Reading Reviews for It's Just Life
  
47 Reviews Found

Review #1, by cookiemonster Ancient Runes

13th January 2008:
I like it so far; it is a bit slow, and I hope things'll speed up, but other than that, I like it!

Author's Response: Hm...I actually have little to no idea about where this is going...should be interesting to find out...I will definitely speed things up, though.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by ChoS_sista_gurl A Promise

30th December 2007:
i like this story so far. pure fluff, but i read it for the same reason i read gossip girl, altho i like It Girl better, actually. it's more realistic that they get away with stuff since their parents arent around

anyway, sorry you're having trouble relating to gwen cuz i feel like she's the one that's most like ME. kayla's too dreamy, cassie's too happy, dana's too perfect, and amanda...she's a bit like me too, i guess except my mood swings aren't as violent. lol and i've been told i have a hot temper and lash out at guys that are jerks

i totally wish i could grab gwen and yell "dont fall for it again!" but who am i kidding, we ALL fall for it once in a while. she really should stop smoking tho, it doesn't help :D

plz update! i'm excited to meet the other girls

Author's Response: I've never read It Girl--it just seemed too much of a spin-off for me. Plus, Jenny's character always bothered me.

I'm definitely more of a quiet type of person (in a way), so Gwen's dramatics are hard for me to get into. I don't want to go too far over the top, but I don't want to make her boring either.

I think I will update soon...I've been in the mood for light-hearted stuff lately and my other two WIPs are kinda dark and dramatic.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by smileygirl13 Prologue

25th November 2007:
Hey!! I love it already! Its like based off of Gossip Girl right? I love that series!!! Keep writing!!
Luv ya
~Jayla :)

Author's Response: Yup, it's based of the Gossip Girls book. Have you read the books or are you talking about the show? Anyways, I've only read the books because I think the show makes them out to be the NYC version of the O.C., which was a good show but producers need to stop making spin-offs of it.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsTomF A Promise

30th October 2007:
Gwen is Blair? Chris is Nate (?).
I dunno... Chris seems almost too smart to be Nate, you know what I mean? And Gwen seems... how should I put it? Too obvious, you know? Like, Blair knows she wants a movie-like life, but she doesn't flat out think, "This is the part of the movie where the leading man [insert whatever here]."
But I really like the story so far, except that Gwen/Chris makes me MAD because she keeps taking him back!
Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hmm...I agree about Chris, but I always felt like Nate was too dumb to have so many people fall in love with him. Chris is going to be more of a jerk than a stoner.

Well, actually, Blair does talk about Nate being her leading man...at least in the books (don't get me started on the show1). But you make a good point.

The Gwen/Chris dynamic is interesting, because we get so frustrated as readers, yet there are so many couples in real life like this.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by lollipop_marauderette A Promise

11th October 2007:
i never saw that comin.

FUN N KISSES

Author's Response: Yay, I surprised you! I love surprising readers.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by lollipop_marauderette Ancient Runes

11th October 2007:
oh dear this could end badly

FUN N KISSEs

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you see the problem...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by lollipop_marauderette Prologue

11th October 2007:
hahaha sounds amusing

FUN N KISSES

Author's Response: I'm glad: I live to please!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Migial A Promise

30th September 2007:
Exellent... Love the idea, and the turns the story is taking.. You definatly set yourself up for loads of interesting turns and twists. Post again soon... 10/10

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like it! It's like a guilty pleasure, you know? That nasty stuff you wish you were brave enough to do/say.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by gryffindorseeker A Promise

14th September 2007:
And so we delve into the life of a new character: Gwen. I definitely have a lot more trouble identifying with her than with Kayla, but she's certainly a well-developed character. She's an overdramatic romantic idealist, and we've all met those.

I don't know why, but this quote just made me laugh: "Gwen felt a wave of disbelief crash over her body, “What?” she whispered, more to herself than to him." Haha, I can picture that perfectly.

