Reading Reviews for Shadow of a Hero
  
96 Reviews Found

Review #1, by OohBrilliant Chapter 7: Dead Men Tell No Tales

29th March 2010:
I must say. I LOVE this fanfiction. I'm seriously hooked. Not only do you write well, your plot line is real. I also like how you got the facts right, with their spouses and child names. Chapter 7 is such a tease >.< Can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #2, by musicgirlhp14 Chapter 5: The Fickle Finger of Fate

9th July 2009:
I seriously had to stop reading ten times just because it was too much take. Damn woman, your worse then Jo. Hahaha... anyway, I'll stick with you, but I hope you have found a way to end this thing on a happy note.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Romina Stephanie Chapter 7: Dead Men Tell No Tales

1st June 2008:
Wow, Court. I don't know what to say... There's so much going on and my head is actually racing with incomprehensible information! Still though... You've written this very well. As if you've managed to deal with the stress which exists in the story and recounted it as it is. Don't know if that makes any sense, but... still. And Hermione cannot die! I know that all hope for Harry is lost, but it still feels surreal and I can't take it in, but in Hermiones' case, there still is hope. And the final scene, with Draco and Astoria... He is good now, yeah? I really hope he'll fight for the good side and make that stand. Merlin, I'm so gobsmacked! And it feels like I'm not making any sense. But this was a great chapter. You're detailed and the pace is the exact right one for things to stay clear enough inside one's head. Anyway, I'm loving this story, even though it's making me sad. I do hope the remaining characters will manage to survive. Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #4, by lia_2390 Chapter 7: Dead Men Tell No Tales

25th May 2008:
It's a pity how over a decade of marriage and realising how much they loved each other wasn't enough, it never really seems like enough. I felt so sorry for Ron but at least she isn't dead but I think what hurts him most is that his best friend, the one who never judged him, is gone and he's unwilling to believe it or let go...literally.

The highlight of this chapter for me was the group of people who appeared to Mr Weasley, I wonder what do they really want? Of course you're not going to answer that question but I just thought I should ask it. Also, there's the conversation between Draco and his wife...what does he have to do? And where are the children??

You left your readers with so many questions after this rather intense (heehee - you should know why I laughed there) chapter...what will happen next???

Brilliant!
Lia.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Scriblerian Chapter 7: Dead Men Tell No Tales

17th May 2008:
First off, great name for a chapter. Whenever I read it I hear that parrot from Pirates of the Caribbean in my head. And it makes me giggle. It also makes me think about CJS, and let's face it, it's a good day whenever CJS is involved. ^_^ Second off, OMGYAYYOUUPDATED!!! *squees* And in true Courtney fashion this chapter was amazing. They always are. :D

My heart is still pounding like crazy. This story gets more and more intense with every chapter. Sheesh. I love angry Ron! I don't love that Harry really does appear to be dead though. My hopes have been shattered. SHATTERED!!! *cries* And then Ron won't let go of him and Hermione might die too and Victoire is dead and...and...*collapses in a fit of sobs* You're evil!! I swear to all that is holy, if you kill Arthur I'm going to make the war in Ireland look like a sunny day in the park. *glares*

Thank god for Lee. I was certain more death was imminent. BUT THEY LEFT HARRY! I'm starting to think that you have a deep seated hatred for the boy-who-lived, Courtney. *shakes head*

McGonagall is awesome. I don't know why. She's just a BAMF. I can just picture her taking out like, 30 of those bad dudes at a time without breaking a sweat. Plus she growls. And that's automatic awesomeness right there. Love it. Oooh, and I also liked the little glimpse we got of Draco at the end there. But as always it's sort of left me with the slight problem of wanting to keep reading and not being able to. So you should get on that. Pronto.

:D Okay, all kidding aside, I really did love this chapter Court. You're such an awesome writer that anything that comes out of you is bound to be brilliant so it's no surprise really. I love how intense this story is. Must have more! Write on babe! Don't make me threaten you with me cannon again. Or maybe I'll threaten you with Bono. Much scarier.

