Reading Reviews for Beauty of Roses
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by rosie_sirius93 Chapter 6

11th December 2008:
Hey!
I loved the story! The diary idea was really sweet, kind like the mirrors yea?
Rosie
;D

Author's Response: Hey Rosie! Thanks a bunch for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the story =D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jey_Lynne Chapter 6

19th October 2007:
This story was so pretty. I loved it!!
I really enjoy all your writing, please please please keep on it!

Author's Response: Thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Potterholic Chapter 6

15th October 2007:
That was so sweet! I love how you ended it there. I giggled when James got down on his knee, that was really cute. ^_^ Lily’s apologies were really wonderful, and I love how her friends reacted. All in all, this was a wonderful story. Great job, Mon!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so so so much =) I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this little story.
Hee, I always thought that James was a rather fun guy who'd be a bit spur of the moment... he dictated how I wrote this. LOL...

~Mon


 Report Review

Review #4, by Potterholic Chapter 5

15th October 2007:
Aww, that was so sad! I really want to smack Regulus upside the head right now. Ugh, that little... *clears throat* Anyway, I love this chapter. Everything was well described and I like how you wrote James’ confession. It hurt to know that you wouldn’t give me the time of day although I knew that you liked what I wrote into that journal. It was sweet and heartbreaking. I’m looking forward to see what Lily would do next. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Ah, but who wouldn't want to hit him upside the head right now?
And poor James... to be honest, I wanted to hit Lily upside the head while writing this!!

~Mon


 Report Review

Review #5, by Potterholic Chapter 4

15th October 2007:
Wow, I wonder why Lily can’t tell the difference between Regulus and James in the diary. It’s so obvious Regulus can never be that romantic. What exactly attracted Lily to him in the first place, anyway? Lily’s encounter with James was brilliant, and I love that you didn’t overdo the argument. Great job, Mon. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Ah, but you see, to her Regulus can be romantic. Even Lily is prone to being blind when in love... she's convinced it's Regulus she's writing to. Why should she think otherwise?
And thank you for the compliment on their little argument :) I don't believe in overdone, pointless shouting matches just for the sake of them :)
~Mon


 Report Review

Review #6, by Potterholic Chapter 3

15th October 2007:
Uh oh, I’m guessing the guy isn’t Regulus after all? I wonder how he felt when he read Lily’s latest entry. Anyway, I had to grin when he said he was reading Romeo and Juliet. It was sweet, but I can’t picture him with the book in his hands. =P Anyway, another great chapter Mon! Off to the next one!

Author's Response: LOL.. see, I can picture him with that book in his hands... the cover disguised as some old comic book *wink* Doubt he'd openly read it without anyone of his friends taking the royal mickey out of him, hee!
~Mon


 Report Review

Review #7, by Potterholic Chapter 2

15th October 2007:
Hmm... stag? Why do I have a suspicion that this is not Regulus after all? =P Anyway, love this chapter. The girl talk between Lily and Alice was nicely written, and I like the little run-in with James. It showed how James was different but Lily still wouldn’t believe that he was changing. ^_^ The diary entry was sweet, and I could imagine Lily’s huge grin as she wrote back. All in all, love this chapter. I’m adding this to my favourite.

Author's Response: Hee ^_^ suspicions are always good! Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed the run-in and the girl talk.

~Mon


 Report Review

Review #8, by Potterholic Chapter 1

15th October 2007:
Great beginning! The idea of Lily and Regulus together never occurred to me, but I like the idea. =P I like how you incorporated her friendship with Severus there and how Lily was quite used to be called Mudblood. The idea of sharing a diary seems really romantic, and I can’t wait to see where it’s going. Keep up the good work, Mon!