Umm...yes, this reminds me of Gossip Girl. I am so excited for the new show on the WB...CW...whatever they're calling that network now. But I digress. Good good good chapter. I personally wasn't hugely ecstatic that Chris gave Gwen a promise ring...he just doesn't seem that sincere, and a promise ring really doesn't entail that much commitment. Meh, I've decided that I don't really like Chris. There's too many of his kind in the world...hopefully Kayla will find someone who isn't a schmuck. I still maintain that I am Kayla.

Ooh, ramblings. Hope there's a little bit of helpful feedback in there...somewhere. Sleepy.

Update Lost at Sea! Pleeease. Saying "I'll love you forever!" is trite, but I actually will. If you're busy, that's fine...what can you do? On your author page you said you're taking three AP's...I have felt your pain. One sophomore year, two junior year, and four senior year. It sucks at the time but when you get into the college you want, there is a wave of relief. Then you get to college and work doubly hard.

Well, snaps for you for getting through my long-winded review. And for this chapter, instead of 10/10, a flaky gold star, or a high five, I'm givin' you snaps.

Author's Response: Oh, Gwen! I will definitely have the most fun with her because she is insane! Aww, poor Gwen...do I sense a sadistic tendency towards our favorite drama queen?

You don't like Chris? *Gasp* Well then I must make him more likeable *scurries away* He's supposed to be that guy that every girl just swoons over; the one that can do no wrong. I guess I have to work on him! :)

Yeah, APs really are painful. But on a cheerful note, I've finally updated Lost at Sea! (as of 10/27/07) Yay!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by gryffindorseeker Ancient Runes

14th September 2007:
Ooh, if you focus each chapter on one character this could very extremely interesting. Not that it isn't already. But it'd be cool.

Okay, I think somehow you secretly based Kayla on me. I don't know if she's universally relatable, but I'm cynical and insecure and take classes like N.E.W.T. Ancient Runes. So, of course I like her very much. And the narration is still excellent (sorry, my English professor's been blabbing about narration for the past few days so I might talk about it a lot).

Many favorite quotes:

"In a moment of idiocy, the nerdy writer inside of her had opted to take N.E.W.T. level Ancient Runes and had subjected her to an hour and a half of overeager, under-developed and over all creepy people who were actually interested in ancient runes."

"It was like peanut butter and jelly, milk and cookies, Ben and Jerry." I met Jerry once! Of Ben & Jerry. It was one of the defining moments of my life. He's such a cool old hippie. But I digress.

"Instead of taking notes, she had been writing angst-ridden stories about a girl surrounded by a world of normalcy and forced to lose her very soul. Perhaps that was why she barely scraped an A on the end of year exam." Um, the way I kept my sanity in high school was writing fanfiction during dull classes.

So, I can really relate to Kayla. Our names both begin with "K" ;) . But yeah, she's super cool and seems to have an interesting life. And you're such an amazing writer, even if I hated her I'd probably read this story. Because it's so well done.

Update Lost at Sea! Lol. Have to throw that in there. I'm going through withdrawals now that the hype of Pirates 3 has died down and my life is now void of pirate-related matters. So update!

Mm, I'm in a long review writing mode. Both 10/10 and a gold flaky star just don't cut it. How about a high five?

Author's Response: No complaints on my part about the long reviews! :)

I actually am going to focus each chapter on one of the characters. Like I'll have an "update" chapter in first-person by Kayla, then a chapter about each character in third-person. Then I'll jump a few months and do it again. Does that make sense?

Kayla seems to be very relatable and I think it's because she voices the insecurities in all of us. She's that unfabulous, uneasy 13-year-old us that refuses to mature into a butterfly. She's also going to be the hardest to write because I have to make sure her flaws don't end up making her a Mary-Sue, if you know what I mean.

Haha, that first quote is something I think all the time in my AP Calculus class. Not that I'm nearly as "fabulous" as Kayla, but I wonder how I got myself into that horrible horrible class.