*GLOMPS*

~Scribby

 Report Review

Review #6, by birdie01 Chapter 7: Dead Men Tell No Tales

13th May 2008:
Okay so I have been checking this story since the day that I read chapter 6, waiting for you to update. I was hoping that you wouldn't just abandon the story there. haha. But anyway, it was WELL worth the wait.

You have an insane talent for writing panic and disorder, especially your fight scenes. I could litterally feel the sense of panic in the air around me while reading it. If that made any sense at all! But it was brilliant, I love how you are killing off so many of the people. I know that sounds absolutely horrible and I should be sent to jail and put on trial for saying that but it's true. This story would not be this amazing if it weren't for them. Each death just sticks out in your mind, well mine at least. I love it!
:)

Okay so I'm not really sure on what has happened to George. Mrs.Weasley says that she lost 2 sons, I know that Charlie has died and Fred as well, but then she said that George was dead. So wouldn't that be 3? Unless I read it wrong. haha. Just thought that I would ask. You also need to reveal where the two other children are, I must say that they have me worried!

Okay so, another brilliant, fabulous, wonderful, stunning, jaw-dropping chappie to this just as amazing story. UPDATE AS SOON AS YOU CAN! Again, I would rate this higher but that stupid bar just refuses to go any higher than 10. So I suppose that you will have to settle for that. :)

Author's Response: birdie01,

Between you and kiwi, I feel as if my head might not fit through my office door in the morning- seriously! I feel as if I sound like a broken record, but I want to tell you, yet again, how very much I appreciate your faithful reading and reviewing. It's really just beyond flattering (I'm serious!) to know that you enjoy this fic enough to take the time to read and then leave me such remarkable reviews!

I promise that I will NOT abandon this story, even though it may be a bit before chapter 8 is posted. I figure if I warn you now, maybe, just maybe, you'll stick around and not abandon me. I promise to try my hardest to get it up ASAP, but life is going to interfere in the next few months big time. Definitely no abandoning, though- it's already written in my mind, I just have to find the time to type it all up! :)

Panic and disorder- my favorites! LOL, really, though, I'm ecstatic to hear that works for you. I spend so much time on those scenes, playing them through in my head (dreaming about them- it's sick, I swear, lol) that I want them to translate well into writing. It's nice to hear that at least for you, I'm accomplishing that.

You're a riot- I think you're the first person who is actually pleased to see me 'killing' people left and right. I try so hard to make certain that each of the scenes stand out in my readers’ minds, because really, these characters are so important. They deserve it.

Well... Charlie and Fred are dead. Those are the two sons that Molly is referring to. I'm not quite certain where she said that George is dead... but if she did, then it was a typo. You see, while Mrs. Weasley is well aware of what mortal danger her children are in, she has her handy dandy clock and knows that George isn't dead... Unless I screwed that up to. It's a possibility... my poor Beta rips her hair out with me. =P I'll have to go back and reread, but if you find it... drop me a line?

Thanks again, for everything. You rock the awesome, birdie!

~C/PH1






 Report Review

Review #7, by GoldenSnitch33 Chapter 7: Dead Men Tell No Tales

12th May 2008:
HOLY COW! This was an excellent chapter to an EXCELLENT story. I've checked for updates everyday since Ch. 6 was posted. It was well worth the wait. I started reading so fast and was so caught up in the action that I had to reread this chapter 2 additional times to really soak in the details!

Your writing style is an instant snare of the senses and you expertly capture the enormous sense of panic and desperation of the situation. Your portrayal of the characters' reactions and how they respond to the surrounding circumstances create a believeable atmosphere that continually charges the flow of the story. Absolutely moving!

It is VERY refreshing to experience a well-written story that involves just the right amount of emotional stress. I've always been an adamant fan of stories that explore the angsty side of life. There are so many fanfics that dabble on the surface of raw emotion, but never really get into the heart (or reason) of what is going on.

