Reading Reviews for The War We Fought
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by leannemariesnape The War We Fought

27th November 2010:
Hey. I love the Tom/Minerva pairing, and i really liked how you portrayed the interaction between the two. :)
leanne

Author's Response: Thank you :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by McGonnemort The War We Fought

11th September 2009:
Love it!!! The way you write conveys a lot of depth and feeling that is spot on when I think of Minerva and young Tom Riddle. I especially like her response to his announcement of taking over the world, awesome!

Author's Response: thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it

 Report Review

Review #3, by SiriusxRemus4life The War We Fought

12th June 2008:
It was amazing. I really loved it. T.M.R + M. McG is awesome. I loved your wording as well, very nice. 10/10.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much :) And yes, TR/MM is amazing =D

 Report Review

Review #4, by flamingolover The War We Fought

5th June 2008:
Ok, wow, this was both weird and very very very interesting to read... Very well written, and definetly one of the more original works I've read... I had to go back and read some of the earlier reviews to figure out who the baby was... and that was basically the only thing that left me a bit confused... I wish you would have worded that differently so that your meaning was understood, because frankly, that little bit of symbolism was very well thought out... all in all, I really liked the story!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review and going back and reading past reviews xD Seriously, this has made my day!

 Report Review

Review #5, by forcebev23 The War We Fought

2nd June 2008:
Oooo I loved it! It was kind of eerie, but they definatley suit each other the way that you wrote them. One thing that confused me, "Years later the baby cried out in King’s Cross, preserved only by the war they fought that night." Does that refer to Harry or their child? Because I don't remember Harry at King's Cross as a baby, but I could be wrong. = /

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review :D I'm glad this conveyed something to you-errie/dark was what I was aiming for :) As for the baby thing here's the answer:
" The baby is represented by the part of the soul left in harry -preserved by the feelings Tom had for Mcgonagall."

Hope that clears things up, thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Browneyes101 The War We Fought

8th February 2008:
Here I am, as you requested. :)

This was a very interesting One-Shot. I never pictured Minerva and Tom together, which made this even more interesting. At the end was kinda confusing. Who was the baby?

I think you should make Minerva in her Animagus form last longer. Type about how cold or warm the forest floor was, or what color the leaves were. Put more description in to make the her Animagus form more real.

I think Tom's character was a bit OOC from the book at which J.K. Rowling described him. A suggestion I have is to put more of his characterization in the story, I thought there was too little of him planning to be an evil wizard; how could Minerva know that he would be the darkest wizard if he showed no planning or whispering his dark deeds.

I hope I make sense, and I hoped I helped even if only a little.9/10

Author's Response: The baby is represented by the part of the soul left in harry -preserved by the feelings Tom had for Mcgonagall. As for the foreshadowing of Tom's future plans I used this passage:

Why, just a fortnight ago she had caught a huddled group of Slytherin third-years talking in excited whispers:

“…they promise…”


“ like an insignia…saw it right here…”

A toe-headed boy jabbed excitedly at the inside of his arm. While Tom-innocent-prefect-Riddle turned a blind eye, sauntering off in the opposite direction.

---

to convey that. But thank you for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by hullo The War We Fought

28th December 2007:
who's the baby? I don't get it. Maybe I'm just dumb . . . WHAT?! :)

Author's Response: the baby is supposed to represent the tiny part of good he had left in him-which transfered to harry- due to his relationship with mcgonagall. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Blissbug The War We Fought

6th December 2007:
I loved it! Minerva is such a great character, I've toyed with doing a one-shot with her for months! You've done such a wonderful job here, and pairing her with Tom, OMG!

Your writing is really excellent, some of the most experienced I've encountered on this site. I appreciate your use of dialogue and setting though I found your transition of time a little hard to follow. Might just want to clearify it, since its such a short read.

I'm so glad I checked out your work, thanks for the read ;)

Author's Response: thank you so much for reviewing! It really made my day to be honest :) And yest transition is always tricky with one-shots xD but I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by CheleCooke The War We Fought

29th November 2007:
Wow. I loved how you brought it back to the DH and present day.
I really liked this fic. It keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more.
I will be checking your login for more stories!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your review seriously made my day =)

 Report Review

Review #10, by none The War We Fought

14th November 2007:
ive always believed that the had some sort of relationhip in these years since there so close in age and it was he who drove her to fight for the rest of her life against him. this fic is great.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it :) Maybe one day JK will reveal a relationship between the two- hey with Dumbledore outed I believe anything is possible, lol

 Report Review

Review #11, by Enchantlize The War We Fought

3rd November 2007:
Brilliant.

I'm sorry for the late review, but my tight schedule did not let me.

