Reading Reviews for Just Play Your Cards Right
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #1, by padmoonyfoot7 Just Play Your Cards Right

14th April 2012:
Very brilliant!
I love the way the story shows that people were all affected differently by the war and not everyone would be grateful for what Harry did. I have never read a story like this before, it's very different and you did a great job of it! The emotions in it a very well written and the story is very poetic, in a way (grammar and all that).
Keep up the good work!!

padmoonyfoot7: over and out!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by xxx Just Play Your Cards Right

11th February 2012:
u know what ur mind is gutter.you should see a psychatrist

 Report Review

Review #3, by The Conflict Obsessor..... I think you know who I am! Just Play Your Cards Right

8th August 2011:
FANTASTIC. As it always was. FAN tastic.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Marty Mcfly Just Play Your Cards Right

29th November 2010:
this fanfi was very well written I really enjoyed it. truth is, I agree with Teddy, because it WAS Harry's fault that his parents died, but not the way its in your story. only because he could have prevented the war by going alone to fight voldy in the last book.
but anyway
I didn't get the car crash
also, I can't see the harry that I thought I knew say "it wasn't my fault" because I was very mad at rowling for torturing harry like this. I is prolly riddled with guilt about the deaths at hogwarts which were his fault. (voldy promised not to hurt the crowd at hogwarts if harry would come alone)
sill good story overall and great writing

 Report Review

Review #5, by Bright Green Eyes Just Play Your Cards Right

21st May 2010:
Lovely start, I would love to see what you can do with it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Stargirl27 Just Play Your Cards Right

3rd January 2009:
one word: AMAZING!

bravo! bravo! it was great :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by silver phoenix Just Play Your Cards Right

8th October 2008:
Oooo, that was so awesome! I LOVED it. I love stories where Harry dies >:] Great, great work! I loved the whole moody, dark, grainy feel to the story; Teddy scares me with his lack of emotional attachments. Even with Victorie; he fancies her, yeah, but does he love her? I can see, a few years down the road, Teddy getting annoyed with Victorie and she ends up...disappearing... O:]

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sweeter Just Play Your Cards Right

10th April 2008:
Poor Teddy. Sniffle. Well, I've never experianced revenge, only a hysterical laugh when my enemey got squooshed underpath of my brilliant sucess at running ^_^ but really, I had no control over that. Ah well. This is the type of story that crush your mood in a brilliant way. Fortunately I read this story ages ago but didn't leave a review but I decided to now, so my mood isn't exactly crushed yet since I only read the first few paragraphs to recap. Now I shall read a happy, fluffy story and live happily, fluffily ever after. -Sweeter

 Report Review

Review #9, by FireAngel42 Just Play Your Cards Right

18th February 2008:
Wow, thats basically all I can say to this. It was one of the best fanfics I have ever read, I loved your describtion and I already have a huge love for Teddy, and I've never seen him portrayed like this but I've really been craving a story like this. I noticed some people meationed that this story reminded them of edger allen poe and I get that feel too. But also in the story when Teddy thinks about how the rain will wash away the blood, it made me completely think of Macbeth.

Now if there are people who haven't read that.. well then neither have I.. completely. But the short version of it(As far as I am) is there is a noblemen named Macbeth who is bestowed great honor by his cousin the king who gives him famous titles for saving his country in war. But Macbeth is visited by 3 witches who tell him that he will become king. The thought of becoming king takes over his mind until he decides to kill the king, he starts thinking it over and wanting to back out but his wife Lady Macbeth(Who is a very malicious woman) Makes him go through with it by telling him that if she had promised him to kill a child even if it were her own that she had brest fed, she would gash its brains out before breaking that promise.

But after he kills the king he cannot put the knifes with the servants to set them up because he is too horrofied by what he has done, so his wife does it. And as she washes her hands of the kings blood so says the water cleans us of our deed.

So that very long thing was just because I felt the same viciousness from Teddy that I did from Lady Macbeth, and when Teddy said the rain washed away the blood it almost seemed like me was saying that it washed away the dark deed he had done.

But anyway I'm rambling.. I loved your story its really something that most people don't do, but so many people love. It shows people at its worst, which is what a lot of people choose to deny about our race.

So I think I'll just stop now before I write too much(Oops too late) But I truly loved it.

~FireAngel42~

 Report Review

Review #10, by Lovely_Slytheriness Just Play Your Cards Right

9th February 2008:
Wow hun this story is fantastic. I love everything about the plot, vengance is always captivating and appealing to me for some reason. And I agree with you, I love Teddy and your portrayal of him here in this one shot. Very nicely written, beautiful and descriprive as always Helen (= Lovely!

~Linnéa

 Report Review

Review #11, by tonksloveswerewolves Just Play Your Cards Right

4th February 2008:
oooh, ANGST-A-PALOOZA!! I LOVE IT!! 100.000.000.000.000/10!