The point of all my babbling is... YOU HAVE! Kudos and praise for a wonderful experience and a job well done! I can't wait for Ch. 8 :)

Author's Response: GoldenSnitch33,

Oh, I'm so glad you left a review, because I've been hoping to have an opportunity to tell you how much I like your username since I saw it in my favored list! Ever since DH, the golden snitch has seemed even more impressive to me. :)

Now, that I've gotten that out of the way though... WOW. What a phenomenally flattering review. I'm not even entirely certain what to say. Thank you, I guess, would be a good start, though! Not only for the amazing review, but for reading and checking every day (every day? wow!) since chapter 6 was posted! That's very impressive, and I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying this enough to warrant such dedication- it's... well... I already said flattering, but I'll say it again, lol. I'm sorry about the long wait though, that was entirely unintentional, I assure you.

Believable is definitely something I'm aiming for, so thank you for reassuring me; it's very nice to hear. I too, am a fan of the angst (aren't we all? :P), and I'm so glad to hear this is working for you!

I can't wait to bring you chapter 8. It will be a wait (I'm sorry!) but I promise to give it my best in terms of timeliness. Your babbling is always welcome here! Thank you!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #8, by kiwigirl Chapter 7: Dead Men Tell No Tales

12th May 2008:
OH no!

Sob sob sob sob sob sob sob .

This is terrible! There are no words to describe how sad I feel,

How could you!!!

Hermione!

Sob sob.

Is Arthur dead? Please no. As soon as Molly left, I knew he would die. Oh, please let him not be dead! Please please please! Oh, I am so depressed now. This is absolutely terrible!

Watch Draco die. Oh, no.

Sob sob.

This has ruined my day. But, I'm still so glad you updated. Update even faster! The wait is far too long! Oh, please. You can't leave me hanging like this!

Sob sob.

Great chapter, apart from the everybody-dies part.

10/10 (100 trillion over 10)

kiwigirl

Author's Response: kiwigirl,

I know I say it every time you review, but I swear I look forward to reading them. You're fantastically nutty, and I adore it!

That's a lot of sobbing, by the way. Should I be concerned that you will reenact Alice in Wonderland and drown the rest of my reviewers in your tears?

*provides lifeboats just in case*

I cannot answer your questions, unfortunately, because they will become crucial points later on- sorry! However, I can tell you that I will do my absolute best to update as soon as humanly possible. I'm also going to thank you again for being so faithful in your reading and reviewing. I really, truly, appreciate it.

Thanks for the trillions- you make me blush!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #9, by rosie2424 Chapter 7: Dead Men Tell No Tales

12th May 2008:
OMG! Why did you end the chapter there!! AHHH! AHHH! AHHH! I NEED TO READ MORE!!!

ok, maybe I'm being a little over-dramatic...

Great story, it's so exciting! Update soon, Please? *puppy dog eyes*

Author's Response: rosie2424,

A little over-dramatic? Naaaaah, not in this author's review box. Dramatics are always welcomed, as are reviews, and you've provided me with both- thank you! I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying this so far. I will try my absolute darndest to update soon, but as a heads up, it might be a couple of months. Chapter 8 is about 1/4 done, but my classes started again today for the summer, and I'm maxing myself out on time. I will most certainly try not to keep you waiting too long, though. Please, hang in there- I will not abandon this story. :) Thanks for the read and review!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #10, by Sammy23 Chapter 7: Dead Men Tell No Tales

12th May 2008:
Another Brilliant chapter!

Their not death eaters?? I can't wait to find out who they really are.

This is an amazing story! Hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Sammy23,

Yay! I'm so glad this was "brilliant"! You're my first chapter 7 reviewer, but I hope everyone else agrees. Although... :P
Ah, well, I promise that question will be answered, just not certain I can guarantee how soon. It probably won't be chapter 8, but it won't be too long, so don't worry. I will update as soon as I possibly can- promise. Thanks for the R&R!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #11, by Noir Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

11th May 2008:
AWW so short. Waiting patiently for more!

