straight back into the family - whereas in yours it is all kicking off! I like to see the contrasting ideas as I think the version in my head is somewhere in between (no hexing but definitely some anger and strife).

Anyway, it's good to see that your writing still reads great all these years on. I'm off to read some more and will leave more reviews as I go

Author's Response: its been so long since I wrote this story, but I'm glad it stuck with you as a favorite. That does mean the world to me. It must be a crazy coincidence because I'm rereading 'In the words' right now. Why you ask? Because I watched the Potter movies when they were on TV last weekend...

interesting timing...

anyway, thanks for the review. I appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Debvfr From the Heart

15th March 2016:
Really loved this one just the right mix of love relationships adventure mystery and weasley fun.
Thanks for writing it

Author's Response: hi there.

thanks for taking the time to review the story. And, thanks so much for the positive comment. TBH- I've had a pretty crappy week at work and seeing these reviews made me feel good.

Thanks again, and enjoy the stories.

seeker68


 Report Review

Review #9, by DobbyLover From the Heart

10th January 2016:
Hi Dave,
Loved your story. At points it drove me crazy, sometimes I wanted to chuck the laptop across the room- but that's what good writing is. I have spent hours reading this story, telling myself "Just One More Chapter!" But that's not exactly how it happened. Again, congratulations and thank you.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! I had so much fun writing it, and I learned a lot in the process. I've made some great online friends, but honestly my favorite part is responding to the reviews. Go back and read some of them if you haven't.

Thanks again for the reviews. Also check out my other stories, Thirty-One Bottles is a semi-sequel to this one. Charcoal Memories is not related to this story and was written as a challenge on another site (it won). Am I Being Silly was a quick plot bunny that hit me one day. From starting the laptop to posting took about 30 minutes.


 Report Review

Review #10, by DobbyLover Welcome Home

10th January 2016:
This was heartbreaking but refreshingly realistic. I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE your story. Truly perfect. I'd be honored to have you read mine ("Arrogant Toerag").
Originally reading this chapter killed me, but I see that it was necessary and again, realistic. Ginny would have done this. I just hope they get back together ASAP.
Thanks for a brilliant read.

Author's Response: Hi there. Thank you for leaving a review. Much appreciated. Originally I had the story line as her saying yes. But I was in a crappy mood the day I was working on it and to be spiteful I had her say no. I went back, fixed it to yes and then thought about the 'no' some more.

I went back a few chapters, changed some things and then typed out the crumbling of the proposal scene. In the end, it allowed me to work on developing the characters more and I;m glad it ended up where it did.

thx again :-) I don't get on the site very often any more (really just check for reviews every couple days or so), but I'll try and get over to read your story soon.


 Report Review

Review #11, by jerryfs1 The Muggle Way

24th October 2015:
love it great work getting better each chapter

Author's Response: Glad you liked this chapter. Its the first time that we see Harry and Ginny being really happy together.

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by jerryfs1 Love Hurts

24th October 2015:
wow this is getting to be a real good story keep it going

Author's Response: Hi. Welcome to the story and thanks for leaving a review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Sy Love Hurts

4th May 2015:
I thought I would like this story but as so
many that I have read, you turned Ginny into a
"Victim" with poor me syndrome and made it so
that Harry was a complete wimp! I couldn't get
any further into this story than half way
through this chapter. Ginny was not a "Victim",
she is a selfish child who everybody seems to
want to pamper. Harry would not have taken this
crap so lightly after what he has been through,
I hated Ginny at the beginning of your story
after what she said, but I tried to read more
and could not. Ginny gets to be a spoiled,
selfish little b*tch? Is this really how you
think things would turn out? You made me hate
both of them, her for being a spoiled, selfish
little b*tch and him for being such a complete
wussy, wimp! How about if she grows up and he
gets to be normal.

Author's Response: first, thanks for the review - even if at this point you don't like the story. However- part of a story is how characters grow and change over the course of the plot line. After all, in the stories where everything is perfect, and there is nothing changing we get bored very quickly. You see, all stories need conflict and in order to grow all characters must change. But in order to change for the better they must first have a flaw or flaws that need to be addressed.

So characters in this story are not perfect, they are flawed. And it's how each of them grows beyond that that makes it interesting. At this point, yes, Ginny is acting out a bit like a spoiled kid, but she's also a teenage girl who (in my experience) tend to be a bit self absorbed. As for Harry, he's spent the last 7 years doing what everyone else wanted/needed and just come back from hiding and the battle. He's worn out and simply wants some peace. He's just now beginning to come out of it.

Last, as for how these characters are acting now vs how they act later, and how they do/don't change can't be judged here because you've not reached those points yet. All of this gets sorted out, but in order to get there you'd have to keep reading. And as a warning, I'm sure it won't be the last time you get upset at a character. They will make mistakes, but they will also learn from them.

