Reading Reviews for Quantas ut Pendere
  
69 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp Ted Tonks

7th August 2011:
Woah. This was another interesting piece.

I must say Greyback was characterized so well.
Ted's character was also spot on.
The killing of Ted was just so disgustingly horrible.
And the indifferent attitude of the snatchers, just thinking about rewards, was terrible but true.
I liked how you wrote Ted and Dean though, it was very nicely done.
All in all a great piece. It made a good read.

10/10

Cheers!
AD
~
End of an era Review extravaganza: house cup 2011

forum name: AditiDraco95
house: slytherin

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Barty Crouch Jr

7th August 2011:
Hey.

I think this was a very interesting story.

The characterization of Barty was very well done.
His feelings towards joining the death eaters were nicely depicted.
Also his devotion to Lord Voldemort came off very strongly.
His last moments were amazingly captured.
Also I liked your portrayal of Bellatrix too. All in all this was very well-written and made a good read. Perfect I should say.

great job.

10/10

cheers!
AD

End of an era Review extravaganza: house cup 2011

forum name: AditiDraco95
house: slytherin

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp Marlene McKinnon

7th August 2011:
Omg this was such an agonizing tale. Her whole family gone? *shudders* This was really a very well-written one-shot. Completely realistic and totally terrible, it made my heart ache. The way of writing was brilliant with such vivid descriptions. The ending shocked me though. This was truly heartbreakingly beautiful. The little flashbacks added a nice touch to the story too.

All in all a very nicely done piece. Great job!!

10/10

Cheers!
AD

End of an era Review extravaganza: house cup 2011

forum name: AditiDraco95
house: slytherin

 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshp Severus Snape

7th August 2011:
OMG AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME.

Lol, sorry for being hyper but this was totally awesome!! A masterpiece If I may say so.
I loved how you captured Snape so well. The emotions came off so brilliantly. I was totally engrossed while reading this. And the last part about the half blood prince being home was so amazing. Your writing was impeccable. The way you wrote the whole thing made the words jump out. Celtic you're awesome! Gosh, I am totally in love with this little piece. The way he thought about Lily in his last moments was so touching and totally moving. A very very deep and intense fic this was.

An amazingly written piece - I truly truly loved reading this. Brilliant work that deserves a 100/10!!!

Cheers!
AD

~~

End of an era Review extravaganza: house cup 2011

forum name: AditiDraco95
house: slytherin

 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshp Igor Karkaroff

7th August 2011:
hey there.

This was very well written. I enjoyed reading this a lot.

I liked the character you chose - Karkaroff. I think you have captured him really well in your story. His portrayal seems quite realistic. His fear, as we saw in the books too, came across strongly.

The ending was very well done too.

The way you wrote this was the most significant part of making this a good read. You really pulled this off very nicely.

10/10

cheers!
AD

~
End of an era Review extravaganza: house cup 2011

forum name: AditiDraco95
house: slytherin

 Report Review

Review #6, by adluvshp Gideon and Fabian Prewett

7th August 2011:
Hey there.

Aw this was such a sweet story. I liked the idea of Fabian and Gideon being twins and how Fred and George were like them. I loved how you portrayed it all, very nicely done. The ending made me feel so upset, their death was captured well. It was a brilliantly written piece and I truly liked reading it. Makes me wish the two brothers had lived *sigh*

Anyways, great work here. good job!

10/10

Cheers!
AD

end of an era review extravaganza: house cup 2011

Forum name: aditidraco95
house: slytherin

 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp Bill Weasley

7th August 2011:
Wow this was a very well written story.

The...terrible-ness of the whole ordeal came off very...strongly.

It was all captured very brilliantly I must say.
The attack was amazingly described, I cringed physically while reading it.

Fenrir Greyback was portrayed awesomely.

All in all this was an AMAZING piece. Gosh, truly remarkable and very vivid.

Great job!

10/10

Cheers!
AD

End of an era Review extravaganza: house cup 2011

Forum name: AditiDraco95
House: Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #8, by adluvshp Moaning Myrtle

7th August 2011:
hey there!

This was a very interesting piece.

A very unusual perspective written quite well.

You captured Myrtle's character quite well.

I also liked the backstory you provided of her.

The ending was kind of abrupt and sudden but it was okay I guess.

All in all, this made an amusing read. Well written I must say. Good job!!

9/10

Cheers!
AD

~~
End of an era review extravaganza: house cup 2011

Forum Name: AditiDraco95
House: Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshp Frank and Alice Longbottom

7th August 2011:
hey there.

this was an amazing piece.