Author's Response: Noir,

I'm sorry it was so short. It was really a bit of a transition chapter though... I'll try not to do that to you anymore... how's that? Chapter 7 is up now, though, so you needn't be patient any longer! Thank you for being so faithful in your reading and reviewing- I look forward to hearing your thoughts each time! Enjoy!


~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #12, by Scriblerian Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

1st March 2008:
Okay, so I don't want to kill you. I prepared myself after you told me I might want to, but honestly, this chapter was too freaking incredible and well written that I let everything else slide. You are crazy talented Court. Like whoa.

The part with George was amazing. I think you captured the completely panicked feel of the atmosphere perfectly. I felt nervous reading it. lol. But I'm glad he got there and out of it okay. He did right? RIGHT? No more killing for you! I forbid it. However, I think it's pretty freaking sweet that you gave Zorro a guest spot in your story. I always liked that guy. He should use his fancy sword to put a Z on the bad guy. We'll see how smug he gets then. *smods*

*dies* Okay, but seriously, I have no idea who that could be. Actually, this story is making me feel like it does after I read a Jessi story. If there's time travel in the next chapter, I think my brain might asplode. These are compliments by the way. You've got me so incredibly engaged in this that I keep coming up with crazy theories and wondering what the heck is gonna happen.

BUT OMG HERMIONE ISN'T DEAD OR PERHAPS SHE IS AND THAT DUDE CAN'T READ A PULSE CORRECTLY!! I don't know whether to squee or kill that guy. I think I'll squee. SQUEE!!! I hope she's alive. And now I'm hoping Harry is alive too, but I'm sure that's just wishful thinking. *kicks a rock*

Bah. I want more. lol. You better be writing. This chapter was FANTASTIC Court. I mean it. I'm officially suspensed (not a word, I don't care). For serious though, you're brilliant hun. I can't wait to read more! Update soon or I'm bringing out the cannon!!

*glomps*

~Scrib

Author's Response: Scrib,

Dude... I'm the worst when it comes to responding to your reviews, because they're so amazing, that I try and hold off thinking of something brilliant to respond with... and then just end up looking like I'm ignoring your reviews. I know... I suck. *has been saying that a lot lately*

I'm so glad that you don't want to kill me, because truthfully, the one thing this Nun fears is your cannon. *cowers*

Dude, when I first read your review, I was like "omg, what kind of typo did I make to make Scrib think that this is a crossover with Zorro!? That's awful!" and then I read on and realized you were totally giving me a hard time. You goof. :P

I love your crazy theories, and yes, Hermione is alive... so you feel better. Chapter 7 is up, so you don't have to bring out the cannon!!

Thanks, Scrib- you're amazing.

~C


 Report Review

Review #13, by birdie01 Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

26th February 2008:
Wow, this was just so amazing. I love the way you write George. It's different then anyone else, you have mastered the perfect balance of his character. haha. Well in my opinion. The fact that Hermione may still be alive through me off quard for a moment, I had to go back and reread it just to be sure I had read it correctly. haha. :)
I can't wait for your next update, you have me hooked on this story. I have to know what's going to happen next. With the adults and the kids! Ugh, I feel horrible for not leaving you a longer review but this chapter has left me at a loss for words which is an unusual thing for me. haha.

So great chapter, can't wait for an update.

Author's Response: birdie01,

You are without a doubt consistently and adorably faithful in your reading and reviews, and I am eternally grateful. Thank you so much for all of your support and feedback; it makes writing that much easier when I know someone is truly looking forward to it!
I'm so glad you like George! No one had really commented on him yet, and I've been working hard to write him as I see him, and was hoping I wasn't ruining him for anyone!

Never feel guilty about the length of reviews or even leaving them or not. While I love your reviews, just knowing that you're reading is enough. Thank you so very much for your time and effort!

I will try to get chapter 7 up as soon as possible. Thank you!

~C


 Report Review

Review #14, by ElissandrAnne Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

25th February 2008:
*is speechless again* No. Harry cannot be dead. Not after all he's been through... Oh, how could you do this, Courtney? *is wondering if she shouldn't stay away from this fic, because she doesn't want to see all the characters she loves die*

There is a lot of confusion here, and your writing style conveys it perfectly. But still, you said it, you didn't just imply it... Harry is dead. And where are the kids? Are they safe? I hope you will update soon, or I'll just have to start stalking you - and then I'll poke and poke. :D

Good job, as always... Can you tell I'm still in a state of shock?