So, I hope you continue with the story. These first chapters are still kind of rough, but my writing got better as I went on and the characters developed more.

seeker68


 Report Review

Review #14, by Sam From the Heart

18th July 2014:
Hey man! Great novel! I know a good novel when I get annoyed at reading the last couple of chapters because I know its about to end.. Hopefully you continue churning out more stories of the remaining 16 years!! I think you should look at finishing the popular next gen book "All Was Well" by JustSuperNMenuncle which was never finished. I know you would make a great ending to it and please post it if you ever do!!
SS

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and leaving a review for the story. I had so much fun writing it, learned a lot, and made quite a few friends in the process of writing it and getting it posted. I know what you mean about good ones and the feeling as you relaize there are only a few chapters left. I'm glag LtLA did that for you.

There is a semi-sequel to this called 'Thirty-One Bottles'. Read it for a continuation of this story thread. I also have posted two non-related one shots as well if you only have a bit of time. They are 'Am I Being Silly?' and 'Charcoal Memories'.

thanks again, and happy reading.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Dr8gn Victory Deflated

1st June 2014:
awesome so far also love the way story plays out

Author's Response: Welcome to the story. Happy that you've liked it so far, and thanks for taking the time to review.

 Report Review

Review #16, by harry_ginny4ev From the Heart

29th March 2014:
Great story i liked it. There were some typos but nothing that affected the story itself so well done.

Author's Response: Glad you liked the story. It's kind of funny, It's been beta read and proofed multiple times, but I still find typos. I fix them as I find them. Check out it's sequel Thirty-One Bottles.

 Report Review

Review #17, by WOOOOOWWWW!!!! From the Heart

10th February 2014:
AWESOME STORYY! i love the way u write!!it is just wowww!111

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Check out my other stories for more...

 Report Review

Review #18, by ajharrypotterfan07 From the Heart

11th December 2013:
Truly amazing. JK couldnt have written this novel any better herself. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Check out the companion story Thirty One Bottles, or the other one shot stories. Have a great day and thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #19, by ben From the Heart

30th September 2013:
Hello

I first read this story a few years ago, i spent a good few weeks going through some stories on this site and i can quite honestly say that yours was the only one that stuck with me all this time and will certainly do so for many years to come.

The first time i read your story when i got to the part where Harry and Ginny seperated for a while so Ginny could figure herself out, i actually felt awful emotionally until i read on to the point where they fixed their relationship.

This amazing story you put together is in my opinion right up there with the original 7 books, if there ever was a book to come out after deathly hallows i would of loved it to be this one.

Not a single chapter was boring and you painted the picture of Harry's personality perfectly i think. How he felt for Ginny, his family and relationship he had with Teddy.

I recently had a week off from my work and had the urge to read your story all over again and even though i new all the twists and turns you took with the plot i still enjoyed reading it as much as the first time. You have a talent with writing and i sincerely hope you get to keep on with it when you have the free time.

I hope this review doesnt come across too jumbled up or weird.

Yours
ben

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I certainly appreciate them. I'm glad you like the story enough to read it more than once.

Check out Thirty-One Bottles. It's kind of a sequel to this story and give some 'behind-the-scenes' type moments with an original plot line all its own.

Thanks again, have a great day :-)


 Report Review

Review #20, by mad_ninja From the Heart

30th September 2013:
Oh and another thing man! I'm still holding up for that sequel! :D

Author's Response: Have a read of Thirty-One Bottles. Its a semi-sequel which is based on this story. The novel-length sequel Is still sitting about 1/2 done. Honestly, with my kids growing and getting them to all their activities, plus my hobbies and work travel, I just haven't had time to write and fix its issues. I do hope to complete it at some time, I just have no idea when I'll actually get to finish it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by mad_ninja From the Heart

30th September 2013:
Very well written dude! But... of course there will always be buts in every comment.. so here goes. I liked the entire plot and the story itself but.. here it comes.. I just didn't like the whole Ginny Dean fiasco. I know many people already criticized you for that and I'm sorry for being another one of them.. As a Ginny&Harry couple fan it hurts to think that Harry wasn't Ginny's first.. and that's the only reason I can't give you a score of 10/10... despite the things I said before I still finished the story and it's really good except for that part.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Yes, lots of criticism about that particular chapter. If you've read the reviews then you know the reasons behind why I put it in there. I did consider changing it at one time, but I decided to keep it the way it is. I wanted to show Ginny growing as a person because of it, which I think I did. I can appreciate that some readers don't like it.

