Reading Reviews for Selflessly Selfish
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by M Trepeau Selflessy Selfish

3rd June 2011:
Fantastic! I love this story!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by lily flower Selflessy Selfish

25th April 2008:
Oh

this is so sad

I thought she was going to commit suicide a few times in there

Keep on writting

*hugs*

 Report Review

Review #3, by henryjones Selflessy Selfish

2nd March 2008:
hey! so this is really brilliant! i love it! i was just thinking the other day about what it must have been like for andronema. and here is this one shot! and i must admit, youve done a much better job thinking this out than i did. i really enjoyed reading this! thank you very much for writing it! ;)

 Report Review

Review #4, by SiriuslyCrack Selflessy Selfish

21st January 2008:
Wow, Jessi, writing from a grandma Andromeda's point of view is quite selfless as well :) You have written this story so beautifully, I felt a lump in my throat while reading it. It relived the deaths of Ted, Tonks and Remus all over again. I don't even know what else to say, other than great job (once again!) *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #5, by Labby Selflessy Selfish

9th January 2008:
I liked that! It was a very touching story and it just seemed so realistic. The subject was great and the story was interesting and sad, yet beautiful. I like how it's from Andromeda's POV as that isn't done too often and I like that it kind of shows the more tragic impact of the war.

Again your writing is beautiful and it was just a nice story. I really don't have anything other to say other than great job with this! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by sirius_the_best Selflessy Selfish

4th January 2008:
aw that was touching. very touching. amazingly written!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sarah Selflessy Selfish

31st October 2007:
Aaaww babe!

 Report Review

Review #8, by blackthoughtsredwriting Selflessy Selfish

3rd October 2007:
Such a sad story. It has a different perspective on things. I don't think i've ever read a story like this. It' amazing. =]

 Report Review

Review #9, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx Selflessy Selfish

17th September 2007:
That was very well written and very heartfelt... amazing work!
Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by Living_Forever Selflessy Selfish

3rd September 2007:
really well written and a lovely one-shot.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Pottergirl17 Selflessy Selfish

24th August 2007:
This is so good. I don't know why you were worried about it. I loved it, and you showed her emotion wonderfully. The situation is very realistic, which makes it believable for her character. I would feel terrible if that happened to me too. My daughter and husband died, leaving me along with her infant son who looks just like her. My heart would break into pieces. Don't worry about it you did great. :). Awesome work.

 Report Review

Review #12, by lilyandjamesfan Selflessy Selfish

24th August 2007:
that was very well written. i think you conveyed her emotions perfectly to how she was probably feeling. Although you said its not as organised or structured as your other fics, i think it suits it rather well that way and i do not it would have worked otherwise.

 Report Review

Review #13, by NevunaRomione Selflessy Selfish

24th August 2007:
This is pretty good. It's very descriptive, and I think it's quite well-written. I like the plotline, I haven't read a stry like this before. I like how it tells about all these things going on in her mind. 9/10 ^_^

 Report Review

Review #14, by Janhavi Selflessy Selfish

23rd August 2007:
I like the idea of taking a look at their relationship. Poor Andromeda, she really did suffer.

 Report Review

Review #15, by mum_weasley Selflessy Selfish

17th August 2007:
Aw, I'm wiping the tears away. That was so sweet yet so true of being a single parent. Wonderfully penned.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Elysium Selflessy Selfish

17th August 2007:
Jessi,

I see what you mean when you say this particular story lacks a certain organisation - that said I don't think it would have worked had you constructed it in any other way... it would have seemed contrived. Instead I found it very refreshing. You depict Andromeda in all of her imperfections, which inevitably makes her so much more accessible to your readers. Most importantly in my opinion was the fact that you tackled quite a significant issue which was raised in DH - certainly it plagued me after I had finished reading - and you handled it with sensitivity and sincerity. I don't believe in glossing over the hardships.

It was raw, and quite lovely as a result.

xox Kylie

 Report Review

Review #17, by Elf_ears13 Selflessy Selfish

16th August 2007:
Oooh, great repetition. It wasn't in an obvious I'm-using-repetition way (as mine comes across, I'm sure), but it felt real and necessary, especially in the way you described how it made her feel. Good use of short sentences: I've only begun to move in the chair, calm myself down; bring myself some peace of mind. And then it comes. Faintly. Tearing at my heart once more. I've always been of the belief that good short sentences have to follow an overly long sentence, so I loved the way you did this (and it wasn't even overly long!). I'm not sure the semicolon is necessary, though.

There were a few lapses into past tense, most notably in the first full paragraph (was that all supposed to be? I wasn't sure, but I didn't particularly like it because I like my tenses to be established as quickly as possible) and in the line: "Coming, Teddy!" I shouted back, though I know no reason why my voice would carry so much animosity.