Author's Response: Hello!! =D
Truth be told, the idea never occurred to me either LOL... Jessi prompted me to write this! So, kudos to her!
Thanks so much for your nice comments, dear!!
~Mon


 Report Review

Review #9, by Maggie Chapter 6

4th October 2007:
That was such a perfect ending; I love how they don't kiss but actually start a friendship, albeit one with more-than-friends feelings from one side. That just made it feel so real, so less fairy-tale.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you Maggie! I'm so glad you liked the ending. I was afraid it might rub up the wrong way that they're not quite the happy couple yet at the end of this story, so I'm glad to read this.
Thanks so much! ~Mona =)


 Report Review

Review #10, by AuroraLamia Chapter 6

4th October 2007:
I applause to everyone who helped you and I applause to your wonderful story and writing skills.
You are a fantastic writer and in turn I give you a ten/ten... only if I could give more... just think of it as a hundred out of a hundred then okay? good. haha

Author's Response: Thank you so much. What a lovely thing to say. I will most certainly pass your praise on to my beta and Jessi, who prompted me to write this in the first place!
Again, thanks a million! ~Mona :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Maggie Chapter 5

3rd October 2007:
That was just so beautiful. The characters feel so alive and their emotions so tangible. Please continue with this story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Maggie. I hope you'll enjoy the final chapter just as much =)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Onixx Chapter 1

3rd October 2007:
This is a sweet story, but not predictable. Good job, keep it up!

Onixx

Author's Response: Thanks very much Onixx!! I'm glad you're enjoying it.
~PBM =)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Falling In Chocolate Chapter 5

3rd October 2007:
o.o I guess I should of suspected that. whoa, sweet as.
I love hw you're clicking everything together and how you made it a tragic but romantic... not really a fluff as much as a sweet romance... like Ten Things I hate about You... does that make sense?

Author's Response: Hee, strangely enough, it does make sense to me. And thank you very much for another positive review. I'm really happy you're enjoying my story. Only one more chapter to go and that's now going off to my beta.
~Mona :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Falling In Chocolate Chapter 4

3rd October 2007:
Another nice chapter from you. I love your writing style and how you write more professionally then others. Alot of people put ~Flashback~ which it my opion ruins the moment, but you put Italics very nice.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely compliment =) I do try my best not to disturb the flow of a story and I'm glad it worked the way I did it! It wouldn't be half as good without queenb23, my wonderful friend and beta! =)

Thanks so much for reviewing! ~Mona


 Report Review

Review #15, by columba_the dove Chapter 4

2nd October 2007:
oh ya! it is so James who has the other book!
poor Lily! oh she's gona have her heart broken!

Author's Response: =) Hee... Yes, you're right... but it's not only Lily's heart that's on the line here. Poor James.

Thanks again for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by columba_the dove Chapter 3

2nd October 2007:
it's not Regulus writing to lily is it?
he didn't actually giver her ether key or the diary so it could be someone else, right?

reading chapter two i suspected it wasn't Regulus and this chapter has just made me more sure. oh is lily going to be embarrassed when she finds out who it is she's just called "Regulus".

should add that i'm loving your story.

Author's Response: *grins*
It certainly is not Regulus, and I'm sure you have the correct suspicions about just who is writing back to her and who she just mistakenly called Regulus...
Thank you very much for your review! =)
~PBM


 Report Review

Review #17, by GubraithianFire Chapter 4

2nd October 2007:
As promised, I'm back, and ready to gush about this latest installment :) Because this chapter is so completely gush-worthy, definitely one of the more intense chapters.

That this chapter was told mostly in flashback immediately sets it apart from the previous three. So much flashback is difficult to pull off, but you did it, and quite gracefully, too. My favorite, though, was the one with James. I think I've said it before, but I am seriously in love with your James. He's so powerful, yet awkward, and so well written, quite honestly, and the way he can't, at first, bring up Regulus is very in-character. And the way he explodes, just paragraphs later, is masterfully done, as well. Lily's indignant, incensed responses were well placed, considering that we haven't had a proper row between our lovebirds yet. What struck me most was his statement about Regulus, how Lily doesn't really know him. This makes me wonder, what does James know about Regulus?...