I like the way you put this story, and your characterisation is brilliant.

I can not say any more since the perfection of the story had eaten it all away.

nice work, 10/10, silver slipper.

Kelly/ Kelstar of the forums

Author's Response: No problem at least you found the time :) I shall cherish the silver slipper forever =D I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Clare Roy The War We Fought

15th October 2007:
I've never read a Riddle/Minerva ship before, so I didn't know what to expect. This one shot was really, really good! I loved the way you characterized Minerva, and how Tom was a dark character.
A few suggestions though- The sections were a bit choppy, some of them didn't flow together. And I didn't really like the last line; I thought Minerva speaking would have been a stronger ending.
Other than that, loved the story!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Your CC is greatly appreciated~ thanks for the review =D

 Report Review

Review #13, by vkewalra The War We Fought

11th October 2007:
Well written, no major faults, nice to see Minerva with a personality, although I'm confused by the ending. The baby was the piece of Voldemorts soul that was in Harry (I believe), how that was preserved by the "war they fought" doesn't really make sense.

"Years later as Minerva looked into the corpse's empty eyes and remembered the handsome face and the evil behind those once dark eyes, she knew the war they fought those nights had finally ended"

Author's Response: The way I wrote it so the the piece was preserved, not dead. from the passion they had. I cast Harry off to the wayside for the most part :) I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by musicgirlhp14 The War We Fought

7th October 2007:
I believe you have done this pairing wonderfully. In the beginning I wasn't so sure, but now. Wow. I really love how you incorperated so many things we know of Minerva in to this story. Like her hair always being in a tight bun. It was quite creative. There were no mistakes spelling or grammar wise, and it was nice to be able to read right through without having to re-read. I found a few places where you forgot to put quotation marks, but that's it. All in all, I really enjoyed this story and I applaude what you've done with the pairing.
~Alex 10/10

Author's Response: thanks! applause is always nice :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by ravenclaw_girl308 The War We Fought

7th October 2007:
I loved it! so glad to find tm/mm 10/10

Author's Response: thank you! I'm glad your a fan =3

 Report Review

Review #16, by marauder_lover The War We Fought

6th October 2007:
Nice chapter. It was well written and you got a good sense of the story, I like how they were guesing each other out and they were challenging, I can see that in McGonagal and Riddle, I think its true to their characters, especially 'and I'll be there to stop it'.

I think that it does work as a romance although I think it could play a biger part, but it's good as it is anyway. Nice work, Keep it up!

Author's Response: thanks for the review and the words of encouragement =3 !

 Report Review

Review #17, by FreakOut13 The War We Fought

5th October 2007:
I loved the descriptions and just wow. This story was great.

I know you asked for a review, but I am feeling a bit dead right now. I apologize. I don't have CC for you. :(

I've never really read this ship before, so it was interesting for me. I think you did a good job with it. Keep writing! :)

Author's Response: It's ok about the CC as long as you liked it and thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Andromedatonks The War We Fought

5th October 2007:
I really, really liked this story. I think it's beautiful and well-written. I would have thought it impossible to write a story with this pairing without going completely out of character, but it seems you proved me wrong

His dark eyes looked up from behind his lashes to stare at her for a moment. To anyone else the look would have been playful, but to her it looked eerily calculating as the light from the cauldron flame seemed to flicker and sink into his depths.
I love it that Minerva isn't at all decieved by him; I also love it that you didn't make Tom any kinder; they are both very canon, and still, their fascination with each other is so believable.

"Now, now -" seeing the thin line her lips were drawn into - "let's not be catty, shall we Minerva? But really it suits you...in so many forms..."

I love that line!
Also, the whole kiss scene is marvelous, very subtle and intense at the same time. And I love the ending couple of lines.

I think there were a couple of missing commas (though I can't be sure as I'm really bad with that stuff); and also I was a little confused by this: " and forcing the unsecured strands of her into her eyes"... I guess the word "hair" somehow got lost;)

Oh, and forgot to tell you, I loved this line, too.
Slughorn played favorites, that was for certain, and he talked constantly - about himself. :)

Adding this to favorites. :)

Author's Response: I am so happy you liked it =D thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Cedrics_gurl The War We Fought

3rd October 2007:
Wow! Minerva's last words were so powerful, so meaningful, they brought tears to my eyes!

I adore this story, I love the way you managed to keep the characters even remotely in canon whilts pairing them together, though I must mention that Voldemort was 71 when he died, and I am pretty sure that Minerva would not have been in his class, correct me if I am wrong.

I was drawn into the plot by the way you wrote the summary, you didn't give away any important information yet you gave us just enough information to thrive on as we let our computers load the chapter. I love that, I love having to think about what might happen before finding out the answer to all of my questions.

