Reading Reviews for When Moments Remain
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RJ When Moments Remain

7th October 2010:
Hands down, this is the BEST Remus/Tonks story. Ever. Well at least that I have read, anyway. You're very talented, and the shift fromRemus and Tonks' deaths into Teddy's time was brilliant. I loved this little piece of brilliance.
RJ x

 Report Review

Review #2, by reallifewizard When Moments Remain

9th July 2010:
wowthat story was so beautiful and sad. I loved it. The scene at the beginning was so powerful, it just made me want to cry.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Historyrepeats When Moments Remain

28th July 2009:
Wow, Im actaully crying. When she begged Bella, oh my gosh, so sad.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Historyrepeats! I'm glad my writing was able to evoke such strong emotions in you. That's a wonderful compliment for me. ~Sugar~

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ronstruefan When Moments Remain

20th February 2009:
very good story! very good!

Author's Response: Thanks very much. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :-)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Remora_The_Random When Moments Remain

8th April 2008:
That was so good! It's the best Remus/Tonks deathfic I've read, and I've read pretty much every one I've come across.

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you very much, Remora The Random. :) Given the number of R/T fics posted at this site, this is a true compliment for me. Thanks for reading and taking the time to post your thoughts. I appreciate both. ~Sugar~

 Report Review

Review #6, by LynnHelven When Moments Remain

8th April 2008:
Be proud- I cried! This was excellently written, I hadn't thought abut their deaths really, bt now I'm really sad- well done, it was touching!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, LynnHelven. :) I really appreciate that you've taken the time to read this little one-shot and post your thoughts. I just couldn't get past the idea of them not having an ending, so I decided to provide one for them. I'm glad you found my vision of their sacrifice well-executed. :) Thanks again for reading and posting your feedback. ~Sugar~

 Report Review

Review #7, by notenoughpotter When Moments Remain

4th April 2008:
That was beautiful! I always wished that Tonks and Lupin had a proper final scene. That's very much what I've always pictured in my head.

Thanks so much for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, notenoughpotter. This story is very special to me for personal reasons. I'm very pleased that you found my take on their missing moments to ring true for you.

Thank you for reading and taking the time to post. I appreciate your time and efforts. :) ~Sugar~


 Report Review

Review #8, by Emil When Moments Remain

7th March 2008:
Yeah this scene(s) were missing from the final book, you wrote with such a authentic sadness feeling, it feelt more real..
Hard to describe it.. but this one shot is great.

Author's Response: I'm so pleased that you enjoyed this chapter. It was very special to me for personal reasons. I'm glad that the emotions rang true for you and that you felt my vision of these scenes filled in those missing moments from the book in an authentic way.

Thank you for reading and taking the time to post your thoughts, Emil. I really appreciate your support of my writing. :)~Sugar~


 Report Review

Review #9, by harry_and_ginny_4ever When Moments Remain

6th February 2008:
Oh man! Thats so sad, but really good at the same time! I'm so glad that Teddy found peace in your story. Kudos on the great writing! I totally love all your stories!

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks for checking out this one-shot and leaving your thoughts. I'm glad you enjoyed the ending I devised for Teddy. Thanks again, harry and ginny4ever! ~Sugar~

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ricky511 When Moments Remain

20th December 2007:
This was sad, but the end with Teddy made their sacrifice seem worth it. I liked how you didn't name his son or wife, leaving that up to the reader's imagination. Really nice take on the deaths of Remus and Tonks.

Author's Response: Yes, it really is a rather sad. It was difficult, yet easy to write for me. It came on the wake of the death of a family friend. He left behind his young wife and two children. It really affected me and left me searching for a way to deal with it. I threw myself into writing and within two days, the draft was finished. (Completely unheard of for me.)

Before this little story, I'd never considered writing a Tonks/Remus story before. Another reason I chose to write this story was as a mother, I kept trying to wrap my mind around how they could possibly leave Teddy like that knowing, that they might never come home.

Although JKR left that question unanswered, I wanted closure on that story line. In my mind, love was the only logical reason...love of each other, love of their friends, even the love of their son as they tried to make the world a safer place for him.