You captured the scene with Neville, Alice and Frank very nicely. It was sweet to see them as one small happy family.

Bellatrix's characterization was spot on. She gave me the chills. The entire scene was written very impacting.

All in all, a very deep and intense one that gave me chills. I feel so sad after reading the whole thing. An agonizing tale really.

But you captured all emotions and characters really well. Great job in all.

10/10

~AD

~~
End of an era review extravaganza: house cup 2011

Forum Name: AditiDraco95
House: Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #10, by MileyMalfoy Severus Snape

4th August 2011:
I've read this story before and it still makes me cry. I really like being able to see the ending of Snape's life from his point of view, the fact that he didn't want to hurt Harry, just give him the messages from Dumbledore. I loved the touch of the emerald falling to the floor at the end of the story, it really seems to signify the end for Severus and helps to make it even more sad. The imagery that came from the tattoo bleeding from the snake's mouth was really fantastic and, I thought, rather well thought out. Overall I think that the characterization was really well done. The idea of Lucius asking Severus what it was that they had done, having second thoughts, is something rather nice to see, to show that he is actually human and that after being treated the way he has been he is questioning things.

I felt really sorry for Snape when he realized that Voldemort was going to get rid of him and that there was nothing that he could do about it. I liked though that he realized that Dumbledore had been right about the snake even as he tried to offer to go and find Harry in a last ditch attempt to tell him what was going on and protect him. I also really liked the use of Dumbledore's portrait and that Snape still called him Headmaster, it really does help to build the idea that help will always be available at Hogwarts for those who need it.

All in all I though that the characterizations were wonderful and that the entire story was really well written.

Great job!
Miles
(Hufflepuff)

 Report Review

Review #11, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Severus Snape

17th April 2011:
Whoa! I really liked this, I honestly did. It was a combination missing moment plus different perspective on a piece of DH. Very cool. I loved all of it: the dramatic dialogue between Snape and Dumbledore's portrait, the exchange between Lucius and Snape (old Malfoy had a heart, who knew?), the descriptions of Snape's different seats in the Great Hall. . . All of it was well thought out and well worded.

Hmm, what else. . . That was pretty much my train of thought throughout. So detailed! So dramatic! Definitely my favorite part was the seating arrangements of the Great Hall, even though that was a small piece. Because kids always have preferred seats, and "assigned" seats that they sit in again and again. And that Snape's was so strategically chosen makes perfect, perfect sense. Even though Dumbledore's dramatic dialogue at the beginning pulled me in, that was certainly a relatable, enjoyable tidbit.

The only part I felt was lacking was the part when Snape was bitten by Nagini, before Harry walked in. Especially in a collab rated mature, you had a lot of possibility there, but you summed it up in about two sentences. The pain of dying is immense, so I was like, "Whoa, feeling pretty good there for a dying man. . ." :P It wasn't a big deal, just a bit of a flow-interrupter, if you know what I mean.

Otherwise, great job. I was planning on going to bed then decided to stick around. . . Glad I got a chance to read it! Great job, Celtic and notreallyblonde! ;)

 Report Review

Review #12, by LadyMalfoy23 Severus Snape

13th March 2011:
Naw i cried!! Well nearly did at least! hearing Snapes thoughts before the death is even more emotional then in the actual books themselves.
Im no snape fan, but you actually have me feeling for the guy! :) he is something differnt in her. Again your writing is mezmorizing, seems to just draw the reader in and even though they KNOW what is to happen, they are still constantly guessing! GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT story!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by TenthWeasley Severus Snape

5th March 2011:
Oh, I just love a good Snape fic - I truly, truly do. And you, my friend, did not disappoint in the slightest with this story. All of Snape's emotions were so powerful, and honest, that I couldn't help that painful lump in my throat.

I've never quite considered before how much Snape probably knew, to some degree, that he was walking to his own death just as much as Harry would be walking to his. When a fic makes me look at angles I've never seen before - that's when I know they're good, as a fan like me hasn't left too many canon angles unexplored. MAJOR props to you for that!