I can't believe you met Jerry! He sounds so cool...I love ice cream...it's such a good comfort food.

Haha, I'm trying with "Lost at Sea"...I swear chapter 5 hates me...it's like "grr, I'm going to be impossible for you to write!" But I will battle the evil chapter and conquer writer's block!...eventually.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by gryffindorseeker Prologue

14th September 2007:
Sooo good. You're just a really good writer.

And you should be working on "Lost at Sea" ;) . But I trust that it will be amazing when you're done polishing it.

But this is extremely different (as I'm sure you're well aware). Um, I'm going to admit that the format of this chapter (introducing the protagonist and her four friends) isn't original, but your narrative is much smoother and more engaging than the average author's. Already, Kayla is a very relatable narrator, and seems very honest in her observations. She's got a dark sense of humor, kind of like Harry and Ginny. I'm very interested to see how her quest for a decent boyfriend goes.

So...strong opening chapter. I dig it. I will certainly continue reading, but in each review I'm going to have to beg you to update "Lost at Sea". Please update "Lost at Sea"! Not that I don't like this story too, but it's kind of hard for a fic to compete with a HP/Pirates crossover =)

A 10/10 just seems insufficient. How about a gold flaky star?

Author's Response: Yeah, I realize this sort of prologue-y chapter is very common, but I wanted to give an over view of the girls so that the readers didn't think Kayla was the main character or anything (she's the narrator for the catch-up chapters, but just as important as everyone else). I'm glad you can relate to Kayla; I think she's the one most people will relate to because she's the most "normal." As to her being an honest observer, it's more of the fact that she thinks she's being honest, but she's going to hide some stuff later because she's deluded herself into thinking them.

Oh "Lost at Sea,"......the chapter I'm working on is just stuck and I'm desperately searching for inspiration and time.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Clowee_tee A Promise

24th August 2007:
Good cliffhanger. Although i don't think Gwen should forgive him so easily. But you know girls are stupid. So anyway update sooon!

Author's Response: Well not all girls are stupid *huffs* :)

Gwen just feels like they were meant to be together and that it's destiny and all, so that she's meant to forgive him for his "dalliances."

The girl's a whack job.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Clowee_tee Ancient Runes

24th August 2007:
I love Professor Willis. I loved this quote:

her mousy brown hair flying everywhere as she jumped in ecstasy when someone understood a particularly difficult rune

It made me laugh

Author's Response: Oh, Professor Willis....you won't see too much of her, but she's the teacher they all love to pick on....poor dear.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Clowee_tee Prologue

24th August 2007:
Ooo :) like it. All the characters are really unique. And your style of writing really appealed to me because its very informal, very teenaged, but then has the twists and turns of a novel writer.

Author's Response: I've been really trying to hone down that skill of writing informally while still making it sound professional. We'll just see how it turns out...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by thegirllikeme Prologue

24th August 2007:
That was surprising. The beginning was really good actually. You did it in a first person narative that reminded me of something from a movie, but you did it well enough that it wasn't cheesy and was actually well-written and exciting. It grabbed my attention, which means I actually wasn't bored with a story, and I read it straight through. It was the nice start, very good in fact.

The character development was good as well. You told enough about the characters that I feel like we know them, and yet, it'll be easy for you to reveal some things later on. Good job with that.

The only thing I had a probelm with that is the roller coaster reference. Unless she's Muggle-born she would never have been on a roller coaster, let alone know what it is to compare someone to it. If she's Muggle-born, it's not so bad, but if not, try not to use Muggle things to decribe anything when you POV is that of a born witch, because that just adds an unrealistic feel to it all.

But that's the only CC I have to give. Good job.

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad the first-person "prologue" thing was appreciated. I thought I would just put that in to welcome people into the story, etc.

I actually have all of the characters really described in my notes, and I just threw things out that I thought were important to getting to know the character.

