Reading Reviews for The Last Marauder
  
100 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Teddy1993 The Final Battle

13th January 2014:
This was absolutely brilliant. I always thought Remus was a very interesting character and I would have liked to got to know more about him in the books. The way you described his character and painted his personality was near perfection.

Your writing is amazing. Although I obviously knew what was coming in the final chapter, the deaths of Remus and Tonks still choked me up. A feature of a wonderful writer :)

Teddy

Author's Response: Thank you so much. This is the first fic I ever wrote, and I wrote it so long ago now. I was very young and I didn't really know what I was doing, it just means a lot that after all these years people still like it! Younger me would be really proud! Thanks so much for the review, I am so glad you enjoyed this. :-)

 Report Review

Review #2, by twowhovianhearts The Final Battle

29th August 2013:
Nonononnonononononononononononononnonono you can't! My pillow is soaked with my tears, these tears you have drawn from me mercilessly! How could you do something like this?!

Seriously though, this was heartbreaking. This bit: 'Then there were other sounds and these sounds were worse in a way. It was the high-pitched cold laughter of Death Eaters as they watched Hogwarts students, members of the DA and the Order of the Phoenix fall to the ground, never to get up. Lupin couldn’t bear it, it was just…he couldn’t even finish that sentence for no words would suffice, no words could ever fully describe the true horrors of what was going on here.' broke my heart, and then 'his eyes were empty now' - I thought it could get no worse. But it did. The whole thing was written in such a terribly beautiful way, I want to hate you for making me feel these things, but I can't, because I love this story. I love it, and I hate it. You see what you do to me?

Well done though; perhaps now you'll have a little more faith in your younger self.

Author's Response: Wow, I really don't know what to say, I honestly don't. Thank you so much, and yes, faith is restored in my younger self, thanks to you. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by twowhovianhearts Hogwarts is Fighting Back

28th August 2013:
I can't... I can't stop crying. This is so horribly beautiful, and worse because of all the foreshadowing. It hurts, but your writing is so brilliant; I felt it all. I want to congratulate you, but I don't think that's enough.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I am so glad you are enjoying this story, and that it affected in you such a way. Thanks so much for all your kind words :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by twowhovianhearts Teddy Remus Lupin

27th August 2013:
This one was beautiful; it brought a tear to my eye. After everything that Lupin has been through, he deserved to be happy, and I'm glad you portrayed that so well. You captured the joy and elation in such a way that I felt happy for him. It was stunning, I really mean that.

Author's Response: Well that was what I was going for in this chapter, the light in the dark, a moment of happiness in a world that is full of sadness, hate and fear. Plus, I just wanted Lupin to be happy, after everything he has been through he deserves that at least.

Thanks so much, you really do leave me at a loss for words, just because I really don't think this fic is the best, but you seem to find some worth in it, so I don't know what to say, but thank you, really, younger me is grinning proudly :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by twowhovianhearts It's Time

26th August 2013:
This line: 'However Lupin felt neither happier nor
sadder at this news. He knew killing Peter would
not bring James back but in some small way he half
expected it to' I really loved. It just made sense!
Yet another great chapter; my favourite part of this
was when Kingsley and Lupin went to make the
broadcast; somehow, you seemed to
simultaneously create a false sense of security, on
top of beautifully portraying a deep sense of
foreboding: I thought they were going to be caught
by death eaters, but no, you fooled me again!
Another great chapter; well done!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'd forgotten about that line, and I actually really like it too, it's a clash between that sort of childish belief that things can be fixed if you rectify what is done, and the adult knowledge of knowing that can never happen, what's done is done, some things just cannot be mended.

Wow, I was just in awe of your sentence there: "somehow, you seemed to simultaneously create a false sense of security, on top of beautifully portraying a deep sense of foreboding" - I loved how you phrased that, I really did!

Thanks so much again for reading and reviewing, you really didn't have to, so I appreciate it so much :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by twowhovianhearts Downing Street

25th August 2013:
Congratulations; the first part after Ted's death made me cry :( it was so well written, I could literally feel their pain. And I know you say that this isn't great writing, because you were young and had a lot to learn. But I disagree. And if this is what you could write then, I can't wait to read your more recent stories!

Also, I just realised something: you said you mostly write as canon-compliant as possible, which is great, but does that mean Remus and Tonks are going to die? I don't want them to die! :(

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I really do not know what to say, I really don't, just thank you and thank you for reading and reviewing, you didn't have to by any means and I really appreciate that you are.

With regards to your question, I will answer it with one word: Spoilers.


