Reading Reviews for Red is for Roses
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by emerald_moons Red is for Roses

12th December 2008:
Fluffy and a very easy read. I like the effortless flow and the simplicty is nice. Great. 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! =D

 Report Review

Review #2, by luvdraco87 Red is for Roses

7th April 2008:
I want to start off saying that I'm so sorry for such the long wiat for reviewing your story.

I really loved it. It was the first story that I have ever read with Rose/Scorpius story and I really enjoyed it.

-Constance
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. And its okay, people that want reviews from me have to wait sometimes, too.

 Report Review

Review #3, by AnnaKay Red is for Roses

25th March 2008:
Sounds like a very good start. It seems interesting, and it was very ingenious how Scorpius let her find out about his love.

I just have one quick question. Were they friends before Transfiguration or did that just happen after that day. The kitten was such a cute idea!

Author's Response: They were friends, but Rose didn't want to be his close friend even though Scorpius kind of pushed his friendship on her. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #4, by xlilyx Red is for Roses

27th January 2008:
aww that was so cute and fluffy :) i wish there were guys at our school like that :)ahh well good story :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by OneOfTheWeasleys Red is for Roses

13th January 2008:
Hey greylady Ravenclaw,

here i am for my promised review and I must say great job! I really liked the concept of this one-shot. It was very original with Scorpius leaving the rose petals for Rose, it was very cute.

Saying that, I did find a few errors: 'felt his slid around her waist.' - missing hand between his and slid is meant to be slide. “Here, I’ guessing it yours." - missing the 'm' of I'm

Also, some parts sounded a bit repetitve due to the word choice being the same. Just go through it and change a few words here and there, and it will be great! And the meeting between Rose and Hugo, maybe add a bit more resentment of the idea. He seemed to have given up the fight a little to quickly. Maybe have him walking away angry and Lily poking fun at him or something.

Overall, wonderful job. Rose/Scorpius has become a new favorite of mine and I think you did a great job of portraying their Romeo and Juliet type of relationship. Great job and keep on writing! :D

Lots of Love,
OneoftheWeasleys

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'll fix try to fix that soon.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Faia Red is for Roses

24th November 2007:
What a short and sweet fic this was. Faia

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #7, by birdie01 Red is for Roses

9th November 2007:
I really do not have much critism. I wish that you would have shown how their friendship developed. That's the only real critism I have.
I love your characterizations, Scorpius was a lot like Draco which I liked. Your detail was great as well. I wish that this was longer because it was really good and there is a lot that you could do with it, but it's a one-shot. haha. Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by JLHufflepuff Red is for Roses

28th October 2007:
Awww.. I like the sweet lil Rose/Scorpius story! I think that the idea of the random petals everywhere was a nice touch, and it is definitely a thoughtful way for him to show her he likes her!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #9, by RoMaNTiCiLLuSioNS Red is for Roses

27th October 2007:
It was really cute... short and sweet. I just thought you could do a little more, but this is just a one-shot. Your story has opened me up to more Rose/Scorpius (my new-found obsession)...

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #10, by A Diffrent type of Flower Red is for Roses

27th October 2007:
that was cute! you should write a sequel

Author's Response: I am planning on writing a sequal. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #11, by jyyl94 Red is for Roses

23rd October 2007:
Hiya ! You requested for me to review your story, so here I am. First of all, I'd like to say sorry for the late review as you know I'm having my finals and I was too caught up in studying. I'd also like to thank you for reviewing my story, if you remember ;D

Anyway, back to your story. Its a pretty amazing start, and I loved it. Though its your first Rose/Scorpius fanfic, it was amazing, everything was. I could tell that you put in much effort when writing the story, which I'm glad that I've read. The characterizations were amazing, and I liked how you characterized Scorpius. Definitely like Draco. The descriptions were amazing, and everything was described beatifully from head to toe. You'll have no problem with descriptions when writing other stories. I'd like to comment about the number of spaces you have between each lines and paragraphs. You should make it less as it tends to distract your reader while they're reading, and basically the only thing I was doing when reading your story was scrolling down at times. Sometimes, HPFF does not validate stories without having a space or so between each paragraphs and lines, but try using the 'PASTE as plain text' button. It definitely helps, and though there will still be about two spaces, at least the turnout will be better than what you currently have in this chapter now. The plot is something that I've read before, but the way you wrote it made me get hooked to the story, so I'm totally loving it right now ! It was kinda rushed, I admit, and you should at least tell us how Scorpius and Rose were friends because you didn't actually introduced Scorpius at the beginning, and then suddenly Rose said that she's friends with him. Overall, a promising start to a story you've never written before !

`JYYL94.

Author's Response: Its ok. I have tests coming up in a few weeks.

