Reading Reviews for The Murder of Sirius Black
  
68 Reviews Found

Review #1, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx Dance of Death

14th March 2008:
A short chapter, but it was wonderful all the same.

I'm glad Celeste has finally sussed Mathias out. She deserved at least =]

But, oh my, a duel... gah, I can't wait to see what the next chapter has in store!

Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Leent Dance of Death

13th March 2008:
Wow! This cliffie is worse than a severe hangnail...how could you?! Just kidding, really liked this chapter, especially being inside her head as things come to light. Please don't make us wait too long...

 Report Review

Review #3, by Dark Princess Dance of Death

12th March 2008:
Gah! Why, oh why, must you stop the chapter there?! That's just cruel, my friend, just utterly cruel!

Anyway, regardless of the cruelty, it was a very good chapter, although not much happens, plot-wise I guess. It's more like one of those chapters that's needed to help the reader connect the dots - along with the characters.

For a Celeste-centric chapter, I liked it. (Of course, a part of that reasoning could be because I like Celeste as a character. Who knows?) And, although it was quite short (TOO short!), you did do a nice job with it.

And I'm looking immensely forwards to the next chapter, especially after such a cruel ending here!

~Megan, who only appreciates cliff-hangers when she's the author - not when she's the reader!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Dark Princess Cold Realization

8th March 2008:
Yay! I finally caught up in the story! (And I think, after this review, that I'll be reviewed-out for a bit; after all, seven at one time isn't the easiest.)

Oh, and it WAS Mathias, wasn't it? You mean the suspicion on him was actually correct? *Cheers*

A very interesting scene in the beginning with Natalia and Mathias -- I swear, I think Natalia is becoming one of my favourite OCs in fan fiction, regardless of her darker nature; Celeste made that list a while ago, of course.

I love the take you've done on Natalia and her character, like I mentioned way back in the beginning. She's not a one-dimensional villainous character. You're portraying her in a realistic and human way, and I like that. (Although, Mathias I want nothing more than to strangle around this point.)

That last scene with Sirius and Celeste was absolutely wonderful, too. Incredible, I have to say, and quite realistic and believable. Your character portrayals shine through in this part of the fic, and the reader can really feel and understand what Celeste is feeling at this point.

So many times, scenes like this one between Sirius and Celeste seem awkward in stories -- especially fan fictions -- but that isn't a remote problem with this. (And I've noticed in some of your other fics, too.) You can really write these characters in relationships well, and the interactions between them all are perfect. It never feels stilted or awkward or OOC, and I like that.

Looking incredibly forwards to the next chapter (and the rest of the story, of course), and I solemnly swear, at this moment, to read and review the next chapter when it comes out ... rather than wait so very long.

~Megan ... who is never writing seven reviews at one time AGAIN!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dark Princess The Devil's Snare

8th March 2008:
Yep, I have to use those words again -- "Wow" and "Interesting".

I absolutely, positively LOVED that first scene with Natalia and Sirius. As ... twisted, I suppose ... as it is, it's perhaps one of your best written scenes in this story, I have to say. *Tries to think back to all the scenes ... Realises that, yes, she thinks this scene is one of the best*

It was, in short, incredible. Wonderful portrayals of both characters, definitely, and the dialogue and writing is just flawless. The dynamic between those two, and they way that you wrote them together in that scene, was just great. It was, like I said, incredible.

The next and shorter scene with Mathias was nice, a way to end the chapter on another twist, I guess you could say. And exactly what is about Celeste that makes all three of them -- Sirius, James, and Mathias -- love her with every fibre of their being and want no one else in their life? I mean, all three seem to have that utmost devotion to her, and it's interesting.

Hmm, and Celeste is pregnant? Really? That's a twist, like I said before.

Off to Ch11 now.

~Megan

 Report Review

Review #6, by Dark Princess The Waking Word

8th March 2008:
Well, to say that was an interesting chapter would, I'm afraid, be a bit of an understatement -- to a degree. I think the one word to describe the whole thing would be something along the lines of "Wow".

I do like the flashbacks, and the fact that they're providing a bit more of the history and information for the story. Also, the way you're inserting them into the story, in terms of the chapter's/fic's format, is very well done. It doesn't halt the flow or feel too jarring in any way -- and that's definitely a very, very good thing, as far as I'm concerned.

And Sirius slept with Natalia?! Unexpected, yet interesting. (I think that one word -- "Interesting" -- is one the describes this entire fic the best.)

Yeah, the suspicion for Mathias is still there, I have to say.

~Megan

 Report Review

Review #7, by Dark Princess A Fading Memory

8th March 2008:
Oh, another nice chapter, I have to say. I particularly loved the way that first scene was written, with the flashback being broken up around parts of the present at Lily's funeral. Very nice format, in this case.