 Report Review

Review #7, by twowhovianhearts Downing Street

25th August 2013:
Congratulations; the first part after Ted's death made me cry :( it was so well written, I could literally feel their pain. And I know you say that this isn't great writing, because you were young and had a lot to learn. But I disagree. And if this is what you could write then, I can't wait to read your more recent stories!

Also, I just realised something: you said you mostly write as canon-compliant as possible, which is great, but does that mean Remus and Tonks are going to die? I don't want them to die! :(

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I really do not know what to say, I really don't, just thank you and thank you for reading and reviewing, you didn't have to by any means and I really appreciate that you are.

With regards to your question, I will answer it with one word: Spoilers.


 Report Review

Review #8, by twowhovianhearts Hinkypunks and Grindylows

22nd August 2013:
:O No! Ted can't be dead!
On another note, congratulations on yet another amazing chapter. Like you, I favour certain lines, which really show artistic flair. In particular, 'Hogwarts was no longer a sanctuary. It had become infected with an evil malice just like the rest of the world.' I loved this because on the surface, it seems like a simple statement to make, but, reading between the lines, the line becomes so much harder-hitting - I actually had to swallow back a sob, because its accuracy is overwhelming.
Yet another thing you should be proud of is your ability to really understand the character. I find that, no matter how much we say we get our favourite characters, in reality, no one ever really understands them except the original author. You, however, seem to be the exception; seldom have I seen the feelings of a single person exlored in such beautiful depth and detail! In fact, Lupin's emotional turmoil is so well explained that what was my sympathy for him has turned into empathy. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I just really don't know what to say, mostly because I don't think this story in anyway shows the best of my ability because I was so young when I wrote it. And the fact that you think it does really just makes me smile. I'd forgotten about that line - I really like it too. :)

I'm very glad you think I understand the character, but I think that in this I barely scratch the surface of Lupin. In "The Talk" and "Heroes or Ghosts" and my latest fic "Door Into The Dark" I feel I do a much better job with him - I put on his skin and walk around in it, and I think I capture him better than I do here.

But thank you so much for all your kind words, they really do leave me at a loss for words. And thank you so much for reading


 Report Review

Review #9, by twowhovianhearts The Taboo

11th August 2013:
Stunning. Again. I don't know what it is, but something about the way you write has me reading in a whole new light; you've completely altered my perception of the original book too - it's great!

Author's Response: Thank you. I just don't know what to say, I really don't!! Just thanks so much for reading and reviewing :-)

 Report Review

Review #10, by twowhovianhearts Potterwatch

10th August 2013:
Yet another completely brilliant chapter; I grow more fascinated by the second! One of my favourite things about this is how canon-compliant it is - that's a really hard thing to do, and the fact that you've mastered it makes the whole thing even more believable. I was stuck on the next chapter of my current fic, but this has given me some great inspiration, so thank you :) I look forward to reading on :D

Author's Response: I'm sort of a stickler when it comes to canon - I like things canon and I work hard to ensure they are. JKR's books are perfection, you don't mess with something that is perfect, you know? Though this does put me in a bad position with my latest fic "Door Into The Dark", because Remus's bio on Pottermore made my fic not-canon (since I started writing it a year and a half before the bio came out - so I don't actually know what to do with it anymore...).

I am glad I was able to give you some inspiration with your fics. I look forward to reading more of your stories (which I will do later on today - I am excited!).

Thanks again for all the reviews :-)


 Report Review

Review #11, by twowhovianhearts Past and Present

9th August 2013:
Wow! This is an amazing chapter; I loved it from beginning to end! What I like about this story so far is that you really get to the depths of the character; you help the reader to understand him. Your portrayal of Remus is spot on - in my opinion, he is not easy to characterise, but somehow you do it in what seems to be an effortless manner. I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, I am so glad you think the characterisation is good. I think that is the main thing for me writing fanfiction - I MUST get the characters in character. I mean JKR created these wonderful characters that it would be criminal if I turned them into anything less than themselves, you know?

Thanks again for all your reviews, I really appreciate it :-)


 Report Review

Review #12, by twowhovianhearts The Shrieking Shack

8th August 2013:
Hey! You know, this is really very good! I can't wait to read the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thanks ... It's not the best I can do, but I am glad you think it's okay *smiles sheepishly*

But thank you so much for reading and reviewing, really appreciate it. I'm reading your fics too at the minute and I'm enjoying them a lot :-)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Zuko The Final Battle

30th April 2013:
Rating applies to all chapters... It's bloody brilliant. I do believe I'll remember this story as much as I will always remember JKR's. I just have to say... Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks a million, I am so glad you enjoyed it. This was the first fanfiction I ever wrote, way back in 2007, so I am really happy people still like it, 6 years later!! Thanks so much for your lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Nymphadorah Hogwarts is Fighting Back

22nd March 2013:
its dsnt end here right??? you'll write more to it...won't ya??? plzz do..and by d way, you write awesome, it was like reading a 2nd book of Deathly Hallows!!

