Reading Reviews for Her Choice
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by madness Her Choice

9th January 2011:
This was amazing. So deep and meaningful. Thank you xxx

 Report Review

Review #2, by lily flower Her Choice

27th April 2008:
this is really touching

i love it

keep writting

*hugs*

Author's Response: lily flower,

What a pretty name! I'm so glad you liked this fic; it was a difficult one to write. I will most definitely keep writing. Thank you for the read and review! (and the hugs too!)

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #3, by kiwigirl Her Choice

27th October 2007:
oh, that was so good! I like the way you incorporated the song. It was more of a one-shot, with a song in it. very cool idea. it was so sad. why did they let draco out? a must know about the little technicality. loved it so much! your writing style is really amazing.
kiwigirl

Author's Response: kiwigirl,

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review all of the pieces I have up so far! That was beyond sweet, and I was totally shocked, in a good way.
Why did they let Draco out? Well, to be honest, I'd briefly decided on circumstantial evidence and a lack of pensieve memories for clarification, but you can come up with anything you like. =P

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #4, by Weasleysgirl2006 Her Choice

24th September 2007:
great story. Neville got the girl and taught Draco a lesson. all right he killed him but still.

Author's Response: Weasleysgirl2006,

Wow! Two reviews in one day? Thank you! You made me laugh, but I have to say I think Draco really brought it on himself. I'm a Draco lover usually, but for this, he worked best for me, and in that character, he deserved it... I think. :)

Thanks for the R&R!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pure Muggle Her Choice

21st September 2007:
Wow. That was... powerful and wonderfully written. I love how you portray Neville in this; his pain of loving Pansy but not being able to do anything to help her unless she asked him for help. I wanted to hug them both so much!

And Draco - whoah. Not a nice guy in this at all! He did get what he deserved. Although I had hoped that Neville wouldn't do just what he had done. Then again, who wouldn't have?

Fantastic. 11/10 and more if I could.

Much love, Mona :)

Author's Response: Oooh Monsy Wonsy,

Thank you, dear, for taking the time to read and review this! You've got a CRAZY schedule, so I'm flattered that you could find time for me!
I'm really glad you felt like hugging Neville and Pansy, rotfl, because I was worried about how this fic would come across. I'm with you about Draco/Neville, I understand totally. But you're right, "who wouldn't have?" I know I couldn’t have refrained... I think he got what was coming to him. =P

Thanks, dearest!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #6, by ElissandrAnne Her Choice

13th September 2007:
I'm so sorry I didn't see this when you posted it... I've been such a bad reader and reviewer lately.

As always, it was amazing, Courtney. You always seem to find the right words to tell your stories and share the emotions of your characters. I feel like I'm in the room with them, like I can see the expressions on their faces, see them move, like I can read their thoughts. Some authors can do that, and you're definitely one of them.

Your portrayal of Draco is faultless. Each time I'll be tired to death of the romantic Draco in some fics, I'll re-read this fic as an antidote. lol. He truly is the cold git we're used to read in the series, but grown-up.

I loved the way you wrote from Neville's point of view, then Pansy's, then back to Neville's and so on. It flows, and your characterizations of them are just superb. I really loved the way you portrayed their adult selves here. You did a great job!

But the ending... Oh my, what is going to happen to Neville now? And Pansy? It's beautiful, and at the same time, I feel like shaking you, asking over and over: Why?

Again, it is an amazing fic... Beautiful and touching. 10/10.

Huggles,
-Anne

Author's Response: Anne!

I was SO excited to see your name here. Thank you you taking the time to stop by and read and review. I feel as if we've not had the time to chat recently- my fault entirely, I'm sure. Sorry!

Oh Anne, you've no idea how thrilled I am that you said you liked Draco! It was SO difficult to write him like that, because I'm such a canon fan. And truthfully, I don't see Draco like that, but his character worked the best for the part. I'm just thrilled to hear that you found it to be believable. =)

You are always so kind and thorough in your reviews, making sure to let me know what does and does not work. That is something I cherish.