Leaving the little boy and his wife and baby girl unnamed was a conscious decision -- one that not everyone has appreciated, I might add. ;) I left them nameless because, as you said, it leaves it up to your imagination, but also because I felt choosing random or even cliche names for those characters took away from the overall feel of the scene. To me, their names were irrelevant. The important point was that he went on to have a family of his own and found peace in his life. Thank you so much for reading all of my work, Ricky511. I really appreciate your feedback. Until next time... :) ~Sugar~


 Report Review

Review #11, by JLHufflepuff When Moments Remain

18th December 2007:
I am totally blown away by this!! I could say a lot of things, but I am "speechless"! You portray their emotions so well and set up such believable scenes... The way they died is almost exactly how I pictured it... I actually saw some fanart somewhere with Tonks crying over Remus's body with Bella in the background ready to AK her... I was so shocked that your story followed almost exactly with that... This is amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, JLHufflepuff! This story is special to me, so I'm glad to hear that my vision of this missing story line rang true for you. Apparently someone else envisioned the same way if they created fan art that matches up with my thoughts. ;) Thank you again for taking the time to read and review my one-shot. I really appreciate it! :) ~Sugar~

 Report Review

Review #12, by kellygreenpassion When Moments Remain

26th November 2007:
this story made me cry

Author's Response: Thank you, kellygreenpassion. Actually, I cried as I wrote it because I was thinking of a RL couple and their loss as I did. I'm glad you found it moving. Thank you for reading and taking the time to post. ~Sugar~

 Report Review

Review #13, by The Last Marauder When Moments Remain

1st October 2007:
WOW! just WOW! That's all I can say!

Author's Response: Wonderful! Thank you for reading and taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you liked it. Speechless is good. I'll take that anyday. Thanks again for reading my work. ~Sugar~

 Report Review

Review #14, by bgii_2000 When Moments Remain

24th September 2007:
Donna,

This is pretty cool I have to say. I know the concept of the "deleted scene" but I've never really seen it done very well. That said, I haven't read very many of them either. Most of the ones I have read just seem like an excuse for the author to take two "off-stage" characters and have them make out in a broom cupboard.

But this is different. It answers a question. Perhaps we'll see more of these, as the Deathly Hallows release date recedes into the mist, and we fans now know which questions Rowling left unanswered (and even, indeed, which ones she raised in Deathly Hallows.) I did wonder what would make Tonks abandon her child and get herself killed. You've provided quite a reasonable and candid answer.

I've only been through Deathly Hallows once (I'm ALMOST finished with my second re-read) but I can already see that I'm going to have to read it a third time. The first time I read it I tried to muster as much passivity as I could. I wanted to simply take in the events and not try to second-guess the writer, or the characters. I enjoyed my experience immensely, and was able to pull it off for the most part (though Rowling's belittling of Ginny vexed me deeply). The "off-stage" deaths hit me as the unexpected death of an old friend might. It was always quite shocking to read yet another name. I began my second reading about a month ago but, upon finishing this story, I've discovered that I've been re-reading the book from the perspective that the deaths were almost inevitable simply because I knew they already happened.

But of course Remus and Tonks didn't die because they were meant to, but rather it just happened much like Dobby, or Hedwig. It was an accident. It wasn't meant to be at all, in fact just the opposite.

So, for helping me see that I am grateful.

You really infused Bellatrix with a powerful bit of evilness in this story. Her fight with Sirius seems like childish sibling rivalry gone wrong, in comparison. Sirius is her equal, as is Harry. Hermione is unknown to her. But Tonks is a different matter. However, equalized they might be in terms of the magical or physiological, Tonks is Bellatrix's niece, which places Bellatrix in an almost maternal position above her. Bellatrix comes face to face with her relative but, rather than feeling the slightest bit of guilty conscience or pangs of sympathy, she revels in the pleasure of being able to torture the product of a relationship she despises.

I don't really have much to say about the how you've written Remus and Tonks together, simply because I have little reference to go on. Rowling kept them both on the sidelines, so much so because she needed to preserve the stability and familiarty in ther series. Remus doesn't really ever DO anything directly important to the story after Prisoner of Azkaban. Tonks is just a "supporting" character that lends to the overall mood of the story. Note here that I don't mean to degrade the characters at all, I'm merely pointing out the fact that Rowling wrote very little about them, and subsequently we were never able to get a handle on how they behaved around one another. There's certainly nothing innately wrong with the way you've portrayed them together, but I wondered if you had examined the nature of the characters in relation to Rowling's literary mechanics a bit closer. Since we know next to nothing about how Remus and Tonks behave towards one another, you couldn't rely on Rowling's work to fill in the cracks, as it would when writing about Harry or Dumbledore. Their patter, terms of endearment, forms and levels of intimacy, and nuance of gesture, is ALL invented within the context of this story.

The only real criticism I have about this goes back to a conversation I was having with a friend about Saving Private Ryan.

How does Teddy know any of this?

But other than that, this is a really brilliant piece of work. Thanks for the great read.

