Reading Reviews for Drowning Lessons
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Shay_Gryff Drowning Lessons

12th January 2012:
"If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a, bed of roses
Sink me in the river, at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song"-The Band Perry

"When you go would you even turn to say
"I don't love you like I did yesterday"?
Well come on, come on!

When you go would you have the guts to say
"I don't love you like I loved you yesterday"?"
-My Chemical Romance

 Report Review

Review #2, by BecPotter265 Drowning Lessons

17th November 2010:
I was a little hesitant about reading this story, as I'm not a huge fan of "six-foot-under Harry" and all. But I've read plenty of your other stories to know this would be amazing regardless if Harry was dead. And I was right :) Another amazing story, with so much emotion. The way you described the tears she was crying made me feel like crying as well. Amazing job :)
I believe that for any type of story where it be a one-shot, a chapter or a novel the last line always has to be the best; which you did. After finishing reading your story, i stared at that last line and read it through again...and again and again. It was emotional and made me think about Harry and Ginny from the books; I loved that.
The story made me what to cry for Ginny, and you wrote it absolutely beautifully :) Loved it! x

Author's Response: Everyone always gets offended by my A/N on this story, talking about how I'd rather Harry died. Its a little bit overdramatic; I love Harry and I'm glad he didn't die. But this story just kind of popped up and I considered the alternative, how Ginny would have felt. We don't often hear anything about what she thinks.

Not to mention this was my first AU. I'm not usually a fan of it, but it was more of a "What If" fic than anything. To be honest, I cried when I wrote this, and still when I reread it. The whole writing style is different; probably because its in present 3rd POV rather than past 3rd. I'd just read "Five People You Meet In Heaven" before I wrote this fic and I was trying out that style. Sometimes when I read this one, I still can't believe I wrote it lol.

I agree about the last line theory too. It really makes or breaks a story. That line is the last one to stick with you and what really ties the whole story together. I'm really glad that my line worked for you too. I actually had considered not putting that line in and just leaving it with the 2nd to last line.

I'm so happy that you liked my story! Thank you for reading and reviewing! I hope you check out my other stories too :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by HP_4_LIFE Drowning Lessons

25th March 2009:
No Harry's dead! No offence, but I really hate stories where Harry dies. However, this was too good for me to possibly hate it :). I love how you described her emotions so job well done!

Author's Response: I\\\'m so glad to hear that even though you hate these kinds of fics, you read it anyway. Really, I think that\\\'s awesome! Lol. It was really my first hand at AU and I\\\'d always imagined Harry dying (which he did do in DH...it just didn\\\'t last very long lol). But still, I\\\'m really happy to hear that you liked it, even if you\\\'re adversed to the type.
Thanks for R&R!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Hermione15 Drowning Lessons

29th January 2008:
Ohh poor Ginny! This is so sad, but I love it! How can I love something that nearly made me cry? I have no idea but that seems to happen to me alot, well anway I loved it. I never read a story like this one before.

Author's Response: Lol. Don't worry, the stories I usually like best make me cry, I like the thought of a story getting that much emotion out of me. It means the writer is usually very talented at what they do. I'm sorry I made you cry, but I'm glad you liked it!
Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by harrylilyjames Drowning Lessons

7th October 2007:
awe no! poor ginny!! i didnt want this story to end... i really LOVED it! but i guess it had to end, didnt it? it would of been cool if she had a big hissy fit, threw her flowers at whats-his-name and stormed out of the church... ahh priceless. while screaming at the top of her voice 'YOUR NOT HARRY' hehe, but it was really nice and i really really enjoyed reading it... 10/10 =)

Author's Response: Lol. I’m glad you liked it! Tehe. It would have been funny if Ginny had thrown a temper tantrum. I could totally see that happening. You’re the only person who has seen this fic in a humorous point of view. KUDOS FOR THAT! Everybody else was like...”aww that made me cry”, but you saw it differently. Thanks! I was tired of making everyone else cry. Lol.

 Report Review

Review #6, by ronnikinschik4ever Drowning Lessons

2nd October 2007:
oh my god. that is the saddest thing i have ever read. im not joking at all. im crying. oh my gosh. i love it. its great...

Author's Response: Aww, I’m so sorry for making you cry! I didn’t really think that this was a waterworks fic...I guess I thought wrong! Lol. Really, I’m sorry...I didn’t mean to! I’m glad you liked it though!

 Report Review

Review #7, by crmccarth Drowning Lessons

9th September 2007:
aw! That was soo good!!

Very well written and yes, a bit deppressing but I still loved it!

Poor Ginny.

10/10

Author's Response: Awww, why thank you! I'm glad you liked it.

Tehe. Depressing is kind of my forte, just to let you know. Lol. I love writing sad stuff. Its fun. And...sad.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lucy Morag Drowning Lessons

1st September 2007:
oh my gosh so sad!! really lovely but so unbelievably sad

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! Its great that you liked it! I really enjoyed writing this one-shot too. It was fun to write a slightly AU fic for once. Plus, I'm just best at angst lol.