I'm sorry about the ending! You may shake me until your heart is content if you truly feel the need... I've already promised Tiff, so I will do my darndest to write something happier, how's that? Although... I thought this was a happier ending than the last one... Meh, maybe not? =P

You're a peach, dearest. Thank you again, forever and always.

~C





 Report Review

Review #7, by Scriblerian Her Choice

28th August 2007:
Courtney, when I first read your writing all those many months ago, I remember saying to myself, "That girl is going to do amazing things." And every story you put out or chapter that you've had me read over has been just that. Amazing. I read your work and learn things. It inspires me to be a better writer. So trust me when I say that you have talent, incredible talent, and you should never let anyone tell you any different.

So, when I saw what song you chose to use for this, I knew that it would be emotional and heartfelt and would more than likely make me cry (it did by the way, thanks a lot :P ). And you couldn't have done a more beautiful job with it. The lyrics blended in with the story. They weren't a distraction and the meaning behind all of what you were writing to accompany them was subtle and simple, yet extremely powerful at the same time.

You never come right out and say Pansy is being abused. You lead the reader to come to that conclusion with brilliant descriptions through the eyes of Neville. This is one of your greatest strengths as a writer. You never tell. You always show. It's surprising how many people are unable to master that skill. It's difficult, to say the least, so well done.

The transitions were wonderful as well. Moving from Neville to Pansy. You wrote both of them so incredibly well I felt that I was in their heads. I know this story wasn't a first person, but it was such a close third person that it FELT like a first person...if that makes sense. lol. It's a brilliant achievement. Again, very hard to do.

Draco was horrific. Geez, you really made me hate him. LOL. But his characterization was spot on. It wasn't overly dramatic. It was believable. And when Neville finally gave him what he deserved, I was cheering inside. lol. I loved how Draco was the slow one now. It was just such an awesome way to come full circle I guess. It made it so powerful. This whole story was powerful. And I think that last passage was one of the most beautifully sad things I've ever read. What can I say? I'm in awe of you. lol.

Brilliant work with this story, Courtney. As usual you've written something incredibly touching and worth reading over and over again. I can't wait to see more from you, becuase I know it will be just as amazing. So keep up the great work!

*hugs*

~Scrib

Author's Response: Scrib,

I know it's taken me forever to respond to this, but it's honestly because you blew me away. I am just stunned into flattered speechlessness at this review, and I cannot stop squeeing.

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed this, and that everything worked for you. I made you cry? That's quite an accomplishment, because the Giant Scrib I know never cries! She crushes bones to make her bread, and totes a cannon on her shoulder, but cry? No way! *feels accomplished*

A third person that felt like first person? I don’t know if it makes sense to anyone else, but I understand what you’re saying, and that’s all that counts. *does a happy dance*

Your confidence is amazing, and I loff you to death for it, dearest. Thank you again, for being so supportive and always taking the time to read and review. You girls mean the world to me, and I hope you know that. =)

~Courtney


 Report Review

Review #8, by tiffers Her Choice

26th August 2007:
Tiffy Spliffy here and accounted for to make a review! *puts on her professional review giving buisness type suit and clears her throat* I hope you are ready for this review Miss Courtney Marie, because I am going to be brutally honest with you, as I always am. *takes a deep breath*

I feel the need to get the legal issues with taken care of first and foremost because I believe it results in a better review. As you have surely heard from some members of the "crew", I have hereby officially disowned you all, the whole bloody lot of you! *kicks Courtney to join Mara, Jessi, and Scribbie* You all! DISOWNED! Honestly, you all sit there and say I am evil, when in fact you are the evil ones, and Courtney, you are the ringleader of them all! This story is concrete proof of that fact! Sure, you warned me with that lovely happy looking label that this was in fact a bit of a sad story, hrmmph! I don't forgive you *shakes head* always breaking my heart, smushing it, stepping on it, every imaginable evil mean thing you can imagine in attempts to make your readers cry. *disgruntled look*

Alright, now that I have laid out the legal aspects of the fact that you have been disowned, I will get on with the review of this story, that as much as it makes me upset, I absolutely adored! You did such a wonderful job of writing Neville, and he just comes to life in a way that is so realistic to his character, that I just want to steal him away and take him off to live in a life of sin! He is vunerable and yet in the same breath, a force to be reckoned with, and I found myself insantly in lurve with him!

