402 Reviews Found

Review #1, by randomnickname Chapter 47

28th September 2015:
Man, you ought to love that girl - "The public has the right to know!"

Good chapter, love to imagine Fudge in that situation. And that hint with few control of the dementors by government - real good.
Are you a minoritys rights activist in real live? Cause you're good at it, even in a fictional universe

 Report Review

Review #2, by randomnickname Chapter 35

28th September 2015:
You can't do better teasing that the first lines of this chapter.
But oh my, is she sensitive! A "humiliation", a kiss with dreamboy Lupin?
Nice nice, let's read more of it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by randomnickname Chapter 25

27th September 2015:
OWWW
DAT gift!!!
i looove the tiny marauders details: Padfoot running through the mud, Prongs in the wood showing off...lovely! amazing idea!
And it's clear she's inexperienced if she doesn't know what it means when someone offer you something they have put so much time and effort into.
I once handmade a card game for a boy that liked me back in the days..he took it as it was: a promise :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by randomnickname Chapter 24

27th September 2015:
Mah. It DOES come out of the blue a little, her love for Remus. She doesn't name him once in the chapter before! I think you could have hidden more hints here and there. E. g. Quirrell flashback: the warm feeling she got from him then => quite like Remus actually, although she doesn't have a crush on Remus does she? something like that.
So it's not that convincing, even if I like this idea of the unidentified "something" missing

elsewise as pleasant read as ever

 Report Review

Review #5, by randomnickname Chapter 20

27th September 2015:
Hello there, first time I'm commenting on your very nice fic.
Since it has this first person diary/ epistolary novel format, it is quite slow paced without ever being dull, thanks to the great care you put into details and character development.
It's not the most catchy fic I've ever read, but it's well conceived, thought through and is an overall pleasant read.
I like your unusual setting, the idea of this workhouse where different outcasts of the magical society live (it's a quite political fic, I always love critics of the system of the magical world). I like that despite having her dark ascendency and family secrets, Cerrydwin is a normal person who craves a normal life. It's annoying when people try desperately to make their characters more interesting by adding weird personality traits or passions; a rather normal, although enjoyably stubborn person, living interesting things is enough to interest the reader. And she doesn't feel shallow or anything; it's good.
I like lupin (who doesn't like Lupin), much Lupin = much good. Puts a believable and interesting light on his life.
I like how well your story fits into the constellation of people we know of the HP canon. I like Hagrids letters and their simple, heartly style.

As I said, this story is not the most addictive I've read, but is, in some way, very complete and coherente, two features I do really enjoy.
That's good work and I'm looking forward to read the rest

(p.s. I'm sorry not to comment on single chapters, but I find it difficult to judge the pieces without having seen the complete puzzle ;) )

 Report Review

Review #6, by Sue Clover Chapter 55

2nd January 2015:
Well, that was really good. I still am in love with it. I am also in love with Remus; he is like my ideal man, especially the way you write him. If Kerri ends up breaking up with him just because of her father, I will be really really mad. I know it wouldn't be permanent, because they end up getting married and having kids, but honestly she just CAN'T put him through that.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sue Clover Chapter 47

1st January 2015:
I think you may have been forgetting to mark the beginning of diary entries with the date lately, and even forgot to label a letter. That's okay, though, because I can still tell when it is, roughly, and who the letters are from since they're labeled. And I'm getting really emotional about this story. I keep squeaking and making sad/happy noises. I can't wait for more.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sue Clover Chapter 39

30th December 2014:
I really wish I'd slept at some point. I'm really really tired, but I just don't want to stop. Break is almost over, and I want to see some friends before I leave, but soon there won't be time to read fanfiction and I don't want to deal with school things yet. Also, this fic is really good.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sue Clover Chapter 37

30th December 2014:
I was going to mention this last chapter I think but I forgot - you're such a good writer I'm usually too eager to get to the next chapter to think of writing a review - but I wanted to let you know that crises is not singular. As far as I know, it is the plural of crisis. That's all. By the way, when I preview my reviews, it shows all my apostrophes as having a slash before them, but it doesn't show when I'm typing. Do you see that when you read them?

 Report Review

Review #10, by Sue Clover Chapter 29

30th December 2014:
Her crush is getting so cute. I love how your brain makes you think such sappy things when you like someone. It's like you can't help it, and Kerri certainly is in that phase.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Sue Clover Chapter 28

30th December 2014:
That girl needs to get her head out of her armpit and realize that she's two generations removed from all the inbreeding, and she's not going to turn out like Tom because she was raised to be a good person. No one who can love Remus Lupin and care so much about people could be anywhere close to that evil. And she's right; they'd be good for each other.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Sue Clover Chapter 26

30th December 2014:
I hope I remember to set the rating from 5/10 to something higher every time I review. I think this story is worth more than a 5, but sometimes I almost forget. Comments on Severus' age reminded me of a thought I had earlier - Severus said that he didn't think anyone was worth getting to know until they were at least 30. I wonder if that's part of why he didn't get to know Kerri until she was out of school; he didn't think he was old enough to be worth getting to know. Probably not, but it's a funny thought.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Sue Clover Chapter 23

30th December 2014:
Severus keeps saying she needs to find her passion but he has such a prejudice against werewolves. I can't wait until he learns what her passion actually is.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Sue Clover Chapter 16

