Reading Reviews for Sing a Song...
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lexi Overture

25th November 2010:
awesome fic! please, update!

 Report Review

Review #2, by searching17 Overture

25th October 2008:
Wow. This was so deep. A great beginning. I loved how you based it on music - and it's full of soul and love and emotion and it sort of becomes you. I play in an orchestra so I was really happy to come across this - it's the first of its kind I've had the pleasure to read here on HPFF, and you did a great job with it. I have no idea what your story's going to be about (probably about music yes?), or who the old man is in the prologue, but I know that this beginning piece was breathtaking. I also really liked the chapter title you gave it Overture. :] What a great way to begin a story! Excellent. 10/10.

~Estrella

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's a short story collection, so it's basically going to have loads of different one-shot type stories together. I've written one of them, and I'm hopefully going to get it posted in the not too distant future. I'm just going to spend this week editing it thoroughly before I send it for validation. ^^,
Thanks for your support. This idea just came to me one day and despite the amount of time it's taking (iIthought of it last August), I'm really excited about it.
~joojoo
x


 Report Review

Review #3, by Nori-torious Overture

21st November 2007:
i remember this idea!

wow... i liked the paragraph when you co-oped the music with the character's description... each and every part so far sounds in synched n in tune with each other.. wow.. that's music in itself :oP

damn joojoo.. you never fail to surprise me

only reason for the 9.. is because i've read parts of your other story, which totally baffled me to this day

well done

Author's Response: nori!
yes, indeed you should, seeing as you were the few i told about. XD
I'm glad you liked this so far... and that the music seems to be quite a main theme. After all, it wouldn't fit if it wasn't. =D
Lol, a 9 is good, especially coming from you. Thanks so much!
x


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ink Laden Quill Overture

20th November 2007:
Gah, I am so jealous of your ability to make words flow. It's got this aura about it that's absolutely splendid. Your choice of vocabulary just makes the story move in this watery like way. (Ha, obviously MY choice of vocab is just a tad short of amazing)
Anyways, as I was saying, I love the way its set up...and the story it seems to be revolving around.

Congratulations on getting a new story up, and good luck on the upcoming chapters.
Here's what I want to know. Who's the person writing the song? Whose story are we about to hear?

Author's Response: *shys*
I do try, really. Actually, perhaps too much. My trying eats in to my study time, eating time, sleeping time. I would say breathing time too, except of course I still breathe during writing.
I'm glad you liked this vague and - dare i say it - mysterious introduction. You will know who is writing the song very soon, but I can tell you that we are about to hear loads of people's stories. Not just one. ^^,
Thanks for this!
x


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lily Opal Evans Overture

19th November 2007:
I really like the way you have made music the basis for the fic, it's definatley orginal and thanks for the explanation at the end, I'm not hot on the music letters and stuff.
Also the description in this was fantastic, I could picture the scene in my head. One mistake though, you put icy instead of ivy near the beginning. Apart from that, I thought this was very well written and I look forward to where the plot goes.

Author's Response: Hey!
Thanks so much for that. It took me quite a long time to get my head round the music stuff, and how I should incorporate them into the writing, so don't worry ^^, ... I will make sure that people like me and you don't get lost during the course of the fic.
The "icy" error must be fixed, yes, indeed.
Huggles to you for being so lovely!
x


 Report Review

Review #6, by nana_banana_xx3 Overture

18th November 2007:
First, I hope you don't mind if I gush and fawn over your banner. Majikat really outdid herself. I think I'm in love. *faints*

Now, onto the real review. ;)

I think this was a really good opening chapter/prologue. You managed to create a mysterious undertone: Who is this character we were introduced to? Where is he? etc. At the same time, you were able to give the few words you used a fair bit of emotion. Kudos to you!

I'm a music fanatic myself, so I'm so pleased to see a story that represents a rather massive part of my life and that of my family's.

The only thing I would suggest is that you limited your use of semicolons and colons. I think that while it's given the prologue a kind of ... style, you could have made some of it seperate sentences. That's just if I get really nit-picky, though. I thought you did a lovely job on the whole!

Needless to say, I quite enjoyed this little beginning, and I very much look forward to chapters to come. :D

nana_banana_xx3

Author's Response: Gush and fawn? No problem! I was drooling over it for a good five minutes myself. XD

You're a music fanatic? Egawsh. to be honest I'm rather, er, pathetic at the subject myself. So this is quite a challenge for me... and it's also one of the reasons that made me ask Maji for help. I was soo stuck. (but all is good now, don't fear!)

