Reading Reviews for Under the surface
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lilypotterfan123 Under the surface

18th May 2010:
That was brilliant! I loved the little bit at the end about her hair, it definately adds up seeing as her hair is literally scraped back all the time. I love this little ship' as it's quirky and mysterious. I think it could be like a Snape and Lily thing. Do you write more stuff like this?

LpF123 x

 Report Review

Review #2, by xx_potterfan_xx Under the surface

20th December 2008:
Thought this was lovely!! Great job and a wonderful explanation for Minerva's standard of having her hair in a bun. =]

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :D It means a lot to me that you liked it, and that the hair-thing wasn't too corny. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by mistoshanks Under the surface

14th December 2008:
OMG. OMG. OMG. *loves story* That's all I can say.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! :D You've made me very happy.

 Report Review

Review #4, by SiriusxRemus4life Under the surface

12th June 2008:
I think I love that ship. I wonder what would have happened if something really did happen between them. Nice story, it was awesome how you chose to develop McG's personality, nice. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks! :D It could've happened - who knows?

 Report Review

Review #5, by forcebev23 Under the surface

2nd June 2008:
I really like this story. It is the first of this ship that I have read and I was not at all dissappointed!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I know, it's a pretty weird ship, but you just can't help but love it... :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheQueenofAttolia Under the surface

7th May 2008:
I'm having trouble breathing at the moment. That was such an effective piece of writing... I love the electricity, the tension between two very intelligent and powerful people. This is the first Minerva/Tom story I've read, but it is amazing. I love how, as much as Minerva wants Tom, she can still see he is using her and has the strength to break away. The addition of why she always wears her hair in a bun is quite moving. On the whole, this was incredibly well-written and moving. Well done.

Author's Response: It means so much to me that people like this fic! It was rather difficult for me to write it, but I'm very happy with the result. It’s such a very interesting pairing… I guess that's how I've always seen Minerva... Though she wants him, she's a strong person. Oh, and I'm glad you didn't think the hair-thing was too corny. Again, thank you so, so much!! It really does mean a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #7, by elovegood Under the surface

20th April 2008:
It was truly amazing, you kept them completely canon. I wished it didn't end.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! :) It really does mean a lot to me. I know, I was pretty sad when it ended too.. :P It was just too fun to write. But I just don't think that a sequel would fit. Thanks again! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by SnowyBella Under the surface

23rd March 2008:
I actually really like this ship, as unrealistic as it is that he have any relationships what so ever. :-) You wrote this fantastically and I thought you captured both their characters really well. Like Violet already said, I think it was great how you portrayed the influence and affect that he has over Minerva and her responce to it. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! :D I like this ship as well, even though it was quite hard to write this one-shot. :P I'm therefore thrilled that you liked it. Oh, and it means a lot to me that the characters were written right. Again, thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by MissJessx3 Under the surface

12th February 2008:
really good! inspiring to write a riddle/mcgonagall story!

Author's Response: Really? That's so cool! :D Thanks for reviewing.. ;)

 Report Review

Review #10, by theflawintheplan Under the surface

28th December 2007:
I love that ship too! Although I think it would be funny if Tom started to fall in love with her enough to marry her. (Though in my fic the way they 'break up' isn't something to laugh about.) Still, I loved your story and I hope more like it come soon.
~theflawintheplan

Author's Response: Thanks! :D I'm glad you took the time to review. Wow, I think I have to read your story.. ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Bella_Portia Under the surface

5th December 2007:
Really good little vignette. You picked two really tough characters, and the story was unexpected and had a nice flow. I liked the way Minerva found her moment of truth at the end.

Author's Response: Thank you! =D You're actually the first to tell me that my story had a nice flow... :P lol. I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by SlytherinEmerald Under the surface

26th November 2007:
I really liked it, it sort of explains where part of McGonegalls characteristics come from! :-)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm glad you liked it. And yes, that was the intention... :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by none Under the surface

14th November 2007:
odd ship but it works, please write a sequel

Author's Response: Thank you! :) Sorry, no sequel will be written, I doubt it would work.

 Report Review

Review #14, by KawaiiAce2003 Under the surface

7th November 2007:
Wow, this was fantastic. You kept it very canon with their mannerisms and actions but gave it a little twist. I don't see why this actually could never have happened in the actual story since in the end she rejected him. Heck, she could be part of the reason why he went crazy, maybe 20%. I loved the emotion and darkness of it though... it is going on my favorites!!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D And lol, that's a pretty good idea... ;) Again, thanks so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by HPcritic Under the surface

4th November 2007:
Wow - I thought this was going to be some creepy, Tom/Minerva snogging in a closet thing, but i was wrong. It sent chills down my spine! You're a great writer, and i'd love to read more from you.

Author's Response: Thank you SOO much! :D You have no idea how much this review means to me.. And lol, I can imagine Tom and Minerva snoging in a broom closet... Though it isn't a nice image.. :P

 Report Review

Review #16, by AussieAnatomy627 Under the surface

4th November 2007:
I've never really thought of them together but it really was well-written!

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought so! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Striped Candycane Under the surface

4th November 2007:
Sigh.gotta love Tom/Minerva.

I think this was a very well-thought out piece, as all Tom/Minerva works should be. The little twist with her hair at the end was absolutly brilliant!

Thumbs up!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) And Tom/Minerva rocks, don't they? I'm glad you didn't think the hair-thing was too corny.. :P

 Report Review

Review #18, by manwe Under the surface

3rd November 2007:
it was extremely good, i enjoyed it very much. Both characters were very good. 10 points

Author's Response: Thanks!! :) It means a lot to me that you think so.

