Reading Reviews for Within The Heart Of The Battle
  
76 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Phoebe The Search

9th September 2012:
this is soo good! you are obviously as massive potterhead haha :) please can you write some more chapters up until the point that neville goes to get harry and takes him into the room of requirement?? please??? :) love this!

Author's Response: Thankyou ever so much :)

I am trying to get writing again, I have about 3 stories on the go and I have a lot of stuff going on in real life which is stopping my writing but please rest assured, this is still a WIP and I will update at some point, and your patience will be rewarded!

Your author,
LGE


 Report Review

Review #2, by mMalfoy Educational Decree No. 30

30th June 2011:
Professor McGonagall is awesome! You're doing a great job writing this story :)

Author's Response: I love McGonagall, you can expect to see more of her as the story progresses ;)

Thanks for the compliment and I'm so glad you are enjoying :) Check back soon for updates!


 Report Review

Review #3, by mMalfoy Ginny's Plan

30th June 2011:
'Luna dreamily agreed', haha, I like it. Snape is awesome!

Author's Response: I love Luna, she's so like me :)
And you have no idea how happy I am to know you like Snape! He's so hard to pin down and get right, I do let my ego get some boosting when people say I do him well!

Thanks for another review :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by mMalfoy Detention With A Difference

30th June 2011:
Ginny's got a plan, this should be good!

Author's Response: Ginny always has a plan, she's a Weasley. ;)
But I must agree, the plan is rather good :)

Glad you're enjoying the story so far!


 Report Review

Review #5, by mMalfoy The Battle Begins

30th June 2011:
I like this. I like the fiery Ginny Weasley a lot better than the dreamy one, so this can be good. Her and Nevilles answers to Carrow was awesome by the way!

Author's Response: Ah that's a brilliant review :) thanks so much for reading and most importantly, letting me know what you think :) I love writing Ginny but I thnk sometimes even she has to be vulnerable. Ooh, the Carrows, I love writing the, I really do, but the conflict between them all, so much fun!

Glad you enjoyed!


 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyL8 The Search

19th June 2011:
I just wanted to point out one thing I have noticed.

You are great at writing about Snape. He is so scary, yet so misunderstood. That is quite difficult to write. (trust me, I have tried). You really are good at this. I loved this chapter too, and I am still convinced that you are J. K Rowling :P

Author's Response: Snape was so hard at first, it's taken me a good few chapters to really get inside his head and understand him enough to write this, that's why my latest story is Snape based, it was a bit of an exercise in him as well as a challenge piece ;)

I am so pleased that you are enjoying the story so much, and I will certainly be updating soon :) Until then, I leave you with the news that I most definitely am not JK Rowling ;)


 Report Review

Review #7, by LadyL8 Educational Decree No. 30

19th June 2011:
This just keeps getting better and better. I loved it :D

I just dont understand how you make it so realistic...

I can never really manage to do that myself :)

Author's Response: My smile is now hurting me! You are far too kind, it's lovely to hear such positive reactions to my random scribblings! Thank you so much for all the compliments, they are hugely appreciated :)

I honestly don't know how I make it realistic, all I can imagine is that I spend far too much time pretending I did go to Hogwarts! ;)


 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyL8 Caught Red Handed

19th June 2011:
As always, I loved this chapter. You have such a great way of writing that makes everything seem so realistic. I love it :D

Author's Response: Yay! I love to see the word 'love' in any format in my reviews :) You have really supercharged my ego to the absolute maximum!

I thik if a story doesn't have a plausibility to it then there is no story there, it needs an anchoring of reality to keep the reader in a comfort zone to an extent :)

Looking forward to your next review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LadyL8 Action This Day

19th June 2011:
Ohhh ... this is scary. Snape is scary :(

I loved the chapter, though :D

NB: Now I know you are J. K Rowling :P

Author's Response: Aha! Snape isn't that scary really ;)

So glad you liked the chapter though, it's such a great feeling when you write something to know people enjoy it so much :)

Huge thanks for taking time to read, and even huger thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by LadyL8 Ginny's Plan

19th June 2011:
I love Dumbledores Army. I am looking forward to reading more about them and their plan :P

Loved it :D

Author's Response: Oh I love the DA! They are so much fun to write for :) I have some fantastic things planned for them but you'll have to wait a few chapters for the next big event ;)

You can certainly expect to see more of them as the story progresses!