Semicolons and colons. Got it. I guess they are a bit in excess. I haven't really edited this chapter, or had anyone else proof-read, so it's nice to know how I can improve it. Thanks so much, nana! Your encouragement is much appreciated!
x


 Report Review

Review #7, by MajiKat Overture

18th November 2007:
huh. the rest of my review got cut off...here is the rest!

this was beautiful my loffy - wonderful writing!! this line deserves special mention for its sorrow:
The melodies were in harmony with him, his body: synchronized with the drumming of his spindly nails on the wooden armrest, the hesitant pressure he put on his back whilst he leant backwards, the rush of air in and out of his lungs in short breaths, the beating of his heart. And in his mind, the mental picture grew with the song; waxing and waning like the tide, bringing to him blinding images of past recollections he had almost forgotten.

Kate

Author's Response: aw wow, long quote!!
(and i get another review XD). I really can't thank you enough for helping me with this fic though. WIthout you it would not be here. much


 Report Review

Review #8, by MajiKat Overture

18th November 2007:
Tones flew past him in a rush, a cacophony of sound mixed together so chaotically there was consonance in the dissonance.
wow. i really like that line. it stood out from all the rest, and i could hear it, this wall of sound, this rushing that somewhere inside existed a semblance of melody. excellent!!
hunny, thank you so much for the dedication! i don't know how much help i was, but you know that if i can help in any way again, just drop me a line!
i'm not sure which character this is, but i am thinking harry. it was the reference to phoenix song and continuous battles, but then, it could be any of them really.
this was a beautiful introduction. i really enjoyed reading it! this is going in my favs for sure

Author's Response: Maji! The reviewee of honour! (not that i don't value my other reviewees, of course...)
You quoted! I'n glad you loved that line, it was just one of those things that you quickly write, and then afterwards you go back to it and think, "hey, that wasn't half bad" (^^,)
And I really shouldn't give it away, but I can't help it. You hit the nail on the head with Harry. I mean, I thought it was fitting to have him start the whole thing off considering it was his story... and I'm glad you picked up on those little things. Sure, they could have been for anyone, but the phoenix song is more harry and dumbledore, and its obvs not dumbledore. XD
Thank you hun! and thank you double for adding it to your faves! I hope you'll like the rest of it just as much!
huge huggles to you,
joojoo
x


 Report Review

Review #9, by dracoslover1 Overture

17th November 2007:
This is a very good start I think. I would like to know what the man was feeling. You say that there is fatique, but why is it there? How did the music come alive in him? What memory or memories triggered the music to be born? What did the letters have to say? Why did time matter to this man? You probably are going to describe this in the future chapters. I would suggest though maybe adding a little bit more depth to this man that we meet so that when we as the readers get to future chapters, we have an emotional connection to this man.

Author's Response: Hey,
yeah, it's fatigue. And the music was always there, really, it's only that life has slowed down and he's finally managed to listen to it. I know, there are lots of questions unanswered here, and i do plan to come back to this at a later date. Thanks so much for the feedback. I'll take all of this into consideration when I re-draft it!
x


 Report Review

Review #10, by Romina Stephanie Overture

14th November 2007:
Wow. This was beautifully written; the scenery was vivid and I could feel the old man's tiredness and see him clearly in front of me. It was capturing and it flowed very well, drawing me in and in and in. I'm very curious about who this man was and also, where this story is headed in general. Oh, and a tiny spelling error to point out: ...wondered how much the icy had seen in its years;.. - I think it's suppose to say ivy. Just a tiny thing, but one nevertheless. Either way, a mysterious and splendid beginning on what I believe will be a great story. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Hey Romina!
Woah, thanks hun! This fic has been developing in my mind since early August, and it was only about a few weeks ago when I really decided how I wanted to start the Overture. There were so many different ideas spinning around in my head, different ways of starting it, but I'm glad this mysterious aura has been received so well by my reviewers!
Oops on that typo. yes, it was meant to say ivy. I should go and fix that now. ^^,
Huggles!
x


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauder_lover Overture

14th November 2007:
hey you!

*snags first review*

Well what can I say? Awesome as usual! And it's just the prologue, can't wait to see how awesome the rest will be.

It's descriptive in an amazing way that very few people manage to get, it's involving the reader but it's also very mysterious. I love the concept of this story as I've told you before and reading this makes melike it all the more.

You always seem to write with a point and no rambling (something I have yet to master lol:P ) It's great to read, it really flows well I love where this is going so keep it up! 10/10

Author's Response: Hey!
Thanks for the amazing first review! This has been a long time in coming, as you know. I'm so glad that the first person who got to read it (aka you) enjoyed it so much!
It is quite mysterious here, but I all will clear up by the end. I'm currently writing Of Cowardice.. with a character that I don't think many would assosicate with it.
Anywho, thanks for the 10/10. It means a lot! ^^,
x


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login