 Report Review

Review #19, by ShadowKisses Under the surface

3rd November 2007:
woahh. I loved this. You wrote it perfectly - the awkwardness and hesitation on Minerva's part... and Riddle's character was perfectly, well, in character. ^_^ 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you SO much! :D I was really unsure about the characterizion, and I'm soo glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Cedrics_gurl Under the surface

29th October 2007:
“She knew there was more to him, though. It had to be.” I would change that to be: She knew there was more to him. There had to be.

Although I am not too keen on the whole Head Boy/Girl thing, I think it works in this story!

“She never let him, though, and not just because she wanted to be as responsible as he was, but because an odd part of her liked to walk with him in the dark. It scared her too, though. There was something about that thick tension that filled the air every time she was alone with him: so intense, yet so thrilling. And she wanted more”. I Love that paragraph, I like the descriptions, the way she is slightly confused, intrigued … scared! Very in character and the same time so not!

There are some minor problems with the spelling and spacing (the large spaces between paragraphs annoys me, sorry! L)! I think the spelling errors are just typos, but that can be easily sorted!

I love the line: “The feeling that went trough her body was like ice and fire at once” It makes me feel as though she was confused about her feelings and was unsure of what her own emotions meant!

I love the way he never answers her properly and always manages to make her insides squirm and flutter at the same time.

Oh and I love that last line … it made me want to cry, I don’t even know why … I also love the way you show that she would never let him find a way of controlling her. The whole hair thing is amazing! Well done!

So really, I love the whole thing! :D


Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D Oh, and thanks for pointing out that sentence, it's changed now. So is the spaces between the paragraphs! :) Again, thank for reading and reviewing and helping! :D And sorry about the whole head boy/girl thing, but I'm glad you think it works. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Girldetective85 Under the surface

28th October 2007:
Hey sorry I haven't had the chance to review your story before now, but I'm here now! What an original pairing! This is great! I have never read a Tom/Minerva fic before, but I did come across a topic on the forums that suggested that Minerva was in school in Tom's year or a year before him (was it you?) and I got really interested. Holy cow can you make Tom scary. He was really freaky and creepy in this story, which is perfect because he should be freaky and creepy! I like that you showed everyone's opinion of him through the down-to-earth, steady Minerva's eyes: she wants him because he is so charming and charismatic, people get drawn to him; and yet he is somehow repellant at the same time, domineering and evil in some twisted way that's lying just beneath the surface. You captured this balance very nicely, in that scene between them sitting in the library. Great job! I'm looking forward to reading more. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! :D And yeah, I believe it was me that said Minerva was a year older than him in the forums.. :P I decided to make them at the same age in this story, though. I'm so glad you liked my characterizion of Tom, as I was really unsure of how I did... :) Again, thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by Violet Gryfindor Under the surface

27th October 2007:
Wow, this was intense. The emotions between them were really well written, I could feel her confusion and anger under his gaze. Both of them were very much in character, especially Riddle, who was creepy, almost disturbing, because of the way he could so easily manipulate one as strong as McGonagall. I loved the last line - it fit the story into canon and how McGonagall came to have that habit. This is a great one-shot. I'm definitely adding it to my favourites. :)

Author's Response: Thank you SO much! You have no idea how much it means to me that people like it. :) I'm honoured.. :P Again, thanks for the wonderful review! You made my day. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by StillWaiting4MyHogwartsLetter Under the surface

26th October 2007:
Very interesting to see how Minerva acted when she was younger. Also I liked the bit about never having her hair down again - clever!


Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by Kahlan Under the surface

24th October 2007:
Firstly, what an interesting pairing! One you managed to make very believable, as well. Both Tom and Minerva are very in character; Tom scary in some unexplainable way, and Minerva level-headed, school-oriented, and that part where you wrote about her crush or whatever one should call it, where she wondered about her blushing, fitted well into my picture of Minerva..

Now, I don't know much about canon here, if Minerva and Tom Riddle really went to Hogwarts at the same time, but it really didn't matter - because as I read this, I really believed it. I also love how she resisted him - she wouldn't be very McGonagall if she didn't, and the fact that she was crying as she did it really made the scene all the more powerful. The plot in this is great, and I am drawn in from the first sentence..

Oh, and the little detail at the end about her hair - wonderful! I'll be adding this to my favourites for sure!

Just a mistake I spotted though; "She was, after all Minerva McGonagall, the smart Gryffindor girl with her felt planted firmly on the ground" - should it be feet?

Again, I loved this story!

Author's Response: Thank you so incredibly much for reading and reviewing this story! I'm so glad you liked it. :) And yeah, I have edited the feet/felt thing now.. :P lol. Again: You're awesome. :P

 Report Review

Review #25, by Labby Under the surface

24th October 2007:
I thought this was really well written. It was a great story and you portrayed both of the characters perfectly. I love how Minerva could see Tom was controlling her and how she knew that she couldn't like him. Both of your descriptions for the characters were just so good.

I love the ending, as it does a great job to explain how McGonagall's character came to be. I never really thought of her youth, and this puts an interesting perspective into it.

I've never read a Tom/Minerva ship before. The way that you do it makes it realistic, so that's always a plus. I'm just not sure if I'm going to want to read another T/M ship. I don't know, I usually don't mind unusual ships, but it seemed a little creepy to me. You did it really well, I just don't think I'm a big fan of it.

Your writing style is really good and I don't really see any mistakes at all, so great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D Lol, I totally understand that you think it's creepy... :P But I'm glad you read and reviewed anyway! :) Again: Thanks! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>