Author's Response: Hi there, well this chapter you just reviewed is the second last one: Hogwarts is fighting back. Chapter 10, the last one, is up (and has been for years) and it's the last one. It's called: The Final Battle.

In terms of writing more than those ten chapters - well you know yourself what has to happen in chapter 10, but what I have done is sort of write a sequel to this story, called "I Hope He Will Understand", which is about Harry and Teddy, where Harry helps Teddy understand who is father was and why he died.

I've also written a sort of prequel as well, "Door into the Dark", which will be about Remus's whole life, from his first encounter with Death, to his last (which alas, is his own death), which will, ultimately (if I ever make it to the end) cover what this fic has covered, but I plan on doing it in more detail, and doing it better. The Last Marauder was the first fic I ever wrote, and I was really small when I wrote it, I feel I have gotten much better in the 5 and a half years since.

Anyway, I'm so glad you are enjoying this - the last chapter is there, never fear, so read away.

Thanks again for all the reviews, they really made me smile :-)


 Report Review

Review #15, by StarFeather The Shrieking Shack

5th January 2013:
I've just read your summary of Chapter1 , and added to my favorite stories. There are a lot of stories that were not told by J.K.Rowling. I'll read your whole stories soon.

Author's Response: Thanks, but I will admit now that this is the first ever fanfic I wrote, way back in 2007, and I was really young so it's not brilliant, far from it really. But read away! I hope you find it okay anyhow... :-)

 Report Review

Review #16, by ngayonatkailanman Teddy Remus Lupin

18th October 2012:
How very touching. I feel like celebrating too.

Author's Response: Thank you. I am so glad you liked this. It was the first fic I ever wrote and I wrote it when I was very young. Thanks so much again

 Report Review

Review #17, by CambAngst The Shrieking Shack

19th August 2012:
Hi, there! Tagging you from the Review the Person Above You thread in the Common Room.

Wow. I have to say that you managed to get inside Lupin's head like few other authors I've ever read. Not just get inside of it, mind you, but make yourself comfortable and stay a while. Really settle in and explore. I loved the amount of canon that you were able to draw into this, the breadth and depth of Remus's experiences that you drew on. Yet it didn't feel like it was wandering, because you kept coming back to the central touchstones of the chapter: his guilt over what he did to Harry and the conflict between his feelings of self-loathing and his desire to be happy. I thought you did a brilliant job of weaving it all together.

The Shrieking Shack was a terrific setting for this, both in terms of how it put him in a pensive, nostalgic frame of mind and in how it set up the ending. All the little historical details that you worked in: the bed, the scratches on the wall, even Snape's bloodstain, added so much to my appreciation of the whole scene. Especially Snape's bloodstain. For some reason, that gave me an almost perverse sort of enjoyment.

"Feelings aren’t meant to be shared. They should be repressed and hidden away from all things decent and normal." - How horrible and bleak! If any one line of this chapter captures Remus's self-loathing and disaffection, this is it.

I honestly had never thought too much about how Remus went about coming to his senses after his disastrous encounter with Harry at Grimmauld Place, but I think it's safe to say that this chapter will make up the majority of my headcanon on the subject for a long time to come. Of course he shouldn't have cursed Harry. Of course Harry was right. Tactless and blunt to the point of being rude, but right. Remus knows this, and he knows that Harry was only saying what he needed to hear. That realization makes the wolf's temporary moment of control all the more horrible for him, and you did an amazing job of capturing that in words and feelings.

Then, in the middle of this heavy, heavy chapter, you took us on a brief sentimental journey. At first, I honestly wasn't certain what the point was. It seemed so wonderful and light-hearted. But you quickly came to the point. Even among his best friends, Remus still felt like a monster. Sure, he managed to mostly control it and conceal it and put a happy face on the aftermath, but he still came away feeling that when push came to shove, he couldn't trust himself. It added a slightly different facet to his self-doubt from most other fics I've read and I really liked it.

The scene with the Dementors was chilling and gripping. You put so much realism into the encounter. All of Remus's worst memories being drug to the surface and used against him. And the crown jewel of the entire piece is that his last happy memory, the one that saves him, is the very thought that he's been trying to drive out of his mind. The reason he left and the genesis of the entire confrontation with Harry that started him down this dark path of confusion and doubt. That was the coup de grace of this chapter. It was truly inspired!

Your writing was fabulous in this. Everything flowed wonderfully and it was a very smooth, quick read. It didn't feel nearly as long as it was.