The second flashback was also a good choice, because know we know why exactly Lily is so - for lack of a better word - desperate to know him better. And I must say, I love your Regulus, too. This flashback, and the present part later on, portray your characterization excellently. Not to mention that this is the first time we actually see him speak and really interact with Lily, which you also write seamlessly.

I can't begin to describe how excited I am for the next two chapters, because I love your characters and your new spin on a possibly cliched plot. You're doing wonderfully, beautifully, and I congratulate you immensely.

Author's Response: *is gobsmacked*
Wow, I'm truly speechless. Thank you so much for this high praise. I'm utterly stunned and strangely elated by your wonderful, positive feedback!

I'm so worried about the characterisation, there have been so so so many fabulous, wonderful James and Lily stories and I couldn't even hold a candle to any of them. I'm really glad that you're enjoying my little story this much and that my characterisations don't seem to be too far off!

*huggles you tight* THANK YOU!!! ~Mona :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by hp fanatic Chapter 4

2nd October 2007:
cool me first review >.< good chapter, please come out with the next one soon.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! And no worries, I'm well on track for my 'chapter-a-day' :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by GubraithianFire Chapter 3

1st October 2007:
This chapter was just as beautiful as the last two.

I think the two diary entries really made the chapter so beautiful, because of the romantic nature of the subject matter. I absolutely adored it, especially the mention of Shakespeare. It seems to be a staple in romantic fics, but you pull it off in passing, very delicately, and it really worked like that. The tender way they both write the responses is also very delicate, very gentle, and it just makes me smile so much, so kudos to you on that!

The next section, Alice and Frank, brought even more smiles. I love Alice and Frank, and the sweet, awkward way you write them brings them to life and I absolutely adore it, since they don't come off as cheesy at all. Fluffy, maybe, but sweet nonetheless.

I also love how James is appearing more and more each chapter, and how gradually you are working him in to the story. His best line was indisputably "You missed a beautiful sunrise." Connecting to the comment in the diary, it was just so sweet and beautiful - it really embodies the reason I adore Lily/James, because it can be written so many ways, tragic and fluffy, and you pull off the latter beautifully.

I also love how Lily is confused by the response. By this point you have given us enough to deduce who it is that is writing the letters, and while Lily doesn't yet know - though I can't wait to see her reaction at the ball! - it makes me smile so much, because I can guess what is to come, and I absolutely love it, and I love your Lily and your James and your Alice and your writing!

Author's Response: Oh gosh, Gubby!
Thank you so so much for your lovely compliments. You've no idea what this means to me!! It's my first time writing Lily/James/Alice and Frank and I'm so so worried about it all. You're helping to put my mind at ease a little bit. Doesn't take all the worry away, but it helps a HUGE bit! LOL

I'm so so happy to read your comments!
** huggles **
~Mona :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by GubraithianFire Chapter 2

1st October 2007:
Again, I can't describe how exquisitely you have written this story, it's just so sweet and intriguing and I absolutely loved it!

I love how this chapter we are getting to know Alice better, as opposed to seeing Lily obsess over the diary. You have characterized her very, very well, and I love how adorably awkward she is about Frank! I loved how you didn't go into too much detail about Gladrags: you have the knack for knowing exactly what to omit and what to include, a rare talent in fanfiction.

The best part about this chapter was the scene in the Three Broomsticks. The barest communication between him Lily and Regulus was well portrayed, concise, while others would probably expand too much on her reaction, or his, and that would have ruined the moment. But seeing James help Lily civilly was very good, and the following moments were absolutely wonderful. Lily speculating that he had tripped her was an excellent portrayal of her doubt in him, and I can't wait to see them get together at the end ;) Or so I hope, because while I think Lily/Regulus is genius, I am still a diehard James/Lily fan!

