Reading Reviews for The Beginning of Time
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ruby The Beginning of Time

15th May 2008:
That was so good!!!
Not many people write Frank/Alice stories. I wish some more people would!

Author's Response: Me, too! I really love this pairing, and I wish that more people would explore it. Thanks for the kind review!

--RP


 Report Review

Review #2, by naynn The Beginning of Time

13th May 2008:
i love the fact that u paid attention 2 this neglected couple and actually wrote such a beautiful story about them.Keep Up d good work!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I really do love this pairing, and they do seem to be a bit neglected. Thanks for the review!

--RP


 Report Review

Review #3, by hogwartsgrrl73 The Beginning of Time

5th April 2008:
That's soo sweet! It made me cry. I wish more people would write about Alice and Frank. Trixie

Author's Response: Thanks. They're one of my favourite couples in HP... I'm glad you enjoyed this one!

--RP


 Report Review

Review #4, by Zaphira The Beginning of Time

28th January 2008:
Aww, very cute. I like that Neville's interest in Herbology could be somewhat linked to his parents love of that garden. And it's cute that she can be thinking about something that sweet - that even if she can't talk to the people around her, at least she has those memories. Well written, very touching.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad that you made the connection between Neville's herbology and the garden; I don't feel like many readers saw that, so I'm quite glad you did. Thank you so much for all of the positive feedback!

=) Kate/RP


 Report Review

Review #5, by Isha_Rose The Beginning of Time

2nd December 2007:
I can actually remember reading this before, but I've checked, and I'm gutted to see that I didn't leave a review (I know- I need to be shot immediately. Failing to review is a truly awful thing to do). But I have to say, this drabble does exactly what you intended for it to do. It's touching on so many levels that I can sense another long review coming on!

Firstly, I love the idea of the garden as a sort of metaphor for Alice's life. The way you've written her backstory, it's entirely evident that she had a wonderful, happy childhood- and this is beautifully reflected in the wonders of her grandmother's garden. I love the way that you describe her particular appreciation for the roses, and it's almost as if every rose is fundementally the same, so that their beauty can never truly die, as even though one might grow old it is always replaced by another, just as splendid. This is such a gorgeous, idyllic view of the world, and gives a wonderful impression of Alice as an enticing optimist.

And then, when she takes Frank to her garden it's like she's openning up a secret part of herself, just for him. It sort of reminds me of The Secret Garden (which is, incidentally, one of my favourite films) With all these metaphors for hope and life growing up all around them. The mention of naming their daughter Rose is perfect, and the discussion of baby names and their future fits wonderfully amongst this verdent, fertile setting. It's a lovely image, and so vivid in my mind's eye.

And then, to cut to the heart wrenching moment, we find Alice alone, and obviously scared, in her hospital ward. And suddenly the garden is an escape for her. This is amazing, as it really reminds me of the ideas vested in the Romantic poetry of the 1700 and 1800s. So many people see nature as an escape from the harsh realities of real life, and it's heart breaking to imagine Alice lying alone in her hospital ward, desperately picturing the garden which represents the freedom of her childhood, and the shattered dreams of her once bright future. It's incredibly sad, and I think you portray these emotions wonderfully. I simply adore nature in literature, and I think you used it perfectly in this fanfiction.

I think I've probably said too much (in fact, I know that I have) but I really did feel that you needed to know how much this writing has effected me. It's wonderful.

Take care X

Author's Response: No, you definitely haven't said too much! In fact, you said just enough to light my face with a lil' smile! lol.

Thank you so much for understanding my writing. I've never before had any reader (in both fanfiction and personal writings) understand my intentions so well. These reviews that you've left, both for this story and my others, have been so inspiring and kind.

Thank you so very much!



 Report Review

Review #6, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes The Beginning of Time

22nd November 2007:
Wow great story. i don't think it would be very common for someone to create such a story out of a garden. and the ideas are magnificent. great job. Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad that you enjoyed it despite the unusuallness (Is that a word?) of the story. Thanks so much for the kind review! =) --RP/Kate

 Report Review

Review #7, by harrypotterfan8187 The Beginning of Time

11th November 2007:
I love this story! It's so sweet and simple, yet you can see into the characters of Frank and Alice. Wonderful job! I especially love how smoothly the flashbacks fit into the rest of the story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad the flashbacks work for you; they're kind of worrisome to write because some readers enjoy them and others don't. I'm glad you liked them. Thanks so much for the positive review! =) --Kate/RP

 Report Review

Review #8, by Cassidy Evans The Beginning of Time

10th October 2007:
I LOVE IT! I love how you were able to tie in Roses into everything you wrote here. It was AMAZING! TWO THUMBS WAY-WAY UP!

20/10!!!

~Cassidy~

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Aww, thanks for the 20 out of 10, that made my day! Thank you for all of your super kind reviews. =) --RP/Kate

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rettopyrrah The Beginning of Time

6th October 2007:
OhMyDearMerlin

Crying




Hi *waves* I am Bethany *tosses a cupcake*

I've seen your name here and there par exemple (french for for example =])
reviewing Scream My Lungs Out I think...

Anyhoo, as I've given up on receiving reviews I now look at the authors online and I read their stuff. So I thought to myself when I saw your name... "I've been meaning to read something of theirs for a while now..."

So now I have, I think I'll find something else of yours to read...

That was really good. ='[

I suppose I'd better go check for reviews. Y'know. JUST to see if I do have any...

100/10

[♥] Rettopyrrah [♥]

Author's Response: Thank you soo much! This just made my day. Next time I'm online I'll try to give something of yours a read. Thank you so much for the positive feedback! =) --RP/Kate

 Report Review

Review #10, by BlueMoon55 The Beginning of Time

28th September 2007:
Cute!

Author's Response: Thanks! =) --RP/Kate

 Report Review

Review #11, by booksaretherealmagic The Beginning of Time

1st September 2007:
This is fantastic. This is probably one of the best story (okay, one shot) that I've read about Alice and Frank Longbottom. Fantastic!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so flattered!! =) --RP/Kate

 Report Review

Review #12, by pigwidgeon_hedwig_bff The Beginning of Time

1st September 2007:
Awww! It was really good. You're a good writer, and it was a good idea. Very sad, of course, seeing as the Longbottoms aren't sane anymore and all, but it was very sweet and well written. Favorite!

Christina

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Wow, I just posted this story like a minute ago! Thanks very much for your kind review! *Does first review dance* =) --RP/Kate

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login