 Report Review

Review #12, by hp_addicts Just Play Your Cards Right

17th January 2008:
Amazingly creative imagination you have.

 Report Review

Review #13, by kiwigirl Just Play Your Cards Right

5th December 2007:
hmm... interesting concept. I personally don't like the way you portrayd teddy, but it's just my personal thing. good job though.
kiwigirl

 Report Review

Review #14, by Weirdism Just Play Your Cards Right

1st December 2007:
You. Crushed. My. Mood. BAWL! I never thought of that, no doubt about it you're the most creative writer I've ever read and I worship the computer you type on!

Your biggest fan (lol :D), Misha 10/10

 Report Review

Review #15, by Shadowedchakuu Just Play Your Cards Right

22nd November 2007:
Helen, Helen, Helen, Helen. . . (Yes I am aware I said that four times) What an amazing story, you are a great story teller and I loved the story :D. The imagery is amazing and how to work out that Teddy wants revenge because of his view on Harry is brilliant. Stuff of legends . . . ok maybe thats a wee bit too far but only by a hair. All in all, loved it :D ~SC

 Report Review

Review #16, by VampireKisses Just Play Your Cards Right

21st November 2007:
I gotta hand it to you Dracana, this story blew me away! I loved your interpretations on everything in here...it was just so...different. Like Teddy, I thought he'd be like a Harry jr. who was told stories of his parents depicted as god like heroes only here it was the opposite! "Just Play Your Cards Right" I would definetly say opened up my viewpoints on Teddy, and the way you made him angry and sadistic inside kind of gave me the chills, but I liked the change nonetheless. Another thing, for me, every word of the story seemed to be singing out with an Edgar Allan Poe aura. From his writings, even to his homelife (he never liked his guardian father either...) For some reason I had gotten the memory of reading the Tell Tale Heart while reading this, please take this as a compliment. If you ever go into writing as a career, I think you'd have a strong point in the art of horror.

Out of ten stars, I give this an honest 9/10!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Mooney Just Play Your Cards Right

20th November 2007:
'the tilting edge of a knife that slits across his face, but a warm jovial flicker to outsiders.'- did u write this or is it a quote, it's pure Genius. The whole story was incredibly well written, i loved it. some of the discription was nothing less then chillin. really loved it totally unique story congrats!

 Report Review

Review #18, by GryfindorRuby Just Play Your Cards Right

7th November 2007:
I've not seen any stories where Teddy is bad it makes a change!

 Report Review

Review #19, by AK Carmel Just Play Your Cards Right

4th November 2007:
okay i havent read this yet, im kindof afraid too...i want to but grrr...any reasurance?

 Report Review

Review #20, by The Equalizer Just Play Your Cards Right

3rd November 2007:
Interesting story. Did he plan to make it look like an accident? Or was that merely opportunity knocking?


 Report Review

Review #21, by ginny_weasley_54 Just Play Your Cards Right

2nd November 2007:
wow. amazing story.

 Report Review

Review #22, by KK Just Play Your Cards Right

1st November 2007:
Wow, one of the best i have ever read!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Silver_Falcon Just Play Your Cards Right

26th October 2007:
This is really good. The idea itself was really interesting and the way its written draws you in. I couldn't wait to see the end. Albeit i was hoping he would see the error of his ways. But i suppose thats a cliche ending.
anyway really good!

 Report Review

Review #24, by rainbow92 Just Play Your Cards Right

19th October 2007:
Wow, this story was absolutely brilliant. This puts a whole new, and realistic spin on the character of Teddy Lupin, and you've written it brilliantly - there were parts in it that just sent chills up my spine.


As a previous reviewer said, Teddy in the beginning reminded me exactly of a young Tom Riddle, and I liked it how you kept it like this the whole way through. A lot of stories would probably have some sort of guilt or reconciliation at the end, but wrote Teddy's mercilessness perfectly. Like I said, in some parts this was honestly creepy. Great work, Dracana, 10/10 :) ~Cat

Author's Response: Wow, it's you, Miss-I'm-And-Amazing-Writer!! I LOVE your story, the Black triology . . .

Anyway, thanks very much for this review. I really wanted Teddy to be very callous in this and entirely bent on revenge, so I'm glad that this was portrayed. That's interesting how he reminded you of Tom Riddle also . . . I suppose he is kind of like that, really. It wasn't what I was going for, but if that's the way it seems then that's more than gine with me. I loved writing this and I'm very glad that you enjoyed reading it.

Thanks for letting me know your thoughts, Cat.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Rock n Roll Just Play Your Cards Right

18th October 2007:
This was a very creepy (in a good way) story. I guess I've always seen Teddy and Harry as buddies, getting along and all that stuff but after reading this story I guess this could happen. This was written very well!

Author's Response: I loved writing this different, new approach to Teddy, and therefore am pleased that you liked it. Thank you very much for reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>