Thanks for the review. I couldn't get the spacing to work right with this story, but I'll try to fix it. I am planning on writing a sequal to this story.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Cedrics_gurl Red is for Roses

22nd October 2007:
I thought I'd review as you also entered into my challenge! And I'm glad you did! I love your characterisations etc! And I love the way you made Scorpius into a "thetotaloppositeofDraco" person! Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Hermionesclass101 Red is for Roses

21st October 2007:
Aww, this was really sweet. The rose petals were a nice way for Scorius to tell her what he feels and the description was lovely. It was well written and I like that Lily and Hugo came into the story somewhere. I liked the part about her Uncle George. I only have one suggestion. The Burrow should have a capital. Great job!

~Hermionesclass

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #14, by ElissandrAnne Red is for Roses

20th October 2007:
Hey there!

You reviewed the first three chapters of my novel, so I thought I would check out your author page. And when I saw this one-shot, I remembered you had posted a thread in the forums - I think you wanted some help with the title - and I was curious. :)

It was sweet. I really liked the story, and your style flows, making it even easier to enjoy. However, some parts seem a bit rushed. For example, in the last part, you wrote that Rose and Scorpius have been friends for long, yet I did understand quite the contrary from reading the rest. So maybe you could imply that a bit in the charm class scene? It's just a suggestion, of course.

Actually, if I enjoyed reading the story as it is, I think that you could turn it into a two-chaptered short story. It would give you more space to develop it some more, and your readers would have twice as much to read!

Of course, I'm not talking about deleting this chapter! If you decided to take my advice, you would only have to add some more to the first part. Then you would post the end, with some additions, as a second chapter. Again, it's just a suggestion. You are the author, so you are the boss here. I don't like people to tell me how I should have written a scene or a story. And it's not what I'm doing here. I guess that what you wrote here leaves the reader wanting some more. lol. You have a very good story, and it wouldn't need much tweaking to make it great. ;)

Alright, I hope my review makes sense, because it's rather late where I am. :D Top mark.



Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm about to start writing a sequal to this story.

 Report Review

Review #15, by faerieall Red is for Roses

14th October 2007:
Hmm.

Okay. The petals were adorable.

I didn't like the kitten though, a bit over-the-top for a girl you've just become friends with.

It flows well, and quickly. Very nice one-shot. Doesn't seem forced. :D

Author's Response: Well they had been friends for a while, but I forgot to add that. lol I'm planning on writing a sequal to it. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #16, by nana_banana_xx3 Red is for Roses

12th October 2007:
Hello there hun. :) I've obviously come to leave that review you requested from me on the forums.

This is a really cute story. You're style of writing has a pretty nice flow to it that allows for easy reading. Good job! The only thing I would suggest changing as far as flow is concerned is this sentence: "Now students, I want you to pair off into pairs and try the charm I just taught you." It reads awkwardly because you used 'pairs' two times in such close proximity to one another.

There were aspects of this story that seemed a little rushed. I think that this would have been better had you drawn it out over two or three chapters. It might have added to the mystery of the piece rather than making it purely fluff. Not that fluff is a bad thing. I'm all for it, lol!

Also, I wasn't even aware until the end that Scorpius and Rose were friends. That seemed rather sudden. Perhaps I missed something? I might suggest taking out the bits that indicate they are close friends because I didn't gather that from the rest of your story. Rose seemed a little too comfortable with him at the end.

The final bit of CC I will offer to the table is in regard to Ron's warning in Deathly Hallows. I'm not really sure if this is the way you meant it, but you made things out to seem like Ron would be genuinely angry with Rose if she became friendly with Scorpius. I know he might not have been particularly pleased that she was getting close to Malfoy's kid, but I don't think that she would have gotten in trouble. Especially with Hermione for a mother. Just a thought though. :)

As I said though, this is a really cute story. I like the idea of the rose petals. :) It makes me all warm and fuzzy inside.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I wrote it for a challenge and I think it said It had to be a one-shot, but I can't remember right now. I'm planning on writing a sequl to this about Ron finding out.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ginny953 Red is for Roses

11th October 2007:
Thats really good. The kitten and the rose petals where very cute ideas, and I like how you didn't always but who was speaking, but it was still clear who was. (although that might not make perfect sense, do you get what I'm saying?) The dital of the kitten was very interesting and nice, it was all really cute and nice. (i'm saying cute and nice too mauch aren't i?) Buut it was, (C&T). I cant find anything that could be improved in this, its all really well dont , with pleanty of detail, but its not boring at all.

:) G r E a T :P

:)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #18, by FreakOut13 Red is for Roses

29th September 2007:
Thanks for taking this challenge up! :)

That was really fluffy. I loved it. You did a great job with the symbolism and whatnot. I enjoy fluff, so this story was nice and fun to read. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I may end up writing a sequal (not sure how to spell that) to it. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Lya Darkfury Red is for Roses

29th September 2007:
What a cute story! I really like your writing style. The word choice and characterizations were very good. The idea of leaving rose petals for Rose Weasley was really cute. Well done overall!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login