Huggles,

-Anne

Author's Response: Anne,

Your reviews make me feel so guilty- I'm so sorry! Yes, Harry has departed... I'm terribly sorry, dear. But, I promise for the sake of the plot, it's truly a requirement. Please, don't stay away from SoaH and me because of it... I look so forward to your reading and reviewing! Your insight is truly valued.

Feel free to stock me, because sometimes it's the poke in the behind I need! Time is a rarity these days, but I do not want to abandon you lot! I won't be giving up on this story- it's very close to my heart, as are you! Chapter 7 is well under way, I promise!

Thank you!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #15, by Tatjana Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

24th February 2008:
wow...this is a fantastic story
my heart was racing through the whole thing
you have a great talent

Author's Response: Tatjana,

Whoops- a double review. :D Thanks doubly, then!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #16, by Tatjana Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

24th February 2008:
wow...this is a fantastic story
my heart was racing through the whole thing
you have a great talent

Author's Response: tatjana,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to read and review this chapter! Your review is so kind, and I truly appreciate it. I hope I can live up to your expectations with the rest of this story! You'll have to let me know how I'm doing. ;)

Thanks!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #17, by lia_2390 Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

24th February 2008:
Yay, a new chapter!

The mood and tone of this chapter kind of surprised me, even though it should be. It was extremely intense as shown in your short sentences, I was taken aback! There are so many questions I want to ask but I know you'd play coy in answering them. I'd still ask though, so you'd know what I'm thinking - Who was it that pushed George to the stadium?, Who's the new overlord? And my biggest question, who were the two people arguing before the apparition cracks interrupted them?

Poor Hermione, her life is hanging by a thread. Here I was thinking that she was dead but now that I think about it, you never mentioned what spells hit her.

Great chapter hun!
Lia.

Author's Response: lia,

Yay!!! I just saw that you updated as well. I'll be heading over there soon! (Sorry for the delay, my niece was just born and we've been running around :D).

Intense... hmmm..... Good! Yes, I will play coy *smods*. However, I can tell you that your first two questions will be answered in time, but the answer for your last and biggest question will hopefully be apparent sooner rather than later. Does that please you? I hope!

Ah, Hermione....

*says nothing more*

Thank you!

~C



 Report Review

Review #18, by Sammy23 Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

23rd February 2008:
I'm lovin this story!

Author's Response: Sammy23,

Yay! I'm so glad to hear that! Thanks for the read and review. I look forward to hearing what you think about the rest!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #19, by kiwigirl Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

23rd February 2008:
Oh, this is terrible! Hermione might be alive though! Wonderful. It was slightly confusing, but very good anyway.

kiwigirl

Author's Response: kiwigirl(!)

I get so excited when you review- you're ever so faithful! Hermione is alive at this moment, so you should be happy. :) Slightly confusing is what I was aiming for, lol, so I'm glad. *evil laughter*

Thanks for being so faithful in reviewing!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #20, by Un Auteur Simple Chapter 6: From Bad to Worse

23rd February 2008:
Wow. This chapter was completely awesome. I have been dying while waiting for an update. You know, I've been keeping an eye on this story, so I was really surprised when I saw that I hadn't added it to my favorites. Anyway, hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Un Auteur Simple:

Thank you! I'm so glad that you've been enjoying this story and that you added it to your favorites- that's very kind of you! I was actually rather hesitant about this chapter (it's so short, I didn't want anyone to feel slighted) but so far, the reception seems to be rather good. I promise to update as soon as humanly possible. Thank you for your support and review!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #21, by Tammy Chapter 5: The Fickle Finger of Fate

9th February 2008:
You had me totally moved with that chapter, never have I read a ff where the author would actually be able to kill off all those characters, I sure as hell wouldn't! But that's what probably made it so brilliant because it was so unexpected and the way it was written just left me speechless. I can''t believe you killed the people you did, you didn't wipe out couples at a type, there's just a bunch of widows and widowers in Angelina, Ginny, Ron, Teddy (in a way). It's just sooo sad, but I can't wait to read what happens next so please update soon!