Everyone had paid their condolences, but honestly he was sick of them. No one understood what they had. No one would ever understand it. He feared that everyone was doing it just to make him feel better. He didn’t want the damn pity. I really, also, enjoyed these lines. It's real, it's believable, it's incredibly human and whatnot for James to feel. (It's also a similar summation of how I wrote one of my one-shots, too, but that's beside the point.)

And yeah, I have to admit, that some suspicion is developing towards Mathias. Don't *really* know exactly why, but there's just something about his character -- and the events that have happened thus far in the fic -- that've piqued a bit of suspicion in regards to him. (Of course, I've also had the habit of *completely* suspecting the wrong characters in stories before, so I'm never *very* confident in my suspicion-metre.)

Oh, James gets Sectumsepra-d too. Bummer. But at least he's okay; that's a good thing ... I think, anyways.

And a little bit more information concerning the past was a nice touch for that final scene, and the twists just keep coming ... Interesting, but hopefully, some answers will be yielded soon ... ?

On to the next chapter!

~Megan

 Report Review

Review #8, by Dark Princess No Silver Lining

8th March 2008:
Well, I have to say that that first scene was the best one in this chapter, as far as I'm concerned. I think when it ended, I just sat back for a minute and could only think "Wow" or something equally vague, until I was able to focus *back* on the chapter.

And my curiosity was piqued over the identity of the individual with Natalia. Canon or not? Someone already revealed in the fic or not? There wasn't a great deal of description for me to make a guess, really, but I'm looking forwards to more about everything.

The latter part of the chapter with James and Celeste in the DoM was also well-done, I have to say, particularly with how the plot is growing and thickening, in terms of what's happening.

Although, I think that final line in this chapter -- Mathias…Sirius…James…what the hell have I gotten myself into? -- was the best. I smiled after reading that; it's a human line, and a good one for Celeste.

~Megan

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dark Princess Remembrance

8th March 2008:
(Note to self: Read and review these chapters as they come, otherwise one forgets a lot of the previous events and has to reread before continuing.)

Yep, it's Real Life's fault (mostly) that's I seemed to drift away from this story, but anyway ...

I really, really liked this chapter, I have to say. The flashback/memory scene in the very beginning was very well done -- very real, very believable. Your characterisations of both Sirius and Celeste were incredible -- but, of course, perfect characterisations of characters had ceased to be very surprising from you. ALL of your characterisations seem to be perfect!

They were just there…wild and carefree…much like Sirius. Yep, I have to agree that "wild and carefree" are definitely the right words to describe some of Sirius's personality, there's no question about that.

All in all, that entire first scene -- and then the continuation of it in the courtyard between Celeste and Sirius -- was incredible and wonderful.

I'm glad that I picked up on the whole Time-Turner's are gone thing, and that definitely just furthers the plot along, it seems. The scene with James and Kingsley concerning the matter was quite IC, as far as I'm concerned, too. (And the irony of the fact that Celeste just came to that realisation of using a Time-Turner from the DoM before inserting the scene with Kingsley and James was also very good writing/formatting type of thing.)

Interesting character portrayals in that last scene, I have to say, what with both James and Sirius. You're writing them really well so far, and it looks like that'll continue -- just with a few more twists and character explorations.

All in all, a good chapter, and hopefully, this is the first review of many for the latest half of the story ... that RL interfered with my enjoying!

~Megan

 Report Review

Review #10, by Libellule Cold Realization

6th March 2008:
I can't wait for the rest of the chapters!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx Cold Realization

19th January 2008:
Woo, update! *dances*

I knew that the guy Natalia was dealing with was Mathias! Oh, it's all getting so complex...

That scene with Sirius and Celeste was heartbreaking. You did a wonderful job, I could totally feel how Celeste was feeling.

And I wonder what Sirius is going to do to James... oh, it's all so exciting!

Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

 Report Review

Review #12, by Browneyes101 Cold Realization

18th January 2008:
I knew it! I so knew that Mathias was bad news, now only if Celeste could see it. I can't believe that Mathias is the child's father; it's unbelievable, but that's what makes you a great writer. Now Sirius is on her bad side, can this get any worse? Hopefully not.

I can't wait for the sequel to come out. This is so exciting! Sorry, but I believe this calls for a celebration, though not yet; the threat of Natalia and Mathias. Time to take a stand.10/10

 Report Review

Review #13, by Leent Cold Realization

18th January 2008:
Wow - I always thought there was something not quite right with Mathias!! Can't wait to see where this goes, I still can't believe Sirius slept with Natalia. He keeps saying he did it to save her. I'm sure we'll find out why that could possibly save her in later chapters, but my curiosity is definitely peaked! But I do actually feel bad for him. Please update soon, I have way too many questions and I can't wait ;)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Leent The Devil's Snare

12th January 2008:
Wonderful chapter, well worth the wait. The plot has more twists than a spiderweb, which I love. The scene between Natalia and Sirius, however stomach turning, was very well done. And she's pregnant?! Just another twist and turn...
The great thing here is I don't know which character to sympathize with, which is a remarkable accomplishment in a story. Look forward to more ;)

 Report Review

Review #15, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx The Devil's Snare

11th January 2008:
Oh, Merlin, she's pregnant?! Holy guaucamole, I can't WAIT to see how that turns out.