Constructive criticism? Not much, I'm afraid. The biggest concern I have at the moment is, after cramming so much into this amazing opening chapter, what's left for the rest of the story. But knowing you, I'm sure you have plenty in store!

Well done!

Author's Response: Hi there yourself. I will admit though when I saw that you had picked this story to review, I was slightly mortified to tell you the truth. I wrote this when I was 15 and it was the first HP fan-fic I ever wrote, in fact it was the first story I ever wrote that was over 2,000 words. It's pretty dreadful and I know that, and the only reason it is recently updated is because my account was being reviewed for TA status and one of the chapters had too many direct quotes in it and I had to change that, hence the recent update... I sort of want to delete this, but I can never bring myself to do it because it was my first fic, because it's the story that gave me my pen-name and because it sort of shows me how far I've come in the 5 years since. I am sort of re-writing this whole fic in my new story "Door Into the Dark" which is much better (or so I think anyway).

All that said, I will admit I was pleasantly surprised at this review - 15 year old me would be very VERY happy with it! I'm glad you think I got into Lupin's head well. I don't know why I just always seemed to be able to do that with relative ease. I just understood him more than anyone else and it was just easy to see things from his pov. He's the character I can most relate to, not that I'm a werewolf or anything, just because I think we all grapple with inner demons and one point or another.

I'm glad you liked the Shrieking Shack, the setting just seemed to fit for me. It's been so long since I've actually read this fic that I don't even remember my rationale for choosing it!

I'm just glad you think I got the self-depreciation and self-loathing across, as well as his sense of confusion and doubt, because if I remember correctly the reason I wrote this fic was because Lupin is my favourite character and I was really angry with him for leaving Tonks, and other readers were just saying such awful things about him after this, that I just felt I had to justify his actions, to myself and to them. He's not bad and it's not that he got cold feet and no longer loved Tonks, it's far more complicated than that. He loves her, it's just 30-odd years of being told he's a monster who doesn't deserve to live have just caught up with him, you know? That and he's also scared of being happy, because every time in the past when he was happy, Death took that happiness anyway from him, now he just feels that if he is happy, something is wrong.

I'm glad you liked the ending with the Dementor, I thought it was slightly cliched with I went with it anyway because it just seemed to fit and make sense.

I'm fast running out of words before this response goes over the limit, so I just want to say thanks so much for sort of redeeming this story in my eyes a bit. I don't consider it as dreadful and cringe-worthy now as I did prior to reading your review. 15 year old me would be very proud of all the lovely things you've said. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #18, by TeaLupin The Final Battle

28th February 2012:
I am crying now. Why did they have to die??? :(
Really great story btw!

Author's Response: I know what you mean! Why did Lupin and Tonks have to die??? It was not fair! I cried myself when I read that they had died in Deathly Hallows! Anyway, I am so glad you liked my story! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, I really appreciate it :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by MonkeyGirl The Final Battle

23rd January 2012:
Excellently written, few spelling mistakes, might want to get rid of the numbers, just use astrixes. Congratulations, you actually managed to bring Tonks and Lupin to life. Thank you.

Author's Response: Cheers, thank you so much! I'll definitely give this another read over and try and spot all those spelling mistakes (my brain always fails to spot them for some reason!!!). I'll also change the numbers to astrixes too, thanks for the suggestion, I guess the numbers are a bit distracting and random.

I am very glad you think I brought Lupin and Tonks to life. Thank yo so much for the review! I am so glad you enjoyed the story and I'll try my best to remove the spelling mistakes. Thanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Winne It's Time

14th December 2011:
Love it!! Potterwatch is so creative!!

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you like it! :-)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Winne Hinkypunks and Grindylows

18th November 2011:
Wow, awesomeness and coolness. This really keeps me occupied!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I am so glad you liked it! I've other stories too if you want to check them out as well. Thanks again for all the reviews! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Winne The Taboo

17th November 2011:
Wowowowowow!! I am so impressed!!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Winne Potterwatch

17th November 2011:
Awesome!! I love it!! So creative!!

Potterwatch...

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) I am so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Winne Past and Present

17th November 2011:
He was still Remus Lupin

LOL...

Author's Response: hahaha, now that you point it out, taken out of context that line is, not only exceptionally random, but it doesn't make any sense either!

Glad I made you lol ;)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Winne Hogwarts is Fighting Back

15th November 2011:
Love the whole: Last Maurader thing

Author's Response: Cheers! So do I! Hence why it was the title I gave my first ever fan-fic (ie. THIS one) and it's also my pen-name, so I am very fond of the whole concept of the 'Last Marauder'. I'm so glad you like it too! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>