Reading Reviews for Our Farewell
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by javct Our Farewell

25th September 2012:
This was really poignant.

Putting aside the fact that I never EVER read Song-fics I enjoyed this story immensely. The way you wrote this story was clever and I love how you integrated Lily into the story. It's a headcanon of mine that when Harry died (whatever age that might be) Lily and James were welcoming him with opening arms.

That said, there were a few canon-spelling mistakes in this story. You misspelt Lily's name throughout this story. This is a common mistake, mainly because Lily can spelt two different ways. You spelt Lily: Lilly while it should be Lily :)

Great story!
Jasmine, x

Author's Response: Well i'm glad I got you not only to read, but to enjoy a song fic ;) And I agree with you that Lily, James and the rest of Harry's lost loved ones would be waiting for him (you know, like it's an airport.. lol)

As far as Lily, yeah, I'm working my way through my old stories fixing little things like that so thanks for the heads up ;)

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #2, by No_oneKnows Our Farewell

25th September 2012:
Hi there!

First of all, I'd like to say that I actually really liked one of Within Temptation's songs - Memories a long time ago and this brought back those 'memories' I had about that song.

Anyway, to your story! I thought the song really captured your story's tone and feel. You seemed to really play out Ron and Hermione's feelings if Harry were to have died, in a succinct manner and it was imaginable.

You might want to fix your Lilly's into Lily though, because for me that slightly disturbed the flow (I'm just picky that way!) Hehe :P

But good job with your song fic!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the story and felt that the emotions were believable =)

For years I've gone back and forth with the spelling of Lily's name and have recently been going through my stories and correcting litte things like that, so thanks for pointing it out!

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp Our Farewell

1st April 2011:
hey!

this is AditiDraco95 from the forums with the review you asked for!

Sorry that it took ages for me to review this!!

Anyway, coming to the fic, let me say it was very well-written. Emotional, intense and yet not soo harsh. Everything was put very well though there were a few grammatical errors here and there. You could just take care of them if you re-read the fic =)

All in all, great work!

9/10

CHeers!
AD

Author's Response: Thanks for the R&R .. I'm glad you enjoyed it =D

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Luna Our Farewell

10th April 2010:
Ohh wow. You were right about needing a tissue and how you write tear jerkers. Oh my days. I love it. It's so sad. Perfect and wel written. Luna (or Lu!)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it :D
At least you had the warning up front that I write a lot of tear-jerkers... lol. I can't wait to see what you think of the sequel... as well as anything else you get a chance to R&R *wunk wink nudge nudge* LOL

Thanks again!
*huggles*
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #5, by icecrystal Our Farewell

7th April 2010:
Moon. *starts to sob* That was absolutely, beautiful. I don't think I have any better words for that.
It was heart-wrenching, breath takingly sad, and incredibly bitter sweet in its own way.
I think that you captured the greif of losing a friend which meant that much to Hermione perfectly!
And of course it meant I had an excuse to listen to WT again!
10/10 for its ability to make my heart ache and for your amazing writing skills as well!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it :DI'm also glad I handed you a tissue before you started reading.. lol. This was an awesome story twrite, and I must admit I cried during the process of writing it... and everytime I re-read it.. lol. I can't wait to see what you think of the sequel!
Thanks love!
*huggles*
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #6, by POMPY Our Farewell

24th November 2009:
BRILLIANT! it was brilliant, amazing, too nice to describe. i am simply thrilled at the concept of the story. i loved it so much!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D I'm glad you enjoyed this story. I had a lot of fun writing it even though its so dark and its a pleasure when someone else seems to enjoy it as much as I did.

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #7, by harrylilyjames Our Farewell

14th June 2009:
awe, that was soo sweet- I think I read this before, but I just never reviewed...weird.
Just why would Lily 'look down' at Harry? when Harry would be taller than her.
The song was lovely, it went really well with the story. Nice job!

Author's Response: LOL, you know i never though about that... I think my mind just said "adult taller than child" and went with that... maybe she was floating...lol... it could work ;)
I'm glad you enjoyed this story
and thanks for the review!
~MooN~


 Report Review

Review #8, by miss_ravenclaw09 Our Farewell

2nd June 2009:
Hey there, back again! :)

O.M.G. That song is so chilling, but it fits so well! I love Within Temptation, but I had never heard this song, so I took your advice and listened to it while reading the story, and WOW. You did a great job putting the emotionality that comes with the song into the story. I seriously got chills while reading! Lol, this is why I love song-fics. They're so underappreciated. :P

I really like your time transitions in this fic as well, because you can see the long-term impact that Harry's death is having on Ron and Hermione and it doesn't feel rushed. It was painful seeing that happen to them, and you could feel that reflected on Harry. I felt so bad for him! :( I did like the way you ended it though. It felt very together at the end, which I'm betting is what you were going for! Haha. :)

Loving the stories (and the stories of how they came about! LOL)! Keep it up!