 Report Review

Review #22, by e.mo Round Two

26th September 2013:
I have to say I think I am going to have to give up on this story now. I've read some other reviews of this chapter and I have to say that my reasons for stopping are not those others have had. I actually think Ginny and Dean having sex is something that could easily happen, and I can easily imagine a 15 year old girl doing something like that to prove something to herself. A lot of people do make mistakes when making big decisions like when to lose their virginity, so I'm not criticising you for that, I actually think it makes a lot of sense.
My problem with this chapter, but also the story as a whole, is that you are actually taking on a very traditional and patriarchal view of men and women's roles. In this chapter you have Ginny say "Harry, it was more me than him, every guy tries, thatís what they do. Itís up to the girl to stop it and I didnít." This sentence just made my blood boil. It should never be just down to the girl to ever "stop" anything, this to me was just a lighter version of marking the victim of a rape as the person whose fault it is. I realise this probably isn't what you meant with this sentence, but you have to realise that just by sticking to these views of male and female sexuality, you're making them seem like they are normal and acceptable - which they are not.
This doesn't only happen in this chapter. You also have Hermione following Ron around like a good little housewife, staying in the tent whilst Harry and Ron go off to training. Whilst I can imagine that Ginny would want to settle down with Harry quicly, this is absolutely not how I envisage Hermione. JK Rowling herself wrote the character of Hermione as a role model for all girls - she is strong, independent and clever, and would never fit into the mold you have made for her.

I was struggling a bit with this story before, not because of the story, but because of the style of writing - you often give a little too much detail to the point that it is redundant, and there is a lot of repetition in what you say. It sometimes comes across a bit clumsy, and I think your stories and style would improve greatly if you were a little more consise in the way you write.

I realise this review sounds very critical - it is, but I hope you'll take it as constructive criticism and keep it in mind if and when you next write another story.

Author's Response: First, thanks for such a detailed review, and I don't mind criticism if it's constructive or polite (this is both). I'll try to respond in the order you posed the questions/criticisms...

The roles of men/women in the story- Ginny's comment wasn't meant to be such a sweeping generalization, but to be honest it is the truth. For the most part, the boys try to get as far as they can, and the girls generally have to say 'no'. She readily admits she didn't say 'no' because she wanted to go through with it. She also shows she regrets not standing up for herself. A main point to this chapter is just that, that things shouldn't stay the same. And if you remember back through the story, Harry and Ginny pretty much cover their milestone moments together and mutually agreed. So she DID learn because of her previous relationships.

Hermione following Ron- granted I don't spend a lot of time in the story with Ron/Hermione other than when they are with Harry so that may lead to part of why you see it this way. If you remember earlier in the story she's already taken a job within the ministry which is quite independent for her. As part of that she wanted to know if she could travel with Ron when she wanted. Kingsley said she could as long as it didn't affect her work. We all know Hermione enough to realize she'd never let that happen. So I think she is quite independent. As for following Ron- if you've read through comments you may have seen that I spend quite a bit of time travelling to races throughout the US. Thats 22-27 long weekends(Thurs night to Sun night) a year that I'm away from my family. It's a lot. I love it on the times that my wife and kids can come with me. So why would quidditch be different than that? If my wife had the vacation time she'd be there almost every weekend, but she doesn't get enough off time to allow that. It isn't about 'following Ron around like a good housewife', its being close to a person you love and supporting them. My wife also has to travel for work and I do what I can to be with her. In this case, Hermione DOES have the opportunity to go with them. She's simply doing some of her office work from the tent/pitch. Thats no different than anyone that has a home office or telecommutes. So I don't see it as her following Ron around, I see it as her using all of her time as efficiently as possible. Which, I think we can agree Hermione would do. I think as a young woman that is juggling her career, a boyfriend, her boyfriend's career and writing the books she's doing marvelously.

Writing style- One of my goals was to try to write as people really talk or converse and to make it as believeable as I can. Do I give too much detail in places, probably, and I've had that mentioned in reviews. But, I've also had reviews saying I didn't give enough detail, so who do I listen to? It's hard to balance it. Hopefully, as the story has gone along I got better. I've thought about going back and re-writing the early parts of it because as I got better, I don't like the early parts as much. Would it make the story better, maybe, but part of what I like about the story as it sits now is that you can see improvement as the story goes along. Chapter 10 is better than chapter 2, 20 should be better than 10, and 30 should be better than 20. So, even today there are parts I don't like as much as I used too, but I hesitate to change them because I like seeing how I progressed. So I understand that criticism as I see it myself in the writing, but I also like seeing the story get better as it goes along.