Then we move to Pansy, and honestly Miss Courtney Marie, I don't know how you did it, but you made her into this amazing character. Essentially, you make it so that we don't exactly love her, as she is still somewhat of an enemy in my mind, but you make her likeable, and I think that is a wonderful talent. To take a character we have been told for so long to dislike, and make her likeable in a realistic way. You didn't really change who she was, instead you gave us the insight to see why she is that way. Beautiful!

Overall this whole idea of Neville and Pansy is just wonderful, and I cannot describe to you in words how real this story felt. I never once sat back and thought "Meh, that wouldn't happen" I was always sitting at the edge of my seat, my heart going out to the both of them. You wrote it in a way that we can not only understand the choices made, but also have an emotional connection with these characters. In the end, my heart understands and feels for both of them. I can relate to Neville's frustration, and yet in the same breath, I can understand why Pansy made the choices she made. That is not only rare, it is phenomenal, a magnificant talent!

The ending, is by far the most powerful part, and while I really think you ended it in the only way it could be ended, I want to wring your neck for doing it! It was beautifully done though, and I think that is one of your strongest talents, to turn something that should be horrifying and miserable, into something beautiful, I am in awe of that Courtney!

I don't know how many more words I can come up with for amazing, so I will leave you with that. This story is amazing, you are amazing, everything that you do is amazing! You took this unlikely pair and you made it into something beautiful. It was like you took these two pieces of this mangled puzzle, and you fit the together to produce the gorgeous picture underneath. Thank you for sharing this beautiful piece with the world.

P.S. You can be un-disowned if you write me a happy story ^_^



Author's Response: Ooooh, Tiffy Spliffy Wiffy... I have been disowned? The horror! The shame! The tears I shall cry! The sleep I shall lose! The- Alright, I'll just write you a happier fic, how is that? I will entitle it "Tifgus" and you and Argus will live happily ever after. Are you appeased now?

I thought so.

Your reviews never fail to make me laugh. Much more than a smile, dearest, I find myself at a loss for words. The sheer knowledge that you spend enough time and creativity on a review for me brings a light to my day.

I am SO thrilled to hear that you liked both Neville and Pansy. To be honest, I knew when starting this fic, that I would be using Neville. But the question plagued me for weeks- who to pair him with? It was a tough decision, and thanks to the DH epilogue (which some of us do like to pretend doesn't exist) it is now firmly AU. Either way though, I'm really stinkin' glad you liked this. =) You know how much your reviews mean to me.

The fact that you want to wring my neck made me laugh. I think I was supposed to be fearful, though... So next time you see me, just pretend my laughter is actually tears of terror. Alright?

THANK YOU, Tiffy Spliffy Wiffy, for once again taking the time to read, review, and bring a smile to my day.

~C


 Report Review

Review #9, by Crookshanks Says Rawr Her Choice

19th August 2007:
Extremely well-written. I like how it is realistic and not overly dramatic. Very good! :)

Author's Response: Crookshanks Says Rawr,

*squuueeee*!!! Thank you so much for the review! Realistic without being overly dramatic? Good! I believe that was precisely what I was going for, so to hear that it made it... well... that's compliment enough! Thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave a review!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #10, by juls Her Choice

17th August 2007:
Amazing story Courtney. So much emotion packed into so few words, and I love it.
Huggles ~~juls

Author's Response: Juls,

You are always so sweet, consistent and full of praise. Thank you, for always being there to support my writing. You're a doll! *huggles*

~C


 Report Review

Review #11, by lia_2390 Her Choice

16th August 2007:
Gosh, who would've thought, Neville and Pansy, then Neville decking Draco..pawning him like he did to Nagini. I think, my dear Courtney, you have a way with words. Your stories always seem to evoke all sorts of emotions from readers, causing them to feel what the characters feel and this story is no exception. And you said that this is your first song-fic? Seems as though you've been writing them for a while. Nice choice of song too :)

Cheers hun!
Lia.