Thanks again for your lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by LadyL8 Detention With A Difference

19th June 2011:
You must be J. K Rowling. You write just as good as her.

I loved it :D 10/10

Author's Response: Hehe! I really wish I was!

I'm so glad you love it!

Thankyou so much for reviewing and enjoying my story so much :) Made my day!


 Report Review

Review #12, by LadyL8 The Battle Begins

19th June 2011:
I love the fact that everything fits so well with all that is mentioned in the books. I am still sure you are J. K Rowling :P

Author's Response: Aw thankyou again! It's such a huge compliment you are paying me I can't express how happy it makes me :)

I'll give you my secret, I have a detailed timeline of everything that happened in DH and that is pretty much my plan for the story ;) However expect some ad lib because I have some twists planned!


 Report Review

Review #13, by LadyL8 A Quiet Breakfast

19th June 2011:
I have said this to like 5 people already, but I think so about you too.

Are you J. K Rowling ? Your characters matches hers so well that I am almost sure you are.

J. K Rowling sure has made a lot of accounts :P

Author's Response: Unfortunately I am not JK Rowling, I would very much like her house and to own Harry Potter but 'm just a simple girl dreaming high ;)

I'm so glad you think the characterisation is on target :) that's something I'm really concious of and like to get right so you've just spread a smile the size of Kentucky over my face :)

Thankyou for such a great compliment and review :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by LadyL8 The Station

19th June 2011:
This was a very great story. I loved your idea for this story (the plot) and its interesting. I am looking forward to reading more about it :D

Author's Response: Oh I'm so glad you like the plot :) I'm hoping to keep it as close to canon and include everything we already know but hopefully I'll be able to surprise you with some little twists of my own!

I look forward to more reviews :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by swimmer99 The Search

24th May 2011:
amazing love it thanks for updating and update again SOON!

Author's Response: Thanks swimmer! So glad to hear you're enjoying yourself reading the story! Update will be slightly delayed, I'm rushing to finish a challenge piece but rest assured, over the summer I'm planning lots of updates for you :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by theelderwand The Search

24th May 2011:
Wow, thanks so much for that HUGE shout out. that's really uber cool.

Great chapter and once again you've got me feeling bad for Snape! Arg! Now, there's a sign of the apocalypse. He DESPERATELY needs to find Harry so he can get him the sword. He's positive Ginny's in touch with him...and has absolutely no idea how. Plus he's got the godsawful Carrows breathing down his neck and the DA keeps pushing things. You've continued this Snape-dilemma brilliantly in this chapter.

And Ginny? Her characterization is PERFECT. As is Nev's. Just spot on through and through.

Loving it!

Eldy

Author's Response: Your more than welcome my friend, and it's less than you deserve, believe me :) I owe you so much and it's honestly the very least I can do :)

Aha! I do love making you feel bad for Snape, I'm trying to turn you into a Snape lover like I've become ;) Wait til you read the challenge fic, then you'll love him even more lol!

Aw, I love Ginny, she's like a little part of me now, so to know I've done well does make me smile :) And the same for Neville, he's like the brother I never had!

Thanks for yet another lovely review :) Can't wait until I get uni finished for the summer and I can concentrate on updating and reading more of these!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Clarice Ginny's Plan

12th May 2011:
I like this chapter, but it seems a bit earl for them to try and steal the sword.

Author's Response: Thanks for another review! I did wonder myself but on timelines of that last year it has to happen early because it's not long after the Ministry fiasco that Harry and the others overhear Dean and Ted discussing the sword with the goblins.