Author's Response: Tammy,

First of all, thank you so very much for taking the time to both read this entire story through (what is posted so far anyway) and for then reviewing! I'm so glad that it is all working for you so far, and that this chapter moved you. I am forever saying that my intent as an author is to make my readers feel... and you are, so I'm ecstatic! I will most definitely update soon and am so sorry for the wait. The next chapter is with my beta and will be posted as soon as she is through with it. Thank you, again, and I look forward to hearing what you think in the future!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #22, by Noir Chapter 5: The Fickle Finger of Fate

3rd February 2008:
NOoOOoOoOOOoOoOoOOoOoOoOoOOoOoOoOoOoOOoOoOoOoOoOo
UPDAaAAaAAaAaAaAaAaAaTE!!@!*!#!!*@!*
THIS IS THE BEST NEXT GENERATION STORY IVE EVER READ!!

Author's Response: Noir,

Your reactions always leave me in stitches of laugher. :D Thank you for sticking with me through this! Chapter 6 is with the beta, and I hope it will be posted soon! January's was posted December 31st, so I basically didn't post in January! Ah! *giggles* It'll be up soon-swear it. I'm so glad you loving it! :D

~Courtney


 Report Review

Review #23, by Sammy23 Chapter 5: The Fickle Finger of Fate

29th January 2008:
Brilliant Chapter. Didn't expect so many people to die so soon! Can't wait to see how this continues!

Author's Response: Sammy23,

Thank you for the time you took to read and review! That's really very special to me. :) I know, it's a lot of people and... well... you'll just have to stay tuned. I promise that everything is for a reason, and while it may be painful in the process, I do believe in happy endings. :) I hope you'll stick with me as this progress, and look forward to hearing what you think. Take care!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #24, by ElissandrAnne Chapter 5: The Fickle Finger of Fate

25th January 2008:
O. M. F. G! This chapter left me speechless during a few minutes. And while reading, I couldn't even blink, because I wanted to read on. When Hermione fell, my brain started to whiper, "No, no, no..." And it kept going... This is far worse than the worst that I expected. Again, how could you? I don't even want to try to count the dead. Harry... Harry is gone...

*wipes fresh tears*

So Draco is one of the good guys now... I was wondering while reading the previous chapter. So many just died, and I wonder how many more will lose their life in the next chapter. Because obviously, you're not done yet...

I can't wait to read more! I hope you're on it... I want/need to know if the kids are safe.

-Anne

Author's Response: Anne,

Your omfg had me laughing. I know it wasn't supposed to be funny but... well, what can I say? *is sick*
I'm so glad you loved this! I know I keep saying it, but I was REALLY worried about this chapter because I worked for so long on it and actually rather enjoyed it myself... so I wanted to make certain it translated effectively for everyone else. So far, it seems to have... I continue to hope!

I'm hoping to have chapter 6 up soon- It's with my beta as we speak!

~C


 Report Review

Review #25, by ElissandrAnne Chapter 4: Closing the Ranks

25th January 2008:
Alright... *takes a deep breath to try to calm down* I can't believe you KILLED him OFF. Charlie... Why, oh why, did you do this?

Well, I had to say it. Oh, no, wait, I'm not done. How could you do this to George?

Now on to the review proper. lol. Of course, the bad guys are the same as before. Will they never learn? I wonder... is Scorpius' father one of them?

I'm glad Luna arrived. George failed, but maybe she and Dennis will get there on time... I hope.

This story is beautifully written, dear.

-Anne

Author's Response: Anne,

Oh gosh, I know, I know- I'm horribly evil for killing Charlie. But.... well, as you'll see, it was a necessary evil. Thanks for sticking with this, and I can't wait to read your review for the next one! *scurries off*

~C


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>