Brad

Since we're in the topic of reviewing, I did wonder if you might do me a great honor and favor of reviewing one of my works. I'd rather not impose upon you the over-the-top death-fugue-in-your-face emo-ness of my songfic, nor would I ask that you peruse my parody of your own work, but I'd be most obliged if you would take a look at the piece titled, Harry Potter and the Priest of York. I consider it some of my best work, and I'd love to hear your thoughts on it.


Author's Response: Thank you for choosing to read my new one-shot, Brad. I’m glad you found it worth the time invested. :)

I’ll be quite honest. After reading Deathly Hallows, I couldn’t shake the need for closure on the Tonks and Remus story. Originally, I think it was because I’m a wife and mother myself. I kept running the idea of her leaving her new baby behind and charging into battle through my mind. How could she do it? What would drive her to abandon him, knowing she might never come back?

I’d shared my idea with a friend, but had decided to table it until after Hope. My plan was to wait to write it until later, storing my thoughts in a file for safe keeping.

Then…real life struck and I was sharply reminded of how fragile life really is and how we must live for each moment and love intensely. You see, a man had died, a man who left behind his wife and two young sons, the same age as my own boys. It was tragic, heartbreaking and struck very close to home.

Suddenly, not only did I want to write it, but I felt I needed to…in a matter of 48 hours, my draft was finished. I did not research the nuances of JKR’s characterizations as you suggested in your review. I took the few clues she offered and inserted the remainder of the details, characterizations and their relationship from my imagination, probably transferring my own personality in some places. I wrote from my heart, rather than my head and poured that emotion into my writing.

As for Bella, I see her as a fully passionate witch, drawn to the darkness by her love of an evil wizard. Nothing else matters to her which allows her to cast aside the bonds of blood so callously and do anything to win his favor.

In response to your criticism about how Teddy could know these things, I will say this. During the story, at each point of Tonks decision making and actions, there were witnesses. In their home, her mother was nearby; in the RoR we had Ginny, Augusta, and the others. In the corridors and entrance hall, the wizards were numerous. The only real moments that would have been hidden from everyone were after they entered the closet.

While Teddy was thinking over the stories of his parents in the final scene of the story, he fills in the remaining answers for you. He thinks of how so many people over the years have shared the lives of his parents with him. They told him story after story until he felt like he’d truly known them. Teddy, himself, filled in missing details with his imagination, turning simple stories into legends over the years.

Those missing moments in the closet, he invented in his mind as a grown man, perhaps inserting into the empty spaces what he would do or say, if he only had moments left to spend with his own wife.

Thank you again for your readership and reviews. I appreciate them both. ~Donna~


 Report Review

Review #15, by PrincessPotter When Moments Remain

17th September 2007:
Hello! I can't tell you how much I love this story. I figure it shouldn't surprise me that your writing can so easily make me cry, since it's already caused me to experience so many emotions through unlocked and hope. I love how you tie the story of Tonks and Remus into the moment with Teddy and his son, it really brings it full circle and makes it that much more effective. I'm so glad you decided to go ahead and write this, it's definitely a missing moment that deserved writing. Congrats on another amazing story and talk to you soon! " " :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for encouraging me to write this story of their missing final hours, Princess. As you know, when I first had the plot idea, I planned to write it "eventually". When it suddenly became very personal for me, before I knew it, it seemed to write itself.

I'm glad that you felt the emotion of the situation came through in my writing. I appreciate your support and feedback. I also appreciate the wonderful banner that you made for me to tie all of the story elements together! It was perfect! Thank you again for reading, reviewing and for your friendship. :) " " ~Sugar~


 Report Review

Review #16, by Kauri When Moments Remain

16th September 2007:
Well i took your advice and read this one shot,
It is A masterpiece i never really thought about what happened between Tonks and Rem but this story is nice and too the point

I like the storage room in the battle bit and the Ending with Teddy it was really nice and your attention to Emotion and feeling were Awesome :)

Please keep writing your other Stories though (just thought id add that little hint in :P )

Your Writing is always captivating and i enjoy reading it.
Cheers Kauri

Btw can you add me to your Email updates list for all your works? cmmangin@xtra.co.nz

Author's Response: Wow! "It is a masterpiece..." What wonderful words of praise! Thanks, Kauri! I'm so glad you enjoyed my little Remus and Tonks missing moment story. :)

Don't worry. I won't forget to finish "Hope". :-) I'm planning to post chapter 34 very soon.

I hope you will continue to find it both appealing and entertaining to read.

As for adding you to my email notification list, consider it done. ;) I added you tonight. Thanks again for reading and taking the time to post your wonderful and complimentary feedback!! Until next time, happy reading, Kauri. :) ~Sugar~


 Report Review

Review #17, by hmrpotter When Moments Remain

12th September 2007:
Lovely story! I haven't read a lot of Remus/Tonks, but this one was as close to perfect as I could expect.