Angela

Author's Response: :D You know it's been so long since I posted this story that I actually had to go back and re-read it before responding. lol. I'm so glad you enjoyed this story. I'm a huge fan of Within Temptation myself, and when this story was written I was listening to a lot of thier slower stuff, Our Farewell, Forgivin, Somehwere.. ect... and after listening to Our Farewell a few times the story just came to me ;)
I agree with you about Harry's death having long term effects on his friends, it's not something they would get over. In time they may be able to carry on without the constant pain of loss, but I don't think they would ever forget him, what he did, or the pain his death caused them.
Prepare for another request though. becasue there is a sequel... ;)

Thanks for yet another wonderful review!
Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #9, by searching4neverland Our Farewell

27th May 2009:
this reminded me vaguely of 'the ghost', the way his spirit stayed behind for her for a wile... wow, thats a weird thing to say...
The story feels like you have sat back and let things happen on their ow and captured different moments of the occurring. It gives everything a strange sense of detachment, and the way everything is described so unemotionally makes it more emotional... I don't know if I'm making sense, sorry if I'm not :P
Anyway, its a sad story that ends in peace, which actually made Harry's death easer to contemplate.
The only thing that I have to suggest is to put more text between the lyrics - which were very well chosen for the message the story delivers by the way.

Author's Response: I know what you mean about the feeling deattached. Even when I was writing it there was the sensation of hovering above the scenes observing, but unable to do anything about it other then watch it play out. :D
I'm so glad you liked this and look forward to more of your reviews :D
Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #10, by Tom_DracosGirl Our Farewell

9th October 2008:
I thought you did a great job with everyone's emotions. This was such a sad story but I really loved how you gave us that little bit of happiness at the end with Harry's final message.

I haven't heard the song that you used but I thought the words fitted in quite nicely with the mood and tone of the story. I gather that song fics can be difficult to write and some can seem a bit awkward but yours flowed smoothly and was a joy to read.

Author's Response: Thank you for your R&R :)
I'm glad you enjoyed it and that you agreed with me on the mood of the song. If you listened to it you would find that it is a very meloncollie piece that was jsut begging for a story :)

~moon~


 Report Review

Review #11, by DeathMakesArtists Our Farewell

17th May 2008:
Awww! It was so touching! And what an awesome song to go with the story :) I really loved what you did with the characters and how you described their emotions, everything was just really beautiful. :) Another 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it means a lot to me. I'm so happy you enjoyed thoese 2 stories and hope that you will go on to read and review more of my work.
Thanks again!
~Moondanser~


 Report Review

Review #12, by American Ginny Our Farewell

18th March 2008:
I liked it a lot. I find it funny how you seem to be attracted to killing harry and following hermione and ron's feelings but mainly focus on hermione. i think your stories are the first i have ever cried over (well actually i think i cried while i read to the past, from the future). Anyways, i loved it. You are great at writing, and you should keep it up. 10/10
-gin

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm so glad you liked it... and I'll have you know I'm an equal oppertunity mourner...lol... I kill off a varity of people through out my stories ;)
Cheers!
~Moondanser~


 Report Review

Review #13, by sunshinedreamr Our Farewell

28th January 2008:
I told you I'd come and review your stories as you are such a faithful reviwer of The M Word, so here I am. :]

I really liked this fic. As sad and somewhat depressing as it was, the emotions you portrayed here were so strong that my heart broke for each character involved. Hermione and Ron's pain was clearly evident, as was Harry's that he was simply watching his friends mourn over him and could do nothing to ease their pain. How frustrating that must have been for him.

Anyway, I think you did a wonderful job here. 10/10. :]

Jessica

Author's Response: Thanks for the R&R. This one and My Immortal are probably my personal faves so I'm glad you enjoyed it :)
Eagerly waiting for the next chapter on
The "M" Word!
~Moondanser~


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lovely_Slytheriness Our Farewell

26th January 2008:
This was very beautiful, I loved it. I really liked that there was almost no dialouges; it made Hermione´s mourning more prominent. The lyrics went good with the text also, indeed a very well written one shot! Great job.

~Linnéa

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Glad you liked it:) I hope you were able to read My Immortal as well, it's the sequel to Our Farewell.
Thanks so much the review, I truly appreciate it :)
Much Love
~Moondanser~


 Report Review

Review #15, by katie Our Farewell

5th January 2008:
luved it cute and adorable 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, glad you enjoyed it :) I hope you had time to ready MY Immortal.. it's the sequel to Our Farewell
Cheers!
~Moondanser~


 Report Review

Review #16, by DracoLover92 Our Farewell

25th November 2007:
omg it made me cry..

Author's Response: The ulitmate complement :) So glad you enjoyed it. I hope you checked out the song, it's from one of my fave bands. There is a follow up story I did to this one to the song My Immortal by Evanesence. Hopefully I'll have it posted soon.
Much Love
~Moondanser~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login