The next diary entry was very insightful, and I loved the bit about the stag :) Lily's response was equally insightful, especially her preferring a Muggle food instead of a newer taste. And Lily's dream was a lovely image to leave us with - stags and their favorite foods and them dancing until dawn... *Swoons* So romantic! But when will Lily be dreaming about dancing with James until dawn? *Wiggles eyebrows*

Author's Response: Gubby!!! Again, thank you so much for reading and reviewing and your lovely compliments *loves*

I'm trying really hard to keep cliché to a minimum, which is really not easy since many things have been done before - including this diary plot. So, thank you so much for your praise! I'm really, really glad you're enjoying this!

Thanks so so much!!
~Mona =)


 Report Review

Review #21, by GubraithianFire Chapter 1

1st October 2007:
Mona, I promised I'd review this absolutely intriguing piece, so here I am, if a few days too late ;) All the same, you've done absolutely wonderful with this, I'm so glad I caught it.

The beginning was a great preface, I think. You don't give too much away about Lily's and Regulus' relationship, you leave us guessing, but the next section, at the point where Lily finds the rose and key, it is immediately clear that something went wrong last night. I especially like that you didn't let us witness the date, since it, again, gives us something to wonder about, but we need not dwell on it for too long, since there are locks to be found!

I can't stress enough how much I love the idea: roses and keys and enchanted diaries, it's just so adorably romantic. Romantic, and very creative, and frustrating when Lily can't find whatever she is supposed to unlock! You portray Lily wonderfully, it's one of the best I've ever seen. And when she finally does receive the diary - you have me wondering what exactly will happen later on! I'm so excited, Mona, this is wonderful, and I'm adding it to my favorites.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, Gubby, I don't even know how to answer this! Thank you so much for all your compliments *squishes you*

Seriously, thanks a million for reading and reviewing!! =) ~Mona


 Report Review

Review #22, by Regulus_Black Chapter 3

1st October 2007:
Dont really like the pairing but good story

Author's Response: Thank you for giving my story a try although you don't like the pairing it starts off with.
~PBM :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Falling In Chocolate Chapter 3

1st October 2007:
I quite adore this story, I find it very exquisite and brilliant, although I'm sure that this has been mentioned, I love the idea of the diary/journal conversations.
I see you've been updating quickly, unlike me you must be a trusted Author, how I envy you of said fact.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely compliments. And yes, I do have TA status *hugs it* I'm sure you'll get there, too!
~PBM :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by PixiePower Chapter 3

1st October 2007:
Wow, I never would have thought of a Lily/Regulus (or as I shall now call it, Legulus) story, but I'm glad YOU did. This is an awesome story, the writing is really sophisticated and it flows really well.

Author's Response: Thanks a million for the lovely review! And the thanks to the pairing goes to Jessi_Rose - she prompted me to write this pairing! All her fault =P
~PBM :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Foxy Lady Chapter 2

30th September 2007:
oh wow, I love the diary idea, I've seen it done a few times, but yours it deffintly well done, to get to know each other, and you reall did mean a chapter a day, wow, haha I say that a lot don't I? Sorry.
Anyway, back to the story, unlike alot of people, you have a good perspective of Lily, not the cliché, but more... correct? I don't know how to say it...
And The Lily/James realtion, normally people make it she shouts and screams when ever he touches her, but the one you've written, she just get's annoyed that he keeps asking her things and being a bit sleazy at times... or cheesy. ^_^
Brilliant update, I hope you enjoy writing as much as I do reading it

Author's Response: Hello :)

Thanks so much for your continued support!! And I'm glad it's obvious that I don't believe Lily and James were in shouting matches all the time. They surely did have their differences, and I don't think they never argued - loudly at that - but surely not all the time. But when her temper does snap, you'd want to be far away *grin*

And yes, it's disgusting how much I enjoy writing this. It will only be 6 chapters in total and 5 are done... so hopefully I'll get to keep up the chapter-a-day.

Thanks so much!! ~PBM :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>