Looking forward to some more reviews from yourself!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Clarice The Station

12th May 2011:
I loved the Sorting Hat's Song! I'm surprised that he was allowed to get away with such a song, but I'm sure that the Carrows and Snape are still trying to keep up a certain fasade for a while still.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

I'm sure they wouldn't have known about the song before the Hat started, and by then it would be too late to stop it. Snape's facade will hold for a long time yet, don't worry!

Looking forward to more reviews.


 Report Review

Review #19, by swimmer99 Educational Decree No. 30

4th May 2011:
Amazing! thanks for updating! Update again soon!

Author's Response: Brilliant to hear from you again! So glad you're enjoying! There are some more chapters coming soon, never despair! I have a challenge one shot I need to post first but then once that's sorted I'll update again! Looking forward to seeing you back here again!

Lily


 Report Review

Review #20, by theelderwand Educational Decree No. 30

2nd May 2011:
I never really appreciated just what a horrid position Snape was in. He's secretly protecting the students, but outwardly he's Riddle's man at Hogwarts; probably the most trusted Death Eater, now.

Every time the DA rebels, the Carrows threaten to "up the ante" and mete out more severe punishments. If Snape goes too easy on the students, he risks being exposed as a double agent; he has to be feeling the pressure after being so lenient with Ginny and Neville.

However, if he is too hard on the students (as the Carrows would like) he risks becoming that which he is secretly fighting. His own allies (the DA) are causing him a world of headaches.

What a dilemma! I think you've woven that in here brilliantly.

And what is it the Ministry is searching for? I'm sure Snape is hoping to find out how (or maybe if) Ginny and Neville have a way to communicate with the Trio. That would have to make it that much easier for him to deliver the sword.

I've never felt sorry for Snape before. Yikes, I feel like I need to have my head examined ;)

This really is well done and I can't wait for more!

Eldy

Author's Response: I never really realised that either until I actually sat down to write this story. I always had a deep loathing for Snape, even after that chapter in DH because he always ha choices, and he made a lot of wrong ones, but I have to say I absolutely LOVE him now, he's got to be one of my favourite characters.

The DA are really starting to push their luck with the Carrow's now. As far as I see it, they've pushed all the buttons now and they're starting on the switches, and once that is done there will be vicious Death Eater's on the rampae at Hogwarts!

Many thanks for thinking it's woven in well, it's been hard to make it believable if I'm truly honest with myself, so for someone like you to say it's 'brilliant' flatters me! Thankyou!!

Aaahaha! The Ministry. I think if you mull it over you'll crack it, but that won't pop up again for a little while, well, the Ministry aspect at least, you can expect to see Snape's views a little sooner ;) We know that Ginny and Neville can't contact the Trio, but Snape will learn that soon enough!

Wow! Have I gathered myself a recruit to the I


 Report Review

Review #21, by theelderwand Caught Red Handed

2nd May 2011:
Excellent chapter!

You managed to catch all the important (and somewhat troubling) points in canon and deal with them fairly.

Of course Ginny and Neville had to be shocked at getting off so easy with Snape. They're not dumb! They have to suspect something; and you've shown that brilliantly.

Naturally, Snape would have to wonder if they were in contact with Potter. He'd be desperate for a way to find him so he could get the sword to him. It was pure luck that Phineas managed to find out where they were; up until that point, Snape must have been pulling his (greasy) hair out, mulling it over.

Fabulous work, just stellar!

Eldy

Author's Response: Hey you!

Thanks for popping by to review! Sorry for the delay replying, uni kick started me with a big bang and I've been craving DVD night's with my mum and sister!

Ah, you know me and canon, I can't leave a bit out ;) Which actually makes it really boring for you readers cause you know exactly what's going to be included :)

Aaah, Ginny and Neville being shocked by Snape being kind. now that was interesting to write. And as you so aptly pointed out, they do suspect something, but you'll find Snape's cover slips like this from time to time, it's far too hard for him to keep that cover up all the time. Anyhoos, thankyou, I found this bit a little hard to write without making it incredibly cliched!

Aah, now this was another interesting part - Snape's eagerness to find out where Harry is something we will see develop I hope, but obviously Ginny and Neville think it is for a totally different reason!