 Report Review

Review #9, by magiking Drowning Lessons

25th August 2007:
Ahhh poor Ginny. T-T That was cool. Exellent Job Your Royality.

Author's Response: Tehe. I love making characters suffer. It was fun to have Harry die. Don't get me wrong, I love him...its just that I'm still angry about him coming back to life in DH. ONCE A CHARACTER IS DEAD, LEAVE IT ALONE. Lol. That's my philosophy. You'll never see me having ppl rise from the dead!

 Report Review

Review #10, by eowyngirl Drowning Lessons

18th August 2007:
I can totally understand this... It's perfect, and very very sad and angsty...yay! ;) If Harry HAD died in Deathly Hallows, I could completely see this exact scenario happening. AND I do agree that George would be the only one that really knew what Ginny was feeling, because for some reason I think George would be the one to question Ginny's husband, because of course he knew that Harry was really the only one Ginny was meant for, as opposed to Hermione, who just thinks Ginny should move on. I hope that wasn't too confusing, and I really, really liked this. I'm adding it to my favorites--10/10, definitely!

Author's Response: Aww, why thank you! I wasn’t sure how people would take to it since it’s a little bit of a different writing format than what I usually follow, but I thought, what the hay? Lol.

Honestly, I think Harry should have STAYED dead in DH. No offense to him, I love him, but I just HATE it when characters come back to life. It doesn’t seem very...real. As much as I didn’t want him to die, I knew it was going to happen. But I also knew that he’d come back since JKR’S audience would have needed therapy if he died (myself included). But you know, I just wanted to try at and AU too, it was the perfect opportunity!

Ah George. I think a little part of me died with Fred. It was really upsetting because, you know, one twin is alive and the other isn’t. I would have been fine with Charlie dying, but NO, she just had to kill Fred. It sucked. But yes, I do agree that George would be the only one who could have sympathized with Ginny the way he did. Bless his soul! Lol. And plus, Hermione was always the one to tell Ginny to move on...I hated her for that!

YAY! A favorite! I’m so happy you liked my fic enough to “favorite” it, thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #11, by sammy lupin Drowning Lessons

18th August 2007:

*tearie*

This is so cute, in a really depressing sad kinda way, if that makes any sense. I love how the phrase 'Not Harry' is said like a billion times, and you made it work so well.

*high five*

-Sam

Author's Response: Tehe. Yay! A "*tearie*"! Lol.

Yeah...I know, it was depressing. Let's face it, that's my best kind of writing, right? Lol. Totally.

Tehe. Yeah, I knew I said "Not Harry" a million times, but I really wanted to get the point across that Ginny wasn't marrying him and that it hurt her. Plus, I didn't think it necessary to give Ginny's finacee a name. It didn't really matter. What mattered is that she wasn't marrying Harry, her true love. Tehe...me and my hidden messages. Lol. I'm glad I pulled it off though!

Woo!
::high fives back::
YES! I GOT A HIGH FIVE! SWEET!



 Report Review

Review #12, by u_no_poo Drowning Lessons

16th August 2007:
aww this is so sad. haha, why did u want harry to die??? i was like gonna cry when he went into the forest to supposedly 'die'. i cant believe u. lol. anyways, yeah i thought that was really good!!! but i totally wanna know who 'that guy' is!

Author's Response: Tehe. Yeah...angst is my strongest suit. Lol.

Well, I understand that you don't get why I wanted Harry to die. I expected ppl so say something about it lol. I didn't really want him to die, but I believe that by JKR "bringing him back to life" it showed that she was more worried about what her audience would think. Because she has many younger readers, she would probably scar them for life killing Harry Potter. In my opinion, the writer should stay with what they want to write, not according to their audience. But maybe JKR planned his return from the beginnig and I never fully grasped the amount of possibilities in the Wizarding world. I stand by my beliefs. Lol.

Don't get me wrong; I cried throughout the last five or so chapters (including the "march to death")...well, I cried during the whole book. Lol. But I strongly believe that once you kill a character, they should stay that way (if you couldn't tell by my other fics lol).

I did not want Harry to die, I was just upset that she brought him back. It seems like a very strange theory to add in since every other character that's kicked the bucket has...well, kicked it for good. But then again, I thought that HBP and DH were a little...disappointing with the large amount of new theories thrown in. They did not seem like the first 5 books at all.

But I did not mean for you to think I was Anti-HP. I love him, but I'm a hardcore "die, you're dead" kinda person. Lol.

Tehe. As for "that guy", you're not supposed to know who he is. In DH, Harry has that image of Ginny marrying a "faceless stranger". Its basically the same concept. And plus, it doesn't really matter who he is. What matters is that she's not marrying Harry.

I'm glad you liked it though! I wasn't too sure about it since I've never done AU before, but I'm glad I got some positive feedback on it!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Timechild Drowning Lessons

15th August 2007:
not bad...

Author's Response: Lol. Yeah, I know, its not my best work. Its a different format than I'm used to...but I think it turned out okay.

It did deserve a "not bad". I appreciate it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rigal Drowning Lessons

15th August 2007:
Great story!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it!

I appreciate the reading and reviewing!!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login