Although the plot was not altogether strong, and the thesis was rather vague, they were there and they added a certain atmosphere to the story. I like the way you didn't overload us with description, but you supplied us with enough to fill us in and you left lots to the imagination :D Perhaps there were some minor flaws in the plot, however, they did not come at me straight away and they were obviously very well described.

I didn't notice any grammar mistakes, which is always a good thing! I also noticed that you brought in all of the knowledge about the characters given in the books, for example you made both of them exceedingly good at transfiguration and Tom had the dark kind of aura. Well done!

I did notice once or twice that your speech was very formal, even for the era, and some of the names were overly strange, but I kind of liked that!

"“I shall become more powerful than anyone ever imagined,” Tom hissed, his eyes burning holes into the surrounding darkness .

“I know,” Minerva said, equally cutting, “and I’ll be there to stop it.”"

Those two lines kind of say it all to me, without them, the story wouldn't be half as good! It shows that Tom is so immersed in evil that there is no way of him backing up and that no matter how much in love Minerva is, she will never give up her beliefs and will stand up for what she believes to be right.

Those lines made me think. People on the "light" side believe what they're doing is right, surely it is the same for those in the "dark"? Voldemort might think that almost all forms of power is good, and that the only type of power that is bad is power too strong for the person who has it, would he not?

I love the way you made us think, and although there were some minor faults with this story, I must give you a rating of 9/10!

Well done!




Author's Response: Thank you! I know some points are rather vague but I wanted it to have a sort of mysterious feel to it~ But I'm so happy you enjoyed it and took the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by JLHufflepuff The War We Fought

1st October 2007:
I really like your writing style. I usually don't like Voldy fics because the characterization just isn't there. This is different, though. I really like your conception of his personality and of McGonagle's as well.. In fact, I think you really have her down as a young woman, at least the way I picture her. Of course, I can never see McG wantin to kiss or even tolerate Voldy, but I can see the sense of conflict in both of them over their - attraction - to each other. You make it work.

Author's Response: Thank you! He really is a rather hard character to write " in character" because he's so twisted, yet so complex in his motives >.< As for McGonagall she was fun to write because she has * I think * this feminist quality to her that isn't over-emphasized =) So I'm glad you liked it and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Hermionesclass101 The War We Fought

1st October 2007:
Wow. That was the best dark romance I've read. I like the tense feelings between Riddle and McGonagall, and this is certainly a pairing I never would have concidered. That was just amazing!! =)

"equitation" - did you mean equation?

~Hermionesclass

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And yes I did mean equation~ I officially hate my spell-check lol. =) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Plata The War We Fought

1st October 2007:
Baby?! What exactly does that mean? o_0 Anywho, it was quite well written, but there were some minor grammatical mistakes. I'm still adding it to my favourites though :) 9/10 because of the mistakes I mentioned.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it :) The baby is in reference to what Harry saw in King's Cross I meant to represent part of Voldemort's soul that was preserved from the passion he and Minerva shared. Thank you for the favorite!

 Report Review

Review #23, by diana_hawthorne The War We Fought

30th September 2007:
ooh...intense. I do hope this isn't just a one-shot, as I feel that you can go far with this story. Great job!

Author's Response: I may be working on something * shifty glance* thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by maraudersmap The War We Fought

30th September 2007:
Wow! This story left me in awe... It was SO amazingly brilliant! First of all, your writing is amazing. Really, I would give anything to write like that. And the plot was also very believable. You actually managed to keep a McGonnogal/Voldemort in Canon! I am truly jealous. Also, I think you managed to keep them both perfectly in character, especially Riddle. Just like I thought he would be... I loved that we got to know why McGonnogal always had her hair in a tight bun, and how she became an animagus, which I have always wondered. None of my theories was as good as these, though. :) Oh, and it was awesome that you brought of the whole chamber of secrets and Myrtle-thing, which makes you believe it even more. The ending was perfect, and all I can say is... wow... This is SO going into my favourites!! Oh, and I love the tension between them too... Again: Wow.

Author's Response: Your review made my day-seriously-thank you so much I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by lyramoon The War We Fought

30th September 2007:
I was amazed at this pairing. I've never heard of it before, and truly, it seems fitting, since Minerva could easily be Tom's age.

However, the ending was very rushed. Develop it! It seemed like you were rushing to get it finished.

I think a pairing like this would be suited better for a Novella/short story. What do you think? :)

Great job anyhow.

~Lyra.

Author's Response: aw thank you! lol, your not the first one to tell me to expand this xD and I guess if I get a massive amount of inspiration I'll try it~ but until than it will stay how it is~ thank you again for the review!!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>