Thankyou :) your review has me blushing ;) expect some more updates soon, once I get back into the swing of uni I'll be posting some more up here!

Thanks again!

Lily


 Report Review

Review #22, by awesome247 Educational Decree No. 30

28th April 2011:
I really like your story, especially the parts from Snape's point of view. I can't wait to read more, update soon!

Author's Response: Aw thanks! Thanks for taking the time to read and review! There is another chapter written which is off to the beta shortly so please feel free to keep an eye out for the updates, should be here within a week!

 Report Review

Review #23, by swimmer99 Caught Red Handed

27th April 2011:
Hi thanks for updating you did a really good job on this chapter!!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for reading and reviewing, glad you're enjoying, and you'll be pleased to know there's another chapter in the queue and another one on it's way to the beta!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Dalek194 Detention With A Difference

25th April 2011:
Wow - a real way to "pack a punch" in this chapter, if you'll excuse the bad pun LOL. I feel sorry for Ginny and Neville, but know at the same time that they don't need sympathy - they can fight for themselves, as I hope further chapters will prove...

You've got the characteristic cowardliness of Death Eaters spot on in Alecto; it was a horrible, wicked thing of her to do and you handled the concept really well. Oddly enough I'm feeling releived that it wasn't worse - both Ginny and Neville will take more than a few punches to sink them.

It was clever to use the Imperius curse, as it both proves the Carrow's formerly illegal intentions and immediately gives you a topic to cover in the DA - how to resist the Impreius curse (though it would probably be taught verbally; I wouldn't have thought that the DA would use Imperio on eachother, even for training purposes). If only Harry had taught it when he ran the DA (he knew from experience with the fake Moody); then again I suppose he didn't think any of them would be facing magic that dark while they were still in school.

Impressive job, I am really liking the story so far. Great work ;-)

Author's Response: Wow! What a way to start a review! Or a response for that matter ;) Thankyou!

They certainly don't need the sympathy! This has geared them up for action indeed and you'll see that in the following chapters.

I seem to have some sort of affinity with Alecto, I just understand how to 'write' her quite instinctively, what that says about me I have no idea!

Another brilliant review from yourself which has made me smile from ear to ear! Thankyou so much, and I look forward to reading more from you!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Dalek194 The Battle Begins

25th April 2011:
Once again, more good work. You do a good job of Alecto and her hatred of Muggles, and also of Ginny and Neville's early rebellion. I'm glad to see both Ginny back as her usual feisy, fiery self and also the students beginning to fight back.

However, the atmosphere in Hogwarts seems to change very quickly; early on you say that they had "settled happily back into life at Hogwarts", but then mention that the Carrows had threatened the Cruciatus curse. It's all very sudden. Have the Carrows already used Crucio in detentions or are they taking it slowly... for now? And how does this affect the students and teachers?

Also, in the Muggle Studies class, I'm surprised that other Gryffindors didn't stand up to Alecto too; remember that though the Silver trio (as I'm now calling them LOL) are the ringleaders of the DA, Gryffindors are brave by nature and would probably also speak out.

Can't wait to see the DA in action soon, but am worried about Ginny and Neville's detention with Alecto... you always manage to end them with an intriuging sort-of-cliffhanger, so well done! On the whole, another solid chapter, can't wait to read the next one! :-)

Author's Response: Thanks again! I must confess, I actually LOVED writing for Alecto! I think it was quite nice to explore my darker side ;)

The atmosphere I fully appreicte your comments! I have struggled! You can see from the dates on the chapters that there are huge gaps, and I was quite young and naive when I first started writing this story, that's all changed now though, so hopefully you'll find some better consistency as it progresses. The Cruciatus Curse will make an appearance, but not quite yet!

I did debate the Gryffindors reactions. We know they were severly depleted in their numbers, and I kinda felt as though they would be watching their backs so to speak, as they would be the first ones to become a target to the Carrows and Snape.

Ooh! Detention with a Carrow. I love that part of the chapter, a nice twist!

Glad you're still enjoying and still reading away!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>