So, I hope this answers your questions, and do hope you keep reading because I think it gets better and better as the story plays out.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Mice Round Two

26th August 2013:
This is the second time I read your whole story, and I got to admit this chapter is what prevents me from marking it as one of my favorite stories. In this chapter you make Ginny look as shallow, stupid young girl with no control over her actions. A girl doesn't simply lose her virginity to prove a point to someone else. It's something special, you only lose it once you know, there is no going back once the deed is done. I admit, I like the fight that goes on between them in later chapters where Ginny takes some time away from Harry to find herself, something everyone can understand, but I still think you blew it with this chapter. I'm not trying to be overly rude or offensive, I just wanted to give you my insight on this chapter as I am sure several other reader also dislike this chapter too and many might even drop the story after this. Anyways... keep on writing, I hope to see another one of your stories sometime soon.

Author's Response: I do get a lot of comments about this chapter, and Ginny's behavior as I've portrayed her, and, quite a bit of it is negative. As long as the negative remarks are respectful I don't hold issue with them. Not all negative reviews are that way. So, that said, I did push the envelope here, but what I wanted to show was that she'd made a mistake, understood it, and learned from it. Thats one of the themes in this story. The characters make mistakes; a lot of them. Ginny, Harry, Ron, Arthur, Kingsley, all make some pretty big mistakes in the story. In some cases they learn(Ginny here) and in some cases they don't. In this instance Ginny has learned and grown, so has Harry. Later in the story, they don't learn a lesson about talking and it leads to the blow up during the proposal.

The other thing I wanted to explore is Harry testing his 'celebrity' status. That decision, to force a ban on the reporters leads to their 'outing' of Ginny. If he had kept control, and not made a power play then they never go after him or Ginny. In the end, his actions caused them to go digging for dirt. Yet very few people see that as the main influence for the story. If Harry didn't play bully, then the story about Ginny never gets written, and her private life stays private, just as it should.

So while I do have Ginny making a pretty big mistake, she learned from it, and it makes hre relationship with Harry more special. And hopefully, Harry lears how NOT to use his celbrity status.

Hope this explains more of the thought lines behind the chapter. And ,I do thank you for a respectful review. BTW, i have other stories posted here. 31 Bottles is a sequel to this. the other two are independent. check them out!, and review too :-)


 Report Review

Review #24, by CambAngst From the Heart

12th August 2013:
Hi, there!

This has been one of my absolute favorite stories since I first discovered HPFF 3 years ago. I've re-read it at least twice, I've recommended it to many others and I picked up major chunks of head canon from what you wrote. I figured it was high time I was telling you these things, but I wasn't sure whether you were still keeping up with your reviews. Then I saw you respond to a few recently, so, hey, no time like the present!

Your Harry and Ginny are simply amazing. I don't know how else to say it. They are so true to the characters in the book. Ron, Hermione and all of the others follow right along, as well. The very low place that you start Harry off and the trials that he suffers are very difficult to read in places, but they make for an amazing story. I almost stopped reading after Ginny turned down Harry's proposal. I was that upset. But I'm so glad that I stuck with it. I loved the way that you really made Ginny her own person and showed all of the turmoil that came along with that growing up process. When they finally reach the altar, it felt like everybody involved had earned that precious moment of happiness and relief, the reader included. The ending was incredibly beautiful, worth every second of emotional pain.

I loved the fact that you weren't afraid to step outside of the usual boundaries of HPFF stories. Taking Harry and Ginny to Miami really helped to move the story out of the long shadow of the books. I loved that you were able to make Ginny and Harry more age-appropriate and let them have their moments of adult fun. Through it all, you maintained a beautiful emotional context for the events. You write with subtlety and style, never just bashing the reader over the head with the story. The scenes are crisp and vivid and it was always easy to imagine the events you created. The characters and their emotions leap off of the page. There are a lot of good storytellers on HPFF who struggle to put their story into words, and a lot of very gifted writers who never seem to find that one great spark of inspiration. You have that rare combination of both.

Once again, I'm sorry this review was so long in coming. Thank you for the amazing story. It inspired me to get off of the fence and write my own. This is truly one of the best on HPFF!

Author's Response: Wow, now that's a review! Thanks so much for taking the time to read the whole story. I've said in other reviews/comments that I wanted readers, when they finished the story to think "yeah, it could have happened like that." I wanted the characters to grow and to do that they had to make mistakes. Sometimes those mistakes lead to quite a few negative reviews, but in the end, across all the reviews the story has, they are 90% positive.

If you enjoyed this, read the follow-up, Thirty One Bottles, its a neat sequel (of sorts) based on an original plot device. Let me know how you like that one too.

Have a great day
seeker68


 Report Review

Review #25, by queenwombat Willow Trees vs. Motorcycles

20th June 2013:
SQQWWEEEL omg yay i love the fighting but this is so much fun omg yay!

Author's Response: Without giving anything away, Harry and Ginny will have their ups and downs through this story. Glad you like the story, and I appreciate the reviews.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>