Author's Response: Lia,

Boy, oh boy, do you make me feel bad. :P I've been dying for a few minutes to finally review your latest (and most excellent) chapter, and simply haven't had the chance. And, here you are, reading and reviewing in record time! Thank you SO much. You are always so supportive in your reviews. I was so giddy to see that you had seen this and left me something to read. I'm so glad you enjoyed this and that the song worked for you. Writing a song-fic was much more challenging that I originally thought it would be! Thank you, dear! :)

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #12, by HPismyidol Her Choice

16th August 2007:
ahmazing

this was so diffrent from any other one ive read and i also love the song

you matched the two perfectly

Author's Response: HPismyidol,

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this! I'm so glad you thought the song matched well, I was very nervous- this was my first song-fic. It means a lot that you took a moment to leave a review. Thank you!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #13, by fireceltiephoenix Her Choice

15th August 2007:
Oh Courtney...my god. It was absolutely and utterly amazing. I'm sitting here crying. That was SO not the ending I was expecting. Unbelievable. You don't truly even notice it's a song fic. The words flow so well with the rest of the story. Neville's fear...his heroism. Pansy's fright...her death. I wish I could truly find the words to describe how I feel about this. It is an amazing tale and not one that I ever expected. You are an amazing and talented author. This was truly remarkable. Well done, Courtney. I'm proud of you.

Author's Response: Awwww, thank you Candy! I'm so thrilled that you came to read this, and even more so that you enjoyed it! I'm bound and determined that the next thing I write will not make anyone cry. I'm starting to feel bad. :P *blush* Thank you, dearest, truly.

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jessi_Rose Her Choice

15th August 2007:
I've started this review about a dozen times, disregarding everything because it didn't do the fic justice. I just... This is so personal, on so many levels... and you've done such a beautiful job creating the atmosphere: the fear, the anger, the confusion, the pain... it's so... amazingly powerful. I cringe when I read abusive relationship stories... I can't stomach them, really. And it's hard to even find one that is elegant in its style and not focused on the abuse so much as the pain inflicted internally because of the abuse. You know what I mean?

Every time I read this - yes, I've read it about a million times (love being a beta) and every time I do, I feel more and more for Pansy... and this last time that I read it, I was nearly in tears for Neville. To be someone, knowing from the outside what is happening, stand still and do nothing... it's horrible... but it's so realistic and true to the circumstances. I'm astounded at how well you captured everything, really. Courtney, you've done such a wonderful job with this. I'm flattered to be mentioned - that I helped this along.. it's just... you've got me speechless here.

The song fit perfectly. And it's rare that a song brings out the emotion in a fic even more... but this one did. I could actually read the lyrics along with the story without disrupting the flow one bit. And your use of declaratives... it's captivating. A simple thought... with so much emotion. I'm in awe, really.

Great job on this one, dear - it's without a doubt one of - if not the - best pieces of fiction I've ever read.

Author's Response: Jessi!

*hugglegomp*court*jimmyandtackle*!
I mean it, really- thank you for all of your help, being a wonderful beta, my gorgeous banner, and your constant support. You, chica, rock my socks! My nun without your prude would be meaningless. :D Your comments and critique were what gave me the confidence to post this in the first place, so for that I thank you profusely! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it, really, it means so much. I certainly don't know about the best, but I'm squeeing with delight at your review! Thank you, dear!

~C


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login