Reading Reviews for Wha'll Be King But Charlie?
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Alopex Angus' Plan

28th August 2009:
I don't usually like songfics. In fact, I never choose to read them when I see them in the recently added queue (which I haven't had time time to peruse in months anyway . . . drawback to having a review thread). I only ever read them when my favorite authors have written them. :-)

This fic had me cracking up most of the way through. I am completely amazed at how well you wrote Angus' accent, though being American, I can't truly judge it. It seemed authentic to me, though. Great OC, by the way. "I'll be your campaign manager!" I'll train everyone to stand when you stand! I'll make giant posters of you portraying a classic hero! I also loved the little bits with Tonks changing her appearance. The ending amused me greatly as well, that Draco found the old song and used it to make that "Wealsey is our King" song.

I thought this story was going to be light-hearted and funny throughout. However, you worked in the very serious topic of Charlie's sexual orientation. Geez, that can't have been easy, coming out in front of the whole school. Still, it might have been harder to do it a few at a time and then having to combat all the rumors and such. Anyway, good job on that aspect.

For a songfic, I liked this. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you for the praise. I must admit that I had to submit this to the queue three times before it was accepted as I kept making bone-headed mistakes (not classed as a song-fic, had singing, so was a karaoke fic, and one problem I don't remember).

I always worried about Angus' aceent, as I think it could be over the top. I definitely didn't want him to be Mike Myers as Shrek, if you know what I mean.

I re-read this the other day and I must admit that I cringed at some points to read my writing. It's not how I would write it now; but, I'm glad it was enjoyable. I really did mean it to be light except for the end.

The little epilogue was something I had to add. I never thought that Draco was clever enough to come up with 'Weasley is our King' on his own. It's sort of like my thought of the Bellatrix v Molly duel in my story 'A Sobering Thought.'

I love Angus. I think he's probably one of my best OCs and I'm glad you enjoyed his madness. Charlie/Tonks is my second favourite non-canon ship, especially when it's unrequited one way or the other.

BTW, I wrote this before I had heard the news of DDs orientation; so that added a whole 'nother dimension to the story.

For a songfic, I enjoyed writing it. I have an idea in my head to do a short story collection/songfic with each story being based on songs from Metallica's 'Death Magnetic' album, as the songs have such vivid imagery to me. Not sure if I will or not.

Thank you so much for all your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Joanne K Angus' Plan

20th March 2008:
Hi, Joanne K from Ravenclaw common room at forums here to review your story ;)

First of all I just want to say I love your characterisation of Angus, especially his accent, you really did it perfectly. Actually, I think his accent was done so well it kind of made Charlie seem a bit flat when he spoke. I liked Tonks' characterisation too.

There were a few parts that didn't flow overly well and overall you could probably do with some more description. But on the whole it wasn't too bad.

I did pick up on a couple of minor errors:

"What we're you doing in the library?"

It should be 'were' rather than 'we're'.

"They decided to let Charlie tell him in his own time."

It should be 'them' rather than 'him' as he is talking about both parents.

I loved the little epilogue about 'Weasley is our King' especially as the song and the concept of Charlie Weasley being the Yule King really reminded me of that the whole way through the fic already. It tied in really well.

Author's Response: I never thought that I would be caught out misusing we're or were, shame on me. Thanks for pointing it out, I hate typos and misspellings and misused words. Thanks also for pointing out the one sentence with subject disagreement problems.

I'm glad that you liked Angus' accent, I really worried that it was too much of a caricature and I almost wrote it straight instead. I really like Tonks in this story, too, glad you did as well.

Thanks for your comment about the little epilogue, I thought it was really funny and I also thought that Draco had to have some help to come up with that song.

Thanks again, I appreciate the good comments and the CC on grammar.


 Report Review

Review #3, by juls Angus' Plan

17th March 2008:
Wow Pookha... very good.

I'm glad to see that Charlie was supported both his friends and his family. You did well in showing his worry and why he hid it, and his friends support afterwards. Even Dumbledore did (we all know why now!) by silencing the Slytherins.

It's a great story, my new friend.

~~juls

Author's Response: Thanks, Juls. Actually, the DD scene was written before I heard the news about his sexuality, so it's a happy accident (but it really adds a dimension to the story).

Thank you for reviewing this story. This is what I consider to be my best written story stylistically. Of course Charlie would be supported by his family, I can't imagine it any other way. I could see the twins or Ron poking gentle fun at him, but that would be it.

Thank you again for reviewing this story; I think the Broad Scots scares some people off.


 Report Review

Review #4, by JLHufflepuff Angus' Plan

15th February 2008:
This story has a lot of different layers that I really like. First of all, I give you major props for dealing with a song that I can barely understand without great effort! You really incorporated the themes in the song into the story pretty well. It served as a good backdrop for the story.

I also really love Angus! He's hilarious, and his Scottish accents also makes the song have some validity! The friendship between him and Charlie and between Charlie and Tonks is really fun.

When Hodges said he had something to show everyone about Charlie, I really had a feeling for some reason that it would be about Charlie's sexuality. A lot of people have considered him to be gay, so I just had that idea.

