Reading Reviews for Ungratefulness
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by browneyedbrunette Ungratefulness

9th February 2011:
He had imagined countless times how he would help his peer students with homework, how he would teach them and how they would thank him.

I always end up feeling bad for snape. what a great job. and double the praise because english is not your native language.

Author's Response: Yes, I also feel bad for him.
Thank you for the double praise! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Hyacinth Dursley Ungratefulness

9th February 2011:
It's good. It's an interesting perspective on gratitude and being ungrateful. Of course Snape forgets one thing, nothing kills gratitude like being expected to give it. But I really do like this story. It shows how things we don't even really consider sometimes can be the betrayal of another, of the best gift that they have to give. It can be so easy to go with the crowd and not consider how much more another may need us to help stand against their own darkness. Well done. :)

Author's Response: I do not think that Severus was actually expecting gratitude, but I believe that he had days when he felt down and thought of who did him wrong.
But all in all dear Hyacinth Dursley - wise words! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by BlondeSlytherin Ungratefulness

1st July 2010:
Not your native language, seriously? You're better than several native speakers when they write. Anyway, the story was awesome. And quite true. Snape did do a lot for others when you think about but he rarely, actually I can't think of a time in canon he did get thanks. That can make a person very bitter. Imagine what he would have turned out like if he had got a little thanks. Great story but it sometimes seems to drag a bit, you might want to work transitions. Good job

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind review! :)
Yes, seriously, it is not my native language, but I'm happy that my readers don't always notice that.
It is an interesting topic to think about what he would be like if people did appreciate his efforts. I believe it would have changed him a bit.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Riya Potter Ungratefulness

20th May 2010:
It was a good, no, best story. English is not even my native language. But you write too good. O, I am in love with your writing. Keep writing dude... 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Hi! English is not my native language too, so we have something in common. And having my story called "the best" really means a lot. I had decided to quit writing, but after so encouraging reviews I might change my mind. Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by pushkar Ungratefulness

17th May 2010:
its really fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you for letting me know what you think!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Laiquendi Ungratefulness

7th December 2008:
I really enjoyed this one-shot, it was an unusual angle to write from. It's no wonder Severus had turned away from so many people in adulthood, all his past experiences with them seem to be a series of painful disappointments.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!
I'm happy that you liked my interpretation of why Severus is so cold.


 Report Review

Review #7, by WeaslyFan_bamber Ungratefulness

2nd November 2008:
hey
its really good but its not aexactly a story its more of a recount of severous snapes life but it was really interesting
Bamber
x

Author's Response: Yes, I know that it turned out a bit stange, but I did not want to change it into a story.
Thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #8, by luvinpadfoot Ungratefulness

17th January 2008:
This is really good for a first fic. Keep writing! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm writing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by BarbaraPotty Ungratefulness

6th January 2008:
This definitely is a nice story, with and interesting theme, and I like it very much, maybe also because I like Severus a lot, too. Go on this way. :)

By the way, I see there isn't as few of us non-English writers as I thought...:)

Author's Response: Thank you! Severus was my inspiration for all my stories up until now.
Here are some whose first language isn't English, you just need luck to find them.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Bella_Portia Ungratefulness

5th October 2007:
I had no idea English was not your first language. You write very well.

I thought your insight into the character was excellent. You certainly thought of things I have never considered.

Many one-shot stories are in the nature of character studies, so it did not bother me that you did not deal with an actual plot.

The following criticism I offer with reservations, because I have yet to submit a story of my own, so I am not exactly the voice of experience. But that said, I think the story would be more interesting if you described, at a personal level, what it felt like for your character at the various life points you describe -- when his mother ignored him, when he pinned his hopes on Hogwarts and it didn't quite work out, at the particular moment he knew Dumbledore didn't value him as he should. This would let the reader be there with him and, ideally, feel the pain. As it was, the story had kind of an abstract tone -- a bit like a history in a psychologist's or social worker's report. Such a history can make very poignant reading, but it makes the reader feel kind of removed from the subject.
Anyway, I hope that is helpful; and I hope you do keep writing.

Author's Response: Thank you!
I will definitely take into consideration your advice if I write another story like this. I think that you are right about describing at a personal level and letting reader feel his pain. This is a very good advice.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lizzi Ungratefulness

25th September 2007:
XxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXx
One Word: Wow,
I really like how you presented Snape's thoughts.
I never understood the Snape/Lily paring until I read your stories
English isn't your first language?
I would never, ever guess. You are such a good writer!
xXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxX

Author's Response: Thank you very, very much! I'm happy that my stories helped you to undersand Snape better.

 Report Review

Review #12, by purewings Ungratefulness

18th September 2007:
Wow! You have collected your thought on this matter very well! You made a thorough job and I had to agree with all the aspects of ungratefulness towards Snape. Especially how Lily treated him. That was a point I missed in the JKR's books; she depicted Snape and Lily'S relationship in a very one-sided way. Lily was little miss "Perfect" as you said, if her friedship had really been true and unselfish she would have understood Snape better.
I wish I could have read this story of yours before writing my Snape/Lily fic, I described the same emotions and motivations and perhaps consulting my views with you would have helped me.
So, I think your ideas are great, especially that you extended them and applied this to Voldemort.
As for the style, I would have never guessed that English is not your mothertongue. Well, I'M not a ntive speaker, as well. :) So, congratulations!
Your story telling has a documentary feeling. It's not bad, it's just a special style.
But if you want to write different style stories, you could try using monologues, flash backs etc. For example you can make Harry or Lupin ponder about Snape, realizing how ungratefully his life treated him.
But feel encouraged, you have done great job!
I loved your thoughts and ideas on Snape! Keep on writing, you'll become better and better. wings


Author's Response: A very big thanks! I had not imagined that someone would like this story so much. I'm very happy that you agree with me.
I couldn't write this story in other style. It just came out like this, but I'll have another story of this kind soon and it will include a monologue of Snape.
Thank you again. You encouraged me not to stop writting.


 Report Review

Review #13, by D Lee Ungratefulness

20th August 2007:
i like ur ideas its not much of a story more of an opinion if english isn't your mother tongue its impressive :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Timechild Ungratefulness

19th August 2007:
Not bad

An interesting piece.

A side of Snape seldom seen.

Well written

 Report Review

Review #15, by snape_is_good Ungratefulness

19th August 2007:
:o...wow. Cool!! The story was very a very interesting read! I love it! :) The ending with Voldemort not being ungrateful was very interesting! I never thought of it that way! For your first story it was pretty good! Good job! :D

Author's Response: thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by edenvirg Ungratefulness

19th August 2007:
OMG! I haven't read anything like this before. You chose a great concept and theme to well... write your story with. I especially loved the last line; it was very powerful. :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much!
At first my idea of this story was very different. I wanted to write more about Lily, but, as I started to write, ideas changed, and this is the result...
P.S. I love the last line, too! :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by bahja Ungratefulness

19th August 2007:
great and well thought of story

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by bahja Ungratefulness

19th August 2007:
great and well thought of story

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login