The last sentence? Gave me chills. Still have those chills, as a matter of fact. Wow, it's haunting! ^^ Loved it, as usual. You've got amazing talent.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lady Kyra Ted Tonks

21st August 2010:
Okay, I've said it once during this collab., and I'll say it again: when you Slytherins write Greyback, he is just creepy. And he scares me greatly, just as he did in this story. Ugh. *shivers*

Moving on from that, I really thought that this was a great piece. I have always wondered how exactly Ted Tonks was killed, and this was an excellent explanation of that. It also featured Dean Thomas, which is an automatic plus in my book :)

I particularly liked the interaction between the five fugitives. They seem like the most unlikely people to ever want to be together, and I think you have portrayed that very well. I thought Ted Tonks's characterization was brilliant. I think that, as a father, it was a good idea for him to become very protective of Dean and think of Dean as his son. Maybe he had always wanted another child, anyway, and Dean was like the son he never had?

I thought Greyback's dialogue in this was (creepy) very good. It really felt like something the Greyback from the books would say. And Ted's reactions were spot on; if Greyback had been running at me with his creepy eyes, I probably would have froze as well. Ted's death was very sad, but better still was the very matter of fact manner in which the final paragraph was written. It was just like the Death Eaters kind of shrugged and said, "Another day's work." That was just what I would have imagined them to do.

An overall brilliant piece! I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Lady Kyra Barty Crouch Jr

21st August 2010:
I thought this was a very nice depiction of Barty Crouch's joining of the Death Eaters and his last hours. It, like many of the other stories in this collab, had its very creepy moments (I'm sorry, the death with no remorse thing still just makes me shiver), but that made it all the better.

I thought you got the characterization of Barty down very well. You can clearly see the deep worship he shows for Voldemort, the obvious hatred and rebellion against his father, and his remorseless way of treating those against Voldemort. I would have really liked just a little more backstory into why he was so willing and able to tortue and kill without any remorse, but it worked very well without it.

The scenes with Bella were also very interesting. It almost seemed as though the two of them had a bit of chemistry between them, which might not be a very farfetched idea, I suppose. Bellatrix was very good in the story and made the whole thing all the better.

Overall, I greatly enjoyed this story! I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Lady Kyra Marlene McKinnon

21st August 2010:
Oh. My. Well. That ending certainly shocked me. I thought that this story was absolutely brilliant. I loved the way you waved the flashbacks in with the scenes of Marlene running, trying to get to Carson. The entire thing was just...stunning.

I though Marlene as a character was amazing. She was so incredibly strong and stubborn. And in the end, I thought that her decision to take all of the killers down with her was a good idea for the character. It was shocking when she killed herself, of course, but all the same it was wonderful.

I also liked all of the descriptions of her family. Even though they are only there in brief flashbacks, all of them have full characterizations and you feel like you know them. Her grandmother was one tough lady, and I really liked that. I also liked the mentioning of her brother's motorbike, introduced by Sirius Black, of course.

All in all, this story was amazing. The grammar and spelling was wonderful, and I really cannot find anything to criticize. I hope this review helps you in some way.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Lady Kyra Severus Snape

21st August 2010:
Oh, Snape. I thought this was a wonderful account of events leading up to Snape's death. It really showed a lot of the emotions that you can imagine he felt. I think he always thought that, one way or another, he was going to die that night, and the remembrances were a great way to show that.

I particularly liked when he was in the Great Hall naming all the chairs. The way he moved from seat to seat in the Great Hall, and the one other seat that he remembered are particularly telling memories. I thought that you characterized Snape brilliantly.

The way you tied it all in to the scene from the book was stunning. That part actually makes me sad everytime I read it, and it makes me doubly sad to read it from his point of view. Overall, a lovely piece.

I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lady Kyra Igor Karkaroff

21st August 2010:
I certainly enjoyed this one-shot. I had never given much thought to what would have happened to Igor Karkaroff after he ran away at the Final Task. This was a very good portrayal of events.

I thought Karkaroff's characterization was very good. I really liked the backstory that showed how he became a Death Eater. I further liked the lengths he took to stay hidden; when hiding, even being a muggle is better than dying.

*shivers* You Slytherins and Greyback. He is just creepy anytime he shows up in this collaboration. In a good way, of course, but still.

One note: You had a lot of unnecessary commas that distracted me and made parts very hard to read.

I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Lady Kyra Gideon and Fabian Prewett

21st August 2010:
This was a very nice one-shot. I have always been particularly fascinated by Fabian and Gideon Prewett, so I was happy to see a story about them in this collaboration!

I loved how you characterized Fabian and Gideon as sort of more mature versions of Fred and George. You can obviously still see the fun-loving, happy go lucky sides of them that their nephews obviously adopted, but they seem older and wisened by a harsh job and a brewing war. They are both selflessly brave (obviously Gryffindors, I suppose), again something I think they share with their nephews.