I like how even when he comes out in front of the whole Great Hall (can we say WHOAH), the whole tone shifts only a little bit. You still keep up the spirit of fun by having all the Weasleys and Angus already know about it and kind of just basically tell him to stop stressing and just admit it. It was a cute touch that Tonks fancied him and wondered why she didn't like her back. It was sweet that she tried to save him from being exposed! Also, it's very appropriate that Dumbledore would be against anyone belittling him .. not only because of his own preferences but because he is Dumbledore the champion of equality, etc...

This is really a cute, lighthearted read! Oh, yeah, and you should read LaDorki's Decadence, which is a Charlie/Harry ...

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind review. I'm glad to know that this story flows well. Thanks for letting me know that the song seems to fit the theme of the story.

I worried a lot about Angus, I wanted him to be Scottish, but not a caricature, and I was worried that I might have gone over the top.

I had never seen a debate about Charlie's sexuality before, so I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one to do so. I really think that canon, Charlie is straight, but this made a better story, so canon be darned. (On an aside, the odds are good that at least one Weasley is gay, and Charlie is the only one who has never been opposite-sex linked in canon).

Thanks again for the kind words. Coming from as skilled an author as you, it means a lot to me. I had written this story before the whole DD is gay thing from JKR, so I think that added a new layer to the story that I hadn't intended, but will take credit for anyway. :)



 Report Review

Review #5, by Labby Angus' Plan

7th February 2008:
As soon as I noticed you had a Charlie fic I had to come on over and read it. I wasn't too sure about this fic, but I really did like it. I thought the whole connection at the end was great... how Draco came up with the song and all. This was really creative and such a good one-shot! I really felt the emotions that Charlie was going through when his secret was let out. I love how you had Charlie admit his feelings and not hide it and then Dumbledore stuck up for him. It really seemed realistic... this story was well thought out and well written. I liked seeing a bit of Tonks in it too. I'm definitely going to have to check out more of your work.

The only thing I noticed was this: I’m gonna be a thestral rancher anyway, just like me Da.

Was that meant to be dad? Great job with the story!

Author's Response: I did mean "Da". I know that with a Welsh accent sometimes they say "Da" and I hoped it wasn't too far afield for a Scot who was deliberately playing up his accent.

Thanks for the kind review. I've been told before that I can shortchange people emotionally in my stories, so I was worried if Charlie's reactions might have been too muted.

I'm really glad that the few people who have read this story seem to like it. It is definitely the story that I worked on (editing-wise) to get it just where I wanted it.

God, it was just stuck in my head, that song and I knew I had to do something to get it out.

As for the ending, I never thought that Draco would have been creative enough to come up with that song on his own. Strangely enough, I had the Dumbledore defending Charlie thing before ever hearing the "Dumbledore is gay" quote from JKR. Now that Dumbledore is outed, I think it adds a different level to the story, too.

Thanks again fro the kind review.



 Report Review

Review #6, by Girldetective85 Angus' Plan

24th January 2008:
Unfortunately I am not Scottish and that song made almost no sense to me, but I just have to say that it sounds so cool. I don't know if you would consider it sacrilege to provide a translation ... if so, just ignore me ... but I think I would appreciate it more and how it fit with the story if I understood it.

What a creative way of explaining how Draco came up with "Weasley is Our King"! I think Angus, your OC was wonderful and very funny, especially because of how enthusiastic he was to get Charlie elected as Yule King. I love that Charlie was skeptical at first and slowly got more and more into the idea as the story went on. Hodges was pretty hilarious, he is the stereotypical enormous Slytherin bully that is the stuff of school rivalry. The Gryffindor/Slytherin animosity was very nicely written, and I thought the huge banner of Charlie rescuing a maiden was a hoot. I like the ending very much, and Charlie realized that everyone already knew his secret and supported him about it. Nothing to complain about spelling or grammar-wise. Nice work, very creative! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your great review. I'm glad to know that grammar and spelling wise that nothing needs correction. I'm quite good at spelling and my grammar is better than average, but I'm not perfect and typos creep in.

If you're interested, PM me and I can provide an historical context for the song and a translation.

Thank you for your praise on Angus, I had hoped that I had made him seem real and not a two dimensional Scottish caricature. I'm glad you liked the banner, as it was supposed to be a bit juvenile since it was made by a fifteen year-old boy.

I wanted the rivalry to be a bit stereotypical as I thought it fit the flavour of the story, and Hodges is meant to be a bully (He makes a brief appearance in The Dementor's First Kiss).

I didn't realise until after I had written the story that Yule Balls were considered a bit cliche, oh well.

Thank you for the kind review, I'm glad the story flows well, even without the prompting of the song.


 Report Review

Review #7, by harry101 Angus' Plan

10th January 2008:
very good story. bit of a twist in fate. and a very very good ending!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for reviewing this poor lonely story. I think the Broad Scots song scares some people off. Glad you liked the story, especially the ending.


 Report Review

Review #8, by kim Angus' Plan

12th December 2007:
Cute bat alas congusing

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. What was confusing about it, the Broad Scots dialect?

 Report Review

Review #9, by hermione jean malfoy Angus' Plan

24th November 2007:
i liked ur story im giving u a 10 but in my heart i know truely that Charlie is straight.

Author's Response: Actually, I agree with you, but as it's fanfic, I thought it made a good story.

Thanks for your kind words.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login