Reading Reviews for Eckeltricity
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MollyisBoss Friends, Maybe

16th August 2009:
I LOVE this...please continue?

 Report Review

Review #2, by war and peace Friends, Maybe

12th March 2008:
Your FIRST fic? Get writing more! You are amazing... I envy your talent.

You have really good characterisation of both Molly and Arthur, and I'm actually reading this because I friend recommended it to me so that I could get into their characters (I've been challenged to write one where they are on the verge of a divorce).

You haven't picked a really overdone era or storyline either, and as this is your first fan fic, that must be applauded I think.

Well done!
eml.xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by phoenix_anamagus Friends, Maybe

18th September 2007:
Wonderful start. Can't wait to see what happens next. You did an excellent job.

 Report Review

Review #4, by sauerkraut_poet Friends, Maybe

9th September 2007:
Thank you so, so much for writing this. It's perfect. Really. It's almost like you read my mind, and knew exactly what sort of story I wanted to read - the perfect Molly/Arthur fic I've been searching for for ages - and somehow managed to get it written down. I love Arthur's dorkiness and awkwardness - it's really cute and endearing the way you've written him.

I also like the dilemma you've shown in Molly's mind - how she seems to like Arthur somewhat but is scared of befriending him due to social pressures. It's something that happens so often in real life - I remember feeling such pressures myself in elementary and middle school in particular - but this issue is touched upon so rarely in the fanfic world. Most fics tend to focus on either those at the very top or very bottom of the social ladder, but not the confused people in the middle, which the majority of us are. Perhaps it's because most of us have at some point shut out someone less popular, and feel a bit ashamed of ourselves, so it's easier not to think about the issue, and not to write about it (except to portray those struggling with the issue in a negative way). I don't really know. But in any case, I admire you for including this dynamic in your story - it makes your fic seem much more realistic.

I skimmed through your other reviews and noticed you wrote that you were somewhat less confident about your characterization of Molly than with Arthur and I just wanted to comment on that. There's absolutely nothing wrong with your characterization of Molly - everything she does is perfectly believable - but her character is considerably less developed than Arthur's. It's like your insecurities about how to portray her show a bit in your writing. Since this is only the first chapter, it's not particularly noticeable, but I'd encourage you, in future chapters, to stop worrying so much about whether your readers will find her character believeable, and instead, decide exactly what YOU think Molly would have been like - do a character outline if you think it would help - and then do everything in your power as a writer to MAKE us believe that that's what Molly was really like as a teenager.

You've shown already that you're an extremely talented writer, so you should have no problem doing this. I'm only nitpicking because you seemed insecure about yout characterization, and it's your first fic. Otherwise I wouldn't have bothered to mention it, because it's still the best characterization of Molly and Arthur I've ever read. I know I must've seemed very strict about the characterization in my challenge, but that's from reading fics where Arthur is a popular alcoholic quidditch star with a different girl every week. Which I really do not want to read again. You've got nothing to worry about, you're doing great! Thanks again for writing this, and sorry for taking so long to review - validating can get pretty busy sometimes. =)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cethlenn Friends, Maybe

31st August 2007:
Great job! I think your characterizations have real promise. Keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by noraxslytherin Friends, Maybe

31st August 2007:
oh wow! this was brilliant! its the first Molly/Arthur story i've read, and you've hit it on the mark. amazing job! i shall be adding this to my faves. update soon! :]

-nora.

 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyEvns Friends, Maybe

31st August 2007:
I really like this story, I mean it's only one chapter but I still love it. Can't wait for an update. And let the record show that padfoots_people only read this because I totally told her to!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Zokara Friends, Maybe

24th August 2007:
Hi!
Good story. Interesting idea.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

This is actually a response to a challenge on the forums ("Molly/Arthur - the beginning of a wonderful romance") -- so the credit for the idea should really go to sauerkraut_poet! :)

Thanks again for the review!
~ts.


 Report Review

Review #9, by padfoots_people Friends, Maybe

24th August 2007:
well i thought it was a really good start!! good job :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

~ts.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Severus Supporter Friends, Maybe

23rd August 2007:
I like it alot. The whole concept of how Arthur met Molly is interesting. I think that you have written their younger personalities very well.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review!

I'm so glad people seem to like their characters. It was hard to imagine what they might be like when they were younger -- not so much for Arthur, because he's really a kid at heart anyway, even in the series, but writing Molly's teenaged personality is sort of a mystery.

Thanks again!
~ts.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Emmeline Friends, Maybe

23rd August 2007:
This was a very good start. Your characterization was good, and this is an unusual pairing. I like the way you're portraying the development of their relationship. Keep writing! I'm curious to see this unfold.
-E

Author's Response: Thank you! Characterization is really important to me, so I'm happy to know I'm doing it right (at least so far!). I'm just hoping I can manage to develop their relationship logically without the story dragging -- please feel free to let me know if something doesn't sit right with you. And thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by angelchaser13 Friends, Maybe

23rd August 2007:
I like this a lot! It's very funny and portrays Mr. Weasley exactly like I imagined him as a teen. Please continue if you want to; I'll be on the lookout for it!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you think it's true to Arthur's character...that's the one thing that scares me about writing these two.

 Report Review

Review #13, by LoopLunaLivesLikeThis Friends, Maybe

23rd August 2007:
hahaha that was quite funny.

gosh i always love arthur and Mollys relationship... Arthurs always just taking all her put downs in his stride. I actually can see them meeting like this at hogwarts prior to their marraige and stuff, well done. Keep up because i want to read the rest!

:D
x
LT.


Author's Response: Thanks so much! Their relationship is a blast to write; I'm glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by AbhorrentDivinity Friends, Maybe

23rd August 2007:
Well I read, here's the review. I've read a LOT of HP fanfictions, but I've never come across a Molly and Arthur "back in the day" fiction. Great so far, this one'll definetly be one to keep track of so update soon!... or at least soon after the queue opens again...

-Cheers,
AD

Author's Response: Yeah, Molly/Arthur is pretty rare, and Molly/Arthur pre-Marauder is even rarer -- I actually started it in response to a challenge on the forums, and I've really fallen in love with the coupling. I'm glad you like it, and I'll update as soon as I can!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login