My favorite aspect of this was the idea of familial bonds. You can clearly see the very strong bond that the two brothers have, the kind that makes them stay together until the end. The other, very clear bond is the bond between them and Molly. I liked how protective Molly was of them and how much you could obviously tell she loved them. The use of the childhood nicknames was also a nice touch.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story. I hope this review helps you in some way.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Lady Kyra Bill Weasley

21st August 2010:
Oh my. This was particularly disturbing...but in a good way? Okay, that sounds morbid. I mean that it was entirely sick and twisted, but it was very well written and a nice story. Just a disturbing one.

Your characterization of Fenrir Greyback was incredible. It is exactly what I had imagined him to be like. I loved how you showed his restlessness before the full moon, his want of raw meat, and his somewhat humorous inner thoughts. The defining quality of Greyback's is that he is somehow animalistic even when not a werewolf, and I thought that you showed that very well through thoughts and actions.

Another interesting thing was the way he chased the screaming girl. You would think he would say 'victim,' but I liked how he talked about always wanting a daughter. It doesn't seem too terribly far-fetched that a werewolf that enjoys turning children would consider them his children. It would be interesting that he had never turned a girl before, though.

Oh, and poor poor Bill. I winced the entire time I was reading that attack. It was brilliantly described, just...ouch. The last line perfectly tied everything in and summed it up. All in all a highly enjoyable story.

I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Lady Kyra Moaning Myrtle

21st August 2010:
This was a nice depiction of Myrtle's last days, thought I felt that the beginning was a little harsh. I mean, the books never say she was particularly ugly, and you make it sound like she is hideous. Perhaps you were meaning that she thought she was hideous? I don't know, it just kind of bothered me.

I did like how you showed Myrtle's emotions very well. You could practically feel her angst and anger and unhappiness at life all the way through it. Her characterization was, for me, very good, though I would have liked it to be a bit longer for a better characterization of her.

The last line was the best. It does seem like something she would do to automatically think about haunting Olive the moment she figures out that she is dead.

I hope this review helps you in some way.

 Report Review

Review #22, by pennyardelle Severus Snape

21st August 2010:
Hi there! I saw your request for reviews on this in the Slytherin Thursday thread and decided to stop by.

It's really interesting to read another collab piece about Snape...regrettably, I haven't gotten the chance too read too many of these yet, but I actually wrote about Snape, as well, so it's neat to see someone else's take on his part in the battle.

I really like the conversation he had with Dumbledore at the start. It was very dramatic and I thought Dumbledore seemed really in-character--which is hard to do with him! I also thought it was fitting to have Snape run into Lucius Malfoy on the way to the Shrieking Shack, and you got across his concern for his son nicely.

As for feedback...I generally thought this was good! There are just a few things that could be improved. One is just that there were some grammar and punctuation problems here and there. I also thought that the middle section felt a little rushed in places, especially when it was describing his run-in with Professor McGonagall (although I understand the difficult of having to cover scenes that are thoroughly covered in the books already). I also thought that Snape should have been more concerned with the fact that he was going to meet his death by seeing Voldemort in the Shrieking Shack...after all, his plan would fail if he died without getting the truth to Harry.

Those were really the only parts that I felt iffy about, though. Otherwise, I really enjoyed reading your contribution to the collaboration! :) Now, I just have one question: what does the title mean?

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lady Kyra Frank and Alice Longbottom

21st August 2010:
Oh wow. This one was really hard to read. You know that something like that had to have happened to the characters, but you really just don't want to think about how horrible it must have been.

Your portrayal of the events was very well done. I particularly enjoyed how you could obviously feel the love Alice has for her child and how she is thinking of him until the end. Poor Frank and Alice, wanting to have a romantic evening together and having all of this happened. I suppose it very aptly describes how Neville was not harmed by the Death Eaters, but it is still just very sad.

I thought the emotions present in the piece were spot on, and the characterization of both Frank and Alice was brilliant. Your grammar and spelling were also impeccable.

I hope this review helps you in some way!

 Report Review

Review #24, by almonster Gideon and Fabian Prewett

19th August 2010:
Aww this was lovely. It made me cry at the end. I like thinking that Gideon and Fabian were twins and that Fred and George took after them. I felt so bad for Molly tho, losing her brothers like that. Definitely well done. :D

~alex

 Report Review

Review #25, by DeathEaterSmile Moaning Myrtle

11th August 2010:
Wow.

All I can say it was so discriptive . Amazing. Except I think you could make the end more touching and epic. But still.

Wow.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>