30th December 2014:
Falling from a great height... Looks as though she really is falling in love with him. Not surprising, though, any smart girl in her right mind would. I've decided recently that Remus Lupin is my favorite HP character, aside from Hermione.
I've been wondering, how AU is this going to go? In the books, which were mentioned as something written by a muggle, Hagrid became teacher of Care of Magical Creatures after the old professor retired. This makes sense because he'd been cleared finally of raising the beast that killed that girl ages ago and opening the chamber, but if you stick to that it'll mean Kerri didn't get the job. That's a year and a half away, but it could be because she'd married Remus by then... That's probably too quick for them. Who knows. I hope she does get it. I hope you don't stick to the books too much, and from the introduction I don't think you will. This is AU, and with the direction the story is going I hope it stays AU. I want to see Umbridge get her comeuppance, and sooner than Harry's fifth year. With all she's doing to Remus, five years would be way too long to wait. I think out of all HP characters, I hate her even more than Old Voldy.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Sue Clover Chapter 12

29th December 2014:
You know, I like your format. At first it was a bit weird, because I don't normally record dialogue in journal entries, but I'm used to reading stories with dialogue in them and it reads like a story, so even though it's supposed to be all written things I feel like I'm actually there.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Sue Clover Chapter 9

29th December 2014:
Snape being brotherly is so precious. It's not cute, exactly, because I don't think Severus Snape could ever mange cute, but it gives me feels. I like it. Oh, I meant to mention this earlier, but is Quirrel's alternate first name just another aspect of this that is AU, or is it something else?

 Report Review

Review #17, by Sue Clover Chapter 5

29th December 2014:
I like this. Nice pacing, good characterization, and your OC has real depth. And while it takes place at much the same time period as the books, it dances around them so you see a different side to the world. Kerri hasn't interacted much with Harry's timeline yet, at least not directly, which I find refreshing. I look forward to the next bit where she meets Remus.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Hermy1 Chapter 3

17th July 2014:
So far, Running with Wolves is so good!! Initially,I was doubtful of the letter/journal format, but now I find that it is not only a fun way to read, but you have made it work so well. Kerri is such a wonderful, original character, and I admire the way she is determined not to be like Voldemprt, yet is sensitive to how others might take if they knew. I also love how she has close relationships with I several significant characters from the original harry potter books. There are so many more awesome things about this i could write, but frankly.it would take all day, so I'll just say: Brilliant!!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Hermy1 Chapter 3

17th July 2014:
So far, Running with Wolves is so good!! Initially,I was doubtful of the letter/journal format, but now I find that it is not only a fun way to read, but you have made it work so well. Kerri is such a wonderful, original character, and I admire the way she is determined not to be like Voldemprt, yet is sensitive to how others might take if they knew. I also love how she has close relationships with I several significant characters from the original harry potter books. There are so many more awesome things about this i could write, but frankly.it would take all day, so I'll just say: Brilliant!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by CleverElf Chapter 55

15th April 2014:
I did not expect to like this story. The summary at the beginning sounded a bit too weird, but i ended up really enjoying it.I have always wanted to see the harry potter story form Snape's perspective. This wasn't quite that, but i think it did a good job with the complicated and intriguing character. Only complaint: it was a bit too long. A few chapters and scenes were just unnecessary. Good story though, definitely worth the read.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Werewolf_love Chapter 1

27th December 2013:
Wow! Where did you get the ideas for this? Looks awesome. Love the name Kerri as well.

 Report Review

Review #22, by knicoles Chapter 55

28th July 2013:
Great first novel (I see I have three more to read which I'm very excited about!!)!!!

I like your writing style and how richly you have rounded out your characters. The humor and camaraderie you put into each character. How you have so thoroughly intertwined the fates of characters in Potterverse to that of you own original character is pure genius.

Please keep up the good work!! You've ONLY 3 books to go, hahaha. I'm with you all the way, too.

 Report Review

Review #23, by knicoles Chapter 55

28th July 2013:
Dawww, love that Hagrid was so shy about admitting he sees Kerri like a daughter :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by knicoles Chapter 54

28th July 2013:
"In the midst of this silly romantic bliss however, there is a black spot on my conscience. Shouldn't Remus know that Voldemort is my father?"
Can't wait til this happens. I know Remus won't throw her over b/c of it or even be mad that she kept it from him, but I'd like to see him well and truly ruffled for once.

"When I knew what he was doing and what he'd become I really thought I hated him for it, and yet when I heard of his death.it hurt. I didn't cry, but it would have been merciful if I could have. The awful, tearless ache was worse."
Been through this with a past friend and yeah, this just about sums it up.

 Report Review

Review #25, by knicoles Chapter 53

28th July 2013:
'"Trust me, I would take my time with you." answered Remus, meeting my teasing tone of voice with a very serious one.'
OOOoOohh. One of the many reasons I love your Remus. So gentlemanly, with an underlying edge of sex machine, hahaha.

"When I opened it, I was shocked to find that it contained a pair of earrings. They were small but from the luster of the pearl beads, it was obvious that they were genuine. I was suddenly very sorry that I'd slammed the door into his nose."
See?? Phew, still giving Kerri jewelry, again his mother's. I love their sibling sniping. It's cute.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>