I like her second-guessing herself and thinking that Ted would be better at raising him, because I do think that she would have some self-confidence issues after having been thrown out of her family. She sounded a little bit too grandmotherly (in the old sense, not the literal sense) for my tastes, because we know she wasn't terribly old. Her awkwardness with the idea of being a mother again was well-played-out, and I do like that part of her characterization (dependence on the idea of others rather than simply on others is a theme that I would've liked to see more explored, but you did it well enough in the first person without her being knowledgeable of the fact).

I love the line: I rock side to side, hoping that these tears can be held at bay just a few seconds longer. ... but that whole thought makes her out to be weak, and even though she certainly was warped by so much death, I think that she had to be tough to get over the earlier part of her life. I guess I was waiting for the part where she would get all hardened to the fact that she could go on. Not in the cheesy 'I can do it' ending, but somewhere towards the end, just a little something to keep this from being way depressing. I think that would've made the end - her tethered state - more ironic and fitting and powerful.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Pronunciation_Hermy_One Selflessy Selfish

16th August 2007:
Jessi,

You described this as more of a "drabble" than anything else when you first sent it to me. I suppose I can see your reasoning length wise, but merit? Oh, no siree! This is precisely what we all (and by we all, I mean me) needed after the epilogue we got! Andromeda's new position in life- grandmother/mother to her grandson orphaned by the war, brings with it so many feelings and emotions. Anger at the situation, exhaustion- she's already raised her own, despair at losing her husband and daughter practically all at once... She was a Black, and to escape the family, she left and married Ted, started over and had her own family, her Dora. And it all followed her still, didn't it? There was no escaping for any of the Black family, no matter how hard they tried. Not her, not Sirius, not Regalus...
I wonder, did Narcissa reform enough to meet Teddy? Did Draco get to know his cousin? Tonks certainly wasn't very fond of him, but then again, they changed, we hope...
So many questions and now so much time to imagine and wonder. Fantastic job, Jessi. I loved this... and you know I love the banner! :D

~C


 Report Review

Review #19, by AndrinaBlack Selflessy Selfish

16th August 2007:
Wow! That is so beautiful! I really felt for Andromeda after reading DH. She was left so alone. I love the way you describe her anxiousness about raising a child again in the middle of all her emotions of sorrow and such. There is such a kind of strain between love and irritation towards Teddy, which is very interesting.

And I love the title! It says something about the complexity of the story.
Love it!
-Annina

 Report Review

Review #20, by HrXd Selflessy Selfish

15th August 2007:
I really liked the fact that you worte about Teddy that is just awsome. The description is amazing as well and the emotion nicely done.

 Report Review

Review #21, by PadfootBlack16 Selflessy Selfish

15th August 2007:
ooo i love it Jessi! its great...

your descriptions are wonderful, and i love the way you show andromedas feelings toward her grandson...they couldnt be any more realisitc..and of course andromeda is quite in character this way. She is human...you show the flaws she has, and yet the love for her grandson is also there.

Very well written.

cheers,
pad

 Report Review

Review #22, by sara ane Selflessy Selfish

15th August 2007:
Very touching.
Your grammar is very good, no problems there, I have a bit of concern with the many spaces between paragraphs but that might just be your style. My other slight concern is that there was no mention of Harry. Unless he's back in school or something, I'm sure he would be willing to baby-sit and give her a break.
Or maybe that's something she has to learn? I'm not a mother myself but I can imagine that some of the feelings she is having is something all new mothers go through.
I liked the flow. It seemed almost... poetic.

Author's Response: Thank you sara ane! I really appreciate the review! The reason for the paragraph breaks is the system editor... It likes to make the paragraphs all big and spacey. =P I'll try to fix it when I go in to edit it.

The reason I never mentioned Harry in this is because I wanted to keep it strictly from Andromeda's point of view about raising Teddy. If I had brought Harry into it, it would have taken away from her painstaking reality.

Thank you so much for the review!! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #23, by starry_night89 Selflessy Selfish

15th August 2007:
It's original and creative, I just wished you went into more detail you know? talked more about the pain and agony she has to go through raising Teddy alone. But other than that, good!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I wanted to keep this fairly simple, though I know exactly what you mean about the agony... I'll add that into my editing notes! Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Fireceltiephoenix Selflessy Selfish

15th August 2007:
Another great work from Jessi_Rose. It was beautiful. I could feel the emotion pouring from it. I really did enjoy it. The guilt...the confusion...the anger...even the sadness was all there. You should be very proud of this one. I loved it!

Author's Response: *blush* Thank you so much, Candy! I really appreciate the review and the compliments- you really don't know what they mean to me. *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #25, by I_HEART_FRED Selflessy Selfish

14th August 2007:
this is such a sad story, please write more. i have never thought about what would happen to teddy after the war. this story was so touching. it almost made me cry. please write more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I probably won't add to this story, though - I like the ending the way it is, as a grandson and grandmother sort of coming to terms. But I'm really excited that it made you want more! Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login