The scene with Sirius and Natalia was beautifully written and incredibly believable, so major kudos to you on that =]

Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by Browneyes101 The Devil's Snare

11th January 2008:
Oh Merlin. She's pregnant! Who's the daddy, I mean she (and I don't mean this to sound sluttish) had affairs with all three of them. Not to mention Sirus's little ideal with Natalie, now thats downright creepy. It's okay that its been awhile cause it was so worth it! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #17, by Browneyes101 The Waking Word

1st November 2007:
But, but but but! Who does Celeste love? James? Sirius? Mathias is just evil, but I already knew that. I'm still confused about the James and Sirius. Need help here.10/10

 Report Review

Review #18, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx The Waking Word

1st November 2007:
Oh! I forgot to say...

MY GOODNESS! Sirius slept with Natalia?! Stupid, silly boy...

Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx The Waking Word

1st November 2007:
Yay, I was so happy when I saw an update! I, however, have no reviewing skill inside of me today, so you'll just have to make do with an 'I loved it, it was amazing, as always!' Though, I really do mean it =)

"Sirius was silent and she knew that he had absolutely no answer. After all, Natalia had always found a way to get under Celeste’s skin. What better way to do it than to get to the one person that had held her grounded. To the one person that she loved more than life itself. It destroyed her and he didn’t even realize it." - I loved that! It was very heartbreakingly beautiful.

Wonderful job,
Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx



 Report Review

Review #20, by Leent The Waking Word

1st November 2007:
I was so happy to see a new chapter! This story is excellent, and wonderfully written. Many twists, and I'm sure many more to come. It's weird to think of James loving someone else besides Lily - but I do like the way you have portrayed it here. Makes me wonder if Lily loved anyone else as well? I always thought they were much to young in such chaotic times to get married! And Sirius slept with Natalia!? Wow, nothing like a woman scorned...excellent chapter.

 Report Review

Review #21, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx A Fading Memory

13th October 2007:
Oh, goodness gracious me!

I really liked the way you switched from past to present in the beginning, it was a really nice touch.

And James almost dying! Dear lord, bad day for him... thank goodness Celeste was so quick to help him!

And James was in love with Celeste...is he still? And the three years thing, has Celeste been there for three years, or was she there was three years at a time before this?

I hope you keep updating, as I'm thoroughly enjoying this story!

Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

 Report Review

Review #22, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx No Silver Lining

13th October 2007:
"To see a man bleed because of a woman gave her great comfort." & "She might have been cold-hearted, but even her kind needed love." - These lines were great because they showed that Natalia is still a human being, yet is rather unique in her own twisted way. She's quite scary! And I can't shake the feeling that the mystery man who's helping her is Mathias...

And James and Celeste, goodness gracious, I could feel the connection through the writing!
Mathias…Sirius…James…what the hell have I gotten myself into?... what has she got herself into indeed...

Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx




 Report Review

Review #23, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx Remembrance

12th October 2007:
Okay, I am working on writing longer reviews as I'm sick of my couple of lines not cutting it with me, so bear with me =)

"They were just there…wild and carefree…much like Sirius." I thought that that was a perfect way to describe him. In that whole flashback he just seemed so wonderfully portrayed, but perfectly in timing with your story.

The scene with Sirius and Celeste in the courtyard was wonderfully detailed and really painted the scene for the reader. I also thought that it also gave us a little more insight into the kind of person that Celeste is. "There was a struggle with Mathias, as if she was fighting to keep herself above water with him. With Sirius, everything just felt perfect…content." - I thought that phrase was a great way of portraying her relationships, past and present, with these two men.

And that final scene with Sirius and James... James walked to his side, helping him sit down in the chair. “I just seemed to float nowhere for awhile.” James leaned in close, his knuckles turning white from the grasp he had on the arms of Sirius’s wheelchair. “You came back for her, didn’t you?” I thought this was great because James showed he still cares about Sirius and his well-being, but can't forget about how Sirius ruined (for want of a better word) James's own relationship with Celeste. Merlin, I hope they don't fall out over her!

Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx



 Report Review

Review #24, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx An Explosion of Thought

11th October 2007:
'Wow' feels like all I can say right now! That small scene with Sirius was wonderful, you portrayed him brilliantly and made him completely believable.
And James likes Celeste too!? My, that woman really has it going for her =)
I'm very interested to see where Celeste's relationships with these three men go, and perhaps where they've already been. =)
Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

 Report Review

Review #25, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx Reflection in the Mirror

9th October 2007:
This is so sad... poor, poor James... I just wanna give him a huge hug!!!
Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

Author's Response: Don't you just want to give James a hug? I know I wanted to when I was writing it. I'm really putting him through the ringer. I'm glad that you're enjoying the story. Thanks so much for the review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>