Well, Kayla is a half-blood, so she knows enough about the Muggle world. Amanda, funnily enough, is Muggle-born, so it fits that the Muggle reference was referring to her. But thanks for pointing that out...I'll be more careful in the future.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by pads_grl2 Prologue

21st August 2007:
Wow, I really love the intro. It's very romance-teenage with a gossip girl twist.if that made any sense at all.
Usually I hate it when authors write a chapter just describing their characters but you pulled it off, and splendidly at that.

Author's Response: Hehe, that totally made sense! I understand how you feel about those kind of chapters...I agree, but I'm glad I didn't bore you. :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by mraudbdyy A Promise

21st August 2007:
Oh my gosh, how did I not know about this story until now? I was checking back to see if Lost at Sea had been updated and I noticed this little jem. Amazing story so far. You've taken a somewhat cliched idea of the 'queen bees' of the school and transformed it into something entirely original. I love each of the characters and their little quirks. Gwen seems slightly unhinged, lol. I love how you describe her as living her life as though it were a romance movie, and how she plays out every interaction as though it were a scene from it. I can't wait to get to know the other characters better.

Loved it. 10/10.

Author's Response: Well, in that case, I guess I'm glad I didn't update Lost at Sea! :)

See, I definitely wanted to stay away from those girl groups who like name themselves and stuff, because that's just ridiculous. I love that in gossip girl, they are so fabulous and popular, but are like "whatever" about it...I think that's cool.

Oh Gwen...she's the character I'm going to have the most fun with because she's absolutely insane.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by dramione12 A Promise

20th August 2007:
LOVED IT!!

Author's Response: Yay! Adoration is always appreciated (wow, bit of an alliteration there :))

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by dramione12 Ancient Runes

20th August 2007:
I really like her auttiude!!

Author's Response: Uh-huh, Kayla seems to be a crowd pleaser. I can't complain...I like her too! :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by dramione12 Prologue

20th August 2007:
I liked it..very cool!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like it! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by NevunaRomione A Promise

20th August 2007:
I still love it. It's getting even better. It's good to know where you get your inspiration from *points to A/N*. I'm sorry if you wanted constructive criticism, I just can't tihnk of anything to criticize to be honest. I genuinely like this story.

Author's Response: I'm glad it doesn't lose interest when I switch PoV's. I know a lot of people liked Kayla, but I'm pretty fond of Gwen, as well. I can't complain that you couldn't find anything to criticize...:)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by NevunaRomione Ancient Runes

20th August 2007:
Ooh this is getting even better! It's another well-written chapter, and it's pretty descriptive. It certainly got me even more into the story. :-)

Author's Response: Haha, I have a tendency to ramble and that leads to lots of descriptions. I guess it's a blessing in disguise, :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by NevunaRomione Prologue

20th August 2007:
I'm not usually a fan of stories that are mostly made up of OC's, but this one seems different. I really like how you introduced each character, telling about many aspects of their lives and how different they all are. This is well-written and pretty imaginitive. Great job ^_^

Author's Response: I know this chapter was pretty boring, just introducing the characters. It was just to get the reader up to date on what's been going on, etc. Nevertheless, I'm glad you like the characters. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Mrs PotterWeasleyMalfoy A Promise

20th August 2007:
HAHA I was close!
Gossip Girl.. hm.
Yeah this is the most catty fic I have ever read hahaha.
It almost seems like these girls should be in slytherin.
=]
great job so far.

Author's Response: Um, I don't think it's been very catty up til now, but I guess you're entitled to your opinion :)

I know the obvious choice would be to put them in Slytherin, but there's a reason they're in Gryffindor...they're not as horrible as they seem.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Mrs PotterWeasleyMalfoy Prologue

20th August 2007:
Hahahaha
To me, this seems like Mean Girls meets Hogwarts.
But this could be really good, I'm looking forward to reading it.
:)

Author's Response: Mean Girls, eh? Hmm...kinda, I guess. Except they're less...mean, if you know what I mean. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>