Author's Response: Thanks, hmrpotter! You know, I've never been that involved with Remus and Tonks either, but when DH was released, I felt compelled to finish their story.

As a wife and mother, I really struggled with the fact that JKR left their son an orphan. I needed to work through that, finding a way to bring resolution to their decisions and sacrifices. I intended to wait to write it after my WIP was completed.

That plan changed quite suddenly when a real-life tragedy struck the life of my husband's friend.

It quickly reminded me of how fragile life is...and I then sat down and wrote this in two days.

Thank you for reading. I'm happy to know that you enjoyed it and I appreciate the post. ~Sugar~


 Report Review

Review #18, by RebeccaPotter When Moments Remain

9th September 2007:
this was pretty much perfect. I loved loved loved it and is one of the best one-shots I have ever read. I adore Remus and Tonks. Thank you so much for writing this story!!!

Author's Response: Wow! First of all, you're welcome! Secondly, thank you, RebeccaPotter! I'm so glad you enjoyed this little glimpse into the final hours of Tonks and Remus. Thanks for reading and taking the time to post your thoughts. What a terrific review!! I appreciate it. ~Sugar

 Report Review

Review #19, by tangysocks When Moments Remain

9th September 2007:
wow.this was such a great one-shot. Well done

Author's Response: Thanks very much, tangysocks. :) I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and taking a minute to post a review. :) Sugar

 Report Review

Review #20, by tonksloveswerewolves When Moments Remain

9th September 2007:
you made me cry! You *dirty word* made me cry!! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for the 10/10 rating, tonksloveswerewolves! :) Is it wrong that your tears make me happy? I'm pleased that my writing brought such a strong reaction for you. Thanks for taking the time to read and post your reaction. I appreciate both! Sugar

 Report Review

Review #21, by Dani When Moments Remain

9th September 2007:
Beautiful x

Author's Response: Thank you, Dani. I'm so happy that you enjoyed my little missing moment tale. ~Sugar~

 Report Review

Review #22, by emz When Moments Remain

9th September 2007:
I couldn't even cry... that was so heartbreaking. I loved it. And the end was amazing...could we have heard the name of Teddy's wife and children? That might have added to it a bit.

All the same, it was a beautiful story and it fitted perfectly with DH...10/10. Amazing.

Author's Response: Wow! I'm so pleased that this story touched you so deeply.

As for Teddy's wife and their children's names. Honestly, as I wrote this story, I purposely withheld their names...seemed like an unnecessarily detail given the nature of the story.

The significance for me lay in the possibility of happiness in the face of tragedy.

Since you've asked and are curious however, I will tell you this. In my mind, his wife was Victoire...Bill and Fleur's daughter that Teddy had been kissing at the station in the epilogue of DH.

As for his children...I'm sorry if this is disappointing, but they have remained nameless in my mind.

I don't know why, but for some reason, none of the obvious possibilities seemed right...too cliche perhaps...and I didn't want to choose something random in place of an appropriate name. I hope you will forgive me for ommitting those details.

Thanks for your question and taking the time to read and review. I appreciate the 10/10 rating! ~Sugar~


 Report Review

Review #23, by bigpotterfan When Moments Remain

9th September 2007:
i loved this story, it is so sad, and true. i love they was you wrote it. even though Teddy had no parent, he lived a happy life, and children of his own.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, bigpotterfan. This story holds personal significance for me, so I'm very happy that you enjoyed reading it.

As a wife and mother, I needed closure on their story. I'm glad you found my version of this missing moment touching and true to canon. I appreciate the post. ~Sugar~


 Report Review

Review #24, by DreamerTacy When Moments Remain

9th September 2007:
I absolutely love this! This is a really great "fill-in-the-blanks" of what we were all left to assume and imagine. When I read DH I figured something similar to this must have happened. But the details you use to allow the reader to illustrate a picture of the scene as it unfolds in thier mind is amazing. I teared up a bit there while reading it. It's so beautfully written. Kudos again to you, fantastic! Currently you are the only author on my favortes list.

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed this brief moment into the final hours of their lives. Only days ago, a family friend passed away, leaving behind his wife and their two sons.

Although DH was my initial inspiration for this story, their real life tragedy was what pressed me to write this now.

Thank you for the wonderful words of praise. I'm happy to hear you found both the imagery true to life and the story well-written. Thanks again for the read and review. I'm flattered to be the first writer to be added to your favorites list. ~Sugar~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login